Now Reading, Reviews, and Recommendations

7/10/21

215045583_6051330954884886_2914003418640276560_n

Hey bookworms and fellow woodworkers, it’s Eli, reading Nick Offerman’s book, Paddle Your Own Canoe. Cortney got this book for me years ago, and it only took 7 binges of Parks and Rec and 3 seasons of Making It to finally pick it up. Enjoy your meat tornadoes and Lagavulin this weekend!

7/9/21

213607853_6046691248682190_3001360498202707843_n

Happy Fri-yay!! I am reading A Girl Named Anna by Lizzy Barber. Stop by The Bookworm today or tomorrow and grab a beach read (or 3) for yourself… We’ll be open from 10-7 📚🌞📚

REVIEW – A Girl Named Anna by Lizzy Barber  indexindexindex111111

Decent read, but nothing outstanding about it. Solid 3 stars

7/7/21

212339900_6037950876222894_3145620476432195644_n

It’s Eli, reading the next book in The Oregon Files by Clive Cussler, Shadow Tyrants. The rain is coming Myrtle Beach, so stop by The Bookworm and stock up on some great reads! Cortney will be there until 5 today and happy to help with recommendations ☔📚☔

7/5/21

213024458_6027032693981379_2534168218726501270_n

The Bookworm is OPEN from 10-5 today! I’ll be reading We Are the Brennans by Tracey Lange. Special thanks to Celadon Books for sending me an advance copy ☘️☘️☘️ Have a great week bookies!

REVIEW – We Are the Brennans by Tracey Lange  indexindexindexindexindex

I loved the Brennans.

They were a flawed family that you just couldn’t help pulling for. You felt their desperation and justified their bad decision right along side them.

Very well-written story, hard to believe this was her first novel!

4.5 stars

6/30/21

209813705_6005526376132011_1700290727301634054_n

As every bookstagrammer before me, I had to put these two stunningly gorgeous covers next to each other for my picture. Reading the second half of the Fable duology by Adrienne Young, Namesake ⚓🏴‍☠️⚓

REVIEW – Namesake by Adrienne Young indexindexindexindex111

3.5 rounded up

I absolutely loved Fable. This was a decent, though not totally necessary, follow-up.

6/27/21

207742006_5989518107732838_8766619316927626043_n

Convinced Eli to give the Sebastian St.Cyr books by C.S. Harris a try! He’s starting the first one, What Angels Fear, and I’m reading # 15, Who Speaks for the Damned. Enjoy your day and I’ll see you at The Bookworm tomorrow from 10-5!

REVIEW – Who Speaks for the Damned by CS Lewis  indexindexindex111111

Let me start off by saying that I’ve been reading this series since the beginning… I enjoy it, love the characters, the settings, the mysteries. But this one fell a little flat for me. I felt that the usual intrigue was missing, and if I’m being honest, I felt a little bored at times. Still a solid 3, but definitely not one of my favorites.

6/26/21

206009685_5985284228156226_1980930787958874594_n

It’s your favorite backup bookworm Eli, making my way down my TBR pile. Next up, A Trick of Light by Stan Lee. Being a comic book nerd at heart, I had to give to give this a try.

6/24/21

205385770_5976513769033272_6145178939387082453_n

“How well do you really know your friends?”

Harper Books had me doing the book mail happy dance yesterday! Super excited to get an advance copy of Kimberly McCreight’s upcoming release, Friends Like These. It definitely cut the line and I started it this morning… Don’t forget to stop by The Bookworm this week to enter our anniversary giveaway! We’ll be open Th, Fri, and Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading!!

REVIEW – Friends Like These by Kimberly McCreight  indexindexindex111111

I was super excited to get an advance copy of this book, but it fell a little short. There was a good story in there, but it was a bit of a convoluted mess.

There were just SO many characters to keep straight, all of which had their own POV chapters, plus Alice who died 10 years ago, plus the mystery person, plus the detective, and then the timeline kept jumping back and forth from the beginning of the weekend, to the end of the weekend, to the mystery stalker 2-3 weeks ago, to back when everyone was in college together.

At the end of the day, keeping everything and everyone straight just felt like work, and enjoying the book felt very secondary to that.

The ending REALLY saved the book for me. Moved my rating from a 2.5 up to a 3. There’s no doubt that Kimberly McCreight can write a great thriller, this one just missed the execution mark.

6/23/21

205938891_5971052426246073_6926534988304108326_n

It’s Eli, trying something a customer recommended to me, the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson. So far, this is right up my alley 🛠️🛠️🛠️

6/19/21

203902877_5954566474561335_8873309582328108038_n

So excited to dive into The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner! I’ve heard such great things about this book, but honestly, the stunning cover was reason enough to grab it 🤩💜🤩

REVIEW – The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner  indexindexindexindex111

I wanted to be astounded by this book… the concept is so cool and imaginative and unique, and let’s be honest, that’s one of the prettiest covers we’ve seen in a year, but it all just fell a little short for me. And before you raise your pitchforks, I still liked it, still enjoyed reading it, I just wasn’t blown away.

3.75 stars rounded up

6/18/21

202485582_5948025015215481_3341174305865542593_n

🌻 Helllooooo Friday 🌻
I’m currently reading Kerry Winfrey’s follow-up to Waiting for Tom Hanks, Not Like the Movies. Have a great weekend bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW – Not Like the Movies by Kerry Winfrey  indexindexindexindex111

Cute story… total star of the book is Nick

6/15/21

201067924_5934143983270251_3367135070542097257_n

Finishing the Girls with Sharp Sticks Trilogy by Suzanne Young with the final book, Girls with Rebel Souls. Have a great day bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW – Girls with Rebel Souls by Suzanne Young  indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

This series started out with a bang. I loved Girls with Sharp Sticks… so much so that I immediately ordered the next two books in the trilogy. Unfortunately, they didn’t live up to the first one. I did enjoy this one more than #2, but neither were as good as the first.

I’m sitting here trying to pinpoint what was missing, but I just don’t know. I think ultimately I just didn’t care as much about the girls and what happened to them in the second two books. I’m still glad I finished the series, but I wish the sequels invoked the feelings the first one did.

I wish I could rate this the 3.5 I want (c’mon Goodreads) but since I gave the second book 3 stars, and I liked this one more, I’m going to round up to 4.

6/13/21

132039549_5927378293946820_6759547467873874206_n

“The trick is to undercook the onions. Everyone is going to get to know each other in the pot… It’s probably the thing I do best.” I was so excited this book came into The Bookworm, I dropped the chili. It’s Eli, reading about The Office… and eating chili off the floor. Hope your Sunday is just as exciting.

6/12/21

198744271_5921636217854361_8262072698116732760_n

Starting The Hunting Wives by May Cobb 🎯 Enjoy your weekend and happy reading!!

REVIEW – The Hunting Wives by May Cobb  indexindexindexindexindex

I feel like it’s been a hot minute since I loved a book… The Hunting Wives cured me of that.

Loved, loved, LOVED

I could have done without the jumping around timeline at the beginning, that seemed unnecessarily confusing, but that is really my only complaint. I honestly really, thoroughly enjoyed this book.

It’s not going to be for everyone. I wouldn’t recommend those steamy scenes for my mom, but this is the perfect guilty pleasure mystery summer beach read.

6/11/21

199687269_5916356395049010_3285193963336702705_n

Happy Friday! Reading the latest from one of my favorites… 🌴Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid🌴 Stop by The Bookworm today and tomorrow from 10-7 to check out all the new books we got on the shelf this week!

REVIEW – Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid  indexindexindex111111

Well, this was underwhelming.

I think Taylor Jenkins Reid is magic. She has this amazing ability to write characters that you just connect to and absolutely fall in love with. Unfortunately, that was missing from Malibu Rising. At the end of the day, I didn’t care about any of them. Even her writing and the fantastic way she typically can weave a story wasn’t there. There just wasn’t anything special about this book. And as one of my most anticipated reads of 2021, that’s a little heartbreaking 💔😖💔

I’m still giving it 3 stars because it’s a decent book, just nowhere near her usual caliber or what we all know she is capable of. Excuse me while I go cry into my bookshelf.

6/8/21

198311069_5902187746465875_2660717209277973671_n

Eli post: After reading Deal Breaker from Harlan Coben, I could barely wait to start book 2 in the Myron Bolitar series, Drop Shot. If you haven’t already, be sure to give him a try.

6/6/21

196017498_5892341807450469_6313052147016772708_n

Enjoying a little time with The Reunion by Guillaume Musso before starting the Sunday to-do list… What are you reading (using to avoid chores) today?

REVIEW – The Reunion by Guillaume Musso  indexindexindexindex111

I wasn’t completely sure about this book, but once I got through the first 75 pages, I ended up really enjoying it! Definitely had some twists I didn’t see coming. I could have used more dramatics and details, but I just think that is the author’s writing style. Will definitely pick up another book of his in the future.

6/5/21

196499256_5888122731205710_78043929343992543_n

Eli here, reading another tale about the Wild West in Tom Clavin’s Dodge City: Wyatt Earp, Bat Masterson, and the Wickedest Town in the American West

6/3/21

195171153_5878982912119692_8880787360493785236_n

Big thanks to Celadon Books for having me as one of their early readers! Starting the latest release from Alex Michaelides, The Maidens. Mark your calendars, it hits shelves June 15th!

REVIEW – The Maidens by Alex Michaelides  indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

Having to follow up a book as fantastic as The Silent Patient is a really tall order… and while I enjoyed The Maidens, it was hard to not compare the two.

At the end of the day, I honestly just didn’t like or care about any of the characters. I just wanted more of everything…. More explanation at the end, more history on how we got there, and definitely more on the actual Maidens. They felt like a sub-plot of the book that was titled for them. The mystery was still decent, but I didn’t love it.

Looking forward to the author’s next (ten) book(s)!

6/1/21

194505578_5868258489858801_6435694853575467309_n

Good morning bookies! I’m mixing it up a little today and reading Dean Koontz’s newest book, The Other Emily

REVIEW – The Other Emily by Dean Koontz indexindexindexindex111

I haven’t read much Dean Koontz in my time, and what I did read was a long time ago, but the premise of this book really grabbed my attention. I ended up really enjoying it!

I could have done with more of everything… more serial killer, more creepiness, more obsession, etc. But I’m really glad I picked it up!

3.75 rounded up

5/31/21

193277192_5863561930328457_4005111654791751632_n

**The Bookworm is OPEN today from 10-5**

Happy Memorial Day! It’s Eli, and I just finished the 2nd book in David Baldacci’s Will Robie series, The Hit. Stop by and see us this week at The Bookworm. We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7.

5/28/21

191913780_5848010468550270_4396568553256339949_n

Just a little early morning reading with Oliver before heading to The Bookworm! Starting Girls with Razor Hearts by Suzanne Young, the 2nd book in the Girls with Sharp Sticks trilogy. Have a wonderful holiday weekend bookies! The Bookworm will be open regular business hours. Stay safe and happy reading!

REVIEW – Girls with Razor Hearts by Suzanne Young  indexindexindex111111

Well, this book was kind of a bummer. For how much I loved Girls with Sharp Sticks, Girls with Razor Hearts was a disappointing follow up. It was missing the magic and the “let’s all fight the patriarchy” rage that the first one inspired in me. It all felt forced and contrived to get that reaction.

It was still OK. I just hope the final book channels what made the first one special.

5/25/21

190389834_5834751646542819_5990904628674875580_n

Next up for Eli! Raise your hand if you’re surprised it’s Clive Cussler 🙋🏻‍♂️😅🙋🏻

5/24/21

189708027_5826709884013662_9081034695142886037_n

St. Martin’s Press had me doing the book mail happy dance last week with an advance copy of Chevy Stevens newest book, Dark Roads. Any of my regulars at The Bookworm can tell you she’s one of my favorite recommendations for a twisty thriller, and after 4 long years, I am so excited for a new book!! Stop by and see me this week at the bookstore, we’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7 📚📚📚

REVIEW – Dark Roads by Chevy Stevens  indexindexindexindex111

I am so glad to have a new book by Chevy Stevens! It’s been too long. She is always one of my go-to thriller recommendations.

I really enjoyed Dark Roads, and both Hailey and Beth’s POV. My only complaint, and the reason why I am giving this book 4 stars instead of 5, is the lack of explanation at the end. All of a sudden, we are told that X did X because of X and that’s it. No real details, explanations, history, nothing on ANY of the other murders that have been happening for decades. Nothing. She doesn’t talk about or explain any of it. While this might just be a personal preference, I need answers.

Still really enjoyed it, I just hope we don’t have to wait so long for the next one!

5/20/21

186513483_5802683629749621_2636726487334333101_n

I always have to read before I watch, so I picked up All Things Cease to Appear by Elizabeth Brundage. Has anyone watched the adaptation Things Seen and Heard yet? I have it added to my queue and ready!

REVIEW – All Things Cease to Appear by Elizabeth Brundage  indexindex111111111

This was like two books in one… and unfortunately, the blurb you read on the back was a short story mixed into a 450 page book about a bunch of people I didn’t really care about.

I got suckered in by seeing the trailer for the movie, and because I always have to read it before I watch it, I went out and bought the book. I honestly wish I hadn’t wasted my money or my time.

I wish the blurb hadn’t been so misleading… maybe if I had an accurate idea of what I was going to read going in, I would feel differently. Unfortunately right now, all I feel is disappointed.

5/16/21

186564401_5786219351396049_2618462351206893258_n

It’s @libraryofdallas taking over today and I want to send a huge thank you to @bookmarked for sending me this advanced copy of @claremackwrites ‘s excellent new thriller #HOSTAGE which hits shelves next month. I’ve been flying through it this week; it’s my first read by Clare and I can’t wait to read more of her books now!!

5/15/21

186560001_5779544488730202_5642546983931563737_n

It’s Eli here, reading James Haley’s book The Shores of Tripoli. This is an historical fiction novel about Thomas Jefferson’s war with the Barbary pirates and a young man’s journey through the new American Navy 🏴‍☠️

5/13/21

185965693_5768644643153520_4281941378441147599_n

Hello bookworms! Starting a new trilogy with Girls with Sharp Sticks by Suzanne Young 🥀🥀🥀 Stop by and see us at The Bookworm today through Saturday from 10-7. Happy Reading!

REVIEW – Girls With Sharp Sticks by Suzanne Young    indexindexindexindexindex

I really loved this book! To the point that I already had #2 and #3 ordered before I even finished it. Can’t wait to read the next one

5/10/21

184701903_5752391184778866_1316633766071325668_n

Good morning bookies! Just a reminder that masks are still required (no exceptions) at The Bookworm. If you’re unable/unwilling to wear one, curbside pick up is always available.

I’m currently reading Lore by Alexandra Bracken. Have a wonderful week and happy reading!

REVIEW – Lore by Alexandra Bracken

DNF at 50%

I hate to do it, but I am 220 pages into this book and I just can’t read anymore. I only partially understand what is going on. I have felt lost and like I was dropped into the second book of a series since the very beginning. The backstory and explanations are very disjointed, and there is no flow to this book. I just keep saying out loud “What is happening?”

I am so sad. I was looking forward to this book for over a year. Unfortunately, the best thing about it was the gorgeous cover.

5/8/21

183597687_5741811235836861_6211233951425387045_n

Eli here, and I’m trying something different today.  Harlan Coben has really been flying off the shelf lately, so I’m starting the first book in the Myron Bolitar series, Deal Breaker. Can’t wait to see what all the buzz is about

5/6/21

183056433_5731736843510967_3961832840262357328_n

I absolutely loved Christina McDonald’s first novel, The Night Olivia Fell, so I am really excited to dive into her newest, Do No Harm. Penelope and Oliver give their paws of approval!

REVIEW – Do No Harm by Christina MacDonald  indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

I was blown away by The Night Olivia Fell, so I had really high hopes for Do No Harm… unfortunately, it fell a little short.

I feel like the thriller aspect was almost missing from this book and it was more about the pathetic state of our country’s healthcare system. There was a lot of minor story lines that were thrown in that added nothing to the story. The story line about Nate’s high school friend and Julia/Kia were totally unnecessary… Tell me more about Violetta and her boyfriend and the drug mules and Nate’s dad as a cop instead.

Still a good story by a talented author.

5/1/21

179849208_5706743262676992_2890748276901993125_n

Good morning book friends and happy Saturday! I am currently reading Long Bright River by Liz Moore. Stop by The Bookworm from 10-7 today and check out all the new books we got on the shelves this week 📚🌻📚🌻📚

REVIEW – Long Bright River by Liz Moore    indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 stars rounded up

What a great book

Long Bright River had a little bit of everything in it… family drama, addiction, mystery, betrayal, a serial killer. I really, really enjoyed it.

I could have used more of the mystery, I wish that part was flushed out more, but I don’t think that was the purpose of the book. The twist really took me by surprise. Really glad I picked this one up

4/29/21

179874084_5696304860387499_2893131387198286677_n

Thanks to St. Martin’s Press for sending me an advance copy of Phoebe Wynne’s debut novel, Madam!

4/27/21

178525196_5686242781393707_3267383640321147424_n

Reading the final book in the Elemental Assassin series by Jennifer Estep, Last Strand 🕸️🔪🕸️ Stop by The Bookworm today from 10-5 and check out all the new books we got on the shelf yesterday!

REVIEW – Last Strand by Jennifer Estep    indexindexindexindex111

I’ve been with this series since the very beginning and I’ve loved it and everyone in it… but it was time to end.

4/25/21

178379501_5677374178947234_30364270645990921_n

So happy to get my hot little hands on a copy of The Push by Ashley Audrain! This will be jumping to the top of my reading pile today

REVIEW – The Push by Ashley Audrain    indexindexindexindexindex

Incredible book!!

Hard to believe it was a debut. Great storytelling. Can’t wait to read what she comes up with next

4/23/21

176742925_5668526089832043_3724958103718907628_n

Thanks to Wednesday Books for sending me a copy of P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast’s upcoming book, Spells Trouble! I am a sucker for YA books about witches, so I can’t wait to dive into the first Sisters of Salem book 🧙🏻 🧹🔮🧹🧙🏻

REVIEW – Spells Trouble by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast  indexindex111111111

I was so excited to receive an advance copy of Spells Trouble… not only was it a YA trilogy about witches, but it was two authors I’ve heard great things about for years but had yet to try.

*cue the violins* but I was in for a lot of disappointment

The writing felt really lazy to me. Whether they just phoned it in this time, or this is their typical way of writing, I don’t know, but I’m probably not going to find out. There were glimmers of a good story in there, but I was honestly not impressed. There were times I felt like I was in the middle of a series, there were times that I felt like I was reading middle grade, there were times I just skimmed because I wanted to be done with it. I’ll say it again because I think it bears repeating, the bones were there for a good story, maybe even a great one, but it was just not executed/edited/or written to shine.

I don’t know what else to say. If you really want a great YA witchy trilogy, check out the Cahill Witch Chronicles

4/20/21

176190634_5652371761447476_5381255622174963251_n

It’s Eli, trying something new! Currently reading the first book in the Cormoran Strike series by Robert Galbraith (JK Rowling), The Cuckoo’s Calling

4/17/21

175415750_5638177436200242_4842586331173617621_n

“Honestly, sometimes I think it’s the only recourse. Killing men in times like these.”

Thank you to Avid Reader Press for sending me an advance copy of Lisa Taddeo’s upcoming release, Animal. I’ll be spending my weekend inside Joan’s head.

REVIEW – Animal by Lisa Taddeo  indexindexindexindex111

Animal covers a lot of terrible things with a pretty unredeemable main character, but I was kind of riveted by it.

This is absolutely not going to be a book for everyone, but I really enjoyed it. I can absolutely say that it, and Joan, will stick with me for awhile.

4/16/21

174372848_5634402249911094_7108815296744450161_n

Hey book nerds, it’s Eli, and I just tagged in at The Bookworm. I’ll be here til 7 tonight reading the next book in the Dirk Pitt series by Clive Cussler, Cyclops. Don’t forget to enter our Facebook giveaway! Have a great weekend and happy reading

4/14/21

174158290_5625264724158180_8664507480201263784_n

Thanks to Flatiron Books for sending me an advance copy of Emiko Jean’s Tokyo Ever After 👑💙👑

4/11/21

172576317_5608491542502165_6233685312093762661_n

I was really excited to steal the ARC of Alex Michaelides second book, The Maidens, from Cortney. I hope it is as good as The Silent Patient! Thanks for sending it to her Celadon Books

4/7/21

170380529_5584525071565479_7097117599561463063_n

A giant THANK YOU to St. Martin’s Press for sending me an advance copy of D.J. Palmer’s upcoming release, The Perfect Daughter. I absolutely loved (loved!) Saving Meghan, so I cannot wait to get into this one. Have a great day bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW – The Perfect Daughter by D.J. Palmer  indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down because the ending was really implausible.

I’ve always been fascinated with multiple personalities, and I absolutely loved Saving Meghan (though I wasn’t crazy about The New Husband), so I was optimistic and hopeful about The Perfect Daughter. It was decent, but nothing earth shattering or note worthy. The side story about the doctor’s drug addicted son was totally unnecessary and added nothing, and like I mentioned above, the ended was implausible and felt rushed.

I’ll still read his next book and keep my fingers crossed that it recaptures what I loved about Saving Meghan.

4/6/21

169482336_5576089239075729_8249295137786576154_n

It’s Eli, finally done with the dual George Orwell novel and back to my go-to man fluff, Clive Cussler. Reading the next book in The Oregon Files, The Emperor’s Revenge. Stop by The Bookworm this week and grab some great books for yourself! We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7.

4/3/21

169063658_5560971090587544_7303646500656183255_n

@libraryofdallas at The Bookworm today, and I’m here to rave all about @gayleforman ‘s new YA masterpiece #WeAreInevitable which hits shelves June 1st and is simply a heartwarming love letter to booksellers and book lovers… centered on a young man working in his family’s used bookstore in a small town, coping with the recent loss of his brother, and grappling with his inevitable future… it’s beautiful and gives you all the feels. Thank you to @bookishfirst and @penguinteen for the ARC! Stop by and browse this lovely used bookstore in Myrtle Beach today and let me give you some recommendations! ❤️📚

3/29/21

165905149_5534375249913795_3214936732663058819_n

I’m such a big fan of Ali Wong, so I can’t wait to start her book, Dear Girls. I’ll be reading this at The Bookworm today ’til 5. Stop by and check out our Biography/Memoir section!

REVIEW – Dear Girls by Ali Wong  indexindex111111111

I think Ali Wong is super funny and talented, unfortunately, that did not transfer over to her book.

It was boring and I think the only time I actually laughed was in the introduction.

3/27/21

165963843_5522701344414519_5660818140228271925_n

Happy Saturday! @libraryofdallas here at The Bookworm today. If you’re like me and missed this great #ReesesBookClub pick, and need a good heartbreaking and heartwarming story of love at first sight, then this is the book for you! I just finished #OneDayInDecember and I can’t stop raving about it. Stop by The Bookworm from 10-7 today and let me rave about some other new to you books!

3/24/21

164853995_5508648555819798_818309664690609737_n

Hello bookies! I’m starting Jennifer Donaldson’s Lies You Never Told Me. I loved her book I Know You Remember, so I’m excited to try another! Stop by and see us at The Bookworm Monday – Wednesday from 10-5 and Thursday – Saturday from 10-7. Have a great day and happy reading!

REVIEW – Lies You Never Told Me by Jennifer Donnelly  indexindexindexindex111

This is my second book by Jennifer Donaldson, and she can write a twist!

Great story and characters, quick, easy, and enjoyable read.

3/21/21

163244449_5494869700531017_1356668881906019149_n

So excited to dive into The Plot by Jean Hanff Korelitz today! Thanks to Celadon Books for sending me an advance copy! Enjoy the rest of your weekend bookworms, and happy reading 📚☕🍰

REVIEW – The Plot by Jean Hanff Korelitz  indexindexindexindexindex

I loved this book.

I got Covid back in January, and have been struggling with daily migraines since then, so my reading time is really limited (and precious!) The Plot was absolutely worthy.

It took me a little bit to adjust to the author’s writing style, but the story, and the story within the story, were fantastic. Can I get a copy of Crib, please?

5 very happy stars

3/16/21

159479127_5471822102835777_6215491279339660710_n

Thank you to Wednesday Books for sending me an advance copy of Dahlia Adler’s upcoming release, Cool for the Summer!

3/13/21

159441905_5459541460730508_7715893905833273070_o

Hello bookworms! I am about to start The Poison Tree by Erin Kelly. Enjoy your weekend and happy reading!

REVEIW – The Poison Tree by Erin Kelly  indexindex111111111

2.5 rounded down

This was a slow burn, with a very big emphasis on sloooowww. The author kept alluding to what happened that day, but it didn’t really raise my curiosity, it just kind of bugged me and made the story drag on more.

I did enjoy the ending, but still going to be a 2.5 rounded down for me.

3/11/21

159579959_5450531731631481_2101559825449888950_o

Good morning! I’m currently reading Valentine by Elizabeth Wetmore. We’ve gotten a lot of great books on the shelf this week, so stop by The Bookworm M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7 to grab some for yourself 📚💛📚 Happy Reading!

REVIEW – Valentine by Elizabeth Wetmore  indexindex111111111

What am I missing? I don’t understand all the hype over this book… There were entirely too many unnecessary POV’s, when ultimately the only ones that I cared about were Mary Rose and Glory and Karla at the end.

I do think she’s a talented writer, but I don’t know if I would try another book by her. This one was just not for me.

3/5/21

158108946_5424961170855204_7898092970600609717_o

Hellooooo Friday!! A giant thank you to @stmartinspress for sending me an early copy of Sally Hepworth’s upcoming release, The Good Sister. I read and loved The Mother-in-Law a few months ago, so I cannot wait to get into this one. Happy Reading!

REVIEW – The Good Sister by Sally Hepworth  indexindexindexindex111

This is my second book by Sally Hepworth and I really enjoyed it!

Definitely read more like a family drama than a thriller. While Fern made me snort laugh a few times, she is not going to be everyone’s cup of tea, but it was nice to have something/someone different for a change.

4/5 stars!

3/3/21

156465255_5415867395097915_7934092156011182404_o

Thanks to @customhousebooks for sending me an advance copy of Mary Jane by Jessica Anya Blau!! I’ll be reading this at The Bookworm today. Stop by and see us M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading!

REVIEW – Mary Jane by Jessica Anya Blau  indexindex111111111

The marketing department was wildly generous by saying this book was Almost Famous meets Daisy Jones and the Six.

This book was a snooze… Nothing happened! And Mary Jane was supposed to be 14 years old, but her sheltered naivete read more like a 10-11 year old.

I just didn’t connect with the characters, the story, or the writing.

2/27/21

154614964_5398735326811122_3812660913554327954_o

It’s @libraryofdallas here at The Bookworm today and I am officially obsessed with the cover of Pretty Things by Janelle Brown. I will be 100% honest that I judged a book by it’s cover and bought it. Thankfully, I’m here to report that the inside of the book is just as great! Stop by The Bookworm today from 10-7 to find some new to you books and maybe I can help you judge a book by it’s pretty cover? 😅😅😅

2/23/21

153803051_5365101760174479_6879833110833156037_o

A big thank you to @_mira_books_ for sending me an advance copy of J.T. Ellison’s @thrillerchick upcoming release, Her Dark Lies! I started it yesterday and I am loving it so far ☠️💒☠️ Her Dark Lies comes out March 9, so add it to your virtual TBR piles now!

REVIEW – Her Dark Lies by J.T. Ellison  indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 stars rounded up

I really enjoyed this book! Very atmospheric… a bit implausible at times (but isn’t that why we read sometimes, to escape?)

I thought it had great characters and a good story. There was a lot of different POV’s which I usually don’t mind, but instead of titled chapters, it would have been helpful to have which character’s POV it was instead. I had to be sure to finish a chapter before putting the book down or else I had to flip back to figure out who was talking.

Looking forward to reading more of her books in the future!

2/18/21

151884574_5344468558904466_5991131106903095428_o

Eli here today, just started the third book in the Thrawn trilogy, Thrawn Treason. Thrawn is probably the only character from the Empire that I actually root for.

2/16/21

151009859_5337559412928714_8917206147078909208_o

Excited to start the sequel to One of Us is Lying, One of Us is Next. Karen McManus never disappoints!!

REVIEW – One of Us is Next by Karen M McManus  indexindexindex111111

I just didn’t love this one as much as the first. Maybe I needed to reread One of Us is Lying before starting this one?

2/15/21

150784888_5331832836834705_6944366032413089392_o

So very excited to receive an advance copy of Katherine St.John’s new book, The Siren!! The Lion’s Den was in my top 10 reads of 2020, so I cannot wait to start this one. I’ll be reading The Siren at The Bookworm all week… stop by and we’ll help you find a book you’ve been dying to read too!

REVIEW – The Siren by Katherine St. John  indexindexindexindex111

While I didn’t love The Siren as much as The Lion’s Den, there is no doubt that Katherine St. John knows how to write a juicy summer read!

I loved Felicity’s POV, and Stella’s too, but I could have done without Taylor and her case of instalove… I just never connected with her. It was hard to keep everyone straight (especially when you throw their character names in too) but I really enjoyed escaping to the Caribbean with The Siren! I am already clamoring for Katherine St. John’s next book.

2/13/21

149855098_5323638634320792_2195528480009275195_o

It’s a rainy day in Myrtle Beach, so that’s the perfect excuse to stay in bed a little late and read! It’s Eli here, reading Animal Farm and 1984 by George Orwell.

2/10/21

149306477_5309981592353163_9026147414727609646_o

It’s Eli and Oliver, reading the next book in Clive Cussler’s Oregon Files series, Piranha. Stop by The Bookworm this week and find the next book in your favorite series.

2/8/21

147671410_5301352339882755_5949455416248922470_o

Good Morning! Currently reading (and loving!) The Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica. Stop by The Bookworm and see me this week… We’re open Mon-Wed from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading!

REVIEW – The Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica  indexindexindexindex111

Definitely my favorite Mary Kubica so far! I figured out some twists, and some twists completely took me by surprise.

I do think it needed to be edited some… it got a little repetitive at times and there was a lot of nonsense page filler that was wholly unnecessary to the story. I also felt like there was a lot of loose ends that didn’t receive a good explanation, but overall, I really enjoyed this book!

2/5/21

146616042_5288579147826741_740809194180961146_o

Hello Friday!! I’m still working on the bottom of my TBR pile, so I grabbed Anna Kendrick’s memoir, Scrappy Little Nobody. A Simple Favor and Pitch Perfect are in my movie queue at all times, and she’s always so funny, so I’m excited to get into it! Happy Reading bookworms!

REVIEW – Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick   indexindexindex111111

I really like Anna Kendrick, and she always makes me laugh in interviews and on social media, but this book was just OK for me. Girl, talk about Pitch Perfect instead of your imaginary holiday celebtrations! I did enjoy the little Twilight chapter though.

Nothing earth shattering or surprising. Easy read.

2/2/21

146037937_5276032652414724_3251322251834458833_o

Eli here, reading The Ghosts of Eden Park by Karen Abbott. It’s about George Remus, the Bootleg King, during the roaring 20’s.

1/30/21

144546214_5263648503653139_14186074421547850_o

Next up! The 2nd book in the Deanna Madden trilogy by A.R. Torre, Do Not Disturb. Have a great weekend!

REVIEW – Do Not Disturb by A.R. Torre   indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 rounded up

This series is really twisted, but I enjoy it!! I really love Deanna, and I liked the alternating POV’s.

1/29/21

143879628_5259068454111144_5573769813311756162_o

Happy Friday!! I’m currently reading the final book in Elin Hilderbrand’s Paradise trilogy, Troubles in Paradise

REVIEW – Troubles in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand   indexindexindex111111

This trilogy started off so strong… I absolutely loved the first one. The second one was good, not great, and this one was just OK. I felt bored throughout.

1/24/21

142355561_5235852786432711_5729664486590734442_o

Currently reading Indecent by Corinne Sullivan. Enjoy your Sunday, bookworms!

REVIEW – Indecent by Corinne Sullivan   indexindexindex111111

Despite the less than stellar overall rating, I still wanted to read this book. It was mediocre… Just like the rating led me to believe 😆

1/22/21

141472129_5226576610693662_3717317129543466152_o

The Bookworm is OPEN and back to regular business hours! Dallas is manning the store, healthy and happy to help. Stop by and see him today and tomorrow from 10-7

I’m working on the bottom of my TBR pile… Currently reading Defy Me by Tahereh Mafi, the 5th book in the Shatter Me series.

Thanks for your patience this week while we had to close The Bookworm. I’ll see you all late next week when my quarantine is up. Stay healthy and happy reading!

REVIEW  – Defy Me by Tahereh Mafi  indexindexindex111111

I don’t know if I’m just over these books, or the second trilogy just isn’t as good as the original, but eh.

1/21/21

141474026_5221736541177669_545427911062372174_o

Quarantine: Day 5
We’ve exhausted our nurses
I’m starting Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson and Eli is reading his go-to, Clive Cussler’s Mirage

Don’t forget that Dallas will be reopening The Bookworm tomorrow! Stay healthy, bookies!

1/20/21

140615327_5217993928218597_6800239773392676232_o

The Bookworm is currently closed. We will reopen on Friday.

For my next selection of quarantine reads, The Date by Louise Jensen

REVIEW – The Date by Louise Jensen  indexindexindexindex111

This was my first book by Louise Jensen, and it won’t be my last!

Fast-paced, interesting, good characters. The twists were easy to figure out, but I still really enjoyed it!

Looking forward to reading more by her.

1/19/21

140238454_5212380285446628_3427106092203239513_o

Thanks to everyone for their thoughts and well wishes… Eli and I are thankfully just experiencing mild symptoms. We are spending a lot of time with our books at least! I’m currently reading People Like Her by Ellery Lloyd.

Dallas will reopen The Bookworm to regular business hours beginning on Friday! Stay healthy and happy reading!

REVIEW – People Like Her by Ellery Lloyd   indexindexindexindex111

I really enjoyed this book! Was Emmy awful? Absolutely. But as someone who pre-takes pictures and plans posts for social media at least a week in advance (check out my bookstore @thebookworm.mb!) there was a lot of truth to the story as well.

Social media is great and awful at the same time, and this book did such a good job of showing both side of it.

1/17/21

140374011_5204602152891108_7783542996360147388_o

Spent a little time on St. John yesterday with the 2nd book in Elin Hilderbrand’s Paradise series, What Happens in Paradise. Enjoy your day bookies and stop by and see us at The Bookworm next week!

REVIEW – What Happens in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand  indexindexindexindex111

While I didn’t love this one quite as much as the first one, it was enjoyable. I liked being able to read a little from Rosie’s perspective. Looking forward to the last book!

1/16/21

139683366_5198859113465412_7246775469856575796_o

Started reading Tales from the Hinterland by Melissa Albert yesterday, and it.is.perfect. If you loved The Hazel Wood as much as I did, you absolutely have to pick up this companion of dark fairy tales… Not only are the stories amazing, but the art and the illustrations inside the book by Jim Tierney are stunning!

REVIEW – Tales of the Hinterland by Melissa Albert  indexindexindexindexindex

Absolutely perfect! The stories were great and the art and illustrations were stunning. Great companion novel to The Hazel Wood.

1/15/21

139572779_5194375533913770_8257350217866199771_n

Bookstores, Myrtle Beach, and murder… what’s not to love?! It’s Eli all day at The Bookworm, excited to start the newest book from one of Myrtle Beach’s local authors! Currently reading Death on the Boardwalk by Caleb Wygal. His book comes out February 2nd, so be sure to be on the lookout

1/12/21

139054151_5181836121834378_975937548640419236_o

I absolutely loved Hester Fox’s first novel, The Witch of Willow Hall, so I’m hoping I enjoy her follow up, The Widow of Pale Harbor, just as much!

REVIEW – The Widow of Pale Harbor indexindex111111111

For how much I loved The Witch of Willow Hall, this was a pretty bland and disappointing follow-up. It was sooooo repetitive. Yes, we know Gabriel misses Anna, yes, he didn’t think of the consequences of taking this job, yes he is here for his penance. Enough already.

This book was basically a bad case of insta-love with a little mystery and some Edgar Allan Poe references thrown in. Definitely not the 5 star read this author’s first book was.

I skimmed a lot towards the end because I just wanted it to be over. 2 very bored and unenthusiastic stars

1/11/21

137596303_5175814765769847_2802253632253958872_n

Happy Monday! Stop by The Bookworm this week to check out all the new stock we’ve gotten on the shelf! We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. I’m currently reading The Girls by Emma Cline, a fictional account of the Manson cult. Have a great week and stay safe!

REVIEW – The Girls by Emma Cline   indexindexindexindexindex

Really great book! The writing reminded me of Julie Buntin and Chelsea Bieker (both of whom I love).

This book had been on my radar for awhile, but when I saw the rating I contemplated not picking it up. I’m so glad I did. You could feel the despair and loneliness of Evie, and see how easy it is for someone to get caught up in something so vile and bizarre like the group from the ranch.

I also liked how she slowly told you what happened the night of the murder and just left little sprinkles of details throughout the book… even the little snippets of what Evie’s life is currently were done really well.

Overall, great read. 5 stars!

1/9/21

137504074_5168175723200418_8830191218673079504_o

It’s Eli here today, I just started The Innocent by David Baldacci and I am loving it! I can’t wait to read the rest of Will Robie series.

1/8/21

137078419_5162423687108955_1129733501457695874_o

Wanted to start the year off with the book that has been on my TBR pile the longest! Currently reading Children of Virtue and Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi. Stop by The Bookworm today to grab some great new-to-you books! I’ll be there 10-7

REVIEW – Children of Virtue and Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi   indexindexindexindex111

I was in a vicious cycle of putting off this book because I was afraid I had forgotten too much since the first one… which just led to letting more time pass and then forgetting more. This went on for over a year.

I should not have waited! While I may have enjoyed it more if I had read it closer to the first one, I still didn’t really feel like I forgot anything. She was able to pull me right back in the story, and it didn’t feel like I had read 200+ books inbetween.

That ending though!! When is the next one coming? It’s not soon enough!

1/6/21

136199924_5154953507855973_3190269332958483812_o

To anyone who drove past The Bookworm today and saw me in the middle of the parking lot taking pictures, it was for a good cause! Currently reading If He Had Been With Me by Laura Nowlin. Be safe with your bookstagram, friends

REVIEW – If He Had Been With Me by Laura Nowlin   indexindex111111111

I’m really confused as to how this book has such a high rating. It was mundane and repetitious, the main character was annoying, and the writing wasn’t very good.

And I swear, if I knew she called him “Finny” I never would have picked up this book.

2 very bored and unethusiastic stars

1/5/21

136327711_5149049581779699_6761836328963909287_o

Good Morning! Currently reading Guilty by Laura Elliot 

REVIEW – Guilty by Laura Elliot   indexindexindexindex111

3.75 rounded up

I really liked this book until the stuff with the Plinks came in to the story… just all of a sudden the book went really left with hardly any explanation. I felt like I was missing a chunk of the story.

All around, an enjoyable book. And honestly, can you blame him?

1/3/21

135516499_5141512969200027_2006912069695884511_o

It’s Eli here, I thought I would try something different than Clive Cussler for a change, haha. Reading The North Water by Ian McGuire. It’s about a turn of the century whaling expedition that goes awry.

1/2/21

135472256_5137317219619602_7848163396831584030_o

The Bookworm is back to our regular business hours! Stop by and see Dallas today from 10-7. I’m spending my morning with White Ivy by Susie Yang and snuggling inside my new reading sweatshirt (my arms get cold!) Enjoy your day bookies, and push that diet until Monday

REVIEW – White Ivy by Susie Yang   indexindexindex111111

I was so excited for this book, but it was a snooooooze. The blurb made it seem suspenseful, but that was not the case.

1/1/21

135022029_5134879919863332_1198444476526302321_n

What a fantastic book to start my year off with! A giant thank you to Scholastic for sending me an advance copy of Muted by Tami Charles. Mark your calendars for February 2 and pick.up.this.book. 5 huge stars!  indexindexindexindexindex

12/30/20

134203453_5124311564253501_6416308743164648798_o

One last book for the year… Reading the upcoming release from Casey McQuiston, One Last Stop (thanks Heather!) The Bookworm will be open today and tomorrow from 10-5, closed on Friday, and then back to normal hours as of Saturday. Have a great day and stay safe out there!!

REVIEW – One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

This was a cute and unique story… I was really excited to read it after how much hype her first book got, but I honestly didn’t love it. I just never really connected with Jane and August.

What I liked:
All the side characters were amazing (the best part of the book, in my opinion) and how different and inclusive the cast was. This is not your typical rom-com book, which I loved.

What I didn’t like:
It was too long and it dragged at points. It took me way longer to read this book than it normally would… it also felt a little preachy at times.

Overall, I enjoyed it and will definitely read Red, White, and Royal Blue soon!

12/28/20

133709434_5116700061681318_5230967785077893314_o

The Bookworm will be open today-Thursday from 10-5! I’m enjoying some of my presents from under the tree… The Chicken Sisters by KJ Dell’Antonio, the always amazing Britney Spears, and an entire bag filled with nothing but the marshmallows from Lucky Charms. This is 40, I guess?! 😆 Have a great day bookworms!

REVIEW – The Chicken Sisters by KJ Dell’Antonia   indexindexindexindex111

What an adorable book to end my reading year on!

I really enjoyed it! Sometimes I was Team Amanda, sometimes I was Team Mae (and I was always team Andy.)

The end of the story dragged a little, but it ended just the way it should have.

12/26/20

133595915_5109023912448933_4859436421864771028_o

Good morning!! What books were under your tree yesterday? I got The Chicken Sisters by @kjda and White Ivy by @susieyyang. Currently finishing up the newest book from Karen McManus, The Cousins. Don’t forget that The Bookworm is closed until Monday… Happy Reading!

REVIEW – The Cousins by Karen M McManus   indexindexindexindex111

Definitely not the suspense/mystery I have come to expect from this author, but I still enjoyed it!

12/23/20

132585569_5096436257041032_2408478085746276258_n

Today is the last day to stop by The Bookworm before Christmas! We will be closing at 5 and not opening again until Monday. This is Eli, finishing out my reading year with the last book in the Dexter series by Jeff Lindsay, Dexter is Dead. Happy Christmas Eve Eve!

12/22/20

132533700_5092383857446272_3934336718580270745_o

A super big thank you to William Morrow for sending me an advance copy of Joshilyn Jackson’s upcoming thriller, Mother May I! I absolutely loved her last book, Never Have I Ever, so I’m really excited to get into this one. Happy Reading bookworms!

REVIEW – Mother May I by Joshilyn Jackson    indexindexindexindex111

I read this book in a little over a day because I couldn’t wait to see what happened next.

It did feel a little repetitive at times, but I enjoyed it! Not quite as much as her thriller from last year, Never Have I Ever, but there is no doubt that Joshilyn Jackson is talented and switched over from her original genre of books really well.

Can’t wait to see what she comes up with next!

12/20/20

132045314_5084284491589542_8475858275926725078_o

It’s cold, wet, and dreary in Myrtle Beach, so I’m going to spend the morning in bed with Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick. Enjoy your Sunday bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW – Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick   indexindexindex111111

Let me preface this by saying that I’m 40 and I still read YA, so I’ll probably be harsher than most of the other reviews…

This book was just OK for me. The story with the Witness Protection was totally implausible, the instalove was eye-roll worthy, and her reasoning for everything at the end just annoyed me. That being said, it was still an easy read with a decent story. And I did love Chet.

3 stars

12/19/20

132001712_5079614005389924_945092996862712942_n

I have always been fascinated by the Wild West, so I was happy to have Wild Bill by Tom Clavin come through the door. I wish I would have read it before Cortney and I went to Deadwood a few years ago (which you should definitely check out if you’re ever in South Dakota). Here’s a few pictures I took while we were there

12/17/20

131930370_5072826962735295_8219919725456641136_o

Such a big fan of Shari Lapena… excited to start An Unwanted Guest! Happy Reading bookworms!

REVIEW – An Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena   indexindexindexindex111

First half of the book was decent, but once I hit that middle point I could not put it down!! Shari Lapena never disappoints

12/16/20

131923715_5066856459999012_6002210897565589895_o

What did you all think of The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes?! I’m excited to be starting it!

REVIEW – The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins  indexindexindexindexindex

I was hesitant to read this because I was afraid I would be disappointed. But I was not! Her writing is still great, and I think she did such a wonderful job bringing us all back to Panem.

There were parts of the story that dragged, but overall, I though it was great.

Snow lands on top!

12/14/20

131290392_5058757487475576_4890961221088629706_o

Mixing it up a little and reading a travelogue… Lost on Planet China by J. Maarten Troost

REVIEW – Lost on Planet China by J. Maarten Troost  indexindexindex111111

I loved Sex Lives of Cannibals… this one was just OK. I enjoyed the stories, but it felt like practically the same in every town or city he visited, and the history parts were hard to slog through.

12/13/20

131435935_5052775671407091_2886110313539622964_o

Tucking into a nice cuppa and Paula Daly’s Clear My Name. Enjoy your Sunday, we’ll see you next week! Stop by to grab some great new-to-you books, the perfect holiday gift for the bookworm on your list, or a gift certificate. The Bookworm is open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading!

REVIEW – Clear My Name by Paula Daly   indexindexindex111111

12/12/20

131213112_5048184288532896_2567371097440336309_o

Joining the rest of my book friends and reading In a Holidaze by Christina Lauren. Happy Holidays bookworms!

REVIEW – In a Holidaze by Christina Lauren   indexindexindex111111

Definitely my least favorite books of theirs…

I feel like there was a lot of loose ends. What about Theo? They alluded to some feeling on his part, but just never addressed it. What about the time loop? That just kind of went away. All the side characters were hard to keep track of, there was just so many. Why was there an Elise and a Lisa? I’m already confused enough because there are like 12 characters to keep track of.

Great idea, mediocre execution.

12/11/20

131437514_5043855805632411_4507214972303259663_n

Hey, it’s Eli. Still reading and loving Clive Cussler… on to The Silent Sea. Don’t forget that The Bookworm offers gift certificates and a ton of bookish gifts. Stop by and see us M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading!

12/9/20

131067939_5036918309659494_8004919484541644861_o

Penelope helped pick my next read!

REVIEW – The Arrangement by Robyn Harding   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

I enjoyed it! Robyn Harding always comes up with these cool stories. It was a quick read, but definitely repetitive at times. Looking forward to picking up the next one

12/9/20

130698882_5033122040039121_400326545088490421_o

It’s been a quiet (and cold!) few days, so I’ve gotten to catch up on some reading… Excited to start the 27th installment in the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich, Fortune and Glory (Tantalizing Twenty-Seven)

REVIEW – Fortune and Glory by Janet Evanovich    indexindexindexindex111

I need to start off by saying I am super annoyed that they changed the title format… there is absolutely no reason this book should be called Fortune and Glory. It is the 27th book in the Stephanie Plum series, period. “Don’t stray from the formula!”

Aside from the above, I really enjoyed this book. Laughed out loud a lot, enjoyed Potts as a new character. I continue to be Team Ranger.

“Here it is. You think you know someone and then next thing they tell you is that they want a Chihuahua named Chardonnay.”

Looking forward to the next one!

12/8/20

130904201_5031158546902137_1339846128349143091_o

Reading Heart Bones by Colleen Hoover today… Have a great day bookworms!

REVIEW – Heart Bones by Colleen Hoover   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

Decent story. I just was never really invested in the characters or their future. I feel like this book could have been written by any author… it was missing the Colleen Hoover sparkle I have come to love until the last 30 pages. Then it shined.

12/6/20

130279303_5023973450953980_3397407481499639257_n

Eli here… A friend suggested I read A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby, and so far I am not disappointed. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday bookworms

12/5/20

129642832_5019304508087541_8498565489463764228_o

I am a sucker for a great book cover, and this one may be my favorite yet! Currently reading Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

REVIEW – Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson   indexindexindexindexindex

Absolutely adored this book. It was hard to read at times and it felt so familiar at times too. It also brought an understanding to mental illness that I didn’t have before, and most importantly, it made me laugh. I can’t wait to read her other books… and adopt her “furiously happy” stance.

12/4/20

129843129_5014370158580976_1950281333122065074_o

It’s Eli, your official bookworm for the day. Reading up on the history of craft beer in America with The Audacity of Hops by Tom Acitelli. Stop by The Bookworm to talk about books or beer with me today from 10-7

12/3/20

129522514_5009217269096265_1038403911688122298_o

Can you believe it’s December 3rd already?! Excited to start The Ravens by Danielle Paige and Kass Morgan today… I’ll be at The Bookworm from 10-7, so stop by to grab some great books, get recommendations, or find the perfect gift for the bookworm in your life!

REVIEW – The Ravens by Kass Morgan and Danielle Paige   indexindexindexindex111

Enjoyable YA story. Liked all the characters. Wish we had gotten more into the history of the Ravens. Looking forward to the next one!

12/2/20

129601941_5004699396214719_8070754462299340808_o

Good morning bookies! I’m reading Circe by Madeline Miller today. Stay tuned this afternoon to see all the winners from our Small Business Saturday giveaways!

REVIEW – Circe by Madeline Miller   indexindexindexindexindex

Absolutely outstanding

Totally worthy of all the hype… if this book interests you, pick it up now. You will not regret it!

12/1/20

128994016_5000104446674214_2922844480049011400_o

I’ve been reading the first book in Elin Hilderbrand’s Paradise series, Winter in Paradise, and I love it!! Special thanks to Tracie at Mimi and Cici for this adorable Christmas at the Beach sign. Did you know we sell her designs at The Bookworm? They’re the perfect holiday gift for the bookworm in your life! Check out her Etsy shop, Mimi and Cici, for all the cute things she has available!

REVIEW – Winter in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand   indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 rounded up!

I loved Elin’s Winter Street series, and the Paradise series did not disappoint! I purposely waited until the final book came out to grab the first one, and now I can’t wait to start the second. Really enjoyed this one

11/30/20

128843232_4995017747182884_4820099208540407826_o

Grand Strand Humane Society is in desperate need of towels, sheets, and blankets. Please take a minute to go through closets and donate! If you bring your donations to The Bookworm this week (Nov 30-Dec 5) you can have a free mystery book on us!

I’m starting Pupcakes (can we talk about this cover?!) by Annie England Noblin today. Please think about all the unwanted pets out there and adopt don’t shop!

REVIEW – Pupcakes by Annie England Noblin   indexindexindex111111

Really cute story, but I just didn’t like the MC. Loved all the other characters (especially Teddy!), but Brydie really got on my nerves. I am also obsessed with this cover.

Solid 3 stars

11/29/20

128662949_4991144337570225_5037464679524774452_o

Thanks to everyone who stopped by The Bookworm yesterday to celebrate Small Business Saturday! Eli here, on to the third book in the original Thrawn Trilogy. Still loving this story as much now as I did 25 years ago.

11/27/20

128217284_4977173842300608_6280271366074293893_o

I got a belly full of turkey and mashed potatoes, so that means it’s officially Christmas Season! Spending my evening with John Grisham’s Skipping Christmas. Don’t forget to stop by The Bookworm on Small Business Saturday for great deals, freebies, and tons of giveaways!

REVIEW – Skipping Christmas by John Grisham indexindexindex111111

One of the few instances where the movie is better than the book… the book was missing the humor I had come to love.

11/25/20

127517813_4969585546392771_7766729223653048114_o

Happy Thanksgiving Eve! The Bookworm will be open from 10-5 today, so stop by and grab some great books to read over the holiday! I’ll be starting Little Cruelties by Liz Nugent.

REVIEW – Little Cruelties by Liz Nugent  indexindex111111111

This was a rough read for me. It was a story of a dysfunctional family, not the suspenseful thriller I was expecting.

It was split up in 3 parts, each one was one of the brothers POV. But every other chapter or so it jumped forward or backwards a number of years. This was wholly unnecessary and confusing. Plus, I hated everyone except for Luke, who just made me sad.

Honestly, I was glad when it was over.

11/22/20

126430040_4965065143511478_695492315511808187_n

I have recently started a love affair with Noble Cider (it’s magic!) If you see it at the store or a restaurant, absolutely give it a try. Currently reading The Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert (but not drinking cider out of my Pivot glass because it’s 7 am on a Tuesday) Have a great day bookworms and happy reading!

11/21/20

126837614_4951758108175515_3611441352291500501_o

Finally got my hot little hands on Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia. Have a great weekend bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW – Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down

Cool story, was a little hard to get into at the beginning. I loved it from about page 50 until the secret was revealed, and then it went downhill for me. I also wasn’t really a big fan of her writing style, which is why I rounded down instead of up.

I still enjoyed the uniqueness of the story and that cover is absolutely stunning!

11/18/20

126286340_4938198859531440_7229538335662253245_n

Our latest covid binge show is One Tree Hill, so it felt like the perfect time to pick up Hilarie Burton’s memoir, The Rural Diaries. Next to the book is my latest Furrybones (Eli gets me one every year for Halloween)

REVIEW – The Rural Diaries by Hilarie Burton Morgan   indexindexindexindex111

Our latest covid binge has been One Tree Hill, so it felt like the perfect time to pick up this book.

I did feel like there was some filler to hit the page limit, and at times it felt like she was a little sanctimonious about allllll she does (yes, we all realize you are the farm version of Wonder Woman) but I do feel like she was really honest and genuine about the things she talked about.

Personally, I wished there was more about her earlier life and acting, but I know that wasn’t what this book was going to be about.

Overall, I enjoyed this book, and I like her even more after reading it.

11/20/20

126522242_4947010328650293_259636003943341545_o

Hellooo Friday! I’m (finally) reading (and loving) Darling Rose Gold by Stephanie Wrobel which has been on my radar forever. Stop by The Bookworm today and tomorrow from 10-7 and grab some amazing books you’ve been dying to read!

REVIEW – Darling Rose Gold by Stephanie Wrobel   indexindexindexindexindex

I have a weird fascination with this kind of story, and I was glued to the news story about Gypsy Rose, so this book was totally up my alley! I loved the two different POV’s… Really, really enjoyed this book!

11/16/20

125815677_4928884490462877_5090247413176074679_o

Good morning! I started You Were There Too by Colleen Oakley yesterday, and I am loving it so far! Stop by The Bookworm this week and let us help you find your next favorite read. We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. See you soon and happy reading!

REVIEW – You Were There Too by Colleen Oakley  indexindexindexindexindex

I loved this book! I’m mad at myself for letting it languish in my TBR pile for so long.

Good writing, great story, wonderful characters. I laughed a little, I cried a little, and I changed my mind a lot about who she belonged with.

Absolutely recommend!

11/14/20

125394785_4919685431382783_285703101866430788_n

It’s an Eli post – decided to branch out from my usual type of book and start the Arc of a Scythe trilogy by Neal Shusterman

11/12/20

124623133_4912117288806264_4600626379507888620_o

We couldn’t pick, so you get a double dose of doggie cuteness! Currently reading the 3rd book in the Bromance Book Club series by Lyssa Kay Adams, Crazy Stupid Bromance. Stay dry Myrtle Beach!

REVIEW – Crazy Stupid Bromance by Lyssa Kay Adamsindexindexindexindexindex

Absolutely adorable. Loved it and can’t wait for the next installment!

11/10/20

124918657_4901748843176442_2139690354016603057_o

“The worms crawl in, the worms crawl out…”
My brother and I were obsessed with these stories when we were younger! Going to trip down memory lane this afternoon and reread all The Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark by Alvin Schwartz. Don’t forget that we sell some amazing candles from
Novelly Yours at The Bookworm!

11/9/20

124581428_4895873873763939_2149263657097896166_o

And so begins a new week! I’ll be reading the latest book in the Will Trent series by Karin Slaughter, The Silent Wife, all day at The Bookworm. Stop by from 10-5 and check out all the new books we got on the shelf!

REVIEW – The Silent Wife by Karin Slaughter  indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 stars rounded up

Great story with characters that I have come to love over the past 19 years. Can’t wait to see what comes next for Will and Sara!

11/8/20

124379755_4891954804155846_6387050909721193091_o

“That’s why her hair is so big, it’s full of secrets.” Reading Bunny by Mona Awad and enjoying one of Gretchen Wieners toaster strudels. What a way to start the day!

REVIEW – Bunny by Mona Awad   indexindexindex111111

Let me start off by saying I dig weird… and I knew before I picked up this book that was what I was going to get. I’m just not sure if it was an enjoyable weird.

There were times I couldn’t wait to see what happened next, and times when I was counting down the pages I had left.

I finished it hours ago and I’m still not wholly sure how I feel about it. Definitely glad I read it, but it’s not one I will pick up again. I’m just going to go with it was good, and middle of the road it with 3 stars.

11/6/20

124043134_4881577301860263_3584064830361859928_o

Happy Friday bookworms! I am currently reading The Lucky Ones by Tiffany Reisz

REVIEW – The Lucky Ones by Tiffany Reisz  indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

This book was pretty good! The mystery aspect was more of a B storyline compared to Allison and her life. I wish it had been the other way around, I really wanted more mystery and intrigue.

Still a quick and enjoyable read.

11/5/20

123764515_4877104378974222_3826596844467839697_n

It’s your favorite back-up bookworm, Eli, reading the next book in Clive Cussler’s Oregon Files series, Corsair. The Bookworm will be open 10-7 the rest of the week, so stop by and stock up!

11/3/20

123741457_4868257573192236_2966174393910050625_o

Jumping back into J.R. Ward’s world of the Black Dagger Brotherhood and reading the 14th book in the series, The Beast

REVIEW – The Beast by J.R. Ward   indexindexindex111111

I’ve been reading this series since my 20s, though much less often in the past few years (I think I’m 5 books behind). Honestly, I’m not sure if I’ve just outgrown the series or the books aren’t as good as they used to be.

I can definitively say that The Beast was too long… way too long. The last 200 pages were pretty good, but the first 300 should have been condensed.

I’m just going to go middle of the road and rate it 3 stars

11/1/20

123448508_4859133194104674_2906692583365974380_o

Hello November!
Using the extra hour this morning (I woke up soooo early!) to stay in bed with Mine by Courtney Cole. Enjoy your day bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW – Mine by Courtney Cole   indexindexindexindex111

Quick, easy, and enjoyable! A little farfetched at times, but I still really liked it.

10/31/20

123435227_4855428264475167_4011672855060051679_o

I ended up picking Horrid by Katrina Leno as my next read and I lovvvveedd it! Perfect book for Halloween

REVIEW – Horrid by Katrina Leno   indexindexindexindexindex

LOVED this book! It was creepy, it was weird, and that ending 😳😳😳

Cannot wait to see what this author writes next!

10/29/20

123146209_4845074622177198_8730792578414183978_o

Thanks to Riveted By Simon Teenfor sending me an advance copy of Jenna Evans Welch’s upcoming release, Love & Olives! I’ve been reading a lot of dark and heavy books lately, so this is exactly what I’m in the mood for. I’ll be reading this all day at The Bookworm, stop by from 10-7 to find your next favorite book (or to pick up one of these adorable pins)

10/27//20

122988819_4835518066466187_533579657901472445_o

I read The Roanoke Girls last year, and even though it was one of the most disturbing books I’ve read, I still really enjoyed it!! About to start Amy Engel’s latest book, The Familiar Dark. Have a great day bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW – The Familiar Dark by Amy Engel  indexindexindex