Now Reading, Reviews, and Recommendations

9/14/19

70271673_3232780633406613_1033272859725660160_n.jpg

I’ve been anxiously waiting for the sequel to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, The Testaments, since they first announced it last year. So excited to start it!

 

9/14/19

REVIEW – House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig   indexindexindexindexindex

Rating: All the stars

I loved, loved, loved this book! Definitely one of my favorites of the year.

 

9/13/19

REVIEW – The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda    indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down because I liked it more than I loved it

Good story, quick read. This was my favorite books of hers.

 

9/13/19

69958429_3230471010304242_1537964145872207872_o

It’s Eli at The Bookworm today… My last book was about a fictional chef, now I reading about an actual chef. Ferran Adriá runs what has been voted the world’s best restaurant, El Bulli. Stop by The Bookworm today and check out all the other great Biographies and Memoirs we have!

 

9/12/19

70830483_3228636873820989_8713428409432145920_o

I started House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig earlier this week and I looovvveee it! Looking forward to my day off tomorrow so I can finish it.

 

9/11/19

70753205_3224389960912347_7518623225568296960_n.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Good Morning! I’m starting Megan Miranda’s latest book, The Last House Guest. Happy Reading!

 

9/10/19

REVIEW – Vox by Christina Dalcher   indexindexindexindex111

I really liked this book! I was afraid it was going to be too close to The Handmaid’s Tale, but it really wasn’t. I wasn’t expecting the science/medical side of the story, but I ended up really enjoying it. I really, REALLY, wanted to know more about what happened at the end at the White House, but overall I thought it was a great book.

 

9/9/19

70721970_3218878984796778_7138235641657032704_n

Vox by Christina Dalcher is about the government deciding women should only be allowed to speak 100 words per day… Since I’ve been fighting laryngitis for the past month, this seemed like the perfect book to read next!

 

9/8/19

REVIEW – The Night Sister by Jennifer McMahon   indexindex111111111

I read The Winter People a few months ago and loved it. Unfortunately, I feel the opposite about The Night Sister. It was very underwhelming… I kept waiting (and waiting) for something to happen. It didn’t. And the twist at the end was just blah. None of the characters were great, the switching between the 3 timelines wasn’t great, the whole story overall wasn’t great. Definitely disappointed.

I 100 percent think Jennifer McMahon is a great writer, I just hope the rest of her books are more Winter People and less Night Sister.

 

9/7/19

70431579_3213385812012762_6725596942161674240_n

Hey Bookworms, Eli here. Haven’t been able to sell much beer this week because of the weather, but I’ve gotten a lot of reading in! Started my first James Patterson book, The Chef 🔪

 

9/5/19

69458239_3207652322586111_3951329234684739584_o

The wind and the rain has really picked up, so we’ll be hiding out in the house all day today with our books and our dogs! I’m starting The Night Sister by Jennifer McMahon… Stay safe!

 

9/5/19

REVIEW – Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks   indexindex111111111

I guess I’m in the minority, but I am unimpressed with this book. Lackluster suspense with “twists” you could see coming a mile away. It dragged on and on when I just wanted it to be over.

 

9/4/19

69838691_3205685609449449_4100555425252900864_o

The Bookworm is now closed until after Dorian has passed (hopefully Friday!) Eli brought home The Bootlegger by Clive Cussler to read over the next few days. Stay safe everyone!

 

9/4/19

REVIEW – Anything by Ordinary by Lara Avery   indexindexindex111111

Definitely not the best written book I’ve ever read, but I enjoyed it. Contrary to a lot of the other opinions, I really liked the ending.

 

9/3/19

69340848_3201845949833415_7987991583981043712_n

Hey Myrtle Beach – The Bookworm is open regular business hours all week! I’ll be reading Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks today… Stop by from 10-7 and grab some great new-to-you books!

 

9/2/19

REVIEW – My Sister, The Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite   indexindexindexindex111

This was not the book I was expecting to read… it was more about the family dynamic, with the fact that her sister is a serial killer and she helps cover it up being more of a minor story line.

I still really enjoyed it! I wanted more though. More backstory, more details, I’m dying to know what happens next.

 

9/2/19

70259528_3199821836702493_8269559112941961216_n

I’ve been dying to get my hands on this book for months! Currently reading My Sister, The Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite

 

9/2/19

REVIEW – Roomies by Christina Lauren   indexindexindexindex111

Great characters in a very cute (albeit predictable) and funny story! This is my 3rd book by Christina Lauren, and I’ve really enjoyed them all.

 

9/1/19

69481945_3197686710249339_3064219502225915904_n

 

Spent some time at the beach today with Anything but Ordinary by Lara Avery.
REVIEW – Lock Every Door by Riley Sager   indexindexindexindexindex
I loved this book… Definitely my favorite by this author. I read it in 24 hours because I
just needed to know the secrets behind The Bartholomew. It was a well-written suspense
that kept you guessing til the end. 5 stars!

9/1/19

70207257_3196073917077285_8800376685150076928_n

It’s finally September and clearly time to get out the Halloween decorations, right?! I just finished Lock Every Door by Riley Sager and it was fantastic! I read it in 24 hours because I was dying to know what really happened inside The Bartholomew.

 

8/30/19

REVIEW – The Darkest Corner by Kara Thomas   indexindexindexindex111

This was my 3rd book by Kara Thomas, and it did not disappoint! I thought it was really great. Good story, good characters, good mystery. Looking forward to reading what she writes next!

 

8/29/19

69538869_3188313637853313_4280258832602497024_n

I started The Darkest Corner by Kara Thomas this morning… I really enjoyed Little Monsters and The Cheerleaders by her as well, and this one is great so far too!

 

8/28/19

REVIEW – The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia    indexindexindexindexindex

I adored this book! I loved the characters, the story, the Romeo and Juliet of it all. So, so good.

I’m a big fan of Beautiful Creatures series (not the spin-off though) so it’s great to see Kami Garcia go in a different direction and still totally nail it.

 

8/28/19

69505149_3184633444887999_3345822468961992704_n

Good Morning! I’m starting my 3rd book by Christina Lauren (loved them!) called Roomies. Have a great day and Happy Reading!

 

8/28/19

REVIEW – The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton   indexindexindex111111

I loved the premise of this book. So cool and different… but it just didn’t deliver. It was so confusing. I had a hard time keeping track of who was who and what character Aiden was on each chapter. Maybe if I had been able to read this all in one sitting, it would have been easier, but who really has that opportunity?

The last 150 pages were pretty good, but that was only enough to bring my rating up to 3 stars.

 

 

8/27/19

69227963_3182916318393045_6563586270335860736_n

Hey Bookworms, Eli here. Just started reading The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler. Anyone else a fan of the Philip Marlowe books?

 

8/25/19

69634087_3176279149056762_4152869269379481600_n

It’s a nice cool morning in Myrtle Beach, so I am reading with the windows open… Starting The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia. I am such a fan of her Beautiful Creature series, so I’m excited to read something a little different from her!

 

8/24/19

69752115_3173146139370063_2305252786217943040_n

Excited to finally read The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton! Happy Reading! ☠️🖤☠️

 

8/24/19

REVIEW – Stay Sweet by Siobhan Vivian   indexindexindex111111

Cute, easy, YA fluff. Maybe it’s just been too long since I’ve been in high school, but Amelia was weirdly obsessed with her best friend Cate, right? Now I want to go make my own ice cream…

 

8/24/19

REVIEW – Rich Peoplel Problems by Kevin Kwan   indexindexindexindexindex

Wonderful ending to a great series! I loved getting to know all these characters over the 3 books. Definitely a lot less annotations in this one, which I whole-hardheartedly appreciated. I’m really sad it’s over.

 

8/22/19

REVIEW – The Babysitter’s Coven by Kate Williams    indexindexindexindex111

The Babysitters Coven was cute, funny, and snarky. I loved the first half (5 stars) and liked the second half (3 stars). I feel like The Sitters and how they came to be, all their history, how each was chosen, etc. wasn’t explained well enough. I want to know more!

I will happily average both together and give it 4 stars. Can’t wait to read the next installment!

 

8/22/19

68781724_3167375633280447_5846734904120836096_n

What’s your favorite ice cream topping? Mine is Nerds… weird, I know, but I 💜 it! I got this cup of delicious from Flavors Ice Cream and Gelato (located just a few doors down from The Bookworm) and started Stay Sweet by Siobhan Vivian yesterday afternoon. Stop by St. James Plaza today and beat the heat with a good book and a frozen treat. 📕🍦📕

 

8/20/19

69406170_3161617990522878_6594056872867659776_n.

Good morning bookworms! I’m starting the final book in the Crazy Rich Asian trilogy by Kevin Kwan, Rich People Problems. Have a great day and Happy Reading!

 

8/19/19

68428370_3158911977460146_1366129943242604544_n

And so starts another week… Good luck to everyone starting school and congrats to all the parents for making it through the summer! I’m starting The Babysitters Coven by Kate Williams ☠️🖤🔮 A big thank you to Random House for sending me an advance copy! ☠️🖤🔮

 

8/19/19

REVIEW – The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager   indexindexindexindex111

Great book! Quick read that I had a hard time putting down. And that ending!

 

8/18/19

68270480_3155956821088995_8421049709052821504_n

Next up! The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager. Happy Reading!

 

8/18/19

REVIEW – Legendary by Stephanie Garber   indexindexindexindex111

Really great second installment of the Caraval trilogy! While I didn’t love it as much as I loved the first one, it was still a great book. I definitely wanted more Scarlett though! Can’t wait to read Finale!

 

8/17/19

REVIEW – Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov   indexindex111111111

How do you review a book like this?

Was it well-written, thoughtful, and even amusing at times? Yes. Was it awful, horrifying, and disgusting? Also yes.

I read Rust and Stardust by T. Greenwood last year, and it was so fantastic that I wanted to read the actual Lolita. The story doesn’t surprise any of us, but it was still hard to read, and at the end of the day, I just didn’t enjoy it. 2 stars for me

 

8/16/19

67933064_3150126111672066_4266807510427500544_n

It’s Eli here at The Bookworm today. I’m starting A World of Thieves by James Carlos Blake, a story about a Louisiana teenager who wants to follow his uncle’s criminal path in the 1920’s. Have a great weekend 🥃🔪💰

 

8/13/19

68250819_3141874439163900_8869613945963413504_n

I keep saying I need to read more Classics, but I am easily distracted by the new and shiny books. Going to give Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov a read.

 

8/12/19

68933505_3139243166093694_1046393027037233152_o

Caraval was fantastic! I can’t believe I waited this long to read it! Starting the sequel, Legendary 🎪💃🏻🎪

 

8/12/19

REVIEW – 29 Seconds by T.M. Logan   indexindexindexindex111

Great book! I read it in 24 hours because I couldn’t wait to see how the story played out.

I really liked Lies, and 29 seconds was an awesome follow up. Can’t wait to see what else this author does!

 

8/11/19

68449482_3137032379648106_4049816850576441344_o

“Give me one name. One person. And I will make them disappear.”

A huge thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending me (and Penelope) an advance copy of 29 Seconds by T.M. Logan!! I read his book Lies last year and loved it… Can’t wait to get into this one!

 

8/11/19

REVIEW – Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes   indexindexindexindexindex

What an adorable book. Great characters, cute story, and the scandal about the racing cereal boxes had me laughing out loud.

Fantastic book for a debut author!

 

8/11/19

REVIEW – Caraval by Stephanie Garber   indexindexindexindexindex

I absolutely loved this book! I’m mad at myself for waiting so long to read it.

I loved the world of Caraval, the characters, everything. And the way that Stephanie Garber writes is just so magical.

I’m super excited that I have the sequel already so I can start it immediately.

 

8/10/19

68412281_3133458470005497_5247969450346414080_n

🌻Good Morning🌻 I’m starting Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes… Someone called The Bookworm last week looking for this book and we didn’t have it yet. If it was you, let me know and I’ll save it for ya!🌻

 

8/9/19

REVIEW – Then She Was Gone – Lisa Jewell   indexindexindexindex111

I really enjoy the way Lisa Jewell writes. Then She Was Gone was a dark and twisted story. No real surprises, you could tell where the story was going, but I flew through it in a day because I just wanted to know all the details. Looking forward to reading more of her books!

 

8/9/19

68393608_3130839303600747_5061546566662225920_o

Happy National Book Lover’s Day!! 💜 I’ll be celebrating by starting Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell. What are you reading today?

 

8/7/19

REVIEW – Lethal White by Robert Galbraith   indexindexindexindex111

Great 4th book of the Cormoran Strike series!

I started reading this series when it first debuted, and have eagerly awaited each new installment.

There was A LOT of side stories going on… it was hard to see how they all connected. And there were some aspects of the story that dragged (does anyone really care if someone is pronouncing it Chizzle or Chiswell?) but overall, well worth the almost 800 page read.

Fantastic characters in another great mystery. Can’t wait for the next one!

 

8/5/19

67932736_3119849231366421_2708162809262243840_n

Excited to start to this journey! 🎪Caraval by Stephanie Garber🎪

 

8/1/19

67893333_3109090759108935_7878026157617053696_o

I’ve been (im)patiently waiting for Lethal White for months! It’s the 4th installment of the Cormoran Strike series by JK Rowling under her pen name Robert Galbraith. Excited to finally get my hands on it!

 

8/1/19

REVIEW – My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing   indexindexindexindex111

I really enjoyed My Lovely Wife… It was a quick read about a really messed up couple. The ending wrapped up pretty quickly, I could definitely have used more of an explanation. I like to know characters background, their trauma, their meticulous planning, their motivations. It was all briefly explained, but I wanted more.

Great book for a debut author! Can’t wait to see what she writes next.

 

7/31/19

67674120_3106305716054106_7049020868747329536_n

We’ve had a lot of recently released books come into The Bookworm for trade over the past few days… and I definitely grabbed an armful to take home with me (no willpower!) 😳 Starting with My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing. Stop by today from 10-7 to check out the rest of our new stock!

 

7/30/19

REVIEW – Friend of the Family by Tasmina Perry  indexindexindex111111

About 2/3 of the way through the book Amy is insisting that Josie is “trying to steal her life” but there has been nothing to really indicate that. Did I miss something? It felt like a chunk of story was missing. I adore a good scheming woman story line, but this wasn’t it. I kept waiting for something to happen… and waiting, and waiting.

Something finally happened the last 100 pages or so, but it felt very forced and very rushed. At the end of the day, I really didn’t care what happened to these people or what their motivations were.

Still a decent read (and I do love that cover!) 3 stars

 

7/29/19

67799279_3101820676502610_1484262898460000256_n

Eli and I made it to the beach for the first time time all summer yesterday… Well, a restaurant on the beach that serves cocktails, at least 🍹 Starting Friend of the Family by Tasmina Perry!

 

7/29/19

REVIEW – Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich   indexindex111111111

I really wish I would have looked at the rating and reviews before I read this book. I could have saved myself a lot of annoyance and time.

The characters were all obnoxious, the dialogue was inane, and the book just wasn’t good.

2 stars instead of 1 because I didn’t hate it. The second half of the book was marginally better than the first, but I have no desire to continue with this series.

 

 

7/28/19

67337883_3098121246872553_2965938719074287616_n

I’m in the mood for some cute and easy fluff this morning, so I grabbed Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich off my TBR pile. Enjoy your Sunday and Happy Reading!

 

7/28/19

REVIEW – Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields   indexindexindexindex111

I really liked Poison’s Kiss! We went to India a few years ago, and I’ve been low-key obsessed with the culture since then. And the fact that this was based on Indian mythology made it right up my alley.

I liked the setting, the characters, their stories. Excited to read the sequel and to see what happens next with Malinda, Mani, and Devon.

 

7/27/19

67627031_3096580080360003_3047554749944561664_n

I’ve been having a string of really great books lately, so I’ve been flying through them! I started Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields last night, and it’s really good too!

 

7/26/19

REVIEW – Ripple By Heather Smith Meloche   indexindexindexindexindex

I’ve had Ripple sitting on my shelf for years… I cannot believe I waited so long to read. It was so good! I was off yesterday, so I literally spent my whole day reading it.

 

7/26/19

67522852_3092533174098027_3624635128589844480_n

Good morning! The last 2 books I read were 5 🌟 so let’s hope I keep that going! Starting Ripple by Heather Smith Meloche

 

7/25/19

REVIEW – The Hunger by Alma Katsu   indexindexindexindexindex

Oh my gosh, I LOVED this book! It was so well-written, it was creepy and haunting, and I loved the paranormal spin on a story we were taught in school. The characters, their feelings, the cold, the hunger, the landscape was all described so well… I cannot wait to read everything else Alma Katsu has written. 5 very big stars!

 

7/24/19

REVIEW – Killing November by Adriana Mather   indexindexindexindexindex

Loved this book! The characters were awesome, the setting was great, and the whole story line was just so cool. Cannot wait for the sequel!

 

7/23/19

67247035_3085203688164309_6682572824533532672_n

I started The Hunger last night by Alma Katsu and it is really great (and creepy) so far! I’m totally going to devour (haha) this book ☠️ ☠️☠️

 

7/22/19

67131819_3081313408553337_351503426334490624_o

We had a lovely lazy Sunday yesterday… Eli started Night Film by Marisha Pessl (one of my favorites!) and I started Killing November by Adriana Mather. Have a great week and Happy Reading!

 

7/21/19

REVIEW – Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart   indexindexindex111111

I’m not really sure how to review this book…

I liked it, but I feel like it wasn’t done very well. The timeline definitely muddied up the book, and I could have used at least another 50 pages describing everything and everyone better.

I can totally understand how this is not a book for everyone. I still think it’s a solid 3 stars.

 

7/21/19

67133550_3078871268797551_6003455623641956352_n

Good Morning! I’m starting Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart

 

7/20/19

REVIEW – Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down because I had a hard time getting through the book.

It was difficult and frustrating trying to keep track of which character’s POV it was… it alternated between Tatsumi and Yumeko, but no chapter had a heading to indicate which character it was, both were in first person, and I was trying to read this book while I was at the bookstore and having to keep picking it up and putting it down made for a difficult read. I can’t tell you how many times I had to backtrack to remind myself what was going on. That coupled with all the Japanese words/names made it hard to get through.

At the end of the day, I did like the book and the characters and really enjoyed the world that Julie Kagawa painted. I will (probably) read the rest of the trilogy.

 

7/19/19

REVIEW – The Whisper Man by Alex North   indexindexindexindex111

Great book, especially for a debut author!

I flew through this in a day because I just needed to know what happened. The coincidences were a little too much at times, but overall I thought it was really good!

Looking forward to seeing what else this author does in the future and FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT IS HOLY, LOCK YOUR DOORS PEOPLE!

 

7/18/19

66778279_3069996249685053_6741098153442803712_n

 

Thank you to Celadon Books for sending me (and my rude husband who took it out of the mail and started reading it before I got home from work) an advance copy of The Whisper Man by Alex North. Now that he finished it, I can finally start!

 

7/17/19

REVIEW – The Girl on Legare Street by Karen White   indexindexindexindex111

I’m really enjoying this series! Looking forward to the next one

 

7/15/19

66729615_3061862217165123_3944162523405615104_n

🌞Good Morning🌞 I enjoyed the last Karen White book so much, I had to grab the 2nd in the series off the shelf before it sold 🤗 Stop by The Bookworm all week from 10-7 (11-6 on Sunday) to get some great new-to-you books!!

 

7/15/19

REVIEW – Before We Were Strangers by Brenda Novak   indexindexindex111111

This was my first Brenda Novak book, and probably my last.

The story was good, the writing not so much. I lost track of how many times I rolled my eyes… I actually put it down about 30 pages in because I thought the writing was going to annoy me too much.

I ended up picking it back up and read it in a day. Quick, easy read, good story, but pretty bad writing.

 

7/14/19

66482144_3059264367424908_3917793996893585408_n

 

7/13/19

REVIEW – Wilder Girls by Rory Power   indexindexindexindexindex

Wilder Girls was super weird, kind of gross, and I totally loved it. Great story, great characters, and really great writing. And that cover! 😍😍😍

Can we pretty please have a sequel?

 

7/12/19

66486083_3053822474635764_947821779542343680_n

 

7/10/19

REVIEW – Luck, Love, and Lemon Pie by Amy Reichert   indexindexindex111111

 

7/9/19

REVIEW – In Her Skin by Kim Savage   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down to 3 because I think the book had so much unused potential.

I think the story idea was great, the characters were great, but the book as a whole was just OK for me.

 

7/9/19

66647098_3045706488780696_7403268405521809408_n

Which book has been on your TBR pile the longest? I’ve had Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa sitting there since October… Finally starting it now!

 

7/7/19

66406276_3040409889310356_2877214590343577600_n

Starting In Her Skin by Kim Savage, my 2nd book by her (I loved After the Woods). Have a great day bookworms!

 

7/6/19

REVIEW – Becoming by Michelle Obama   indexindexindexindex111

I liked Michelle Obama before I read this, and I still like her after I’m done.

I think it’s really well-written and very genuine. It took me awhile to get through, it’s not a book I could have flown through in a day or two, but I really enjoyed it.

 

7/5/19

66251896_3035265386491473_8437311902639456256_n

I hope everyone had a great 4th of July!! I’m starting Luck, Love, & Lemon Pie by Amy E. Reichert 🍋🍋🍋

 

7/4/19

REVIEW – The House on Tradd Street by Karen White   indexindexindexindex111

Great book with great characters… looking forward to reading the rest of the series!

 

 

7/1/19

66009988_3024603090891036_8882640092145909760_o

Thanks to everyone who came out to The Bookworm to help us celebrate our 1 Year Anniversary!! We still don’t have a winner for our Instagram contest, so make sure you give it a guess! 💜

I’m finally starting my first Karen White book, The House on Tradd Street. Happy Reading!

 

7/1/19

REVIEW – The Spite Game by Anna Snoekstra   indexindex111111111

Yeah, this book was not great.

The blurb sounded fantastic, and I decided to read it despite it’s OK rating. I shouldn’t have.

The constantly changing timelines were super confusing. If you’re going to jump back and forth and forward and back again, you need to at least give the reader SOME idea of what year you’re in. It was so disjointed and confusing. That on top of a very lackluster revenge scheme made me wish I hadn’t bothered with it.

 

6/30/19

65856905_3022678094416869_4829166884370776064_o

Hey bookworms, it’s Eli. I’m reading book 6 in the Dan Shambles, Zombie P.I. series, Tastes Like Chicken 🐔🐔🐔

 

6/28/19

65759117_3016910231660322_8045731122853707776_o

Michelle O is lovely, but I need a little something else to read today… I’ll take a serving of revenge with The Spite Game by Anna Snoekstra 🖤 “Everyone does bad things when no one is watching.

 

6/26/19

65219926_3011650662186279_5382530127190032384_n

Finally!!! So excited to start Becoming by Michelle Obama.

 

6/25/19

REVIEW – Someone Knows by Lisa Scottoline   indexindexindex111111

Someone Knows was good, but not great.

There was a lot of unnecessary words and descriptions in the book… it probably would have been a good 50 pages shorter if the editor had cut all the needless babble out.

I did have a hard time keeping track of who the parents were… I had to give myself a little cheat sheet to keep them all straight.

At the heart of it, it was a good story. Solid 3 stars

 

6/24/19

65319542_3006300806054598_8168640786078892032_o

Hey bookworms, Eli here. I’m a huge fan of the show Psych, so when I saw this book, I couldn’t resist spending some time with Shawn and Gus.

 

6/23/19

65307841_3004021562949189_7142496090300874752_n

A banana daiquiri and Lisa Scottoline’s newest book… Sounds like a good Sunday to me! Happy Reading!

 

6/23/19

REVIEW – Wicked Saints by Emily Duncan   indexindex111111111

Ooof, this was a rough one. I was so excited to read this book, but I am really disappointed.

My biggest issue was the ridiculous made up names. I couldn’t pronounce them, I couldn’t keep anyone straight, and there were entirely too many z’s thrown about. That coupled with the made up territories and the made up language added up to a completely confusing and an almost totally unenjoyable book. The fact that there was a reference guide created to go along with a YOUNG ADULT book to help readers keep everyone and everything straight says it all.

I do think there was a good story in there, and I really did love Serafin, but I will definitely not be continuing with the series 😢

 

6/21/19

64804662_2997484243602921_8638507347813072896_n

Yea! I have been dying to read Wicked Saints by Emily Duncan… starting it now! 🖤🗡️🖤

 

6/21/19

REVIEW – Gimme Some Sugar by Molly Harper   indexindexindexindex111

Super cute and funny… absolutely love all these characters!

 

6/20/19

64826621_2994748913876454_464312576314966016_n

I started Gimme Some Sugar by Molly Harper yesterday (the 3rd book in The Southern Eclectic Series) and it has me dreaming about sweet treats… Thankfully the new ice cream shop, Flavors, just opened up a few doors down from The Bookworm! Stop by from 10-7 to beat the heat with some awesome books and then some delicious ice cream 🍦 📖🍦

 

6/19/19

REVIEW – Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent   indexindexindexindex111

Very dark and twisty

Liz Nugent has a way of writing these demented characters, and Lydia takes the cake (man, she is terrible). I really liked the 3 different POV’s and that ending!

 

6/18/19

REVIEW – Ghosted by Rosie Walsh   indexindexindexindexindex

I read this book in a day… I just had to know what happened with Eddie!

I got to say, I was with Sarah for the first half of the book. We’ve all been there, right? But then she lost me. Continuing to message him and then to show up at the soccer game was just too much. A grown-ass woman should not behave that way. That’s when I started to get annoyed with her. And to be so obsessed that she lets everything else in her life get messed. That’s the behavior of a 16 year girl with her first love… not an adult.

BUT my annoyance was short-lived because the story took a turn I was not expecting! Great twist, great ending. I felt all different kinds of ways reading this book. I did wish there was more of a wrap-up at the end though.

4.5 stars rounded up! Great read!

 

6/18/19

64672591_2989263107758368_4987115290228686848_o

I’m starting Ghosted this morning by Rosie Walsh… Have a great day and Happy Reading!

 

6/17/19

REVIEW – Once and For All by Sarah Dessen   indexindexindexindexindex

This was my first Sarah Dessen book and I loved it!!

The characters were great, the backstory was well-told and heartbreaking, and I adored the idea of a jaded wedding planner and the wedding drama.

Can’t wait to read more of her books!

 

6/16/19

64312651_2984173134934032_1186325088765476864_n.jpg

Happy Father’s Day!! Eli and I are relaxing by the pool this morning with Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent and The Spy by Clive Cussler 🌞🌞🌞

 

6/16/19

REVIEW – The Woman in the Lake by Nicola Cornick  indexindexindex111111

This book was just OK for me… I liked the idea of a dress affecting two women over 250 years, but the execution of it all was a little lacking. I really enjoyed the “past” half of the book, but the present day story was a little too far-fetched. I either needed more about Fen’s story and background, or it should have been a much smaller part in the book.

Still a good book, just go into it with medium expectations.

 

6/14/19

64383456_2978883665462979_3675103296420315136_n.jpg

Good morning bookworms! I’m starting Once and For All by Sarah Dessen. Have a great day and Happy Reading!

 

6/14/19

REVIEW – Home for Erring and Outcast Girls by Julie Kibler   indexindexindex111111

I enjoyed this book… it definitely wasn’t one that I could fly through in a day. I read it off and on for about a week and a half.

It was probably about 100 pages longer than it needed to be, and it got confusing with all the different points of view and timelines. There was Mattie POV in 1904 and forward, and then Lizzie’s POV in 1904 and forward, then there was Cate as a teenager, and present day Cate and Laurel. It was just a lot.

I could have absolutely done without Cate’s entire story line. I feel like it made the book way longer than it needed to be and muddied up the story. I would have been a happy with just a book about the Berachah Home.

3.5 stars rounded down because I liked it more than I loved it.

 

6/11/19

62320637_2970252502992762_4765183021395476480_n

A beautiful gold gown that affects the lives of two shattered women 250 years apart? Sounds good to me! Starting The Woman in the Lake by Nicola Cornick

 

6/10/19

REVIEW – The Perfect Alibi by Phillip Margolin   indexindexindex111111

This was my first Phillip Margolin book, and I can’t say I was very impressed… It was just OK. For such an experienced and popular author the writing was very generic. I don’t know if this is typical of all his books, or he’s just at the point where his books sell, so he doesn’t put in much of an effort. I guess I was just expecting more.

Decent story though. 3 stars

 

6/9/19

62119048_2964835866867759_3888089543512948736_n

Even though my TBR pile is out of control, I keep grabbing books that come in for trade before I put them on the shelf. I have no willpower! Me and Penelope are starting The Perfect Alibi by Phillip Margolin. Happy Reading!

 

6/9/19

REVIEW – The Crowns of Croswald by D.E. Night   indexindexindexindex111

Very cute book! I loved the world of Croswald and Ivy. I wish I had more info about everything though. The school, the Selector, The Dark Queen, the magic… all of it. I like background and explanations!

Looking forward to reading the next one!

 

6/7/19

62144089_2959626750722004_7235671798015066112_n

Eli is here at the Bookworm today. Stop in 10-7 and find a great read like Michael Crichton’s The Great Train Robbery which I’m currently reading.

 

6/6/19

62200637_2956277014390311_6056560321571586048_n.jpg

Super excited to get the first two books in The Crowns of Croswald series by D.E. Night! Can’t wait to get lost in the magical world of Croswald with Ivy… Thank you @author.denight!

 

6/4/19

61638074_2951395608211785_9071932842912514048_n.jpg

A big thank you to Penguin Random House for sending me an advance copy of Home for Erring and Outcast Girls by Julie Kibler… I cannot wait to get into this book! I’m also super excited that The Bookworm will soon be carrying these amazing and delicious bookish candles from Novelly Yours 💜

 

6/4/19

REVIEW – Under My Skin by Lisa Unger   indexindexindex111111

I typically love Lisa Unger’s books, but this one was just OK for me. I just feel like it had so much wasted potential.

The premise of the story was great, but it just wasn’t executed very well. There was a lot of repetition, and I feel like things were thrown in there to make the reader second guess what was going on, but there was no follow up or reason for it. {See my Goodread’s review for spoilers!!}

I just wanted/expected more. Still a decent book though.

 

6/3/19

61737469_2948329628518383_5469818800541007872_n.jpg

After a vote on FB and Insta, I decided to go with Under My Skin by Lisa Unger… I’m a huge fan of her books, and this one is great so far! Have a good week!

 

6/2/19

REVIEW – No Exit by Taylor Adams   indexindexindexindexindex

Awesome book! I read it in less than a day… it was fast-paced, surprising, suspenseful. Great characters too.

 

6/1/19

61653056_2943766622308017_2598386705056661504_o

I’ve heard so many great things about No Exit by Taylor Adams, and a fast-paced, suspenseful thriller is exactly what I’m in the mood for… I’ll be spending the rest of my day with it (or at least until The Bookworm closes at 7 😎) Happy Reading!

 

6/1/19

REVIEW – My Year of Rest and Relaxation by Otessa Moshfegh   indexindexindexindexindex

I had read Eileen years ago and was not a fan, so I was hesitant to pick up My Year of Rest and Relaxation… I am so glad that I did.

It was weird, it was messed up, and the main character was not particularly likeable, but man, I loved this book.

 

5/31/19

61415241_2941333692551310_1366587971439951872_n.jpg

Starting My Year of Rest and Relaxation after my (kind of) day of rest and relaxation. Happy Friday bookworms!!

 

5/31/19

REVIEW – The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down because Lennie drove me crazy.

I think if I hadn’t first read I’ll Give You the Sun and fallen so completely in love with it, I might have liked The Sky is Everywhere better. I was expecting the same level of amazingness… Jandy Nelson’s writing came so far in between books, I wasn’t expecting quite the discrepancy.

Still a cute book!

 

5/30/19

61343130_2938240189527327_4290652215372152832_n.jpg

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson was my #1 favorite book from 2018, so I’m going to give one of her earlier books a read… Starting The Sky is Everywhere!

 

5/30/19

REVIEW – The Vanishing Season by Dot Hutchison  indexindexindex111111

I love this series. I devoured the first 3 books, but The Vanishing Season left a lot to be desired.

While I love the entire FBI team, the magnitude of the inane banter and chit chat was annoying. There was just so much. That’s not what I’m here for. I want more of the mystery/crime. I feel like this installment was missing the magic, the on the edge of my seat suspense that the other 3 books had. And all of a sudden, all the evidence was just there and it was solved… is it really that easy? Maybe stop with the unnecessary repetition of how they’re all “family” and actually delve a little more into the missing girls. And the fact that everyone made SUCH A BIG DEAL that Eliza has blonde hair and blue eyes like the missing girls was eye-roll worthy. Who cares? A ton of women are blonde with blue eyes.

Still a decent book… I’m sad that it’s the last one though. Not a great note to end on.

 

5/29/19

61489203_2935210909830255_1105646696500559872_n

I discovered The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison last year and had the next two books in The Collector series ordered before I even got halfway through. The 4th book, The Vanishing Season, finally came out last week… I started it yesterday and can’t put it down!

 

5/28/19

REVIEW – Pieces of Her by Karin Slaughter   indexindexindexindex111

Karin Slaughter has been one of my favorite authors for years… I really liked Pieces of Her, but it wasn’t my favorite of her books.

Andy got on my nerves from the start. She was not a likeable/sympathetic character. And I was so confused by the first “flashback” that I kept going back thinking I was missing something.

I’m looking forward to how this is going to go as a TV show.

 

5/28/19

REVIEW – The Trial of Lizzie Borden by Cara Robertson

Guys, I had to give up. It was just so dry and factual, that after page 93 I had to DNF it.

 

5/27/19

61192084_2930227603661919_3354071907136700416_n

🇺🇸Happy Memorial Day 🇺🇸
THE BOOKWORM IS OPEN

My clay recreations of our little bookworm mascot keeping breaking, so I am officially on Ophelia IV. I thought all her “pieces” would be perfect with Karin Slaughter’s newest book Pieces of Her. I started it yesterday, and it’s amazing, as always. Have a great day everyone and Happy Reading!

 

5/25/19

61395860_2925115317506481_5501082795201527808_o

“Lizzie Borden took an axe…”
I’ve always been fascinated by the story of Lizzie Borden, so I had to snag this book before it made it on the shelf (sorry Teresa!)

 

5/24/19

61044199_2923865940964752_7501789603762798592_o

I’ve been reading Give Me Your Hand off and on for the past week because I was having a hard time getting into it… but when I hit that halfway point 😳😳😳 I read the rest of the book this afternoon because it got so good! /5

 

5/24/19

REVIEW – Snow and Rose by Emily Winfield Martin  indexindexindexindex111

What a cute book! Snow White and Rose Red was my favorite fairy tale growing up, and I was so excited to have a longer version to read… Great illustrations too!

 

5/22/19

60743256_2918714644813215_6139968376006508544_n

Snow White and Rose Red was my favorite fairy tale when I was growing up, and after my last couple of books, I definitely need something a *little* lighter. Snow & Rose by Emily Winfield Martin was the perfect choice! 🌹🌹🌹

 

5/22/19

60965418_2917991734885506_6377826284789039104_n

Eli here today, thought this book sounded interesting when it came in. Virginia becomes the first state to hire professional jurors to keep corruption out of the justice system… but will it work?

 

5/22/19

REVIEW – The Sinner by Petra Hammesfahr   indexindex111111111

This is one of the very few instances where I think the TV version was way better than the book.

I’m not sure if it’s because I DID know the story going in, or the fact that it was translated, or at the end of the day, the book just wasn’t that great.

 

5/20/19

60542559_2912648328753180_9153415124206223360_n.jpg

I started The Sinner last night… I actually watched the show a few years ago and loved it, so we’ll see how close they got! Happy Reading!

 

5/19/19

REVIEW – The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up because I loved the food aspect!

Cute, albeit predictable, story with great characters. Definitely a love letter to Milwaukee… Would definitely read other books by this author in the future.

 

5/19/19

60471244_2910800492271297_8792658452825505792_n.jpg

 

Eli here… I’m reading the 4th book in the Dirk Pitt series by Clive Cussler. Fun fact: this book and the following film led to the actual search for the Titanic. Have a great Sunday!

5/17/19

REVIEW – Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams   indexindex111111111

Eh.

 

5/17/19

60617539_2905510466133633_7416520643077734400_n.jpg

Pool day!! Starting Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams 🌞🌞🌞

 

5/17/19

REVIEW – The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald   indexindexindexindexindex

Fantastic book! Kept me guessing until the end… I thought everyone was guilty at one point or another. Definitely recommend!

 

5/16/19

60575637_2902848523066494_5171180352831488000_n.jpg

Sometimes you can just tell a book is going to be great after reading the first page… I started The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald this morning and I’m already totally hooked! Have a great day bookworms! ☠️🖤☠️

 

5/15/19

60322031_2900227346661945_2288667581025878016_n.jpg

It’s not often I can get Oliver to pose in a picture, but when I do, he’s a total star 🌟 Starting The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert!

 

5/15/19

REVIEW – The Winters by Lisa Gabriele  indexindexindex111111

I have been looking forward to reading The Winters for months… Unfortunately, it was just OK for me. There was nothing really outstanding about it. It was good, I just felt like it could have been great. Easy and quick read with a decent story and semi-annoying characters.

 

5/14/19

REVIEW – An American Marriage by Tayari Jones  indexindexindexindex111

What a great book… it’s so easy for a couple to vow “til death do us part”, but when they’re faced with real difficulties, it all falls away so quickly.

This book was perfect example of that. If Roy had never gone away, they probably would have lived the rest of their lives together. I really enjoyed the 3 different points of view, and the story as a whole. Tayari Jones is such a talented writer. She has a way of making you really understand what’s going on and how the characters are feeling.

 

5/13/19

60345902_2895927933758553_5853279403487789056_n

Starting The Winters by Lisa Gabriele!

 

5/13/19

REVIEW – Little Darlings by Melanie Golding   indexindexindex111111

Little Darlings was one my my most anticipated reads for 2019… but I gotta say, I was disappointed (to put it in perspective, I own a used bookstore with 25,000+ books, and I still pre-ordered this book and paid almost full retail for it). The book was good, but I was hoping for so much more. I love a fairy tale retelling, and The Changeling has always held a certain fascination for me, but Little Darlings was just OK for me. The story took awhile to get going, and I just feel like it was missing something… I wanted more folklore, more magic, more creepiness, more character backstory and development. I just wanted MORE of everything.

 

5/12/19

60333768_2893678270650186_3553371472141484032_n.jpg

My mom is in Pittsburgh with her grandbaby, so no mom time for me today! I’ll be spending the afternoon with An American Marriage by Tayari Jones…

 

5/9/19

59794492_2885293901488623_7313141059435888640_n

I’ve been dying to get my hands on Little Darlings by Melanie Golding for months… I’ll finally be starting it today! Stop by The Bookworm from 10-7 to find a book you’ve been dying to read too ☠️🖤

 

5/9/19

REVIEW – A Nearly Normal Family my M.t. Evardsson   indexindexindexindex111

The author did a great job of telling the same story, but from 3 very different point of views… where whoever the narrator was, they didn’t consider themselves the problem but blamed the other two in the family.

I’m guessing it’s because this book was translated, but the writing/story just didn’t flow easily. It was still a good book with a good story that definitely kept me interested, it just felt a little “choppy.” And while none of the characters were particularly likeable, I really enjoyed the family dynamic and their circle of blame. Great ending too!

 

5/9/19

REVIEW – This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

What a wonderful and heartbreaking book… It is such a horrible shame that we live in a country (not world, country) where school shootings are a reoccurring tragedy. I think the author did an amazing job of telling this story and painting the characters along with their reactions. I loved the 4 different points of views. It was fantastically done. I wasn’t happy with how it turned out, but that’s the point, isn’t it?

 

5/8/19

60216217_2882996731718340_4489268687303344128_o

Good morning my fellow bookworms! I’m about to start This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp… Hope you’re all reading something great!

 

5/7/19

59918154_2880463155305031_8241021172678918144_o

A big thank you to Celadon Books for sending me an advance copy of A Nearly Normal Family! A teenager accused of murdering a shady businessman almost twice her age? Yes please!

 

5/7/19

REVIEW – The Everlasting Rose by Dhonielle Clayton   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up to 4 because I love the world of Orleans and The Belles.

The Everlasting Rose was a bit disappointing as a follow up to The Belles, which I loved. I can’t quite pinpoint it, but it was missing some of the magic of the first book. Still enjoyed it, and I will definitely continue reading the series (if there are more).

 

5/6/19

REVIEW – Sweetbitter by Stephanie Danler   indexindexindex111111

As someone who has worked in restaurants off and on since I was 15, this story really took me back… and most definitely did NOT make me miss the restaurant industry.

Honestly, none of the characters were particularly likeable, yet I wanted to find out what happened to them. This is one of the few instances where I think the show is going to be better than the book (don’t kill me).

Unless you’ve worked in a restaurant before, I don’t think this is the book for you.

 

5/5/19

59640107_2876057132412300_7175503377827102720_o.jpg

As someone who has worked in restaurants off and on since I was 15 (oh, the stories I could tell you), Sweetbitter has been on my want to read list for years… Finally starting it!

 

5/4/19

REVIEW – The Whisper Network by Chandler Baker   indexindexindexindex111

I love reading books about women banding together and looking out for one another… whether men want to believe it or not, the way we are treated, expected to act and look, the struggles we go through in life and in our careers because of our gender color every aspect of our lives. It isn’t about “innocent until proven guilty” it’s about believing women. This novel is so timely and relevant and TRUE.

Climbing off my soapbox now, I want to say I really enjoyed this book! I loved the characters while appropriately hating the characters I was supposed to hate. When I first read the blurb, it reminded me of a current day 9-5 (which I adore). It was, just a lot darker (and a dead body thrown in the mix).

I did feel like the author alluded to a lot of “secrets” throughout the book that weren’t explained until the end. There was just so many, I had a hard time keeping track of who was keeping whatever I didn’t know from who else. It definitely got confusing, and I didn’t really feel that “aha!” moment when the secrets were revealed because I couldn’t keep track of them all.

Anyway, great book, great writing, definitely recommend!

 

5/2/19

58883071_2869561433061870_3497094403992846336_n

Yard work: check
Errands: check
Haircut: check
Relaxing by the pool with a good book: you better believe that’s a check

 

5/2/19

IMG_20190502_120806_908

Whisper Network topped my must read list for 2019… I’m so excited I got an advance copy!! Best part, I got one for you too! While I dig in, check out our giveaway on The Bookworm’s Facebook page for details http://www.facebook.com/thebookworm.mb

 

5/2/19

REVIEW – The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel   indexindexindexindex111

What a totally messed up, yet fantastic, book. The author did such a great job painting all the characters, the story, everything. I loved the chapters from each of the “Roanoke Girls”. It gave such a great insight into the whole dysfunctional and sick family. It was all just done so well… Great read!

 

4/30/19

58809836_2864676763550337_2340577358924218368_n.jpg

All my errands and chores are done, so I can officially start enjoying my day off! I’ll be spending it on my new comfy swing with The Roanoke Girls ☠️ Happy Reading!

 

4/30/19

REVIEW – Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens   indexindexindexindex111

Where the Crawdads Sing was very good, and Delia Owens writes beautifully, but I just don’t think this book quite lived up to it’s hype. 4.5 stars rounded down to 4.

 

4/28/19

58679335_2859402377411109_4400580387189817344_n

A huge thank you to everyone that came to The Bookworm yesterday and made our 1st Independent Bookstore Day so fantastic!! Eli and I are planning on relaxing the day away at the pool with our books… I’ll be starting Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens (finally!) Have a wonderful day and Happy Reading!

 

4/26/19

58612991_2855301991154481_7785515873480998912_n.jpg

I absolutely loved The Belles when I read it last year, so I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the sequel The Everlasting Rose. Off to get lost in the beautiful world of Orléans with Camille and the other Belles 🌸

 

4/26/19

REVIEW – The Book in Room 316 by ReShonda Tate Billingley  indexindexindexindex111

This was not the book I was expecting to read… I didn’t realize Reshonda Billingsley wrote Christian books when I picked it up. While it’s not my normal type of book, I still enjoyed it. I liked how each of the 4 main characters had their own part… I just wish we had more of a wrap-up at the end. I’m involved with their stories now, I want to know how they all turn out!

 

4/25/19

57870568_2852142908137056_211932575650807808_o.jpg

Good morning my fellow bookworms! Me and my reading buddies are starting The Book in Room 316 by ReShonda Tate Billingsley 📖

 

4/24/19

REVIEW – Stepsister by Jennifer Donnelly  indexindexindexindexindex

It took me a little while to get into it, but I LOVED THIS BOOK. The message is so important, so relevant, and it had me in tears more than once. The author did such a wonderful job making the point that not every girl is the same, and we shouldn’t all JUST want to be liked and pretty… we’re so much more than that. This sentiment is beaten into our heads from the day we can understand, and it shouldn’t be that way. Not anymore.

Not only is it a beloved story we all grew up knowing, it shows a different side from the “ugly” stepsisters and what happened after Cinderella rode off into the sunset with Prince Charming. I’m a huge fan of fairy tale retellings, and this one was awesome.

Read this book. If you have a daughter, or granddaughter, have them read it too. You won’t be disappointed.

Girl power!

 

4/23/19

58441286_2847462048605142_5059505379159834624_o

Super excited to read Sandie Jones new book! 🌹 I loved The Other Woman, so I can’t wait to get into The First Mistake. Thanks to Minotaur Books for sending me an advance copy! 🌹

 

4/22/19

REVIEW – The Dreamers by Karen Thompson Walkeindexindexindexindex111

I’ve been dying to get my hands on The Dreamers for months. What a cool and different premise for a book. I really liked it! Sometimes in novels with a lot of different points of view, it can get a little difficult to keep them all straight, but I had no problems with that. I started it yesterday and had a hard time putting it down.

I really wish <spoiler> we had at least SOME answers about this virus, and that was annoying. Give me something! I really need at least some kind of a wrap-up. </spoiler>

Overall, great book!

 

4/22/19

58372675_2845592165458797_8591514993936039936_n.jpg

“Beauty isn’t always pretty…”
A Cinderella retelling from the perspective of one of the ugly stepsisters? Yes please! Thank you to Scholastic for sending me an advance copy of Stepsister by Jennifer Donnelly. Excited to start it!

 

4/21/19

57602685_2843699655648048_4666533532481355776_n.jpg

I started The Dreamers this morning and I’m having a hard time putting it down! Don’t you just love when that happens??

 

4/20/19

REVIEW – All  Your Perfects by Colleen Hoover     indexindexindex111111

This was my 4th and least favorite book by Colleen Hoover.

She has this magical way of writing the guys in her book so that we all want to love and save them, and Graham was no exception.

But I gotta say, Quinn REALLY annoyed me. I don’t know if it’s just because I can’t relate to her desperate need to have children (so desperate that is basically ruined every aspect of her life), or she really is just is as annoying as I think she is, but it made me not enjoy this book nearly as much as the others I have read.

If the majority of the book was “then” I would have been thrilled… but half was “now” and that half (Quinn) bugged the crap out of me.

I will 100% devour every book she writes, but this one was not for me.

 

4/20/19

REVIEW – The End of Loneliness by Benedict  Wells   indexindexindex111111

This book was just OK for me… granted, it’s not my typical type of book, but a good story with good characters is still a good story with good characters, regardless of your preferences. I don’t feel like this book really had either.

It was fine, just not great. I didn’t really like or care about Jules. Even his love story with Alva just OK.

 

4/18/19

57232300_2835241443160536_8134577434814054400_n

Starting my next Colleen Hoover book… If you haven’t read any of hers yet, absolutely do it 💖 You won’t be disappointed.

 

4/18/19

REVIEW – The Girl who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherine Valente   indexindexindexindex111

I’m trying to read some books for younger readers so I have recommendations when they (or their parents) ask when they come into the store.

This definitely fit the bill… it was adorable and whimsical and the author painted a perfect fairyland.

Very cute! Loved the illustrations too!

 

4/16/19

57070934_2830771236940890_1610117831213449216_n.jpg

A big thank you to Penguin Random House for sending copies of The End of Loneliness by Benedict Wells to me and my reading buddy @libraryofdallas! Excited to start it!

 

 

4/15/19

REVIEW – The Perfect Girl by Gilly Macmillan   indexindexindexindex111

This was my first book by Gilly Macmillan and I was not disappointed! The alternating POV was done really well and the book kept me on the hook all day. When I had a chance, I was reading. I finished this 400 + page book in a day.

I will definitely be reading more of her books in the future

 

4/15/19

57083502_2828453553839325_3907543335887175680_n.jpg

Who doesn’t like to start their week off with a murder mystery?! Starting The Perfect Girl by Gilly Macmillan ☠️☠️☠️

 

4/14/19

REVIEW – Life Will Be the Death of Me by Chelsea Handler  indexindexindex111111

This was a very big departure from the type of books Chelsea normally writes. It still had flashes of her humor (which I love), but it was pretty serious. It was mostly about her dealing with the death of her brother and mom, and then realizing her shortcomings and wanting to be a better person.

It was good, and I will always be a huge fan of hers, but if you’re looking to laugh, this is not the book.

 

4/13/19

REVIEW – Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty   indexindex111111111

Liane Moriarty’s books are so hit or miss for me… sometimes I love them, sometimes I am super disappointed. Nine Perfect Strangers was definitely the latter.

She used 200+ pages building up to SOMETHING, and that something was stupid. So stupid! That’s the best word I can think of to describe it.

1.5 stars rounded up to 2 because I didn’t hate it. If you want to read one of her books, do Big Little Lies or The Last Anniversary. This one is a dud.

 

4/12/19

56922906_2822372827780731_7014206937587777536_n

I just had to grab it and read it before it made it’s way to the shelf 💜

 

4/12/19

REVIEW – Jar of Hearts by Jennifer Hillier   indexindexindexindex111

I’m a big fan of Jennifer Hillier… Creep is one of my favorite thrillers. Jar of Hearts did not disappoint! I read it in a 24 hour period because it was that good. I figured out where the story was going, but it was great nonetheless. The characters were well-written, the timeline of the alternating stories was great, even the relationship between 16 year old Geo and 21 year old Calvin was spot-on.

Whether this is your first book of hers or your 5th, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it as much as I did!

 

4/12/19

57034740_2821534111197936_5647573954890563584_n.jpg

I’m a big fan of Jennifer Hillier’s books (Creep is one of my all-time favorites!) so I’ve been dying to read her latest, Jar of Hearts. I started it yesterday and I can hardly put it down!

 

4/10/19

57216663_2818244971526850_9069652172328665088_n.jpg

We’ve been doing this our entire relationship… a new Chelsea Handler book for me while Eli watches the Pittsburgh Penguins in the play-offs. Let’s Go Pens!

 

4/10/19

REVIEW – Love, Loss, and What We Ate by Padma Lakshmi indexindexindex111111

I really liked Padma from my years of watching Top Chef, so when I saw that she wrote a memoir, I totally wanted to read it.

I learned a lot of stuff about her I didn’t know, and she spilled enough tea to keep my inner-gossip hound happy. I really enjoyed her little tidbits about India and her Indian culture, but her “my life is so hard” shtick definitely got old.

 

4/8/19

56255350_2812599625424718_5827503874520383488_n.jpg

I started Padma Lakshmi’s memoir Love, Loss, and What We Ate AND made linguini with clam sauce for dinner last night… Think I’m ready for Top Chef?! Have a great week everyone!

 

4/7/19

REVIEW – The Favorite Sister by Jessica Knoll   indexindexindex111111

I’m struggling with reviewing this book… it was good, I definitely wanted to keep reading it, but I’m not sure how much I actually enjoyed it. I had a really hard time at the beginning keeping all the characters straight (I actually had the synopsis pulled up and I had to keep checking who was who).

The characters were all awful, obnoxious frauds, but that was the whole point of the book. I love trashy reality shows, so this book is definitely up my alley, but I feel like it wasn’t done as well as it could have been.

If the book sounds good to you, read it. If you’re not sure, I wouldn’t pick it up. This book is definitely deserving of the 3 star rating it has on Goodreads.

 

4/4/19

56214404_2804088089609205_4197292953640632320_n.jpg

It’s my brother’s birthday today, so this seemed like a fitting book to read for the occasion. Happy Birthday Justin!

 

4/7/19

REVIEW – All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven   indexindexindexindexindex

This book emotionally wrecked my night.

I started it over a week ago and I just wasn’t in the mood for it. I’d read it a little each morning and then set it down. Yesterday I decided to give it the attention it deserved. I sat on the couch at page 78 and didn’t move again until I finished it.

What an amazingly wonderful and devastatingly heartbreaking story. I don’t have any other words that will do it justice. The characters, their backstory, their emotions, everything was brilliant.

Read this book.

 

4/7/19

REVIEW – The Favorite Sister by Jessica Knoll   indexindexindex111111

I’m struggling with reviewing this book… it was good, I definitely wanted to keep reading it, but I’m not sure how much I actually enjoyed it. I had a really hard time at the beginning keeping all the characters straight (I actually had the synopsis pulled up and I had to keep checking who was who).

The characters were all awful, obnoxious frauds, but that was the whole point of the book. I love trashy reality shows, so this book is definitely up my alley, but I feel like it wasn’t done as well as it could have been.

If the book sounds good to you, read it. If you’re not sure, I wouldn’t pick it up. This book is definitely deserving of the 3 star rating it has on Goodreads.

 

4/3/19

REVIEW – Cold Day in the Sun by Sara Biren   indexindexindexindex111

Adorable (albeit predictable) story about a girl on an all-boys hockey team who falls for one of her teammates. Loved the girl power vibe of the whole story, really enjoyed all the characters, and even the hockey aspect too. Very cute and easy read.

 

4/2/19

55927977_2799285910089423_7791112499335528448_n.jpg

 

4/1/19

REVIEW – Between by Jessica Warman   indexindexindexindex111

Great book! I spent a good part of my day immersed in this story. It reminded me of Remember Me by Christopher Pike, which was my favorite when I was a tween. I figured out the “mysteries” pretty early on, but that didn’t take away from my enjoyment of the book. It’s fairly long (450 pages) but a quick read. Definitely worth picking up!

 

4/1/19

55882374_2797329576951723_6825898700699598848_n.jpg

Between by Jessica Warman has been sitting on my TBR pile forever… I need to start working my way through the books I have at home instead of getting distracted by the ones that come in the store! Starting it now…

 

3/31/19

REVIEW – Sister by Rosamund Lupton   indexindexindexindex111

I thought Sister was really good… especially for a debut novel. It was a little dry in places, and the timeline was a little confusing at the beginning, but I really was kept guessing up until the end. Beatrice wasn’t the most likeable or sympathetic character, but I think that was on purpose. She wasn’t trying to be likeable, she would just do anything to find out what happened to her sister.

 

3/30/19

56208338_2792335300784484_7395163450046939136_n.jpg

I was up early this morning, so I started Sister by Rosamund Lupton. Have a great weekend everyone!

 

3/29/19

REVIEW – Sawkill Girls by Clare Legrand   indexindexindexindexindex

What a freaking fantastic book! It was dark, it was weird, it was creepy, but I loved every part of it (even the dedication). The characters were all amazing, the story was unique, and the ending was perfect. 5 very enthusiastic stars!

 

3/28/19

55666842_2788260977858583_5668373863029800960_n.jpg

Excited to start All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven… I’ve heard nothing but fantastic things about this book! Porkchester pigurines included for a little eye candy 💗🐷💗

 

3/27/19

REVIEW – Busted by Gina Ciocca   indexindexindexindexindex

I really loved this book! I wasn’t sure how it was going to go the first 50 pages, but it just kept getting better and better the further into it I got. An adorable YA novel with likeable characters, surprises, and of course a happy ending 🙂

 

3/26/19

54730939_2783049241713090_5623922575013838848_n.jpg

My current read is pretty dark, but I need something a little lighter this morning! Starting Busted by Gina Ciocca

 

3/25/19

REVIEW – Amy Chelsea Stacie Dee by Mary G. Thompson   indexindexindexindex111

Great book!! It was a quick, enjoyable read.

 

3/24/19

55534090_2778806385470709_5124895706485620736_n

Hope you’re enjoying your weekend and have found some time to snuggle in with your latest book! I’m starting Amy Chelsea Stacie Dee by Mary G. Thompson

 

3/23/19

54518888_2776557372362277_7403072082566709248_o.jpg

Happy Saturday (and National Puppy Day)!! Ollie and I are getting in some reading before I head to The Bookworm for the day. I just started Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand… It’s definitely a little weird, but I’m digging it so far!

 

3/22/19

REVIEW – The Perfect Couple by Elin Hilderbrand   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down

This was my first Elin Hilderbrand… it was good, but I was not amazed. I don’t know if it’s because I usually read mystery/suspense books, and this was her first attempt at that type of book? It was a good story, but nothing but Merritt’s death was resolved in the end. What happened to all the characters? Basically everyone’s life was in shambles, and we have no answers or conclusions.

The author’s rambling on and on about this clothing designer, this antique, this fancy food in such detail got kind of annoying. They’re rich, we get it. Cutting out all that unnecessary stuff would have hacked a good chunk of pages out this almost 500 page book. Also, calling the one cop “The Greek” really rubbed me the wrong way. Like, what?? This is 2019, right?

I think I would have been better off starting with one of her usual beachy reads instead of The Perfect Couple. I’m sure I’ll pick another one of her books up in the future, but I don’t feel a burning need to do it right away.

 

3/21/19

54396438_2772817386069609_2660684363871551488_n.jpg

Eli here – I really want to watch the movie, but I figured I should read the book first so I can say “that’s not how it was in the book” like Cortney always does.

 

3/20/19

54728891_2770896932928321_808438348346556416_n

Thanks for all your votes! I decided to go with The Perfect Couple… Really excited to start it (and get some beach weather!) Happy Reading!!

 

3/20/19

REVIEW – The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock  indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down to 3 because I liked it more than I loved it

The Smell of Other People’s Houses has been on my “want to read” list since I first read the description 2 years ago.

I absolutely love how all the characters’ stories intersected, but overall it was just pretty good, not great for me. I definitely could have used more background, more descriptions, more everything about each one of the story lines… what happened to Ruth’s boyfriend? Why did the boys runaway? What caused the big scene with Dora’s dad? Gimme the skinny on all of it. It was a fairly short book (227 pages) so it all could have been flushed out more.

 

3/20/19

REVIEW – Flawless by Tilly Bagshawe   indexindexindex111111

I’m a sucker for trashy British chick lit, so when Flawless came into the bookstore, I immediately set it aside for myself and started it that night.

But, I was little disappointed… it was just OK. The book was at least 100 pages longer than it needed to be, and Scarlett (the main character) was annoying and sanctimonious. Actually, at the end of the day, all the characters were pretty awful in their way (except maybe Nancy, the sassy best friend).

I still finished it and enjoyed it somewhat.

 

3/18/19

54430268_2765912656760082_5453107623958151168_n

And it’s Monday again… I’m starting The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock. Have a great week everyone and Happy Reading!

 

3/16/19

REVIEW: Real Vampires: When Glory Met Jerry  indexindexindex111111

While I enjoyed reading about how Glory and Jeremiah came to be, this book was pretty repetitive. Unfortunately, when you get this far into a series it often feels like it’s slipping. When Glory Met Jerry is definitely better than the previous book (Real Vampires and the Viking) but maybe it’s time to stop because they just don’t compare to the beginning of the series.

 

3/15/19

53712808_2760150377336310_5791947506724110336_n

I have a weakness for trashy British chick lit, so when Flawless came in The Bookworm, I had to grab it and read immediately 💎💎💎

 

3/14/19

REVIEW – Our Kind of Cruelty by Araminta Hall  indexindexindexindex111

The first third of the book was just “eh”, the second third of the book started to get really good, and I couldn’t put it down the last third.

I’m still not sure what the postcard meant at the end. I wish we had a more definitive idea of what Verity actually thought during all of this. That should have been the final chapter! Inside her brain instead of Mike’s.

All in all, really good book, you just gotta power through the beginning. It’s well worth it.

 

3/14/19

 

It was Eli’s day at The Bookworm, so after I was done with my to-do list, I spent the day outside with the pups reading Our Kind of Cruelty by Araminta Hall 🖤

 

3/14/19

54419127_2757748030909878_1716889279377965056_n

 

Hey Bookworms, it’s Eli and I’m working my way through the Dirk Pitt series by Clive Cussler. This is book 3 of 1,000 (just kidding it’s actually 25). One day I’ll make it through them all!

 

3/13/19

REVIEW – Stiff by Mary Roach   indexindexindexindex111

I’m not sure how to rate this book…

Personally, I really struggled with it. It took me a long to finish it. Stiff is just not my normal type of book, and while I was interested in the subject matter (and pretty un-squeamish) the science of it all had me struggling to get through it.

That being said, Mary Roach is so witty and funny, she took something dry and pretty gross and made a great book out of it. Not at any point did I want to quit reading this book… I just had to make my peace with the fact that I was going to have to read it a little bit at a time.

And while Stiff is not something I’d ever read again, I think she did a really great job with it. I have no doubt that people with Science brains will LOVE this book.

So, I settled on a 3.5 star rating rounded up to 4

**P.S. – For the record, I do NOT want my body donated to science

 

53600249_2754019597949388_3013772706152710144_o

I’ve been reading the “Real Vampires” series by Gerry Bartlett for YEARS… I’m about to start the prequel and find out about how it all started with Glory and Jerry. I really need a new vamp series to sink my teeth into 😉

 

3/12/19

REVIEW – Never Have I Ever by Joshilyn Jackson   indexindexindexindexindex

This book got better and better the further into it I got… I had a hard time putting it down the last 100 pages (much to the detriment of my work at the bookstore).

I know this book was a departure from the type of books Joshilyn Jackson typically writes, but she nailed it. I was not expecting (or ready) for some of the dark twists this book took me down.

Fantastic book!

 

3/11/19

53685673_2751794788171869_4502789832761671680_o

I was super excited to find Never Have I Ever in my mailbox this weekend! It jumped to the top of my TBR pile and I started it yesterday… It’s really good so far! A big thanks to the publishers for sending it my way!

 

3/10/19

REVIEW – Necessary People by Anna Pitoniak   indexindexindexindex111

I thought Necessary People was great. I spent the whole book rooting for Violet and kind of hating Stella, which I think was the point. The author did a great job of showing how “necessary” they each were to each other and why their toxic friendship continued for so many years.

**Check out my Goodreads review to see spoilers! https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/6320671-cortney-lascola—the-bookworm-myrtle-beach

I think the book was about 50 pages too long, but overall, pretty darn good.

 

3/9/19

REVIEW – The Secret of Ella and Micha by Jessica Sorenson  indexindex111111111

I am baffled at how this book got such a high rating.

The writing was mediocre, at best… and, I’m sorry, but every time Micha “sucked on his lip ring” I got grossed out, which completely defeats the purpose of this book. The characters have no substance or personality, and every time Micha calls Ella “pretty girl” I just picture an obnoxious parrot screaming “Pretty girl, pretty girl.”

It was a super quick and easy read, but I obviously won’t be continuing with this series.

 

3/8/19

53323503_2746119165406098_7880303821723795456_n.jpg

Happy Friday bookworms! I’m a sucker for a gorgeous cover, so when these books came in as a trade yesterday, I scooped them up for myself instead of putting them on the shelf! I’ll be starting The Secret of Ella and Micha momentarily…

 

3/7/19