Now Reading, Reviews, and Recommendations

11/13/19

74229506_3416530418364966_781765922833563648_o.jpg

Starting # 14 in the Sebastian St.Cyr series by C.S. Harris, Who Slays the Wicked… Special thanks to Miss Betty who brought it in for me!

 

 

11/11/19

71937144_3409614075723267_2112122129985044480_n

So excited to start Shea Ernshaw’s latest book, Winterwood. I absolutely loved The Wicked Deep, so I can’t wait to get into this one! Need that cute bookworm pin? We sell them at The Bookworm and in our Etsy shop! www.etsy.com/shop/thebookwormMB

 

11/11/19

REVIEW – Five Dark Fates by Kendare Blake    indexindexindex111111

This whole series was a solid 3 for me… the last book picked up, so I was hopeful for the final book, but it was good, not great.

 

REVIEW – Ink and Bone by Lisa Unger    indexindex111111111

I just could not get into this book… I feel like nothing happened the first 200 pages. It finally picked up towards the end. Definitely my least favorite book of hers.

 

11/10/19

75446552_3406090199408988_1557047054935523328_o

Good morning bookworms! I’m finally reading Ink and Bone by Lisa Unger… It’s been on my TBR pile forever!

 

11/8/19

76786242_3398840456800629_4490011613566337024_n

Happy Friday and Happy Yallfest for everyone in Charleston today!! I’m reading the final book in the Three Dark Crowns series by Kendare Blake, Five Dark Fates 👑 👑 👑

 

11/6/19

REVIEW – Fishnet by Kirstin Innes   indexindex111111111

From the synopsis, I thought this book sounded really interesting, but I was disappointed. It was not the mystery I was expecting. The chapters jumped back and forth on different timelines with no indication of what time in Fiona’s life they were actually talking about… you just had to figure it out, which took away from the story. It was unnecessarily confusing. That coupled with the dialogue that tried to mirror the person’s pronunciation instead of the actual correct spelling of the word, and the overuse of “eh” and “wee” equaled me not enjoying this book.

 

11/5/19

76702452_3389104887774186_8169220628138688512_n

 

A big thank you to Scout Press and Simon & Schuster for sending me a copy of Fishnet by Kirstin Innes! Starting it now 👄
11/4/19
REVIEW – A Good Neighborhood by Therese Ann Fowler   indexindexindex111111

A Good Neighborhood was an easy read and a decent book, but I didn’t love it. I feel like it was such a slow build, and then all of a sudden everything happened and the ending was rushed… it also seemed kind of farfetched and forced to make people buzz about the big twist. Solid 3 stars

 

11/4/19

REVIEW – The Grace Year by Kim Liggett   indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 stars rounded up because I loved this book up until the end…

The Handmaid’s Tale meets a female Lord of the Flies? That is so up my alley.

I really, really liked this book, but the ending was just so blah and wimpy after the fight Tierney had through the whole story. I could have done without the romance, honestly. I am here to fight the patriarchy!

Still a really great book. Can’t wait to see what else Kim Liggett writes

 

11/2/19

70160276_3380374318647243_798967485897375744_n

So excited to start The Grace Year by Kim Liggett! Don’t forget, today is the last day to enter our Halloween giveaway… Check out The Bookworm’s FB page for all the details. Happy Reading!

 

11/1/19

74234768_3376692135682128_6254889627694399488_n

🍁Welcome to turkey and mashed potatoes month!🍁 I’m starting A Good Neighborhood by Therese Anne Fowler this morning. A big thanks to St.Martin’s Press for sending me an advance copy! 🍁Don’t forget to enter our giveaway on The Bookworm’s FB page🍁 Happy Reading!

 

10/31/19

REVIEW – Puddin’ by Julie Murphy  indexindexindexindex111

Very cute and sweet follow-up to Dumplin’

 

10/30/19

REVIEW – Follow Me to Ground by Sue Rainsford   indexindexindexindexindex

Follow Me to Ground has to be one of the strangest books I have ever read… but I loved it. The author’s writing was beautiful, and the story was so different. Once I started it, I read it every second I had a chance until it was done.

I would have liked more explanation about everything (literally everything) but I think that is part of the magic and the draw of this book.

And that cover!

 

10/30/19

74163076_3370328722985136_7774265782174744576_n

Thank you to Scribner Books and Simon & Schuster for sending me an advance copy of Follow Me To Ground by Sue Rainsford! One last creepy read before Halloween ☠️

 

10/29/19

REVIEW – Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo   indexindexindexindex111

4.5 stars

I had a really hard time with this book at the beginning… I felt like I had gotten dropped into the middle of a story. Even after reading the first 20 pages twice, I still had no idea what was going on.

Then things started to make sense, and then I couldn’t put it down. I ended up really loving this book and the characters. Can’t wait for the sequel!!

 

10/29/19

76176838_3367365996614742_4829726295271145472_n

Definitely in need of something light after finishing Ninth House, so I’m finally grabbing Puddin’ by Julie Murphy off my TBR pile ♥️♥️♥️

 

10/27/19

74905533_3360949627256379_5563354074327285760_o

About to have my first foray into Leigh Bardugo’s world… Starting Ninth House! 🐍☠️🖤☠️🖤☠️🐍

 

10/25/19

REVIEW – My (not so) Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella   indexindexindex111111

I have read and loved Sophie Kinsella’s stand alone books for years. This wasn’t my favorite, but still a cute and light read.

 

10/25/19

74617619_3354910674526941_3289332048312926208_n

I’ve always loved Sophie Kinsella’s stand alone books, but haven’t read one for years. So I grabbed My (not so) Perfect Life when it came in as a trade. Happy Reading!

 

10/23/19

REVIEW – Believe Me by JP Delaney   indexindexindexindex111

It was a slow day at the bookstore, so I crushed this book today. It was really quick read, and I loved it… until the end. The end was bad, bad, bad.

Still a strong 4 star rating, and I will totally read anything else by this author.

 

10/23/19

73010204_3350227098328632_818760911400468480_o

I was a big fan of JP Delaney’s book The Girl Before, so I’m excited to get into the follow-up, Believe Me.

 

10/23/19

REVIEW – Saint X by Alexis Schaitken   indexindexindex111111

Saint X was a good story… but I could tell with the first page the author’s writing style was just not for me. This book was not the suspense/mystery I was expecting, and it was longer than it needed to be. I did enjoy the brief pages from the perspective of the other characters. Gave a little more insight. I would have loved more about the folklore of the goat woman on Faraway Cay.

 

10/22/19

73158199_3345533152131360_4245834832933814272_n

Thanks to Celadon Books for sending me an advance copy of Saint X!! This book has been on my radar for months. I mixed myself a little rum punch (in Eli’s Ron Swanson glass) and started it last night. Happy Reading!

 

10/21/19

72750052_3342407819110560_6402772438391717888_o

Finished Good Me Bad Me over the weekend /5 stars. Millie turns her mother in for murdering 9 children… Does this make her a good person? Or is she as bad as her mom?

 

10/21/19

REVIEW – Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keane   indexindexindexindexindex

This was a really, really good book. It all just felt so genuine and real to me. Every one of the characters were flawed, but you couldn’t help rooting for them. Great story!

 

10/20/19

REVIEW – Jane Anonymous by Laurie Faria Stolarz   indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 stars rounded up to 5 because I devoured this book in one day. Once I picked it up, I didn’t put it back down until I finished it.

Great book!!

 

10/20/19

72944274_3339509752733700_2343648909080920064_n

So excited to receive an advance copy of Laurie Faria Stolarz’s upcoming release, Jane Anonymous, from @wednesdaybooks and @stmartinspress! I’ll be diving into this today 💜

 

10/19/19

REVIEW – The Bone Houses by Emily Lloyd-Jones   indexindexindexindex111

I got The Bone Houses through Owlcrate, and I was not disappointed! I liked the story, the folklore, and the characters.

 

10/19/19

73037206_3336222329729109_7617199996391129088_n

Fall has finally arrived in Myrtle Beach – I’ve got my electric blanket on! I’m starting Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keane. I’ve heard such wonderful things about this book!

 

10/18/19

REVIEW – Park Avenue Summer by Renee Rosen   indexindexindexindex111

Park Avenue Summer has been on my radar for months… So glad I finally had the chance to read it. I really liked it! I loved the actual events and people mixed with the fictional. It was an easy and enjoyable read.

 

10/18/19

72482295_3333457693338906_6084094274574483456_o

Hey bookworms – it’s Eli here at the store today. I’m starting New York Dead by Stuart Woods… the first book in the Stone Barrington series.

 

10/17/19

72776350_3329971027020906_2247236492537626624_n

I have been wanting to read Park Avenue Summer by Renee Rosen for months… so excited it came into The Bookworm as a trade! Stop by today from 10-7 and I’ll help you find a book you’ve been dying to read too.

 

10/16/19

REVIEW – The Chain by Adrian McGinty   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars

The first half of the book was a 3, the second half was a 4.

Very cool and different idea for a suspense novel. I think I just didn’t really connect or like any of the characters. Still a good book and worth the read!

 

10/16/19

73399847_3326892340662108_6208383442640437248_n

💀Zombies, magic, a longstanding curse, and a family of gravediggers… Sounds like just the 👻 spooky book 👻 to get me in the Halloween spirit! 🎃 Starting The Bone Houses by Emily Lloyd-Jones, this months Owlcrate book 💀

 

10/14/19

REVIEW – My Dark Vanessa by Kate Elizabeth Russell   indexindexindexindexindex

There were times I tossed this book away from me in disgust, so angry, but I kept picking it back up again and again.

Kate Elizabeth Russell is an outstanding writer, who so perfectly nailed what really happens in these type of situations.

It was haunting and heartbreaking, and one of the best books I read all year.

 

10/11/19

72889218_3314487261902616_7000099945705373696_n

“All he did was fall in love with me and the world turned him into a monster.”

A huge THANK YOU to @williammorrowbooks for sending me an advance copy of My Dark Vanessa by Kate Elizabeth Russell. This has been at the top of my must read list for 2020. I started it last night, and it’s fantastic!

 

10/10/19

71814414_3308359745848701_1406191680192774144_n

 

10/9/19

REVIEW – Big Lies in a Small Town by Diane Chamberlain   indexindexindexindexindex

Big Lies in a Small Town was excellent!

Diane Chamberlain did a great job with the alternating timelines. The story, the characters, everything about it was just fantastic. Loved it

 

10/9/19

72087133_3305655572785785_3074949640496349184_o

Eli here. As much as I enjoy my days at The Bookworm, I really love my full time job working with craft beer. Barrel-Aged Stout and Selling Out by Josh Noel takes a look at how Anheuser-Busch is working to gain a foothold in a craft beer world. Starting it today!

 

10/8/19

REVIEW – Been There, Marrie That by Gigi Levangie   indexindex111111111

Oooof, this was a rough one. The writing was all over the place. I love a good quip/snarky comment/joke, but it was so constant I got confused about what was actually going on in the scene.

The star of the book was Fin, the MC’s sister.

1.5 stars rounded up because I didn’t hate it, it was just bad (like, really bad).

If you want to read a great book by her, check out Rescue Me or The Starter Wife, don’t bother with this one.

 

10/6/19

72146415_3297598643591478_1049526746845544448_n

Even vampires love a good book! Thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending me an advance copy of Gigi Levangie’s upcoming book, Been There, Married That!

 

10/6/19

REVIEW – Wild Blue Wonder by Carrie Sorosiak   indexindexindexindexindex

This book is exactly why I love YA so much… 5 stars!

 

10/5/19

71717732_3293856557299020_2617611773242507264_n

Looks like it’s going to be a gray and rainy weekend in Myrtle Beach… oh well, more time for reading, right?! I’m starting Wild Blue Wonder by Carlie Sorosiak 💙

 

10/4/19

72717707_3290834877601188_3673617426714460160_n

 

A big thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending me an advance copy of Diane Chamberlain’s newest book, Big Lies in a Small Town! I started it last night, and it’s fantastic

 

10/2/19

71583384_3285336288151047_612063488566624256_o

Eli here – thanks for all your help picking the next book off my TBR pile. One for the Money was the clear winner!

 

10/2/19

REVIEW – The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater   indexindexindexindexindex

Loved this book! It’s been sitting on my TBR pile for ages, so glad I finally picked it up

 

10/1/19

71814589_3281859098498766_1172311495241891840_n

Confession Time: For as popular and loved as Dorothea Benton Frank’s books are in SC, I’ve never actually read one… So, I’m going to make her last one my first one 💙

 

9/30/19

71784482_3280124892005520_8228255786845863936_n

Everyone said to read The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater, so next up! Happy Reading!

 

9/29/19

REVIEW – The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton   indexindexindex111111

2.5 stars rounded up

This book was just really dry to me. Juliette/Elizabeth/Lily just wasn’t believable as a crazy to me? I don’t know if it was the writing (if I had a dollar for every “whilst”) or that she was so unemotional while being ridiculously delusional, but I just did not connect with this book or the MC (and I love a crazy, vengeful girl).

The flashbacks were confusing, and just thrown in. It helped explain her, but they just didn’t flow with the rest of the book.

Given that this was a debut, and I did love the idea behind the story, I will definitely give another of her books a try.

 

9/29/19

REVIEW – Two Dark Reigns by Kendare Blake   indexindexindexindex111

I really enjoyed this one! I was annoyed with the last one, but the ending sucked me in, so I’ve had Two Dark Reigns on my TBR pile forever, but I think this was my favorite one! I felt like it was easier to read and keep track of everyone? Anyway, excited to real the final book!

 

9/26/19

70770800_3267321356619207_3710138010373718016_n

I’ve been reading a lot of YA fantasy lately, so I want to switch it up with a little suspense… The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton is exactly what I’m looking for. A crazy ex-gf who will do ANYTHING to get him back? Yes please!

 

9/25/19

REVIEW – Finale by Stephanie Garber   indexindexindexindexindex

I absolutely adored this trilogy, and this last book was perfect.

 

9/24/19

70650016_3261501340534542_1025009140784693248_o

Good morning bookworms! I’m starting the 3rd book in the Three Dark Crowns series by Kendare Blake, Two Dark Reigns. Stop by and see me at The Bookworm today from 10-7. Happy Reading!

 

9/23/19

REVIEW – The Au Pair by Emma Rous   indexindexindex111111

I was really excited to read this book since it came out, but it was just OK for me. By page 200 I still felt like nothing had happened. It was kind of a snooze for me. The last 100 pages were decidedly better, but not enough to raise my rating. 3 stars

 

9/22/19

70896936_3255815501103126_8234517544220753920_o

I’ve been holding off picking up the last book in the Caraval series because I didn’t want it to end… I can’t wait anymore!! Starting Finale by Stephanie Garber 🎪

 

9/21/19

REVIEW – The Siren by Keira Cass   indexindexindex111111

The Siren was just OK for me. It was pretty juvenile (I say this knowing full well it’s YA). Definitely not nearly as good as The Selection series, but still cute.

 

9/20/19

71019491_3249822548369088_1925326602053353472_n

Excited to start The Au Pair by Emma Rous! I’ve been waiting for this book since it was released… Happy Friday bookworms!

 

9/19/19

70297394_3247916855226324_2033662470580600832_n

I just finished The Testaments by Margaret Atwood and it was fantastic! Luckily, I work in a bookstore and have a few choices on what to read next 🤗 I’m going with The Siren by Kiera Cass, one of Myrtle Beach’s own authors! I loved her Selection series, so I’m excited to read this one! PS – this adorable tote is available at The Bookworm and in our Etsy shop at www.etsy.com/shop/thebookwormMB

 

9/19/19

REVIEW – The Testaments by Margaret Atwood   indexindexindexindexindex

What a fantastic book!! I was cautiously hopeful about this sequel, and Margaret Atwood blew me away… I should have never doubted it!

I do wish I had reread The Handmaid’s Tale before I started The Testaments… I was unsure if what I was remembering was from the book or the TV show. Regardless, The Testaments was done amazingly well.

 

9/17/19

REVIEW – White Girl Problems by Babe Walker   indexindexindexindex111

Funny and ridiculous. The first 100 pages had me laughing out loud in public, but then it started to go downhill for me… Definitely still recommend and I will read the next one, for sure.

 

9/16/19

70788705_3238475429503800_8839212797347758080_n

Celebrated Eli’s birthday poolside yesterday with peach sangria and White Girl Problems by Babe Walker. It is super funny! I needed a break from my usual type of books, and this was perfect.

 

9/14/19

70271673_3232780633406613_1033272859725660160_n.jpg

I’ve been anxiously waiting for the sequel to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, The Testaments, since they first announced it last year. So excited to start it!

 

9/14/19

REVIEW – House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig   indexindexindexindexindex

Rating: All the stars

I loved, loved, loved this book! Definitely one of my favorites of the year.

 

9/13/19

REVIEW – The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda    indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down because I liked it more than I loved it

Good story, quick read. This was my favorite books of hers.

 

9/13/19

69958429_3230471010304242_1537964145872207872_o

It’s Eli at The Bookworm today… My last book was about a fictional chef, now I reading about an actual chef. Ferran Adriá runs what has been voted the world’s best restaurant, El Bulli. Stop by The Bookworm today and check out all the other great Biographies and Memoirs we have!

 

9/12/19

70830483_3228636873820989_8713428409432145920_o

I started House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig earlier this week and I looovvveee it! Looking forward to my day off tomorrow so I can finish it.

 

9/11/19

70753205_3224389960912347_7518623225568296960_n.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Good Morning! I’m starting Megan Miranda’s latest book, The Last House Guest. Happy Reading!

 

9/10/19

REVIEW – Vox by Christina Dalcher   indexindexindexindex111

I really liked this book! I was afraid it was going to be too close to The Handmaid’s Tale, but it really wasn’t. I wasn’t expecting the science/medical side of the story, but I ended up really enjoying it. I really, REALLY, wanted to know more about what happened at the end at the White House, but overall I thought it was a great book.

 

9/9/19

70721970_3218878984796778_7138235641657032704_n

Vox by Christina Dalcher is about the government deciding women should only be allowed to speak 100 words per day… Since I’ve been fighting laryngitis for the past month, this seemed like the perfect book to read next!

 

9/8/19

REVIEW – The Night Sister by Jennifer McMahon   indexindex111111111

I read The Winter People a few months ago and loved it. Unfortunately, I feel the opposite about The Night Sister. It was very underwhelming… I kept waiting (and waiting) for something to happen. It didn’t. And the twist at the end was just blah. None of the characters were great, the switching between the 3 timelines wasn’t great, the whole story overall wasn’t great. Definitely disappointed.

I 100 percent think Jennifer McMahon is a great writer, I just hope the rest of her books are more Winter People and less Night Sister.

 

9/7/19

70431579_3213385812012762_6725596942161674240_n

Hey Bookworms, Eli here. Haven’t been able to sell much beer this week because of the weather, but I’ve gotten a lot of reading in! Started my first James Patterson book, The Chef 🔪

 

9/5/19

69458239_3207652322586111_3951329234684739584_o

The wind and the rain has really picked up, so we’ll be hiding out in the house all day today with our books and our dogs! I’m starting The Night Sister by Jennifer McMahon… Stay safe!

 

9/5/19

REVIEW – Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks   indexindex111111111

I guess I’m in the minority, but I am unimpressed with this book. Lackluster suspense with “twists” you could see coming a mile away. It dragged on and on when I just wanted it to be over.

 

9/4/19

69838691_3205685609449449_4100555425252900864_o

The Bookworm is now closed until after Dorian has passed (hopefully Friday!) Eli brought home The Bootlegger by Clive Cussler to read over the next few days. Stay safe everyone!

 

9/4/19

REVIEW – Anything by Ordinary by Lara Avery   indexindexindex111111

Definitely not the best written book I’ve ever read, but I enjoyed it. Contrary to a lot of the other opinions, I really liked the ending.

 

9/3/19

69340848_3201845949833415_7987991583981043712_n

Hey Myrtle Beach – The Bookworm is open regular business hours all week! I’ll be reading Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks today… Stop by from 10-7 and grab some great new-to-you books!

 

9/2/19

REVIEW – My Sister, The Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite   indexindexindexindex111

This was not the book I was expecting to read… it was more about the family dynamic, with the fact that her sister is a serial killer and she helps cover it up being more of a minor story line.

I still really enjoyed it! I wanted more though. More backstory, more details, I’m dying to know what happens next.

 

9/2/19

70259528_3199821836702493_8269559112941961216_n

I’ve been dying to get my hands on this book for months! Currently reading My Sister, The Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite

 

9/2/19

REVIEW – Roomies by Christina Lauren   indexindexindexindex111

Great characters in a very cute (albeit predictable) and funny story! This is my 3rd book by Christina Lauren, and I’ve really enjoyed them all.

 

9/1/19

69481945_3197686710249339_3064219502225915904_n

 

Spent some time at the beach today with Anything but Ordinary by Lara Avery.
REVIEW – Lock Every Door by Riley Sager   indexindexindexindexindex
I loved this book… Definitely my favorite by this author. I read it in 24 hours because I
just needed to know the secrets behind The Bartholomew. It was a well-written suspense
that kept you guessing til the end. 5 stars!

9/1/19

70207257_3196073917077285_8800376685150076928_n

It’s finally September and clearly time to get out the Halloween decorations, right?! I just finished Lock Every Door by Riley Sager and it was fantastic! I read it in 24 hours because I was dying to know what really happened inside The Bartholomew.

 

8/30/19

REVIEW – The Darkest Corner by Kara Thomas   indexindexindexindex111

This was my 3rd book by Kara Thomas, and it did not disappoint! I thought it was really great. Good story, good characters, good mystery. Looking forward to reading what she writes next!

 

8/29/19

69538869_3188313637853313_4280258832602497024_n

I started The Darkest Corner by Kara Thomas this morning… I really enjoyed Little Monsters and The Cheerleaders by her as well, and this one is great so far too!

 

8/28/19

REVIEW – The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia    indexindexindexindexindex

I adored this book! I loved the characters, the story, the Romeo and Juliet of it all. So, so good.

I’m a big fan of Beautiful Creatures series (not the spin-off though) so it’s great to see Kami Garcia go in a different direction and still totally nail it.

 

8/28/19

69505149_3184633444887999_3345822468961992704_n

Good Morning! I’m starting my 3rd book by Christina Lauren (loved them!) called Roomies. Have a great day and Happy Reading!

 

8/28/19

REVIEW – The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton   indexindexindex111111

I loved the premise of this book. So cool and different… but it just didn’t deliver. It was so confusing. I had a hard time keeping track of who was who and what character Aiden was on each chapter. Maybe if I had been able to read this all in one sitting, it would have been easier, but who really has that opportunity?

The last 150 pages were pretty good, but that was only enough to bring my rating up to 3 stars.

 

 

8/27/19

69227963_3182916318393045_6563586270335860736_n

Hey Bookworms, Eli here. Just started reading The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler. Anyone else a fan of the Philip Marlowe books?

 

8/25/19

69634087_3176279149056762_4152869269379481600_n

It’s a nice cool morning in Myrtle Beach, so I am reading with the windows open… Starting The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia. I am such a fan of her Beautiful Creature series, so I’m excited to read something a little different from her!

 

8/24/19

69752115_3173146139370063_2305252786217943040_n

Excited to finally read The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton! Happy Reading! ☠️🖤☠️

 

8/24/19

REVIEW – Stay Sweet by Siobhan Vivian   indexindexindex111111

Cute, easy, YA fluff. Maybe it’s just been too long since I’ve been in high school, but Amelia was weirdly obsessed with her best friend Cate, right? Now I want to go make my own ice cream…

 

8/24/19

REVIEW – Rich People Problems by Kevin Kwan   indexindexindexindexindex

Wonderful ending to a great series! I loved getting to know all these characters over the 3 books. Definitely a lot less annotations in this one, which I whole-hardheartedly appreciated. I’m really sad it’s over.

 

8/22/19

REVIEW – The Babysitter’s Coven by Kate Williams    indexindexindexindex111

The Babysitters Coven was cute, funny, and snarky. I loved the first half (5 stars) and liked the second half (3 stars). I feel like The Sitters and how they came to be, all their history, how each was chosen, etc. wasn’t explained well enough. I want to know more!

I will happily average both together and give it 4 stars. Can’t wait to read the next installment!

 

8/22/19

68781724_3167375633280447_5846734904120836096_n

What’s your favorite ice cream topping? Mine is Nerds… weird, I know, but I 💜 it! I got this cup of delicious from Flavors Ice Cream and Gelato (located just a few doors down from The Bookworm) and started Stay Sweet by Siobhan Vivian yesterday afternoon. Stop by St. James Plaza today and beat the heat with a good book and a frozen treat. 📕🍦📕

 

8/20/19

69406170_3161617990522878_6594056872867659776_n.

Good morning bookworms! I’m starting the final book in the Crazy Rich Asian trilogy by Kevin Kwan, Rich People Problems. Have a great day and Happy Reading!

 

8/19/19

68428370_3158911977460146_1366129943242604544_n

And so starts another week… Good luck to everyone starting school and congrats to all the parents for making it through the summer! I’m starting The Babysitters Coven by Kate Williams ☠️🖤🔮 A big thank you to Random House for sending me an advance copy! ☠️🖤🔮

 

8/19/19

REVIEW – The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager   indexindexindexindex111

Great book! Quick read that I had a hard time putting down. And that ending!

 

8/18/19

68270480_3155956821088995_8421049709052821504_n

Next up! The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager. Happy Reading!

 

8/18/19

REVIEW – Legendary by Stephanie Garber   indexindexindexindex111

Really great second installment of the Caraval trilogy! While I didn’t love it as much as I loved the first one, it was still a great book. I definitely wanted more Scarlett though! Can’t wait to read Finale!

 

8/17/19

REVIEW – Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov   indexindex111111111

How do you review a book like this?

Was it well-written, thoughtful, and even amusing at times? Yes. Was it awful, horrifying, and disgusting? Also yes.

I read Rust and Stardust by T. Greenwood last year, and it was so fantastic that I wanted to read the actual Lolita. The story doesn’t surprise any of us, but it was still hard to read, and at the end of the day, I just didn’t enjoy it. 2 stars for me

 

8/16/19

67933064_3150126111672066_4266807510427500544_n

It’s Eli here at The Bookworm today. I’m starting A World of Thieves by James Carlos Blake, a story about a Louisiana teenager who wants to follow his uncle’s criminal path in the 1920’s. Have a great weekend 🥃🔪💰

 

8/13/19

68250819_3141874439163900_8869613945963413504_n

I keep saying I need to read more Classics, but I am easily distracted by the new and shiny books. Going to give Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov a read.

 

8/12/19

68933505_3139243166093694_1046393027037233152_o

Caraval was fantastic! I can’t believe I waited this long to read it! Starting the sequel, Legendary 🎪💃🏻🎪

 

8/12/19

REVIEW – 29 Seconds by T.M. Logan   indexindexindexindex111

Great book! I read it in 24 hours because I couldn’t wait to see how the story played out.

I really liked Lies, and 29 seconds was an awesome follow up. Can’t wait to see what else this author does!

 

8/11/19

68449482_3137032379648106_4049816850576441344_o

“Give me one name. One person. And I will make them disappear.”

A huge thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending me (and Penelope) an advance copy of 29 Seconds by T.M. Logan!! I read his book Lies last year and loved it… Can’t wait to get into this one!

 

8/11/19

REVIEW – Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes   indexindexindexindexindex

What an adorable book. Great characters, cute story, and the scandal about the racing cereal boxes had me laughing out loud.

Fantastic book for a debut author!

 

8/11/19

REVIEW – Caraval by Stephanie Garber   indexindexindexindexindex

I absolutely loved this book! I’m mad at myself for waiting so long to read it.

I loved the world of Caraval, the characters, everything. And the way that Stephanie Garber writes is just so magical.

I’m super excited that I have the sequel already so I can start it immediately.

 

8/10/19

68412281_3133458470005497_5247969450346414080_n

🌻Good Morning🌻 I’m starting Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes… Someone called The Bookworm last week looking for this book and we didn’t have it yet. If it was you, let me know and I’ll save it for ya!🌻

 

8/9/19

REVIEW – Then She Was Gone – Lisa Jewell   indexindexindexindex111

I really enjoy the way Lisa Jewell writes. Then She Was Gone was a dark and twisted story. No real surprises, you could tell where the story was going, but I flew through it in a day because I just wanted to know all the details. Looking forward to reading more of her books!

 

8/9/19

68393608_3130839303600747_5061546566662225920_o

Happy National Book Lover’s Day!! 💜 I’ll be celebrating by starting Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell. What are you reading today?

 

8/7/19

REVIEW – Lethal White by Robert Galbraith   indexindexindexindex111

Great 4th book of the Cormoran Strike series!

I started reading this series when it first debuted, and have eagerly awaited each new installment.

There was A LOT of side stories going on… it was hard to see how they all connected. And there were some aspects of the story that dragged (does anyone really care if someone is pronouncing it Chizzle or Chiswell?) but overall, well worth the almost 800 page read.

Fantastic characters in another great mystery. Can’t wait for the next one!

 

8/5/19

67932736_3119849231366421_2708162809262243840_n

Excited to start to this journey! 🎪Caraval by Stephanie Garber🎪

 

8/1/19

67893333_3109090759108935_7878026157617053696_o

I’ve been (im)patiently waiting for Lethal White for months! It’s the 4th installment of the Cormoran Strike series by JK Rowling under her pen name Robert Galbraith. Excited to finally get my hands on it!

 

8/1/19

REVIEW – My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing   indexindexindexindex111

I really enjoyed My Lovely Wife… It was a quick read about a really messed up couple. The ending wrapped up pretty quickly, I could definitely have used more of an explanation. I like to know characters background, their trauma, their meticulous planning, their motivations. It was all briefly explained, but I wanted more.

Great book for a debut author! Can’t wait to see what she writes next.

 

7/31/19

67674120_3106305716054106_7049020868747329536_n

We’ve had a lot of recently released books come into The Bookworm for trade over the past few days… and I definitely grabbed an armful to take home with me (no willpower!) 😳 Starting with My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing. Stop by today from 10-7 to check out the rest of our new stock!

 

7/30/19

REVIEW – Friend of the Family by Tasmina Perry  indexindexindex111111

About 2/3 of the way through the book Amy is insisting that Josie is “trying to steal her life” but there has been nothing to really indicate that. Did I miss something? It felt like a chunk of story was missing. I adore a good scheming woman story line, but this wasn’t it. I kept waiting for something to happen… and waiting, and waiting.

Something finally happened the last 100 pages or so, but it felt very forced and very rushed. At the end of the day, I really didn’t care what happened to these people or what their motivations were.

Still a decent read (and I do love that cover!) 3 stars

 

7/29/19

67799279_3101820676502610_1484262898460000256_n

Eli and I made it to the beach for the first time time all summer yesterday… Well, a restaurant on the beach that serves cocktails, at least 🍹 Starting Friend of the Family by Tasmina Perry!

 

7/29/19

REVIEW – Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich   indexindex111111111

I really wish I would have looked at the rating and reviews before I read this book. I could have saved myself a lot of annoyance and time.

The characters were all obnoxious, the dialogue was inane, and the book just wasn’t good.

2 stars instead of 1 because I didn’t hate it. The second half of the book was marginally better than the first, but I have no desire to continue with this series.

 

 

7/28/19

67337883_3098121246872553_2965938719074287616_n

I’m in the mood for some cute and easy fluff this morning, so I grabbed Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich off my TBR pile. Enjoy your Sunday and Happy Reading!

 

7/28/19

REVIEW – Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields   indexindexindexindex111

I really liked Poison’s Kiss! We went to India a few years ago, and I’ve been low-key obsessed with the culture since then. And the fact that this was based on Indian mythology made it right up my alley.

I liked the setting, the characters, their stories. Excited to read the sequel and to see what happens next with Malinda, Mani, and Devon.

 

7/27/19

67627031_3096580080360003_3047554749944561664_n

I’ve been having a string of really great books lately, so I’ve been flying through them! I started Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields last night, and it’s really good too!

 

7/26/19

REVIEW – Ripple By Heather Smith Meloche   indexindexindexindexindex

I’ve had Ripple sitting on my shelf for years… I cannot believe I waited so long to read. It was so good! I was off yesterday, so I literally spent my whole day reading it.

 

7/26/19

67522852_3092533174098027_3624635128589844480_n

Good morning! The last 2 books I read were 5 🌟 so let’s hope I keep that going! Starting Ripple by Heather Smith Meloche

 

7/25/19

REVIEW – The Hunger by Alma Katsu   indexindexindexindexindex

Oh my gosh, I LOVED this book! It was so well-written, it was creepy and haunting, and I loved the paranormal spin on a story we were taught in school. The characters, their feelings, the cold, the hunger, the landscape was all described so well… I cannot wait to read everything else Alma Katsu has written. 5 very big stars!

 

7/24/19

REVIEW – Killing November by Adriana Mather   indexindexindexindexindex

Loved this book! The characters were awesome, the setting was great, and the whole story line was just so cool. Cannot wait for the sequel!

 

7/23/19

67247035_3085203688164309_6682572824533532672_n

I started The Hunger last night by Alma Katsu and it is really great (and creepy) so far! I’m totally going to devour (haha) this book ☠️ ☠️☠️

 

7/22/19

67131819_3081313408553337_351503426334490624_o

We had a lovely lazy Sunday yesterday… Eli started Night Film by Marisha Pessl (one of my favorites!) and I started Killing November by Adriana Mather. Have a great week and Happy Reading!

 

7/21/19

REVIEW – Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart   indexindexindex111111

I’m not really sure how to review this book…

I liked it, but I feel like it wasn’t done very well. The timeline definitely muddied up the book, and I could have used at least another 50 pages describing everything and everyone better.

I can totally understand how this is not a book for everyone. I still think it’s a solid 3 stars.

 

7/21/19

67133550_3078871268797551_6003455623641956352_n

Good Morning! I’m starting Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart

 

7/20/19

REVIEW – Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down because I had a hard time getting through the book.

It was difficult and frustrating trying to keep track of which character’s POV it was… it alternated between Tatsumi and Yumeko, but no chapter had a heading to indicate which character it was, both were in first person, and I was trying to read this book while I was at the bookstore and having to keep picking it up and putting it down made for a difficult read. I can’t tell you how many times I had to backtrack to remind myself what was going on. That coupled with all the Japanese words/names made it hard to get through.

At the end of the day, I did like the book and the characters and really enjoyed the world that Julie Kagawa painted. I will (probably) read the rest of the trilogy.

 

7/19/19

REVIEW – The Whisper Man by Alex North   indexindexindexindex111

Great book, especially for a debut author!

I flew through this in a day because I just needed to know what happened. The coincidences were a little too much at times, but overall I thought it was really good!

Looking forward to seeing what else this author does in the future and FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT IS HOLY, LOCK YOUR DOORS PEOPLE!

 

7/18/19

66778279_3069996249685053_6741098153442803712_n

 

Thank you to Celadon Books for sending me (and my rude husband who took it out of the mail and started reading it before I got home from work) an advance copy of The Whisper Man by Alex North. Now that he finished it, I can finally start!

 

7/17/19

REVIEW – The Girl on Legare Street by Karen White   indexindexindexindex111

I’m really enjoying this series! Looking forward to the next one

 

7/15/19

66729615_3061862217165123_3944162523405615104_n

🌞Good Morning🌞 I enjoyed the last Karen White book so much, I had to grab the 2nd in the series off the shelf before it sold 🤗 Stop by The Bookworm all week from 10-7 (11-6 on Sunday) to get some great new-to-you books!!

 

7/15/19

REVIEW – Before We Were Strangers by Brenda Novak   indexindexindex111111

This was my first Brenda Novak book, and probably my last.

The story was good, the writing not so much. I lost track of how many times I rolled my eyes… I actually put it down about 30 pages in because I thought the writing was going to annoy me too much.

I ended up picking it back up and read it in a day. Quick, easy read, good story, but pretty bad writing.

 

7/14/19

66482144_3059264367424908_3917793996893585408_n

 

7/13/19

REVIEW – Wilder Girls by Rory Power   indexindexindexindexindex

Wilder Girls was super weird, kind of gross, and I totally loved it. Great story, great characters, and really great writing. And that cover! 😍😍😍

Can we pretty please have a sequel?

 

7/12/19

66486083_3053822474635764_947821779542343680_n

 

7/10/19

REVIEW – Luck, Love, and Lemon Pie by Amy Reichert   indexindexindex111111

 

7/9/19

REVIEW – In Her Skin by Kim Savage   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down to 3 because I think the book had so much unused potential.

I think the story idea was great, the characters were great, but the book as a whole was just OK for me.

 

7/9/19

66647098_3045706488780696_7403268405521809408_n

Which book has been on your TBR pile the longest? I’ve had Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa sitting there since October… Finally starting it now!

 

7/7/19

66406276_3040409889310356_2877214590343577600_n

Starting In Her Skin by Kim Savage, my 2nd book by her (I loved After the Woods). Have a great day bookworms!

 

7/6/19

REVIEW – Becoming by Michelle Obama   indexindexindexindex111

I liked Michelle Obama before I read this, and I still like her after I’m done.

I think it’s really well-written and very genuine. It took me awhile to get through, it’s not a book I could have flown through in a day or two, but I really enjoyed it.

 

7/5/19

66251896_3035265386491473_8437311902639456256_n

I hope everyone had a great 4th of July!! I’m starting Luck, Love, & Lemon Pie by Amy E. Reichert 🍋🍋🍋

 

7/4/19

REVIEW – The House on Tradd Street by Karen White   indexindexindexindex111

Great book with great characters… looking forward to reading the rest of the series!

 

 

7/1/19

66009988_3024603090891036_8882640092145909760_o

Thanks to everyone who came out to The Bookworm to help us celebrate our 1 Year Anniversary!! We still don’t have a winner for our Instagram contest, so make sure you give it a guess! 💜

I’m finally starting my first Karen White book, The House on Tradd Street. Happy Reading!

 

7/1/19

REVIEW – The Spite Game by Anna Snoekstra   indexindex111111111

Yeah, this book was not great.

The blurb sounded fantastic, and I decided to read it despite it’s OK rating. I shouldn’t have.

The constantly changing timelines were super confusing. If you’re going to jump back and forth and forward and back again, you need to at least give the reader SOME idea of what year you’re in. It was so disjointed and confusing. That on top of a very lackluster revenge scheme made me wish I hadn’t bothered with it.

 

6/30/19

65856905_3022678094416869_4829166884370776064_o

Hey bookworms, it’s Eli. I’m reading book 6 in the Dan Shambles, Zombie P.I. series, Tastes Like Chicken 🐔🐔🐔

 

6/28/19

65759117_3016910231660322_8045731122853707776_o

Michelle O is lovely, but I need a little something else to read today… I’ll take a serving of revenge with The Spite Game by Anna Snoekstra 🖤 “Everyone does bad things when no one is watching.

 

6/26/19

65219926_3011650662186279_5382530127190032384_n

Finally!!! So excited to start Becoming by Michelle Obama.

 

6/25/19

REVIEW – Someone Knows by Lisa Scottoline   indexindexindex111111

Someone Knows was good, but not great.

There was a lot of unnecessary words and descriptions in the book… it probably would have been a good 50 pages shorter if the editor had cut all the needless babble out.

I did have a hard time keeping track of who the parents were… I had to give myself a little cheat sheet to keep them all straight.

At the heart of it, it was a good story. Solid 3 stars

 

6/24/19

65319542_3006300806054598_8168640786078892032_o

Hey bookworms, Eli here. I’m a huge fan of the show Psych, so when I saw this book, I couldn’t resist spending some time with Shawn and Gus.

 

6/23/19

65307841_3004021562949189_7142496090300874752_n

A banana daiquiri and Lisa Scottoline’s newest book… Sounds like a good Sunday to me! Happy Reading!

 

6/23/19

REVIEW – Wicked Saints by Emily Duncan   indexindex111111111

Ooof, this was a rough one. I was so excited to read this book, but I am really disappointed.

My biggest issue was the ridiculous made up names. I couldn’t pronounce them, I couldn’t keep anyone straight, and there were entirely too many z’s thrown about. That coupled with the made up territories and the made up language added up to a completely confusing and an almost totally unenjoyable book. The fact that there was a reference guide created to go along with a YOUNG ADULT book to help readers keep everyone and everything straight says it all.

I do think there was a good story in there, and I really did love Serafin, but I will definitely not be continuing with the series 😢

 

6/21/19

64804662_2997484243602921_8638507347813072896_n

Yea! I have been dying to read Wicked Saints by Emily Duncan… starting it now! 🖤🗡️🖤

 

6/21/19

REVIEW – Gimme Some Sugar by Molly Harper   indexindexindexindex111

Super cute and funny… absolutely love all these characters!

 

6/20/19

64826621_2994748913876454_464312576314966016_n

I started Gimme Some Sugar by Molly Harper yesterday (the 3rd book in The Southern Eclectic Series) and it has me dreaming about sweet treats… Thankfully the new ice cream shop, Flavors, just opened up a few doors down from The Bookworm! Stop by from 10-7 to beat the heat with some awesome books and then some delicious ice cream 🍦 📖🍦

 

6/19/19

REVIEW – Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent   indexindexindexindex111

Very dark and twisty

Liz Nugent has a way of writing these demented characters, and Lydia takes the cake (man, she is terrible). I really liked the 3 different POV’s and that ending!

 

6/18/19

REVIEW – Ghosted by Rosie Walsh   indexindexindexindexindex

I read this book in a day… I just had to know what happened with Eddie!

I got to say, I was with Sarah for the first half of the book. We’ve all been there, right? But then she lost me. Continuing to message him and then to show up at the soccer game was just too much. A grown-ass woman should not behave that way. That’s when I started to get annoyed with her. And to be so obsessed that she lets everything else in her life get messed. That’s the behavior of a 16 year girl with her first love… not an adult.

BUT my annoyance was short-lived because the story took a turn I was not expecting! Great twist, great ending. I felt all different kinds of ways reading this book. I did wish there was more of a wrap-up at the end though.

4.5 stars rounded up! Great read!

 

6/18/19

64672591_2989263107758368_4987115290228686848_o

I’m starting Ghosted this morning by Rosie Walsh… Have a great day and Happy Reading!

 

6/17/19

REVIEW – Once and For All by Sarah Dessen   indexindexindexindexindex

This was my first Sarah Dessen book and I loved it!!

The characters were great, the backstory was well-told and heartbreaking, and I adored the idea of a jaded wedding planner and the wedding drama.

Can’t wait to read more of her books!

 

6/16/19

64312651_2984173134934032_1186325088765476864_n.jpg

Happy Father’s Day!! Eli and I are relaxing by the pool this morning with Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent and The Spy by Clive Cussler 🌞🌞🌞

 

6/16/19

REVIEW – The Woman in the Lake by Nicola Cornick  indexindexindex111111

This book was just OK for me… I liked the idea of a dress affecting two women over 250 years, but the execution of it all was a little lacking. I really enjoyed the “past” half of the book, but the present day story was a little too far-fetched. I either needed more about Fen’s story and background, or it should have been a much smaller part in the book.

Still a good book, just go into it with medium expectations.

 

6/14/19

64383456_2978883665462979_3675103296420315136_n.jpg

Good morning bookworms! I’m starting Once and For All by Sarah Dessen. Have a great day and Happy Reading!

 

6/14/19

REVIEW – Home for Erring and Outcast Girls by Julie Kibler   indexindexindex111111

I enjoyed this book… it definitely wasn’t one that I could fly through in a day. I read it off and on for about a week and a half.

It was probably about 100 pages longer than it needed to be, and it got confusing with all the different points of view and timelines. There was Mattie POV in 1904 and forward, and then Lizzie’s POV in 1904 and forward, then there was Cate as a teenager, and present day Cate and Laurel. It was just a lot.

I could have absolutely done without Cate’s entire story line. I feel like it made the book way longer than it needed to be and muddied up the story. I would have been a happy with just a book about the Berachah Home.

3.5 stars rounded down because I liked it more than I loved it.

 

6/11/19

62320637_2970252502992762_4765183021395476480_n

A beautiful gold gown that affects the lives of two shattered women 250 years apart? Sounds good to me! Starting The Woman in the Lake by Nicola Cornick

 

6/10/19

REVIEW – The Perfect Alibi by Phillip Margolin   indexindexindex111111

This was my first Phillip Margolin book, and I can’t say I was very impressed… It was just OK. For such an experienced and popular author the writing was very generic. I don’t know if this is typical of all his books, or he’s just at the point where his books sell, so he doesn’t put in much of an effort. I guess I was just expecting more.

Decent story though. 3 stars

 

6/9/19

62119048_2964835866867759_3888089543512948736_n

Even though my TBR pile is out of control, I keep grabbing books that come in for trade before I put them on the shelf. I have no willpower! Me and Penelope are starting The Perfect Alibi by Phillip Margolin. Happy Reading!

 

6/9/19

REVIEW – The Crowns of Croswald by D.E. Night   indexindexindexindex111

Very cute book! I loved the world of Croswald and Ivy. I wish I had more info about everything though. The school, the Selector, The Dark Queen, the magic… all of it. I like background and explanations!

Looking forward to reading the next one!

 

6/7/19

62144089_2959626750722004_7235671798015066112_n

Eli is here at the Bookworm today. Stop in 10-7 and find a great read like Michael Crichton’s The Great Train Robbery which I’m currently reading.

 

6/6/19

62200637_2956277014390311_6056560321571586048_n.jpg

Super excited to get the first two books in The Crowns of Croswald series by D.E. Night! Can’t wait to get lost in the magical world of Croswald with Ivy… Thank you @author.denight!

 

6/4/19

61638074_2951395608211785_9071932842912514048_n.jpg

A big thank you to Penguin Random House for sending me an advance copy of Home for Erring and Outcast Girls by Julie Kibler… I cannot wait to get into this book! I’m also super excited that The Bookworm will soon be carrying these amazing and delicious bookish candles from Novelly Yours 💜

 

6/4/19

REVIEW – Under My Skin by Lisa Unger   indexindexindex111111

I typically love Lisa Unger’s books, but this one was just OK for me. I just feel like it had so much wasted potential.

The premise of the story was great, but it just wasn’t executed very well. There was a lot of repetition, and I feel like things were thrown in there to make the reader second guess what was going on, but there was no follow up or reason for it. {See my Goodread’s review for spoilers!!}

I just wanted/expected more. Still a decent book though.

 

6/3/19

61737469_2948329628518383_5469818800541007872_n.jpg

After a vote on FB and Insta, I decided to go with Under My Skin by Lisa Unger… I’m a huge fan of her books, and this one is great so far! Have a good week!

 

6/2/19

REVIEW – No Exit by Taylor Adams   indexindexindexindexindex

Awesome book! I read it in less than a day… it was fast-paced, surprising, suspenseful. Great characters too.

 

6/1/19

61653056_2943766622308017_2598386705056661504_o

I’ve heard so many great things about No Exit by Taylor Adams, and a fast-paced, suspenseful thriller is exactly what I’m in the mood for… I’ll be spending the rest of my day with it (or at least until The Bookworm closes at 7 😎) Happy Reading!

 

6/1/19

REVIEW – My Year of Rest and Relaxation by Otessa Moshfegh   indexindexindexindexindex

I had read Eileen years ago and was not a fan, so I was hesitant to pick up My Year of Rest and Relaxation… I am so glad that I did.

It was weird, it was messed up, and the main character was not particularly likeable, but man, I loved this book.

 

5/31/19

61415241_2941333692551310_1366587971439951872_n.jpg

Starting My Year of Rest and Relaxation after my (kind of) day of rest and relaxation. Happy Friday bookworms!!

 

5/31/19

REVIEW – The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down because Lennie drove me crazy.

I think if I hadn’t first read I’ll Give You the Sun and fallen so completely in love with it, I might have liked The Sky is Everywhere better. I was expecting the same level of amazingness… Jandy Nelson’s writing came so far in between books, I wasn’t expecting quite the discrepancy.

Still a cute book!

 

5/30/19

61343130_2938240189527327_4290652215372152832_n.jpg

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson was my #1 favorite book from 2018, so I’m going to give one of her earlier books a read… Starting The Sky is Everywhere!

 

5/30/19

REVIEW – The Vanishing Season by Dot Hutchison  indexindexindex111111

I love this series. I devoured the first 3 books, but The Vanishing Season left a lot to be desired.

While I love the entire FBI team, the magnitude of the inane banter and chit chat was annoying. There was just so much. That’s not what I’m here for. I want more of the mystery/crime. I feel like this installment was missing the magic, the on the edge of my seat suspense that the other 3 books had. And all of a sudden, all the evidence was just there and it was solved… is it really that easy? Maybe stop with the unnecessary repetition of how they’re all “family” and actually delve a little more into the missing girls. And the fact that everyone made SUCH A BIG DEAL that Eliza has blonde hair and blue eyes like the missing girls was eye-roll worthy. Who cares? A ton of women are blonde with blue eyes.

Still a decent book… I’m sad that it’s the last one though. Not a great note to end on.

 

5/29/19

61489203_2935210909830255_1105646696500559872_n

I discovered The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison last year and had the next two books in The Collector series ordered before I even got halfway through. The 4th book, The Vanishing Season, finally came out last week… I started it yesterday and can’t put it down!

 

5/28/19

REVIEW – Pieces of Her by Karin Slaughter   indexindexindexindex111

Karin Slaughter has been one of my favorite authors for years… I really liked Pieces of Her, but it wasn’t my favorite of her books.

Andy got on my nerves from the start. She was not a likeable/sympathetic character. And I was so confused by the first “flashback” that I kept going back thinking I was missing something.

I’m looking forward to how this is going to go as a TV show.

 

5/28/19

REVIEW – The Trial of Lizzie Borden by Cara Robertson

Guys, I had to give up. It was just so dry and factual, that after page 93 I had to DNF it.

 

5/27/19

61192084_2930227603661919_3354071907136700416_n

🇺🇸Happy Memorial Day 🇺🇸
THE BOOKWORM IS OPEN

My clay recreations of our little bookworm mascot keeping breaking, so I am officially on Ophelia IV. I thought all her “pieces” would be perfect with Karin Slaughter’s newest book Pieces of Her. I started it yesterday, and it’s amazing, as always. Have a great day everyone and Happy Reading!

 

5/25/19

61395860_2925115317506481_5501082795201527808_o

“Lizzie Borden took an axe…”
I’ve always been fascinated by the story of Lizzie Borden, so I had to snag this book before it made it on the shelf (sorry Teresa!)

 

5/24/19

61044199_2923865940964752_7501789603762798592_o

I’ve been reading Give Me Your Hand off and on for the past week because I was having a hard time getting into it… but when I hit that halfway point 😳😳😳 I read the rest of the book this afternoon because it got so good! /5

 

5/24/19

REVIEW – Snow and Rose by Emily Winfield Martin  indexindexindexindex111

What a cute book! Snow White and Rose Red was my favorite fairy tale growing up, and I was so excited to have a longer version to read… Great illustrations too!

 

5/22/19

60743256_2918714644813215_6139968376006508544_n

Snow White and Rose Red was my favorite fairy tale when I was growing up, and after my last couple of books, I definitely need something a *little* lighter. Snow & Rose by Emily Winfield Martin was the perfect choice! 🌹🌹🌹

 

5/22/19

60965418_2917991734885506_6377826284789039104_n

Eli here today, thought this book sounded interesting when it came in. Virginia becomes the first state to hire professional jurors to keep corruption out of the justice system… but will it work?

 

5/22/19

REVIEW – The Sinner by Petra Hammesfahr   indexindex111111111

This is one of the very few instances where I think the TV version was way better than the book.

I’m not sure if it’s because I DID know the story going in, or the fact that it was translated, or at the end of the day, the book just wasn’t that great.

 

5/20/19

60542559_2912648328753180_9153415124206223360_n.jpg

I started The Sinner last night… I actually watched the show a few years ago and loved it, so we’ll see how close they got! Happy Reading!

 

5/19/19

REVIEW – The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up because I loved the food aspect!

Cute, albeit predictable, story with great characters. Definitely a love letter to Milwaukee… Would definitely read other books by this author in the future.

 

5/19/19

60471244_2910800492271297_8792658452825505792_n.jpg

 

Eli here… I’m reading the 4th book in the Dirk Pitt series by Clive Cussler. Fun fact: this book and the following film led to the actual search for the Titanic. Have a great Sunday!

5/17/19

REVIEW – Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams   indexindex111111111

Eh.

 

5/17/19

60617539_2905510466133633_7416520643077734400_n.jpg

Pool day!! Starting Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams 🌞🌞🌞

 

5/17/19

REVIEW – The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald   indexindexindexindexindex

Fantastic book! Kept me guessing until the end… I thought everyone was guilty at one point or another. Definitely recommend!

 

5/16/19

60575637_2902848523066494_5171180352831488000_n.jpg

Sometimes you can just tell a book is going to be great after reading the first page… I started The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald this morning and I’m already totally hooked! Have a great day bookworms! ☠️🖤☠️

 

5/15/19

60322031_2900227346661945_2288667581025878016_n.jpg

It’s not often I can get Oliver to pose in a picture, but when I do, he’s a total star 🌟 Starting The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert!

 

5/15/19

REVIEW – The Winters by Lisa Gabriele  indexindexindex111111

I have been looking forward to reading The Winters for months… Unfortunately, it was just OK for me. There was nothing really outstanding about it. It was good, I just felt like it could have been great. Easy and quick read with a decent story and semi-annoying characters.

 

5/14/19

REVIEW – An American Marriage by Tayari Jones  indexindexindexindex111

What a great book… it’s so easy for a couple to vow “til death do us part”, but when they’re faced with real difficulties, it all falls away so quickly.

This book was perfect example of that. If Roy had never gone away, they probably would have lived the rest of their lives together. I really enjoyed the 3 different points of view, and the story as a whole. Tayari Jones is such a talented writer. She has a way of making you really understand what’s going on and how the characters are feeling.

 

5/13/19

60345902_2895927933758553_5853279403487789056_n

Starting The Winters by Lisa Gabriele!

 

5/13/19

REVIEW – Little Darlings by Melanie Golding   indexindexindex111111

Little Darlings was one my my most anticipated reads for 2019… but I gotta say, I was disappointed (to put it in perspective, I own a used bookstore with 25,000+ books, and I still pre-ordered this book and paid almost full retail for it). The book was good, but I was hoping for so much more. I love a fairy tale retelling, and The Changeling has always held a certain fascination for me, but Little Darlings was just OK for me. The story took awhile to get going, and I just feel like it was missing something… I wanted more folklore, more magic, more creepiness, more character backstory and development. I just wanted MORE of everything.

 

5/12/19

60333768_2893678270650186_3553371472141484032_n.jpg

My mom is in Pittsburgh with her grandbaby, so no mom time for me today! I’ll be spending the afternoon with An American Marriage by Tayari Jones…

 

5/9/19

59794492_2885293901488623_7313141059435888640_n

I’ve been dying to get my hands on Little Darlings by Melanie Golding for months… I’ll finally be starting it today! Stop by The Bookworm from 10-7 to find a book you’ve been dying to read too ☠️🖤

 

5/9/19

REVIEW – A Nearly Normal Family my M.t. Evardsson   indexindexindexindex111

The author did a great job of telling the same story, but from 3 very different point of views… where whoever the narrator was, they didn’t consider themselves the problem but blamed the other two in the family.

I’m guessing it’s because this book was translated, but the writing/story just didn’t flow easily. It was still a good book with a good story that definitely kept me interested, it just felt a little “choppy.” And while none of the characters were particularly likeable, I really enjoyed the family dynamic and their circle of blame. Great ending too!

 

5/9/19

REVIEW – This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

What a wonderful and heartbreaking book… It is such a horrible shame that we live in a country (not world, country) where school shootings are a reoccurring tragedy. I think the author did an amazing job of telling this story and painting the characters along with their reactions. I loved the 4 different points of views. It was fantastically done. I wasn’t happy with how it turned out, but that’s the point, isn’t it?

 

5/8/19

60216217_2882996731718340_4489268687303344128_o

Good morning my fellow bookworms! I’m about to start This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp… Hope you’re all reading something great!

 

5/7/19

59918154_2880463155305031_8241021172678918144_o

A big thank you to Celadon Books for sending me an advance copy of A Nearly Normal Family! A teenager accused of murdering a shady businessman almost twice her age? Yes please!

 

5/7/19

REVIEW – The Everlasting Rose by Dhonielle Clayton   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up to 4 because I love the world of Orleans and The Belles.

The Everlasting Rose was a bit disappointing as a follow up to The Belles, which I loved. I can’t quite pinpoint it, but it was missing some of the magic of the first book. Still enjoyed it, and I will definitely continue reading the series (if there are more).

 

5/6/19

REVIEW – Sweetbitter by Stephanie Danler   indexindexindex111111

As someone who has worked in restaurants off and on since I was 15, this story really took me back… and most definitely did NOT make me miss the restaurant industry.

Honestly, none of the characters were particularly likeable, yet I wanted to find out what happened to them. This is one of the few instances where I think the show is going to be better than the book (don’t kill me).

Unless you’ve worked in a restaurant before, I don’t think this is the book for you.

 

5/5/19

59640107_2876057132412300_7175503377827102720_o.jpg

As someone who has worked in restaurants off and on since I was 15 (oh, the stories I could tell you), Sweetbitter has been on my want to read list for years… Finally starting it!

 

5/4/19

REVIEW – The Whisper Network by Chandler Baker   indexindexindexindex111

I love reading books about women banding together and looking out for one another… whether men want to believe it or not, the way we are treated, expected to act and look, the struggles we go through in life and in our careers because of our gender color every aspect of our lives. It isn’t about “innocent until proven guilty” it’s about believing women. This novel is so timely and relevant and TRUE.

Climbing off my soapbox now, I want to say I really enjoyed this book! I loved the characters while appropriately hating the characters I was supposed to hate. When I first read the blurb, it reminded me of a current day 9-5 (which I adore). It was, just a lot darker (and a dead body thrown in the mix).

I did feel like the author alluded to a lot of “secrets” throughout the book that weren’t explained until the end. There was just so many, I had a hard time keeping track of who was keeping whatever I didn’t know from who else. It definitely got confusing, and I didn’t really feel that “aha!” moment when the secrets were revealed because I couldn’t keep track of them all.

Anyway, great book, great writing, definitely recommend!

 

5/2/19

58883071_2869561433061870_3497094403992846336_n

Yard work: check
Errands: check
Haircut: check
Relaxing by the pool with a good book: you better believe that’s a check

 

5/2/19

IMG_20190502_120806_908

Whisper Network topped my must read list for 2019… I’m so excited I got an advance copy!! Best part, I got one for you too! While I dig in, check out our giveaway on The Bookworm’s Facebook page for details http://www.facebook.com/thebookworm.mb

 

5/2/19

REVIEW – The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel   indexindexindexindex111

What a totally messed up, yet fantastic, book. The author did such a great job painting all the characters, the story, everything. I loved the chapters from each of the “Roanoke Girls”. It gave such a great insight into the whole dysfunctional and sick family. It was all just done so well… Great read!

 

4/30/19