Now Reading, Reviews, and Recommendations

10/5/21

244629611_6508518545832789_6580739251096287225_n

Eli here. Getting ready to read the next book in Harlan Coben’s Myron Bolitar series, The Final Detail and the latest book in Clive Cussler’s Oregon Files, Marauder. This completes another Clive Cussler series for me, with only another 3 series and 700 books to go to read them all.

10/3/21

244408932_6499864943364816_7627219393735577192_n

Excited to be back in the world of Caraval again with Once Upon a Broken Heart by Stephanie Garber. This is one of my most anticipated reads of the year, so glad to finally have it! Enjoy your Sunday bookworms and Happy Reading!

10/2/21

244230239_6494350410582936_5931927176616917724_n

REVIEW – The Ballerinas by Rachel Kapelke-Dale  indexindexindexindexindex

I just finished The Ballerinas by Rachel Kapelke-Dale and it was fantastic!! An amazing and well-written story by a debut author. Definitely add this book to your virtual TBR, it releases 12/7. A big thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending me an advance copy of this ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ read

10/1/21

244033674_6485277988156845_8339909797384674054_n

Perfect book to get me in the Halloween spirit (like I need help 🎃) Currently reading the second in the Market of Monsters series by Rebecca Schaeffer, Only Ashes Remain 💀💀💀

REVIEW – Only Ashes Remain by Rebecca Schaeffer  indexindexindexindexindex

Great follow up! I love this series. Fantastic characters, unique and well-written story. It was pretty repetitive at times, but overall, I really enjoyed it.

4.5 stars rounded up

9/28/21

243414958_6471192972898680_438859580233659224_n

Excited to finally read Who is Maud Dixon by Alexandra Andrews! Stop by The Bookworm this week to find a book you’ve been dying to read too… We’re open Monday-Wednesday from 10-5 and Thursday-Saturday from 10-7. Happy Reading!!

REVIEW – Who is Maud Dixon? by Alexandra Andrews  indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

Cool premise, but honestly, I just couldn’t stand either of the main characters. The book took a wild turn with about 100 pages left and I flew through those because I couldn’t wait to see what happened. That ultimately led me to rounding up to 4 stars instead of down.

Definitely worth the read if the blurb sounds good to you… just make sure you stick with it! It’s worth it.

9/24/21

243008399_6450726021612042_5695033194204870648_n

Happy Friday! Just picked up The Ghost Writer by Alessandra Torre for my weekend read. Stop by The Bookworm today and tomorrow from 10-7 to check out all the new books we got on the shelf this week and to give our Novelly Yours candles a sniff!

REVIEW – The Ghost Writer by Alessandra Torre  indexindexindexindexindex

I had this book sitting on the shelf in the bookstore for over a year, but I saw it mentioned on other people’s bookstagrams twice last week, and since I loved AR Torre’s Deanna Madden series, I grabbed The Ghostwriter off the shelf despite the size of my TBR pile.

I am SO GLAD that I did. I loved it! The characters were all great, the way the author built up the mystery was great, the ending was as good as it was heartbreaking.

9/23/21

242702125_6441761355841842_9023036022142401635_n

Good morning bookies! I’m looking for some new Middle Grade options for our Blind Date with a Book, so I’m currently reading Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball by Laura Ellen Anderson 🎃🧛‍♂️🎃

REVIEW – Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball by Laura Ellen Anderson  indexindexindexindex

Cute book with great illustrations and fun characters

9/19/21

242334212_6419215851429726_7256660721377992112_n

Good morning bookworms! Currently reading If I Had Your Face by Frances Cha. Enjoy your Sunday and Happy Reading!

REVIEW – If I Had Your Face by Frances Cha  indexindexindexindex111

I really enjoyed this book…I did have to keep flipping to the back cover to remind myself who the characters were, but that’s honestly my only (minor) issue. I would have loved an epilogue, but that’s my personal preference. This book was just a brief snapshot of these characters lives, so an epilogue didn’t belong with the story (though I still wanted one… your girl loves a good wrap up!)

Really looking forward to reading what else this author writes.

9/17/21

242156656_6408005479217430_7970356975602153556_n

Happy Fri-yay!! Before even looking at the synopsis of Monstrous, I knew I had to read it strictly based on the cover 🤩🤩🤩 I can’t help it, I’m a sucker for a pretty cover! Stop by The Bookworm today and tomorrow from 10-7 and check out all the new books we got on the shelf this week 📚📚📚

REVIEW – Monstrous by MarcyKate Connelly  indexindexindex111111

This book had the makings of everything I love, but it was boring. Definitely really repetitive… probably 100 pages or so could have been shaved off the first half. The second half got better, but at that point of the 420 page book, I just wanted to be done with it. I’d be really surprised that the middle grader this book is supposed to be for actually stuck with it.

9/16/21

242190696_6402201756464469_2105470840291869622_n

Drac and I started The Wife Stalker by Liv Constantine yesterday (in the shade, of course 🧛‍♂️) Special thanks to my favorite book friend and librarian for sending me these amazing wine glasses! 💀🖤💀

REVIEW – The Wife Stalker by Liv Constantine  indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down because of the sheer implausibility of it all.

Still a decent read, but I threw a lot of eye rolls throughout. The twist surprised me, but I feel like it didn’t totally make sense… I’d have to give the book a 2nd read to check it, and I definitely didn’t like it enough for that.

9/14/21

241987672_6390817154269596_1948943450235107665_n

When the sequel to a book you loved is only available from the UK… and you order it anyway 💛🌺💛 Currently reading Sister to Sister, the sequel to Wife After Wife by Olivia Hayfield 💛🌺💛

REVIEW – Sister to Sister by Olivia Hayfield  indexindexindex111111

Let me start off by saying that I absolutely loved Wife After Wife… it was in my top 10 reads of last year, so I was super excited for this sequel. But, it was just OK. Just very, very OK. Nothing great or special. Definitely missing what made Wife After Wife such a fun and enjoyable read.

9/13/21

241814234_6382613725089939_6304031234706285358_n

Eli post – just finished The Food and Wine of France by Edward Behr, and of course it inspired me to cook some French food. Looks like we are having Mussels Meuniere for dinner along with an excellent Sauvignon Blanc… cuz we fancy

9/10/21

241708824_6370066323011346_1289510052472417466_n

REVIEW – The Tentative Knock by Kelly Capriotti Burton  indexindexindexindex111

Great debut by a new author!

The characters in The Tentative Knock were all so relatable and real, and I loved reading a book that was based in Surfside!

The fact that Jessie and Paul got together so soon after the death of their spouses gave me pause, but who are we to dictate how someone deals with the cards they are dealt? The way Kelly wrapped you in Jessie and Paul’s story, and their pain and healing, you understood it, and ultimately rooted for them and their second chance. I especially loved the extended family and the roles they played in the story.

Special thanks to the author for giving me an early preview. The Tentative Knock releases September 21st

9/8/21

240589224_6358623827488929_7890610467172023755_n

Eli posting today. I’m not typically into fantasy, but I’ve been wanting to read this book for awhile, so trying something new today!

9/6/21

240451373_6347915438559768_1070550247969366602_n

🌸 Happy Labor Day 🌸 The Bookworm is OPEN regular hours of 10-5 today 🌸 I loved Ashley Elston’s book 10 Blind Dates, so I am really excited to read the companion novel, 10 Truths and a Dare 🌸 Stop by and see us this week 🌸

REVEW – 10 Truths and a Dare by Ashley Elston  indexindexindex111111

I had such high expectations for this one after how much I adored 10 Blind Dates, but it just didn’t measure up.

It was still a cute and fluffy YA story, but it was missing the magic of 10 Blind Dates. It was nice to see everyone again though. 3 stars

9/5/21

241547549_6343148119036500_1318224527759707791_n

Hope everyone is enjoying their holiday weekend! 📚 The Bookworm will be OPEN regular hours tomorrow from 10-5 📚 I’m currently reading The Nanny by Gilly Macmillan 🦚 Stay safe and happy reading!

REVIEW – The Nanny by Gilly Macmillan  indexindexindex111111

This book was a snooze. I kept waiting for something to happen and nothing ever did. The last 60 pages picked up, but all the characters were totally unlikable… honestly, they all could have drowned in the lake for all I cared.

2.5 stars rounded up because it was still well-written, even if it was just OK.

9/3/21

241096966_6332462626771716_4405627088861462180_n

Cortney forced me read this travelogue about a couple moving to the third world Pacific Island nation of Kiribati. J Maarten Trost writes with a good sense of humor about a trying two years stuck abroad. Ended up really enjoying it, so I guess I should listen to her more often (maybe)

9/1/21

241071829_6321166304568015_1980463230802174214_n

It’s September 1st, so that means it’s officially Halloween season, right?! 🎃🎃🎃 Couldn’t resist giving Ghoulia by Barbara Cantini a read 🎃🎃🎃

REVIEW – Ghoulia by Barbara Cantini  indexindexindexindexindex

Absolutely adorable. Great illustrations too. Can’t wait to read it to my niece!

8/31/21

241002742_6315677095116936_2383377818846735903_n

Good morning bookies! I’ll be reading The Meaning of Mariah Carey at The Bookworm today from 10-5 🎶🎙️🦋 Stop by and check out our Biographies and Memoirs section!

REVIEW – The Meaning of Mariah Carey by Mariah Carey  indexindexindex111111

I wanted to love this book, because MARIAH. But, it was just allllll over the place. I wanted to hear the story of her growing up, and then getting discovered, and then her life after that… the good, the bad, the amazing, the ugly. But it was random bits surrounding those stories.

She needed someone to direct her stories and edit her and that clearly didn’t happen. This feels like a sequel to her first memoir. Still love her, but this book just didn’t give me what I wanted.

8/28/21

240757417_6300197963331516_5220759361781958278_n

Hello Saturday! Currently reading Girl A by Abigail Dean.

REVIEW – Girl A by Abigail Dean  indexindex111111111

Great idea for a book, unfortunately, it just didn’t deliver.

The timeline jumped around a lot, without any notice about where it was going (no dates/change in chapters, etc). There were way too many characters that weren’t introduced properly, so it was really easy to get them confused or just not remember who they were. The big twist came as no surprise… in fact, despite the subject matter, I hardly consider this book a thriller.

Definitely a disappointment.

8/26/21

240731440_6289846747699971_9121236451899105685_n

🌸Good morning🌸 Excited to read Erin A. Craig’s newest book 🍯Small Favors🍯 I was such a huge fan of her debut 🐚The House of Salt and Sorrow🐚 Special thanks to 🐝 Savannah Bee Company 🐝 for sharing their bees for our booksta pic! Stop by 📚The Bookworm📚 today, tomorrow, and Saturday from 10-7 to grab some great weekend reads! 🌞🪅🌞

REVIEW – Small Favors by Erin A Craig  indexindexindexindex111

I really liked Small Favors!

Definitely a slower paced book… but it didn’t ever feel like it was dragging. I would have liked a little more creepiness and backstory on the monsters, but that’s a personal preference. There’s no doubt that Erin Craig can write a great story!

Already salivating for her next one

8/25/21

240431439_6284614571556522_5769249101435215837_n

It’s Eli today, actually taking one of Goodreads random suggestions and reading The Dead Room by Robert Ellis

8/24/21

240394056_6274995009185145_4593002280565871467_n

I’m 5 months older than Eli, so that technically makes him my trophy wife right?! 🥂🕶️💍💰💄 Currently reading The Sinful Lives of Trophy Wives by Kristin Miller. Stop by The Bookworm this week to grab some great reads! We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7 **special thanks to Eli for being such a good sport 🤣❤️🤣

REVIEW – The Sinful Lives of Trophy Wives by Kristin Miller  indexindexindexindex111

Fun and quick summer read! It kind of fell apart at the end for me. I wanted more… give me something nefarious and sinister and a dark twist, more explanations and more details, more of everything.

Still really enjoyable. And this cover is a stunner!

8/20/21

240065877_6259910324026947_2526968214736366858_n

Rolling into the weekend with a little lemon cake and the newest by Colleen Oakley! I absolutely loved You Were There Too, so I’m excited to start The Invisible Husband of Frick Island. Make sure to pop over to The Bookworm’s Facebook page tomorrow for our next giveaway!

REVIEW – The Invisible Husband of Frick Island by Colleen Oakely  indexindexindexindex111

This is my second book by Colleen Oakley, and it won’t be my last. I just really enjoy her storytelling! Cute story, albeit predictable. Glad I picked it up!

8/19/21

239448366_6252859941398652_7810578066708120888_n

Let’s be honest, the cover was reason enough to pick up Pizza Girl by Jean Kyoung Frazier… But I stayed for the story. I really loved it! It has such mixed reviews, I wasn’t sure what I was going to get, but what I got was a book that I really enjoyed (and a bag of gummy candy pizzas) See, sometimes it is OK to judge a book by its cover! 4.5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐💫

8/17/21

238827571_6242698409081472_2326355623397780397_n

It’s Eli, just starting Empire of Blue Water: Captain Morgan’s Great Pirate Army by Stephan Talty. I thought it was a book about spiced rum, but I guess there was a pirate, er, privateer of the same name 🏴‍☠️🦜⚓

8/15/21

238324558_6232728756745104_158606981632831417_n

I’ve never read a Meg Wolitzer book, so when one of my customers brought The Uncoupling in for me, I thought it was about time to fix that! Enjoy your Sunday bookies and happy reading!

REVIEW – The Uncoupling by Meg Wolitzer  indexindexindex111111

Interesting concept for a book, but I didn’t love it. I don’t think it’s deserving of it’s low rating though. If it sounds good to you, give it a read. It was a quick one.

8/12/21

A few years ago, Eli and I were lucky enough travel with my brother and sister-in-law to India for our friends wedding, and I’ve been fascinated with Indian culture and history ever since. Picking Rebel Queen by Michelle Moran was an easy choice for my next read! Here’s also a pic of us in our wedding finery 🤩

REVIEW – Rebel Queen by Michelle Moran  indexindexindexindex111

I enjoyed Rebel Queen, as I always enjoy Michelle Moran’s books. The war that was talked about in the blurb and the two armies didn’t really happen until the very end and felt like a pretty minor story line, and it was hard to keep track of who each character was, just because of the fact that I’m not familiar with Indian names, but other than that, I liked it.

I hope she writes more books soon!

8/11/21

234641889_6211521688865811_3820133713372142418_n

Eli here, getting started on book 4 of Harlan Coben’s Myron Bolitar series, Back Spin. I finally found something that has pulled me away from Clive Cussler

8/9/21

224103787_6200738003277513_7461748037650255686_n

Happy National Book Lovers Day!! My celebration plans include taking 56 Days by Catherine Ryan Howard off the shelf to give it a quick read before putting it back in the store… How is a thriller-loving bookstore owner supposed to resist this book?! 🤩🤭🤩 Happy Reading!!

REVIEW – 56 Days by Catherine Ryan Howard  indexindexindexindex111

Despite wanting to avoid and escape all thing Covid, I couldn’t resist grabbing this for myself when it came through the bookstore.

It was pretty good! A little slower-paced than I was expecting, but I enjoyed it. Solid 4 stars.

8/6/21

233821645_6184999998184647_6729793127413049729_n

Rise and shine with The Bookworm at Gil’s All Fright Diner… Now serving Armageddon with a side of fries! Thankfully Friday rolled around quickly this week, do you have enough weekend reading? Stop by the bookstore and stock up! We’ll be open today and tomorrow from 10-7 🍳🥞☠️

8/4/21

233617504_6175196499164997_4364629851173117873_n

Good morning bookies! Excited to start Alice Feeney’s His & Hers today. Have a good one and happy reading!

REVIEW – His and Hers by Alice Feeney  indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars… not sure if I want to round up or down yet

I really wanted to love this book like I loved Sometimes I Lie, but, eh. It was good, but I just wanted to want to devour it, but I never felt strongly about it one way or the other. I typically like alternating POVs, but I don’t really think it added much to this story. I figured out some of the twists really early on, and now that I’m done with the book, I’m annoyed that one of the characters story line and motivation was never explained or wrapped up, and this character was clearly just used as a red herring by the author to confuse the readers.

And I’ve settled on rounding down

8/2/21

229013005_6165090980175549_7650951386743155771_n

Hello August! Stop by The Bookworm this week to stock up on some summer reading…. It’ll be fall before you know it! We are open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. I’m currently reading Minor Dramas and Other Catastrophes by Kathleen West 🍎🍎🍎

REVIEW – Minor Dramas and Other Catastrophes by Kathleen West  indexindexindex111111

There was just a lot going on in this book, right from the first page.

A lot of different POV’s, and nothing to really differentiate them from each other. I had to stop and think “OK, who is this person again?” at the beginning of each POV switch. I also feel like I missed the first couple of chapters introducing everyone and the story, and just got dropped into the book about 30 pages in.

At the end of the day, I did enjoy the story, but there was just too many POV’s. Thank goodness for the short chapters.

8/1/21

217725107_6160558387295475_2136128044526925148_n

It’s Eli, reading more than Cortney this week! Starting the 2nd book in the Stone Barrington series by Stuart Woods, Dirt.

7/30/21

227059015_6152735121411135_4927132241231113637_n

It’s Eli, tagging in at The Bookworm for the rest of the day. Currently reading the latest in Clive Cussler’s Isaac Bell series, The Saboteurs 🚂

7/28/21

225779719_6140147152669932_7503831186205480957_n

I’ve been trying really hard to just work on my TBR pile and not add anything new, but I had a slip up last week and added 6 new books to my stack (SIX!) The Last Flight by Julie Clark was one of the ones I just couldn’t resist! I’ll be reading this at The Bookworm today, stop by and let me help you add to your TBR pile too 📚📚📚

REVIEW – The Last Flight by Julie Clark  indexindexindexindex111

Really good book! I enjoyed the two different POV’s with Claire and Eva. How the two tied together felt a *little* too coincidental, but that’s the joy of fiction.

4.25 stars

7/25/21

223470587_6127163643968283_4236770506729449131_n

I was in the mood for a fluffy YA story, and 10 Blind Dates by Ashely Elston absolutely fit the bill 🌟 I am only on date number 2, but I am in love with this book! Hope you’re all enjoying your weekend 🌟 The Bookworm will be open all next week… We’ll see you then! 🌟

REVIEW – 10 Blind Dates by Ashley Elston  indexindexindexindexindex

I absolutely adored this book! It was exactly the fluffy, delightful YA book I was in the mood for. I am so excited there is another about Olivia!

7/23/21

221691772_6115324715152176_7674437046097645912_n

It’s Eli at The Bookworm today, reading Just Watch Me, the 1st book in Jeff Lindsay’s new series about a jewel thief. Stop by from 10-7 💎💎💎

7/20/21

219872041_6099505336734114_1914017935800230096_n

🌼 So excited to peek into the twisted mind of Rhiannon again with the 3rd book in the Sweetpea series by CJ Skuse, Dead Head 🌼 A female serial killer that also loves Gordon Ramsay? Sign me up! 🌼 Stop by and see us at The Bookworm this week 🌼 We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7 🌼 Happy Reading! 🌼

REVIEW – Dead Head by CJ Skuse  indexindexindexindexindex

Dead Head is my favorite book in this series (so far). The dark humor in these books never cease to make me laugh, and while I am definitely guilty of being on the kill list a few times, I agree with Rhiannon most of the time (#5. Justin Timberlake. I don’t know what gives him the right anymore.)

I loved being inside her dark and twisted mind again, and I loved where her story went. Keeping my fingers crossed there’s another book!

7/18/21

218307404_6089992914352023_596600738943738716_n

Hello Sunday! A big thank you to Flatiron Books for sending me an advance copy of Chandler Baker’s upcoming novel, The Husbands. I loved Whisper Network, so I’m excited to get into this one 🔥🏘️🔥

REVIEW – The Husbands by Chandler Baker  indexindexindex111111

The Husbands started out really good… but Nora quickly got on my nerves. Quit whining, girl! You have made this your life, so either get out of it, fix it, or deal with it. Her constant inner monologue complaining about everything got old really fast.

I enjoyed the story and the mystery, but you couldn’t have that without Nora, which really brought the whole book down in my opinion. It definitely got better the last 35% or so, but still a 3 star rating overall.

7/15/21

218020034_6076357615715553_36260716817081354_n

It’s Eli, and I just finished reading the 3rd book in Harlan Coben’s Myron Bolitar series, Fade Away. If you haven’t yet, follow me on Goodreads at https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/84551680-eli-hornyak I’m always interested in seeing what other people are reading and reviewing!

7/14/21

217807667_6070310162986965_8168874548555025594_n

Working on the #bottomofmytbr and reading the final book in the Cursebreakers trilogy by Brigid Kemmerer, A Vow So Bold and Deadly. What book has been on your TBR pile the longest?

REVIEW – A Vow so Bold and Deadly by Brigid Kemmerer indexindexindex111111

Well, this was a slog to get through.

I absolutely loved the first two books in the trilogy, but this one was borrrring. Nothing happened the first half of the book. The second half was definitely better, but not enough to save this from a 3 star rating.

7/10/21

215045583_6051330954884886_2914003418640276560_n

Hey bookworms and fellow woodworkers, it’s Eli, reading Nick Offerman’s book, Paddle Your Own Canoe. Cortney got this book for me years ago, and it only took 7 binges of Parks and Rec and 3 seasons of Making It to finally pick it up. Enjoy your meat tornadoes and Lagavulin this weekend!

7/9/21

213607853_6046691248682190_3001360498202707843_n

Happy Fri-yay!! I am reading A Girl Named Anna by Lizzy Barber. Stop by The Bookworm today or tomorrow and grab a beach read (or 3) for yourself… We’ll be open from 10-7 📚🌞📚

REVIEW – A Girl Named Anna by Lizzy Barber  indexindexindex111111

Decent read, but nothing outstanding about it. Solid 3 stars

7/7/21

212339900_6037950876222894_3145620476432195644_n

It’s Eli, reading the next book in The Oregon Files by Clive Cussler, Shadow Tyrants. The rain is coming Myrtle Beach, so stop by The Bookworm and stock up on some great reads! Cortney will be there until 5 today and happy to help with recommendations ☔📚☔

7/5/21

213024458_6027032693981379_2534168218726501270_n

The Bookworm is OPEN from 10-5 today! I’ll be reading We Are the Brennans by Tracey Lange. Special thanks to Celadon Books for sending me an advance copy ☘️☘️☘️ Have a great week bookies!

REVIEW – We Are the Brennans by Tracey Lange  indexindexindexindexindex

I loved the Brennans.

They were a flawed family that you just couldn’t help pulling for. You felt their desperation and justified their bad decision right along side them.

Very well-written story, hard to believe this was her first novel!

4.5 stars

6/30/21

209813705_6005526376132011_1700290727301634054_n

As every bookstagrammer before me, I had to put these two stunningly gorgeous covers next to each other for my picture. Reading the second half of the Fable duology by Adrienne Young, Namesake ⚓🏴‍☠️⚓

REVIEW – Namesake by Adrienne Young indexindexindexindex111

3.5 rounded up

I absolutely loved Fable. This was a decent, though not totally necessary, follow-up.

6/27/21

207742006_5989518107732838_8766619316927626043_n

Convinced Eli to give the Sebastian St.Cyr books by C.S. Harris a try! He’s starting the first one, What Angels Fear, and I’m reading # 15, Who Speaks for the Damned. Enjoy your day and I’ll see you at The Bookworm tomorrow from 10-5!

REVIEW – Who Speaks for the Damned by CS Lewis  indexindexindex111111

Let me start off by saying that I’ve been reading this series since the beginning… I enjoy it, love the characters, the settings, the mysteries. But this one fell a little flat for me. I felt that the usual intrigue was missing, and if I’m being honest, I felt a little bored at times. Still a solid 3, but definitely not one of my favorites.

6/26/21

206009685_5985284228156226_1980930787958874594_n

It’s your favorite backup bookworm Eli, making my way down my TBR pile. Next up, A Trick of Light by Stan Lee. Being a comic book nerd at heart, I had to give to give this a try.

6/24/21

205385770_5976513769033272_6145178939387082453_n

“How well do you really know your friends?”

Harper Books had me doing the book mail happy dance yesterday! Super excited to get an advance copy of Kimberly McCreight’s upcoming release, Friends Like These. It definitely cut the line and I started it this morning… Don’t forget to stop by The Bookworm this week to enter our anniversary giveaway! We’ll be open Th, Fri, and Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading!!

REVIEW – Friends Like These by Kimberly McCreight  indexindexindex111111

I was super excited to get an advance copy of this book, but it fell a little short. There was a good story in there, but it was a bit of a convoluted mess.

There were just SO many characters to keep straight, all of which had their own POV chapters, plus Alice who died 10 years ago, plus the mystery person, plus the detective, and then the timeline kept jumping back and forth from the beginning of the weekend, to the end of the weekend, to the mystery stalker 2-3 weeks ago, to back when everyone was in college together.

At the end of the day, keeping everything and everyone straight just felt like work, and enjoying the book felt very secondary to that.

The ending REALLY saved the book for me. Moved my rating from a 2.5 up to a 3. There’s no doubt that Kimberly McCreight can write a great thriller, this one just missed the execution mark.

6/23/21

205938891_5971052426246073_6926534988304108326_n

It’s Eli, trying something a customer recommended to me, the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson. So far, this is right up my alley 🛠️🛠️🛠️

6/19/21

203902877_5954566474561335_8873309582328108038_n

So excited to dive into The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner! I’ve heard such great things about this book, but honestly, the stunning cover was reason enough to grab it 🤩💜🤩

REVIEW – The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner  indexindexindexindex111

I wanted to be astounded by this book… the concept is so cool and imaginative and unique, and let’s be honest, that’s one of the prettiest covers we’ve seen in a year, but it all just fell a little short for me. And before you raise your pitchforks, I still liked it, still enjoyed reading it, I just wasn’t blown away.

3.75 stars rounded up

6/18/21

202485582_5948025015215481_3341174305865542593_n

🌻 Helllooooo Friday 🌻
I’m currently reading Kerry Winfrey’s follow-up to Waiting for Tom Hanks, Not Like the Movies. Have a great weekend bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW – Not Like the Movies by Kerry Winfrey  indexindexindexindex111

Cute story… total star of the book is Nick

6/15/21

201067924_5934143983270251_3367135070542097257_n

Finishing the Girls with Sharp Sticks Trilogy by Suzanne Young with the final book, Girls with Rebel Souls. Have a great day bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW – Girls with Rebel Souls by Suzanne Young  indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

This series started out with a bang. I loved Girls with Sharp Sticks… so much so that I immediately ordered the next two books in the trilogy. Unfortunately, they didn’t live up to the first one. I did enjoy this one more than #2, but neither were as good as the first.

I’m sitting here trying to pinpoint what was missing, but I just don’t know. I think ultimately I just didn’t care as much about the girls and what happened to them in the second two books. I’m still glad I finished the series, but I wish the sequels invoked the feelings the first one did.

I wish I could rate this the 3.5 I want (c’mon Goodreads) but since I gave the second book 3 stars, and I liked this one more, I’m going to round up to 4.

6/13/21

132039549_5927378293946820_6759547467873874206_n

“The trick is to undercook the onions. Everyone is going to get to know each other in the pot… It’s probably the thing I do best.” I was so excited this book came into The Bookworm, I dropped the chili. It’s Eli, reading about The Office… and eating chili off the floor. Hope your Sunday is just as exciting.

6/12/21

198744271_5921636217854361_8262072698116732760_n

Starting The Hunting Wives by May Cobb 🎯 Enjoy your weekend and happy reading!!

REVIEW – The Hunting Wives by May Cobb  indexindexindexindexindex

I feel like it’s been a hot minute since I loved a book… The Hunting Wives cured me of that.

Loved, loved, LOVED

I could have done without the jumping around timeline at the beginning, that seemed unnecessarily confusing, but that is really my only complaint. I honestly really, thoroughly enjoyed this book.

It’s not going to be for everyone. I wouldn’t recommend those steamy scenes for my mom, but this is the perfect guilty pleasure mystery summer beach read.

6/11/21

199687269_5916356395049010_3285193963336702705_n

Happy Friday! Reading the latest from one of my favorites… 🌴Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid🌴 Stop by The Bookworm today and tomorrow from 10-7 to check out all the new books we got on the shelf this week!

REVIEW – Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid  indexindexindex111111

Well, this was underwhelming.

I think Taylor Jenkins Reid is magic. She has this amazing ability to write characters that you just connect to and absolutely fall in love with. Unfortunately, that was missing from Malibu Rising. At the end of the day, I didn’t care about any of them. Even her writing and the fantastic way she typically can weave a story wasn’t there. There just wasn’t anything special about this book. And as one of my most anticipated reads of 2021, that’s a little heartbreaking 💔😖💔

I’m still giving it 3 stars because it’s a decent book, just nowhere near her usual caliber or what we all know she is capable of. Excuse me while I go cry into my bookshelf.

6/8/21

198311069_5902187746465875_2660717209277973671_n

Eli post: After reading Deal Breaker from Harlan Coben, I could barely wait to start book 2 in the Myron Bolitar series, Drop Shot. If you haven’t already, be sure to give him a try.

6/6/21

196017498_5892341807450469_6313052147016772708_n

Enjoying a little time with The Reunion by Guillaume Musso before starting the Sunday to-do list… What are you reading (using to avoid chores) today?

REVIEW – The Reunion by Guillaume Musso  indexindexindexindex111

I wasn’t completely sure about this book, but once I got through the first 75 pages, I ended up really enjoying it! Definitely had some twists I didn’t see coming. I could have used more dramatics and details, but I just think that is the author’s writing style. Will definitely pick up another book of his in the future.

6/5/21

196499256_5888122731205710_78043929343992543_n

Eli here, reading another tale about the Wild West in Tom Clavin’s Dodge City: Wyatt Earp, Bat Masterson, and the Wickedest Town in the American West

6/3/21

195171153_5878982912119692_8880787360493785236_n

Big thanks to Celadon Books for having me as one of their early readers! Starting the latest release from Alex Michaelides, The Maidens. Mark your calendars, it hits shelves June 15th!

REVIEW – The Maidens by Alex Michaelides  indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

Having to follow up a book as fantastic as The Silent Patient is a really tall order… and while I enjoyed The Maidens, it was hard to not compare the two.

At the end of the day, I honestly just didn’t like or care about any of the characters. I just wanted more of everything…. More explanation at the end, more history on how we got there, and definitely more on the actual Maidens. They felt like a sub-plot of the book that was titled for them. The mystery was still decent, but I didn’t love it.

Looking forward to the author’s next (ten) book(s)!

6/1/21

194505578_5868258489858801_6435694853575467309_n

Good morning bookies! I’m mixing it up a little today and reading Dean Koontz’s newest book, The Other Emily

REVIEW – The Other Emily by Dean Koontz indexindexindexindex111

I haven’t read much Dean Koontz in my time, and what I did read was a long time ago, but the premise of this book really grabbed my attention. I ended up really enjoying it!

I could have done with more of everything… more serial killer, more creepiness, more obsession, etc. But I’m really glad I picked it up!

3.75 rounded up

5/31/21

193277192_5863561930328457_4005111654791751632_n

**The Bookworm is OPEN today from 10-5**

Happy Memorial Day! It’s Eli, and I just finished the 2nd book in David Baldacci’s Will Robie series, The Hit. Stop by and see us this week at The Bookworm. We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7.

5/28/21

191913780_5848010468550270_4396568553256339949_n

Just a little early morning reading with Oliver before heading to The Bookworm! Starting Girls with Razor Hearts by Suzanne Young, the 2nd book in the Girls with Sharp Sticks trilogy. Have a wonderful holiday weekend bookies! The Bookworm will be open regular business hours. Stay safe and happy reading!

REVIEW – Girls with Razor Hearts by Suzanne Young  indexindexindex111111

Well, this book was kind of a bummer. For how much I loved Girls with Sharp Sticks, Girls with Razor Hearts was a disappointing follow up. It was missing the magic and the “let’s all fight the patriarchy” rage that the first one inspired in me. It all felt forced and contrived to get that reaction.

It was still OK. I just hope the final book channels what made the first one special.

5/25/21

190389834_5834751646542819_5990904628674875580_n

Next up for Eli! Raise your hand if you’re surprised it’s Clive Cussler 🙋🏻‍♂️😅🙋🏻

5/24/21

189708027_5826709884013662_9081034695142886037_n

St. Martin’s Press had me doing the book mail happy dance last week with an advance copy of Chevy Stevens newest book, Dark Roads. Any of my regulars at The Bookworm can tell you she’s one of my favorite recommendations for a twisty thriller, and after 4 long years, I am so excited for a new book!! Stop by and see me this week at the bookstore, we’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7 📚📚📚

REVIEW – Dark Roads by Chevy Stevens  indexindexindexindex111

I am so glad to have a new book by Chevy Stevens! It’s been too long. She is always one of my go-to thriller recommendations.

I really enjoyed Dark Roads, and both Hailey and Beth’s POV. My only complaint, and the reason why I am giving this book 4 stars instead of 5, is the lack of explanation at the end. All of a sudden, we are told that X did X because of X and that’s it. No real details, explanations, history, nothing on ANY of the other murders that have been happening for decades. Nothing. She doesn’t talk about or explain any of it. While this might just be a personal preference, I need answers.

Still really enjoyed it, I just hope we don’t have to wait so long for the next one!

5/20/21

186513483_5802683629749621_2636726487334333101_n

I always have to read before I watch, so I picked up All Things Cease to Appear by Elizabeth Brundage. Has anyone watched the adaptation Things Seen and Heard yet? I have it added to my queue and ready!

REVIEW – All Things Cease to Appear by Elizabeth Brundage  indexindex111111111

This was like two books in one… and unfortunately, the blurb you read on the back was a short story mixed into a 450 page book about a bunch of people I didn’t really care about.

I got suckered in by seeing the trailer for the movie, and because I always have to read it before I watch it, I went out and bought the book. I honestly wish I hadn’t wasted my money or my time.

I wish the blurb hadn’t been so misleading… maybe if I had an accurate idea of what I was going to read going in, I would feel differently. Unfortunately right now, all I feel is disappointed.

5/16/21

186564401_5786219351396049_2618462351206893258_n

It’s @libraryofdallas taking over today and I want to send a huge thank you to @bookmarked for sending me this advanced copy of @claremackwrites ‘s excellent new thriller #HOSTAGE which hits shelves next month. I’ve been flying through it this week; it’s my first read by Clare and I can’t wait to read more of her books now!!

5/15/21

186560001_5779544488730202_5642546983931563737_n

It’s Eli here, reading James Haley’s book The Shores of Tripoli. This is an historical fiction novel about Thomas Jefferson’s war with the Barbary pirates and a young man’s journey through the new American Navy 🏴‍☠️

5/13/21

185965693_5768644643153520_4281941378441147599_n

Hello bookworms! Starting a new trilogy with Girls with Sharp Sticks by Suzanne Young 🥀🥀🥀 Stop by and see us at The Bookworm today through Saturday from 10-7. Happy Reading!

REVIEW – Girls With Sharp Sticks by Suzanne Young    indexindexindexindexindex

I really loved this book! To the point that I already had #2 and #3 ordered before I even finished it. Can’t wait to read the next one

5/10/21

184701903_5752391184778866_1316633766071325668_n

Good morning bookies! Just a reminder that masks are still required (no exceptions) at The Bookworm. If you’re unable/unwilling to wear one, curbside pick up is always available.

I’m currently reading Lore by Alexandra Bracken. Have a wonderful week and happy reading!

REVIEW – Lore by Alexandra Bracken

DNF at 50%

I hate to do it, but I am 220 pages into this book and I just can’t read anymore. I only partially understand what is going on. I have felt lost and like I was dropped into the second book of a series since the very beginning. The backstory and explanations are very disjointed, and there is no flow to this book. I just keep saying out loud “What is happening?”

I am so sad. I was looking forward to this book for over a year. Unfortunately, the best thing about it was the gorgeous cover.

5/8/21

183597687_5741811235836861_6211233951425387045_n

Eli here, and I’m trying something different today.  Harlan Coben has really been flying off the shelf lately, so I’m starting the first book in the Myron Bolitar series, Deal Breaker. Can’t wait to see what all the buzz is about

5/6/21

183056433_5731736843510967_3961832840262357328_n

I absolutely loved Christina McDonald’s first novel, The Night Olivia Fell, so I am really excited to dive into her newest, Do No Harm. Penelope and Oliver give their paws of approval!

REVIEW – Do No Harm by Christina MacDonald  indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

I was blown away by The Night Olivia Fell, so I had really high hopes for Do No Harm… unfortunately, it fell a little short.

I feel like the thriller aspect was almost missing from this book and it was more about the pathetic state of our country’s healthcare system. There was a lot of minor story lines that were thrown in that added nothing to the story. The story line about Nate’s high school friend and Julia/Kia were totally unnecessary… Tell me more about Violetta and her boyfriend and the drug mules and Nate’s dad as a cop instead.

Still a good story by a talented author.

5/1/21

179849208_5706743262676992_2890748276901993125_n

Good morning book friends and happy Saturday! I am currently reading Long Bright River by Liz Moore. Stop by The Bookworm from 10-7 today and check out all the new books we got on the shelves this week 📚🌻📚🌻📚

REVIEW – Long Bright River by Liz Moore    indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 stars rounded up

What a great book

Long Bright River had a little bit of everything in it… family drama, addiction, mystery, betrayal, a serial killer. I really, really enjoyed it.

I could have used more of the mystery, I wish that part was flushed out more, but I don’t think that was the purpose of the book. The twist really took me by surprise. Really glad I picked this one up

4/29/21

179874084_5696304860387499_2893131387198286677_n

Thanks to St. Martin’s Press for sending me an advance copy of Phoebe Wynne’s debut novel, Madam!

4/27/21

178525196_5686242781393707_3267383640321147424_n

Reading the final book in the Elemental Assassin series by Jennifer Estep, Last Strand 🕸️🔪🕸️ Stop by The Bookworm today from 10-5 and check out all the new books we got on the shelf yesterday!

REVIEW – Last Strand by Jennifer Estep    indexindexindexindex111

I’ve been with this series since the very beginning and I’ve loved it and everyone in it… but it was time to end.

4/25/21

178379501_5677374178947234_30364270645990921_n

So happy to get my hot little hands on a copy of The Push by Ashley Audrain! This will be jumping to the top of my reading pile today

REVIEW – The Push by Ashley Audrain    indexindexindexindexindex

Incredible book!!

Hard to believe it was a debut. Great storytelling. Can’t wait to read what she comes up with next

4/23/21

176742925_5668526089832043_3724958103718907628_n

Thanks to Wednesday Books for sending me a copy of P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast’s upcoming book, Spells Trouble! I am a sucker for YA books about witches, so I can’t wait to dive into the first Sisters of Salem book 🧙🏻 🧹🔮🧹🧙🏻

REVIEW – Spells Trouble by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast  indexindex111111111

I was so excited to receive an advance copy of Spells Trouble… not only was it a YA trilogy about witches, but it was two authors I’ve heard great things about for years but had yet to try.

*cue the violins* but I was in for a lot of disappointment

The writing felt really lazy to me. Whether they just phoned it in this time, or this is their typical way of writing, I don’t know, but I’m probably not going to find out. There were glimmers of a good story in there, but I was honestly not impressed. There were times I felt like I was in the middle of a series, there were times that I felt like I was reading middle grade, there were times I just skimmed because I wanted to be done with it. I’ll say it again because I think it bears repeating, the bones were there for a good story, maybe even a great one, but it was just not executed/edited/or written to shine.

I don’t know what else to say. If you really want a great YA witchy trilogy, check out the Cahill Witch Chronicles

4/20/21

176190634_5652371761447476_5381255622174963251_n

It’s Eli, trying something new! Currently reading the first book in the Cormoran Strike series by Robert Galbraith (JK Rowling), The Cuckoo’s Calling

4/17/21

175415750_5638177436200242_4842586331173617621_n

“Honestly, sometimes I think it’s the only recourse. Killing men in times like these.”

Thank you to Avid Reader Press for sending me an advance copy of Lisa Taddeo’s upcoming release, Animal. I’ll be spending my weekend inside Joan’s head.

REVIEW – Animal by Lisa Taddeo  indexindexindexindex111

Animal covers a lot of terrible things with a pretty unredeemable main character, but I was kind of riveted by it.

This is absolutely not going to be a book for everyone, but I really enjoyed it. I can absolutely say that it, and Joan, will stick with me for awhile.

4/16/21

174372848_5634402249911094_7108815296744450161_n

Hey book nerds, it’s Eli, and I just tagged in at The Bookworm. I’ll be here til 7 tonight reading the next book in the Dirk Pitt series by Clive Cussler, Cyclops. Don’t forget to enter our Facebook giveaway! Have a great weekend and happy reading

4/14/21

174158290_5625264724158180_8664507480201263784_n

Thanks to Flatiron Books for sending me an advance copy of Emiko Jean’s Tokyo Ever After 👑💙👑

4/11/21

172576317_5608491542502165_6233685312093762661_n

I was really excited to steal the ARC of Alex Michaelides second book, The Maidens, from Cortney. I hope it is as good as The Silent Patient! Thanks for sending it to her Celadon Books

4/7/21

170380529_5584525071565479_7097117599561463063_n

A giant THANK YOU to St. Martin’s Press for sending me an advance copy of D.J. Palmer’s upcoming release, The Perfect Daughter. I absolutely loved (loved!) Saving Meghan, so I cannot wait to get into this one. Have a great day bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW – The Perfect Daughter by D.J. Palmer  indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down because the ending was really implausible.

I’ve always been fascinated with multiple personalities, and I absolutely loved Saving Meghan (though I wasn’t crazy about The New Husband), so I was optimistic and hopeful about The Perfect Daughter. It was decent, but nothing earth shattering or note worthy. The side story about the doctor’s drug addicted son was totally unnecessary and added nothing, and like I mentioned above, the ended was implausible and felt rushed.

I’ll still read his next book and keep my fingers crossed that it recaptures what I loved about Saving Meghan.

4/6/21

169482336_5576089239075729_8249295137786576154_n

It’s Eli, finally done with the dual George Orwell novel and back to my go-to man fluff, Clive Cussler. Reading the next book in The Oregon Files, The Emperor’s Revenge. Stop by The Bookworm this week and grab some great books for yourself! We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7.

4/3/21

169063658_5560971090587544_7303646500656183255_n

@libraryofdallas at The Bookworm today, and I’m here to rave all about @gayleforman ‘s new YA masterpiece #WeAreInevitable which hits shelves June 1st and is simply a heartwarming love letter to booksellers and book lovers… centered on a young man working in his family’s used bookstore in a small town, coping with the recent loss of his brother, and grappling with his inevitable future… it’s beautiful and gives you all the feels. Thank you to @bookishfirst and @penguinteen for the ARC! Stop by and browse this lovely used bookstore in Myrtle Beach today and let me give you some recommendations! ❤️📚

3/29/21

165905149_5534375249913795_3214936732663058819_n

I’m such a big fan of Ali Wong, so I can’t wait to start her book, Dear Girls. I’ll be reading this at The Bookworm today ’til 5. Stop by and check out our Biography/Memoir section!

REVIEW – Dear Girls by Ali Wong  indexindex111111111

I think Ali Wong is super funny and talented, unfortunately, that did not transfer over to her book.

It was boring and I think the only time I actually laughed was in the introduction.

3/27/21

165963843_5522701344414519_5660818140228271925_n

Happy Saturday! @libraryofdallas here at The Bookworm today. If you’re like me and missed this great #ReesesBookClub pick, and need a good heartbreaking and heartwarming story of love at first sight, then this is the book for you! I just finished #OneDayInDecember and I can’t stop raving about it. Stop by The Bookworm from 10-7 today and let me rave about some other new to you books!

3/24/21

164853995_5508648555819798_818309664690609737_n

Hello bookies! I’m starting Jennifer Donaldson’s Lies You Never Told Me. I loved her book I Know You Remember, so I’m excited to try another! Stop by and see us at The Bookworm Monday – Wednesday from 10-5 and Thursday – Saturday from 10-7. Have a great day and happy reading!

REVIEW – Lies You Never Told Me by Jennifer Donnelly  indexindexindexindex111

This is my second book by Jennifer Donaldson, and she can write a twist!

Great story and characters, quick, easy, and enjoyable read.

3/21/21

163244449_5494869700531017_1356668881906019149_n

So excited to dive into The Plot by Jean Hanff Korelitz today! Thanks to Celadon Books for sending me an advance copy! Enjoy the rest of your weekend bookworms, and happy reading 📚☕🍰

REVIEW – The Plot by Jean Hanff Korelitz  indexindexindexindexindex

I loved this book.

I got Covid back in January, and have been struggling with daily migraines since then, so my reading time is really limited (and precious!) The Plot was absolutely worthy.

It took me a little bit to adjust to the author’s writing style, but the story, and the story within the story, were fantastic. Can I get a copy of Crib, please?

5 very happy stars

3/16/21

159479127_5471822102835777_6215491279339660710_n

Thank you to Wednesday Books for sending me an advance copy of Dahlia Adler’s upcoming release, Cool for the Summer!

3/13/21

159441905_5459541460730508_7715893905833273070_o

Hello bookworms! I am about to start The Poison Tree by Erin Kelly. Enjoy your weekend and happy reading!

REVEIW – The Poison Tree by Erin Kelly  indexindex111111111

2.5 rounded down

This was a slow burn, with a very big emphasis on sloooowww. The author kept alluding to what happened that day, but it didn’t really raise my curiosity, it just kind of bugged me and made the story drag on more.

I did enjoy the ending, but still going to be a 2.5 rounded down for me.

3/11/21

159579959_5450531731631481_2101559825449888950_o

Good morning! I’m currently reading Valentine by Elizabeth Wetmore. We’ve gotten a lot of great books on the shelf this week, so stop by The Bookworm M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7 to grab some for yourself 📚💛📚 Happy Reading!

REVIEW – Valentine by Elizabeth Wetmore  indexindex111111111

What am I missing? I don’t understand all the hype over this book… There were entirely too many unnecessary POV’s, when ultimately the only ones that I cared about were Mary Rose and Glory and Karla at the end.

I do think she’s a talented writer, but I don’t know if I would try another book by her. This one was just not for me.

3/5/21

158108946_5424961170855204_7898092970600609717_o

Hellooooo Friday!! A giant thank you to @stmartinspress for sending me an early copy of Sally Hepworth’s upcoming release, The Good Sister. I read and loved The Mother-in-Law a few months ago, so I cannot wait to get into this one. Happy Reading!

REVIEW – The Good Sister by Sally Hepworth  indexindexindexindex111

This is my second book by Sally Hepworth and I really enjoyed it!

Definitely read more like a family drama than a thriller. While Fern made me snort laugh a few times, she is not going to be everyone’s cup of tea, but it was nice to have something/someone different for a change.

4/5 stars!

3/3/21

156465255_5415867395097915_7934092156011182404_o

Thanks to @customhousebooks for sending me an advance copy of Mary Jane by Jessica Anya Blau!! I’ll be reading this at The Bookworm today. Stop by and see us M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading!

REVIEW – Mary Jane by Jessica Anya Blau  indexindex111111111

The marketing department was wildly generous by saying this book was Almost Famous meets Daisy Jones and the Six.

This book was a snooze… Nothing happened! And Mary Jane was supposed to be 14 years old, but her sheltered naivete read more like a 10-11 year old.

I just didn’t connect with the characters, the story, or the writing.

2/27/21

154614964_5398735326811122_3812660913554327954_o

It’s @libraryofdallas here at The Bookworm today and I am officially obsessed with the cover of Pretty Things by Janelle Brown. I will be 100% honest that I judged a book by it’s cover and bought it. Thankfully, I’m here to report that the inside of the book is just as great! Stop by The Bookworm today from 10-7 to find some new to you books and maybe I can help you judge a book by it’s pretty cover? 😅😅😅

2/23/21

153803051_5365101760174479_6879833110833156037_o

A big thank you to @_mira_books_ for sending me an advance copy of J.T. Ellison’s @thrillerchick upcoming release, Her Dark Lies! I started it yesterday and I am loving it so far ☠️💒☠️ Her Dark Lies comes out March 9, so add it to your virtual TBR piles now!

REVIEW – Her Dark Lies by J.T. Ellison  indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 stars rounded up

I really enjoyed this book! Very atmospheric… a bit implausible at times (but isn’t that why we read sometimes, to escape?)

I thought it had great characters and a good story. There was a lot of different POV’s which I usually don’t mind, but instead of titled chapters, it would have been helpful to have which character’s POV it was instead. I had to be sure to finish a chapter before putting the book down or else I had to flip back to figure out who was talking.

Looking forward to reading more of her books in the future!

2/18/21

151884574_5344468558904466_5991131106903095428_o

Eli here today, just started the third book in the Thrawn trilogy, Thrawn Treason. Thrawn is probably the only character from the Empire that I actually root for.

2/16/21

151009859_5337559412928714_8917206147078909208_o

Excited to start the sequel to One of Us is Lying, One of Us is Next. Karen McManus never disappoints!!

REVIEW – One of Us is Next by Karen M McManus  indexindexindex111111

I just didn’t love this one as much as the first. Maybe I needed to reread One of Us is Lying before starting this one?

2/15/21

150784888_5331832836834705_6944366032413089392_o

So very excited to receive an advance copy of Katherine St.John’s new book, The Siren!! The Lion’s Den was in my top 10 reads of 2020, so I cannot wait to start this one. I’ll be reading The Siren at The Bookworm all week… stop by and we’ll help you find a book you’ve been dying to read too!

REVIEW – The Siren by Katherine St. John  indexindexindexindex111

While I didn’t love The Siren as much as The Lion’s Den, there is no doubt that Katherine St. John knows how to write a juicy summer read!

I loved Felicity’s POV, and Stella’s too, but I could have done without Taylor and her case of instalove… I just never connected with her. It was hard to keep everyone straight (especially when you throw their character names in too) but I really enjoyed escaping to the Caribbean with The Siren! I am already clamoring for Katherine St. John’s next book.

2/13/21

149855098_5323638634320792_2195528480009275195_o

It’s a rainy day in Myrtle Beach, so that’s the perfect excuse to stay in bed a little late and read! It’s Eli here, reading Animal Farm and 1984 by George Orwell.

2/10/21

149306477_5309981592353163_9026147414727609646_o

It’s Eli and Oliver, reading the next book in Clive Cussler’s Oregon Files series, Piranha. Stop by The Bookworm this week and find the next book in your favorite series.

2/8/21

147671410_5301352339882755_5949455416248922470_o

Good Morning! Currently reading (and loving!) The Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica. Stop by The Bookworm and see me this week… We’re open Mon-Wed from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading!

REVIEW – The Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica  indexindexindexindex111

Definitely my favorite Mary Kubica so far! I figured out some twists, and some twists completely took me by surprise.

I do think it needed to be edited some… it got a little repetitive at times and there was a lot of nonsense page filler that was wholly unnecessary to the story. I also felt like there was a lot of loose ends that didn’t receive a good explanation, but overall, I really enjoyed this book!

2/5/21

146616042_5288579147826741_740809194180961146_o

Hello Friday!! I’m still working on the bottom of my TBR pile, so I grabbed Anna Kendrick’s memoir, Scrappy Little Nobody. A Simple Favor and Pitch Perfect are in my movie queue at all times, and she’s always so funny, so I’m excited to get into it! Happy Reading bookworms!

REVIEW – Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick   indexindexindex111111

I really like Anna Kendrick, and she always makes me laugh in interviews and on social media, but this book was just OK for me. Girl, talk about Pitch Perfect instead of your imaginary holiday celebtrations! I did enjoy the little Twilight chapter though.

Nothing earth shattering or surprising. Easy read.

2/2/21

146037937_5276032652414724_3251322251834458833_o

Eli here, reading The Ghosts of Eden Park by Karen Abbott. It’s about George Remus, the Bootleg King, during the roaring 20’s.

1/30/21

144546214_5263648503653139_14186074421547850_o

Next up! The 2nd book in the Deanna Madden trilogy by A.R. Torre, Do Not Disturb. Have a great weekend!

REVIEW – Do Not Disturb by A.R. Torre   indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 rounded up

This series is really twisted, but I enjoy it!! I really love Deanna, and I liked the alternating POV’s.

1/29/21

143879628_5259068454111144_5573769813311756162_o

Happy Friday!! I’m currently reading the final book in Elin Hilderbrand’s Paradise trilogy, Troubles in Paradise

REVIEW – Troubles in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand   indexindexindex111111

This trilogy started off so strong… I absolutely loved the first one. The second one was good, not great, and this one was just OK. I felt bored throughout.

1/24/21

142355561_5235852786432711_5729664486590734442_o

Currently reading Indecent by Corinne Sullivan. Enjoy your Sunday, bookworms!

REVIEW – Indecent by Corinne Sullivan   indexindexindex111111

Despite the less than stellar overall rating, I still wanted to read this book. It was mediocre… Just like the rating led me to believe 😆

1/22/21

141472129_5226576610693662_3717317129543466152_o

The Bookworm is OPEN and back to regular business hours! Dallas is manning the store, healthy and happy to help. Stop by and see him today and tomorrow from 10-7

I’m working on the bottom of my TBR pile… Currently reading Defy Me by Tahereh Mafi, the 5th book in the Shatter Me series.

Thanks for your patience this week while we had to close The Bookworm. I’ll see you all late next week when my quarantine is up. Stay healthy and happy reading!

REVIEW  – Defy Me by Tahereh Mafi  indexindexindex111111

I don’t know if I’m just over these books, or the second trilogy just isn’t as good as the original, but eh.

1/21/21

141474026_5221736541177669_545427911062372174_o

Quarantine: Day 5
We’ve exhausted our nurses
I’m starting Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson and Eli is reading his go-to, Clive Cussler’s Mirage

Don’t forget that Dallas will be reopening The Bookworm tomorrow! Stay healthy, bookies!

1/20/21

140615327_5217993928218597_6800239773392676232_o

The Bookworm is currently closed. We will reopen on Friday.

For my next selection of quarantine reads, The Date by Louise Jensen

REVIEW – The Date by Louise Jensen  indexindexindexindex111

This was my first book by Louise Jensen, and it won’t be my last!

Fast-paced, interesting, good characters. The twists were easy to figure out, but I still really enjoyed it!

Looking forward to reading more by her.

1/19/21

140238454_5212380285446628_3427106092203239513_o

Thanks to everyone for their thoughts and well wishes… Eli and I are thankfully just experiencing mild symptoms. We are spending a lot of time with our books at least! I’m currently reading People Like Her by Ellery Lloyd.

Dallas will reopen The Bookworm to regular business hours beginning on Friday! Stay healthy and happy reading!

REVIEW – People Like Her by Ellery Lloyd   indexindexindexindex111

I really enjoyed this book! Was Emmy awful? Absolutely. But as someone who pre-takes pictures and plans posts for social media at least a week in advance (check out my bookstore @thebookworm.mb!) there was a lot of truth to the story as well.

Social media is great and awful at the same time, and this book did such a good job of showing both side of it.

1/17/21

140374011_5204602152891108_7783542996360147388_o

Spent a little time on St. John yesterday with the 2nd book in Elin Hilderbrand’s Paradise series, What Happens in Paradise. Enjoy your day bookies and stop by and see us at The Bookworm next week!

REVIEW – What Happens in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand  indexindexindexindex111

While I didn’t love this one quite as much as the first one, it was enjoyable. I liked being able to read a little from Rosie’s perspective. Looking forward to the last book!

1/16/21

139683366_5198859113465412_7246775469856575796_o

Started reading Tales from the Hinterland by Melissa Albert yesterday, and it.is.perfect. If you loved The Hazel Wood as much as I did, you absolutely have to pick up this companion of dark fairy tales… Not only are the stories amazing, but the art and the illustrations inside the book by Jim Tierney are stunning!

REVIEW – Tales of the Hinterland by Melissa Albert  indexindexindexindexindex

Absolutely perfect! The stories were great and the art and illustrations were stunning. Great companion novel to The Hazel Wood.

1/15/21

139572779_5194375533913770_8257350217866199771_n

Bookstores, Myrtle Beach, and murder… what’s not to love?! It’s Eli all day at The Bookworm, excited to start the newest book from one of Myrtle Beach’s local authors! Currently reading Death on the Boardwalk by Caleb Wygal. His book comes out February 2nd, so be sure to be on the lookout

1/12/21

139054151_5181836121834378_975937548640419236_o

I absolutely loved Hester Fox’s first novel, The Witch of Willow Hall, so I’m hoping I enjoy her follow up, The Widow of Pale Harbor, just as much!

REVIEW – The Widow of Pale Harbor indexindex111111111

For how much I loved The Witch of Willow Hall, this was a pretty bland and disappointing follow-up. It was sooooo repetitive. Yes, we know Gabriel misses Anna, yes, he didn’t think of the consequences of taking this job, yes he is here for his penance. Enough already.

This book was basically a bad case of insta-love with a little mystery and some Edgar Allan Poe references thrown in. Definitely not the 5 star read this author’s first book was.

I skimmed a lot towards the end because I just wanted it to be over. 2 very bored and unenthusiastic stars

1/11/21

137596303_5175814765769847_2802253632253958872_n

Happy Monday! Stop by The Bookworm this week to check out all the new stock we’ve gotten on the shelf! We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. I’m currently reading The Girls by Emma Cline, a fictional account of the Manson cult. Have a great week and stay safe!

REVIEW – The Girls by Emma Cline   indexindexindexindexindex

Really great book! The writing reminded me of Julie Buntin and Chelsea Bieker (both of whom I love).

This book had been on my radar for awhile, but when I saw the rating I contemplated not picking it up. I’m so glad I did. You could feel the despair and loneliness of Evie, and see how easy it is for someone to get caught up in something so vile and bizarre like the group from the ranch.

I also liked how she slowly told you what happened the night of the murder and just left little sprinkles of details throughout the book… even the little snippets of what Evie’s life is currently were done really well.

Overall, great read. 5 stars!

1/9/21

137504074_5168175723200418_8830191218673079504_o

It’s Eli here today, I just started The Innocent by David Baldacci and I am loving it! I can’t wait to read the rest of Will Robie series.

1/8/21

137078419_5162423687108955_1129733501457695874_o

Wanted to start the year off with the book that has been on my TBR pile the longest! Currently reading Children of Virtue and Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi. Stop by The Bookworm today to grab some great new-to-you books! I’ll be there 10-7

REVIEW – Children of Virtue and Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi   indexindexindexindex111

I was in a vicious cycle of putting off this book because I was afraid I had forgotten too much since the first one… which just led to letting more time pass and then forgetting more. This went on for over a year.

I should not have waited! While I may have enjoyed it more if I had read it closer to the first one, I still didn’t really feel like I forgot anything. She was able to pull me right back in the story, and it didn’t feel like I had read 200+ books inbetween.

That ending though!! When is the next one coming? It’s not soon enough!

1/6/21

136199924_5154953507855973_3190269332958483812_o

To anyone who drove past The Bookworm today and saw me in the middle of the parking lot taking pictures, it was for a good cause! Currently reading If He Had Been With Me by Laura Nowlin. Be safe with your bookstagram, friends

REVIEW – If He Had Been With Me by Laura Nowlin   indexindex111111111

I’m really confused as to how this book has such a high rating. It was mundane and repetitious, the main character was annoying, and the writing wasn’t very good.

And I swear, if I knew she called him “Finny” I never would have picked up this book.

2 very bored and unethusiastic stars

1/5/21

136327711_5149049581779699_6761836328963909287_o

Good Morning! Currently reading Guilty by Laura Elliot 

REVIEW – Guilty by Laura Elliot   indexindexindexindex111

3.75 rounded up

I really liked this book until the stuff with the Plinks came in to the story… just all of a sudden the book went really left with hardly any explanation. I felt like I was missing a chunk of the story.

All around, an enjoyable book. And honestly, can you blame him?

1/3/21

135516499_5141512969200027_2006912069695884511_o

It’s Eli here, I thought I would try something different than Clive Cussler for a change, haha. Reading The North Water by Ian McGuire. It’s about a turn of the century whaling expedition that goes awry.

1/2/21

135472256_5137317219619602_7848163396831584030_o

The Bookworm is back to our regular business hours! Stop by and see Dallas today from 10-7. I’m spending my morning with White Ivy by Susie Yang and snuggling inside my new reading sweatshirt (my arms get cold!) Enjoy your day bookies, and push that diet until Monday

REVIEW – White Ivy by Susie Yang   indexindexindex111111

I was so excited for this book, but it was a snooooooze. The blurb made it seem suspenseful, but that was not the case.

1/1/21

135022029_5134879919863332_1198444476526302321_n

What a fantastic book to start my year off with! A giant thank you to Scholastic for sending me an advance copy of Muted by Tami Charles. Mark your calendars for February 2 and pick.up.this.book. 5 huge stars!  indexindexindexindexindex

12/30/20

134203453_5124311564253501_6416308743164648798_o

One last book for the year… Reading the upcoming release from Casey McQuiston, One Last Stop (thanks Heather!) The Bookworm will be open today and tomorrow from 10-5, closed on Friday, and then back to normal hours as of Saturday. Have a great day and stay safe out there!!

REVIEW – One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

This was a cute and unique story… I was really excited to read it after how much hype her first book got, but I honestly didn’t love it. I just never really connected with Jane and August.

What I liked:
All the side characters were amazing (the best part of the book, in my opinion) and how different and inclusive the cast was. This is not your typical rom-com book, which I loved.

What I didn’t like:
It was too long and it dragged at points. It took me way longer to read this book than it normally would… it also felt a little preachy at times.

Overall, I enjoyed it and will definitely read Red, White, and Royal Blue soon!

12/28/20

133709434_5116700061681318_5230967785077893314_o

The Bookworm will be open today-Thursday from 10-5! I’m enjoying some of my presents from under the tree… The Chicken Sisters by KJ Dell’Antonio, the always amazing Britney Spears, and an entire bag filled with nothing but the marshmallows from Lucky Charms. This is 40, I guess?! 😆 Have a great day bookworms!

REVIEW – The Chicken Sisters by KJ Dell’Antonia   indexindexindexindex111

What an adorable book to end my reading year on!

I really enjoyed it! Sometimes I was Team Amanda, sometimes I was Team Mae (and I was always team Andy.)

The end of the story dragged a little, but it ended just the way it should have.

12/26/20

133595915_5109023912448933_4859436421864771028_o

Good morning!! What books were under your tree yesterday? I got The Chicken Sisters by @kjda and White Ivy by @susieyyang. Currently finishing up the newest book from Karen McManus, The Cousins. Don’t forget that The Bookworm is closed until Monday… Happy Reading!

REVIEW – The Cousins by Karen M McManus   indexindexindexindex111

Definitely not the suspense/mystery I have come to expect from this author, but I still enjoyed it!

12/23/20

132585569_5096436257041032_2408478085746276258_n

Today is the last day to stop by The Bookworm before Christmas! We will be closing at 5 and not opening again until Monday. This is Eli, finishing out my reading year with the last book in the Dexter series by Jeff Lindsay, Dexter is Dead. Happy Christmas Eve Eve!

12/22/20

132533700_5092383857446272_3934336718580270745_o

A super big thank you to William Morrow for sending me an advance copy of Joshilyn Jackson’s upcoming thriller, Mother May I! I absolutely loved her last book, Never Have I Ever, so I’m really excited to get into this one. Happy Reading bookworms!

REVIEW – Mother May I by Joshilyn Jackson    indexindexindexindex111

I read this book in a little over a day because I couldn’t wait to see what happened next.

It did feel a little repetitive at times, but I enjoyed it! Not quite as much as her thriller from last year, Never Have I Ever, but there is no doubt that Joshilyn Jackson is talented and switched over from her original genre of books really well.

Can’t wait to see what she comes up with next!

12/20/20

132045314_5084284491589542_8475858275926725078_o

It’s cold, wet, and dreary in Myrtle Beach, so I’m going to spend the morning in bed with Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick. Enjoy your Sunday bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW – Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick   indexindexindex111111

Let me preface this by saying that I’m 40 and I still read YA, so I’ll probably be harsher than most of the other reviews…

This book was just OK for me. The story with the Witness Protection was totally implausible, the instalove was eye-roll worthy, and her reasoning for everything at the end just annoyed me. That being said, it was still an easy read with a decent story. And I did love Chet.

3 stars

12/19/20

132001712_5079614005389924_945092996862712942_n

I have always been fascinated by the Wild West, so I was happy to have Wild Bill by Tom Clavin come through the door. I wish I would have read it before Cortney and I went to Deadwood a few years ago (which you should definitely check out if you’re ever in South Dakota). Here’s a few pictures I took while we were there

12/17/20

131930370_5072826962735295_8219919725456641136_o

Such a big fan of Shari Lapena… excited to start An Unwanted Guest! Happy Reading bookworms!

REVIEW – An Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena   indexindexindexindex111

First half of the book was decent, but once I hit that middle point I could not put it down!! Shari Lapena never disappoints

12/16/20

131923715_5066856459999012_6002210897565589895_o

What did you all think of The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes?! I’m excited to be starting it!

REVIEW – The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins  indexindexindexindexindex

I was hesitant to read this because I was afraid I would be disappointed. But I was not! Her writing is still great, and I think she did such a wonderful job bringing us all back to Panem.

There were parts of the story that dragged, but overall, I though it was great.

Snow lands on top!

12/14/20

131290392_5058757487475576_4890961221088629706_o

Mixing it up a little and reading a travelogue… Lost on Planet China by J. Maarten Troost

REVIEW – Lost on Planet China by J. Maarten Troost  indexindexindex111111

I loved Sex Lives of Cannibals… this one was just OK. I enjoyed the stories, but it felt like practically the same in every town or city he visited, and the history parts were hard to slog through.

12/13/20

131435935_5052775671407091_2886110313539622964_o

Tucking into a nice cuppa and Paula Daly’s Clear My Name. Enjoy your Sunday, we’ll see you next week! Stop by to grab some great new-to-you books, the perfect holiday gift for the bookworm on your list, or a gift certificate. The Bookworm is open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading!

REVIEW – Clear My Name by Paula Daly   indexindexindex111111

12/12/20

131213112_5048184288532896_2567371097440336309_o

Joining the rest of my book friends and reading In a Holidaze by Christina Lauren. Happy Holidays bookworms!

REVIEW – In a Holidaze by Christina Lauren   indexindexindex111111

Definitely my least favorite books of theirs…

I feel like there was a lot of loose ends. What about Theo? They alluded to some feeling on his part, but just never addressed it. What about the time loop? That just kind of went away. All the side characters were hard to keep track of, there was just so many. Why was there an Elise and a Lisa? I’m already confused enough because there are like 12 characters to keep track of.

Great idea, mediocre execution.

12/11/20

131437514_5043855805632411_4507214972303259663_n

Hey, it’s Eli. Still reading and loving Clive Cussler… on to The Silent Sea. Don’t forget that The Bookworm offers gift certificates and a ton of bookish gifts. Stop by and see us M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading!

12/9/20

131067939_5036918309659494_8004919484541644861_o

Penelope helped pick my next read!

REVIEW – The Arrangement by Robyn Harding   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

I enjoyed it! Robyn Harding always comes up with these cool stories. It was a quick read, but definitely repetitive at times. Looking forward to picking up the next one

12/9/20

130698882_5033122040039121_400326545088490421_o

It’s been a quiet (and cold!) few days, so I’ve gotten to catch up on some reading… Excited to start the 27th installment in the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich, Fortune and Glory (Tantalizing Twenty-Seven)

REVIEW – Fortune and Glory by Janet Evanovich    indexindexindexindex111

I need to start off by saying I am super annoyed that they changed the title format… there is absolutely no reason this book should be called Fortune and Glory. It is the 27th book in the Stephanie Plum series, period. “Don’t stray from the formula!”

Aside from the above, I really enjoyed this book. Laughed out loud a lot, enjoyed Potts as a new character. I continue to be Team Ranger.

“Here it is. You think you know someone and then next thing they tell you is that they want a Chihuahua named Chardonnay.”

Looking forward to the next one!

12/8/20

130904201_5031158546902137_1339846128349143091_o

Reading Heart Bones by Colleen Hoover today… Have a great day bookworms!

REVIEW – Heart Bones by Colleen Hoover   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

Decent story. I just was never really invested in the characters or their future. I feel like this book could have been written by any author… it was missing the Colleen Hoover sparkle I have come to love until the last 30 pages. Then it shined.

12/6/20

130279303_5023973450953980_3397407481499639257_n

Eli here… A friend suggested I read A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby, and so far I am not disappointed. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday bookworms

12/5/20