Now Reading, Reviews, and Recommendations

1/15/20

REVIEW – One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid   indexindexindexindexindex

Loved this book! She is such a talented writer. This is the 3rd book of hers that I have read, and they’ve all been 5 star reads for me. Can’t wait to get into the next one!

 

1/15/20

83101566_3631753473509325_1560769279752667136_o

Good Morning Bookworms! I started One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid yesterday, and I am loving it so far. She is such a fantastic writer, and she is coming to Myrtle Beach next month for a talk and book signing. I can’t wait!

 

1/14/20

82833418_3628600540491285_7864262939211988992_o

So excited to receive an advance copy of The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix from Quirk Books! A vampire infiltrating a book club in Charleston? Yes please! (I swear I tried to find an actual peach, but they’re out of season 🍑🤣🍑) Happy Reading!

 

1/13/20

REVIEW – Little Weirds by Jenny Slate   index111111111111

Seriously, what did I just read??

This book was terrible. I went into it knowing it was just essays, but I still thought it was be really good because Jenny Slate is talented and hilarious. You could never have guessed that by reading this rambling nonsense.

Everything was a metaphor, she used a ton of imagery and this descriptive/flowery writing that bordered on poetry.

Her essay “I Died: Listening” was the only shining star in this whole book.

 

1/13/20

REVIEW – The Queen of Nothing by Holly Black    indexindexindexindex111

Really enjoyed this trilogy! Looking forward to reading Holly Black’s other books…

 

1/12/20

82290690_3622085577809448_828792645038899200_o

I love everything Jenny Slate does (especially as Jean Ralphio’s sister, Mona Lisa, on Parks Rec 🤣🤩🤣) so I’m excited to read her new book of essays, Little Weirds. It’s going to be a rainy Sunday Myrtle Beach, so make sure you get some reading in!

 

1/11/20

REVIEW – The New Husband by DJ Palmer   indexindex111111111

I’m struggling to understand how this book has such high ratings. I was really tempted to DNF it a bunch of times.

I loved Saving Meghan, loved. This book does not read like it was written by the same author. The writing wasn’t good, the story was choppy and didn’t flow, the dialogue was forced, and I hated all of the characters. The chapters written from Maggie’s perspective were the worst. Even the fact that Nina moved in with Simon because she couldn’t afford her current house was ridiculous. Once she realized her husband was gone and so was all their money, she should have immediately found a job instead of living off what was left for a year and a half! What capable person with two kids to take care of does that?

The book did get marginally better about halfway through… not enough to change my rating from 2 stars though.

 

1/11/20

83197176_3618860864798586_6823224026995884032_o

Good Morning! Starting the final book in the Folk of the Air series by Holly Black, The Queen of Nothing. I’m really starting to think that waiting for a series to be complete before reading is the way to go! It’s been so nice being able to pick up the next book right away. Happy Reading! 📚🧚👑🧚‍♂️📚

 

1/9/20

82208695_3613668778651128_5140209515458723840_o

Thank you St. Martin’s Press for sending me an advance copy of DJ Palmer’s newest release, The New Husband. Saving Meghan was one of my favorite reads from last year, so I’m super excited to start this one!

 

1/9/20

REVIEW – The Cruel Prince by Holly Black   indexindexindexindex111

Well, that ending was enough to knock the breath out of you… can’t wait to read the conclusion!

 

1/8/20

82226457_3609640139053992_8883169403915468800_o

I finished The Cruel Prince this morning and immediately picked The Wicked King (obviously). Can’t wait to get into the second book! Have a great day and Happy Reading!

 

1/8/20

REVIEW – The Cruel Prince by Holly Black   indexindexindexindex111

Great story, great characters, and a fantastic magical world. I was in a little bit of reading slump, and The Cruel Prince yanked me right out of it. I am immediately going to pick up The Cruel Prince. Can’t wait to see where the story goes!

 

1/5/20

REVIEW – Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey   indexindexindexindex111

Waiting for Tom Hanks was just as adorable as you think it’s going to be.

It was cute and surprisingly funny… I loved all the characters except for Annie. She got on my nerves at times, but I still liked her.

Really looking forward to the sequel!

 

1/4/20

81887182_3597295186955154_2236851867206287360_o

Here we go! Yea! 🧚👑🧚‍♂️

 

1/3/20

REVIEW – Marlena by Julie Buntin  indexindexindexindex111

We know from the very beginning that Marlena dies… that doesn’t make it any easier when it happens. This story was sad and heartbreaking, with an inevitable ending. It is the kind of book that stays with you long after you read it.

 

1/3/20

REVIEW – Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J Maas  indexindexindex111111

I typically don’t read novellas… I feel like they’re a waste of time and nothing ever really happens. Seeing that this was 250 pages, I thought that it wouldn’t be the case. Nope. That’s exactly what it was… just more repetition than a typical novella.

 

1/2/20

81187398_3589915454359794_5214396335238676480_o

We were traveling over New Year’s and I had forgotten my book at home and really wasn’t in the mood for the book I brought. Thankfully, I had a backup! Started A Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J. Maas. Hope you all have an easy day and Happy Reading!

 

12/30/19

81999269_3580066208678052_3856916176957341696_n

2019 is coming to a close! Have you reached your reading goal for the year? I’m going to try and squeeze one last book in… Starting Marlena by Julie Buntin. It recently came in as a trade and the synopsis totally grabbed me, so I grabbed it and took it home 😁 Have a great day and Happy Reading!

 

12/28/19

80378577_3573664812651525_2597409561342115840_o

Good morning bookworms! I started Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey yesterday, and it’s as adorable as its cover. Hope you all have a great book to curl up with! If not, The Bookworm is open from 10-7 today 💗 Happy Reading 💗

 

12/27/19

REVIEW – You Are Not Alone by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen indexindexindexindexindex

You Are Not Alone was outstanding… one of the best mystery/thrillers I’ve read in awhile. Great characters, great story, great build-up, and great twist. Definitely add it to your TBR piles now!

 

12/26/19

REVIEW – I Know Who You Are by Alice Feeney   indexindex111111111

It’s hard to believe that the same person who wrote “Sometimes I Lie” also wrote this mess. It didn’t hold my interest, the dual timelines didn’t work, the characters were all bad, and that ending was totally ridiculous.

1.5 stars

 

12/25/19

81472118_3565940896757250_6490844844489965568_o

Hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas and got lots of great books to read! While The Christmas Story played for the third time and half my family napped, I picked up You Are Not Alone by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen. A huge thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending me an advance copy. It’s fantastic so far!! I can’t wait to find out what the real story is with the Moore Sisters…

 

12/23/19

80596179_3557830170901656_1310639253541093376_o

🎄🤶🎄The Bookworm will CLOSE at 5 today and reopen Friday, the 27th at 10! 🎄🎅🎄

Still need a book to escape with or a gift for your favorite bookworm? We are open today from 10-5! Stop by and see me… I’ll be reading Alice Feeney’s latest book, I Know Who You Are and dreaming of books under the Christmas tree.🎄🦌 Happy Holidays from all of us at The Bookworm!! 🦌🎄

 

12/22/19

REVIEW – There’s Something About Sweetie by Sandhya Menon   indexindex111111111

This was my least favorite book by Sandhya Menon. The characters were all so one-dimensional, their dialogue was generic, and the story was really repetitive.

 

12/21/19

79915653_3554885147862825_4754393715655573504_n

Next up! There’s Something About Sweetie by Sandhya Menon 💜

 

12/20/19

80354263_3548829321801741_5901957940050395136_n

Eli post… I’m reading my first David Baldacci book, Absolute Power. Don’t forget to stop by The Bookworm to grab some bookish gifts or a gift certificate for the bookworm in your list!

 

12/19/19

80714932_3545830322101641_8492653625695272960_n

 

That Hulu trailer got me! (Reese Witherspoon can do no wrong) Skipping over my TBR pile and reading Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng instead. Do you usually read the book first or watch the adaptation?

 

 

12/18/19

79735288_3543718518979488_6582054921766436864_o

I devoured The Return by Rachel Harrison today. It was creepy, weird, disturbing… and I loved it 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 5 stars! Thank you to Berkley Publishing Group and Penguin Random House for sending me a copy!

 

12/17/19

REVIEW – Two Can Keep a Secret by Karen M McManus   indexindexindexindex111

4.5 stars

I really enjoyed this book! I loved her first one, One of Us is Lying, and I liked this one even more… Definitely kept me guessing!

I’m rounding it down (c’mon Goodreads, give us 1/2’s!) because the ending felt so rushed. Yes, it surprised me, but all of a sudden it was just over and someone was explaining what happened after the fact. I need more… I want to know how, why, when, feelings, motivations, details. I want it all.

Cannot wait to read her next one!

 

12/17/19

80291100_3539028906115116_921463092800389120_o

I started Two Can Keep a Secret by Karen McManus yesterday, and it’s really, really good! Can’t wait to find out what really happened to the Homecoming Girls in Echo Ridge…

 

12/16/19

REVIEW – My Favorite Half-Night Stand by Christina Lauren   indexindexindexindexindex

I’m a big fan of Christina Lauren’s books, and have slowly been making my way through all of them. My Favorite Half-Night Stand was one of my favorites though. I absolutely adored all of the characters. Very cute and fun read.

 

12/14/19

79975887_3527242970627043_3081534598455230464_n

 

Hey bookies – it’s Eli and I’ll be slinging books all day at The Bookworm. I’m starting Noir, my first Christopher Moore book. Raymond Chandler meets Men in Black? That’s right up my alley… Stop by today to get the bookworm on your list the perfect present. I’ll be here from 10-7!

 

12/13/19

REVIEW – I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver   indexindexindex111111

This was an easy read about a tough subject.

I can’t imagine how hard it is to feel the way Ben did in the story, but I had a hard time connecting with them, and honestly they seemed pretty ungrateful towards Hannah, and that really bugged me (that just might be the older sister side of me talking though). I did really love Nathan… he was the highlight of the story for me.

 

12/13/19

79089574_3522600464424627_1071056829489872896_o

“Only one thing in the world could have dragged me away from the soft glow of electric sex gleaming in the window…”

I am such a big fan of Christina Lauren’s books, I can’t wait to start My Favorite Half-Night Stand. Happy Reading bookworms!

 

12/11/19

78921961_3514551641896176_4063821334474391552_o

A hot bubble bath, a glass of wine, and a good book 💙 Reading I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver tonight… Special thanks to Dallas @libraryofdallas for snagging me this copy at Yallfest this year!!

 

12/10/19

REVIEW – The Perfect Wife by JP Delaney  indexindexindex111111

I dig messed up and weird books, but this one was just not for me… definitely leaned too much into Sci-Fi territory for me. The mystery was decent, but the whole robot wife and artificial intelligence is just not my type of book. I really like JP Delaney’s other books, this one, not so much.

 

12/10/19

78677634_3509249162426424_2789863292074459136_o

OK, y’all know I am a fan of dark and twisty mysteries, but JP Delaney might have gone a little too far for me with this one… I’m only about halfway through and not sure how this is going to go. Has anyone else read The Perfect Wife? What did you think?? 🤖🤖🤖

 

12/9/19

REVIEW – Sparrow by Mary Cecilia Jackson   indexindexindex111111

This book felt very disjointed to me. I felt like I was missing part of the story… it didn’t flow at all. There was no real background to the characters (I didn’t even realize that Sophie was her dad’s sister until about 100 pages in), the small mentions of her mother were confusing without the context of what actually happened, and Tristan and Sparrow’s relationship was hardly described at all. One minute they’re on the first date, and then fast-forward and she’s afraid of him. Skipping all stuff leading up to the abuse took away my involvement in their relationship, and quite honestly, took away any care I had about these characters.

And am I the only know who noticed the overabundance of stupid nicknames? Everyone had like 10 different nicknames, and the dialogue felt forced… like what an adult thinks teenagers sound like.

At the end of the day, I still think it was a good story, but you could absolutely tell this was a debut nove

 

12/9/19

78658784_3505870219430985_8919092141012025344_o

Eli post! Cousin Eddie is here and so is the latest book in Clive Cussler’s Isaac Bell series. Can’t wait to finish reading The Cutthroat so I can start The Titanic Secret… Happy Reading

 

12/7/19

72212996_3500967443254596_1501458817936785408_o

A huge thank you to Tor Teen for sending me an advance copy of Sparrow by Mary Cecilia Jackson… I cannot wait to get into it! Also, a very special Happy 2nd Birthday to our favorite little bookworm, Charlee 💗

 

12/7/19

REVIEW – The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco   indexindex111111111

It took me a really long time to get through The Bone Witch. I think the story is there, but so much time was spent setting the scene and world building, that I got bored and kept putting it down and reading something else.

I’m sure the next book in the series will be much more fast-paced, and honestly, that ending almost got me to pick it up, but I struggled too much with this one. I don’t think I will be continuing with the series.

 

12/5/19

REVIEW – Twisted Twenty-Six by Janet Evanovich   indexindexindexindex111

I was slightly hesitant to read #26 because I wasn’t a huge fan of #25, and I was afraid that the magic might be gone… but I really enjoyed it! I laughed out loud throughout the book and loved that Grandma was a big part of the story. The Stephanie Plum series will always be one of my favorites

 

12/5/19

79779043_3492793990738608_6378885286285279232_o

Next up! Twisted Twenty-Six by Janet Evanovich, the latest in the Stephanie Plum series. Special thanks to Mike for bringing it in for me!

 

12/5/19

REVIEW – The Child by Fiona Barton   indexindexindexindex111

This book started off as a 3-star for me. Then about halfway a 3.5, soit could have gone either way… But, those last 100 pages WOW, so good! I read so many mysteries that I find myself figuring them out pretty early on, but this one had me guessing almost until the big reveal. And when I did figure it out, I had to stop reading to process.

Definitely recommend! There are some of the same characters in The Widow, but I don’t think you need to read that one first. I read it so long ago, I didn’t remember anything, and it didn’t really take away from The Child.

 

12/4/19

78194664_3490585920959415_276782338392719360_o

When you own a used bookstore but still buy yourself books…the true definition of #bookwormproblems 🤷📚💛

 

12/3/19

78699164_3485837844767556_3875461811381731328_n

 

I devoured the Winter series by Elin Hilderbrand this week, so now I need a good mystery! Starting The Child by Fiona Barton…
12/3/19

REVIEW – Winter Solstice by Elin Hilderbrand   indexindexindexindex111

As much as I love the Quinn’s, and was super glad to have 1 more story with them, I think this series should have just ended after the 3rd book. I know that this was a double finale, combining with the characters in The Rumor (which I haven’t read), but I definitely could have done without Eddie’s whole story line.

Regardless, if you love the Quinn’s as much as I do, you still have to read Winter Solstice. This series is by far the best Christmas books I have ever read.

12/2/19

78286357_3481637118520962_793177088298319872_o

Hey bookworms, Eli here. Started The Gangster by Clive Cussler this weekend, the 9th book in the Isaac Bell series. We thought our mascot Ophelia could use a boyfriend, so say hey to the handsome gentleman at the bottom of the screen, Phineas 🎩

 

12/2/19

REVIEW – Winter Storms by Elin Hilderbrand   indexindexindexindexindex

I am so very glad that I picked up this series… I love it! Wonderful 3rd installment, can’t wait to pick up the last one!

12/1/19

79914688_3478774345473906_5508229912839847936_n

Thank you so much to everyone that came out and celebrated Small Business Saturday at The Bookworm yesterday! We 💙 our customers and are so thankful for you! ❄️ I loved Winter Street by Elin Hilderbrand so much, that I immediately picked up the sequel and finished it this morning. Lucky for me, I had the other 2 at the store! Currently reading Winter Storms with Winter Solstice waiting in the wings. Have a great Sunday everyone and Happy Reading! ❄️

 

12/1/19

REVIEW – Winter Street by Elin Hilderbrand    indexindexindexindexindex

I loved this book and completely adored all the characters… I’m super excited that I have all 4 books at the bookstore, because I will be reading these back to back.

 

11/29/19

78580049_3472835426067798_3428550561354481664_o

The 1st book in Elin Hilderbrand’s Winter series is the perfect thing to get me in the holiday spirit! I’ll be reading Winter Street tonight under my heated blanket ❄️❄️❄️ Don’t forget to stop by The Bookworm tomorrow for Small Business Saturday! We’re doing a ton of giveaways all day… Shop local this season and Happy Holidays!

 

11/29/19

REVIEW – In Five Years by Rebecca Serle   indexindexindexindexindex

I don’t think I could have loved this book more… easily in my top 5 for the entire year. Definitely add it to your TBR piles!

 

11/28/19

76923303_3469668789717795_8538452055973429248_o

Lucky enough to get an advance copy of Rebecca Serle’s latest book, In Five Years. I spent a good part of my day lost in this amazing story! Thank you so much to Atria Book and Simon & Schuster!

 

11/27/19

REVIEW – The Winter Sister by Megan Collins   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

The Winter Sister was pretty good, especially for a debut author. It started to drag a little bit about 2/3 of the way through, but finished strong.

Looking forward to reading what else this author writes!

 

11/27/19

75619134_3465574286793912_8434902494705876992_o

Happy Turkey Eve bookies! I’ve been reading The Winter Sister by Megan Collins the past few days and it’s really good! I’ll be putting it up on our Customer and Staff Recommendation shelf once I’m done… Stop by The Bookworm today until 7 and see what our other customers are recommending these week!

 

11/26/19

78471047_3461142120570462_8182049162875895808_o

Hey bookworms, Eli here… Finally got my first ARC! I started The God Game by Danny Tobey (St. Martin’s Press) the other day and it’s really good and twisted. Definitely plan on picking it up 1/7/20!

 

11/24/19

78345382_3454981847853156_4421300774009569280_o

I started The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco this morning and I’m loving it so far! Hope you all have a great book to curl up with too. Happy Reading!

 

11/24/19

REVIEW – Not My Daughter by Rea Frey   indexindexindexindex111

Really great book! A little unbelievable at times, but I really enjoyed it. The “past” “during” “now” chapters got a little confusing since they didn’t go in order, but I really liked the differing perspectives between Sarah and Amy. Can’t wait to read her next one!

11/23/19

75540064_3450801241604550_5197570985540190208_o

Not Her Daughter by Rea Frey has been on my to read list since before it was even published… Excited to finally start it!

 

11/23/19

REVIEW – Blood Countess by Lana Popovic   indexindexindex111111

I feel like I kept waiting for something big to happen, and it never really did. About halfway through, I thought maybe, but it just kind of “blahed” out. I know this is YA book, but I was expecting more gore, more suspense, more of everything. Decent read

 

11/21/19

76706839_3443630158988325_911925018407993344_o

Thanks to Amulet Books and Abrams Books for sending me an advance copy of Blood Countess by Lana Popovic! I can’t wait to take a bite out of this book about Countess Dracula 🦇

 

11/20/19

REVIEW – The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams   indexindexindexindexindex

I absolutely adored this book!! Excuse me while I go pre-order the sequel…

 

11/19/19

76191299_3436614509689890_2152707895894999040_o

The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams has been at the top of my must read list for 2019. Super excited to start it! Special thanks to everyone’s favorite back up bookworm, Eli, for being my model 😍 Happy Reading!

 

11/19/19

REVIEW – A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer   indexindexindexindexindex

Loved, loved, loved this book. Everything about it was great… the characters, the world and the magic of Emberfall, and writing. Can’t wait for the sequel!

 

11/18/19

76702344_3433145196703488_8350379561250193408_o

 

11/17/19

REVIEW – The Marriage Lie by Kimberly Belle   indexindexindexindex111

Good and suspenseful story, quick read. Will definitely read more of Kimberly Belle’s books in the future!

 

11/16/19

REVIEW – Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw   indexindex111111111

I absolutely loved The Wicked Deep, so I have been anxiously waiting for Winterwood… Unfortunately, it was a disappointment. The book dragged on, there was a lot of repetition, the characters were all one dimensional, and I figured out where the story was going within the first few chapters.

I do think the author is a talented writer, and the story had a lot of potential, but it just didn’t work. 2 stars.

 

11/15/19

75610778_3426960787321929_8924034398534238208_o

One of the best things about working in a bookstore is the thousands of options I have with what to read next! I’ve heard really great things about Kimberly Belle’s books, so The Marriage Lie it is 💍

 

11/15/19

REVIEW – Who Slays the Wicked by C.S. Harris  indexindexindexindex111

Enjoyed it, as always. Sometimes with long-running series, the books start to go downhill, but that is not the case with the Sebastian St. Cyr books. I always, always enjoy them! Love the characters, love the description of that time, love the mystery. Looking forward to the next one!

 

11/13/19

74229506_3416530418364966_781765922833563648_o.jpg

Starting # 14 in the Sebastian St.Cyr series by C.S. Harris, Who Slays the Wicked… Special thanks to Miss Betty who brought it in for me!

 

 

11/11/19

71937144_3409614075723267_2112122129985044480_n

So excited to start Shea Ernshaw’s latest book, Winterwood. I absolutely loved The Wicked Deep, so I can’t wait to get into this one! Need that cute bookworm pin? We sell them at The Bookworm and in our Etsy shop! www.etsy.com/shop/thebookwormMB

 

11/11/19

REVIEW – Five Dark Fates by Kendare Blake    indexindexindex111111

This whole series was a solid 3 for me… the last book picked up, so I was hopeful for the final book, but it was good, not great.

 

REVIEW – Ink and Bone by Lisa Unger    indexindex111111111

I just could not get into this book… I feel like nothing happened the first 200 pages. It finally picked up towards the end. Definitely my least favorite book of hers.

 

11/10/19

75446552_3406090199408988_1557047054935523328_o

Good morning bookworms! I’m finally reading Ink and Bone by Lisa Unger… It’s been on my TBR pile forever!

 

11/8/19

76786242_3398840456800629_4490011613566337024_n

Happy Friday and Happy Yallfest for everyone in Charleston today!! I’m reading the final book in the Three Dark Crowns series by Kendare Blake, Five Dark Fates 👑 👑 👑

 

11/6/19

REVIEW – Fishnet by Kirstin Innes   indexindex111111111

From the synopsis, I thought this book sounded really interesting, but I was disappointed. It was not the mystery I was expecting. The chapters jumped back and forth on different timelines with no indication of what time in Fiona’s life they were actually talking about… you just had to figure it out, which took away from the story. It was unnecessarily confusing. That coupled with the dialogue that tried to mirror the person’s pronunciation instead of the actual correct spelling of the word, and the overuse of “eh” and “wee” equaled me not enjoying this book.

 

11/5/19

76702452_3389104887774186_8169220628138688512_n

 

A big thank you to Scout Press and Simon & Schuster for sending me a copy of Fishnet by Kirstin Innes! Starting it now 👄
11/4/19
REVIEW – A Good Neighborhood by Therese Ann Fowler   indexindexindex111111

A Good Neighborhood was an easy read and a decent book, but I didn’t love it. I feel like it was such a slow build, and then all of a sudden everything happened and the ending was rushed… it also seemed kind of farfetched and forced to make people buzz about the big twist. Solid 3 stars

 

11/4/19

REVIEW – The Grace Year by Kim Liggett   indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 stars rounded up because I loved this book up until the end…

The Handmaid’s Tale meets a female Lord of the Flies? That is so up my alley.

I really, really liked this book, but the ending was just so blah and wimpy after the fight Tierney had through the whole story. I could have done without the romance, honestly. I am here to fight the patriarchy!

Still a really great book. Can’t wait to see what else Kim Liggett writes

 

11/2/19

70160276_3380374318647243_798967485897375744_n

So excited to start The Grace Year by Kim Liggett! Don’t forget, today is the last day to enter our Halloween giveaway… Check out The Bookworm’s FB page for all the details. Happy Reading!

 

11/1/19

74234768_3376692135682128_6254889627694399488_n

🍁Welcome to turkey and mashed potatoes month!🍁 I’m starting A Good Neighborhood by Therese Anne Fowler this morning. A big thanks to St.Martin’s Press for sending me an advance copy! 🍁Don’t forget to enter our giveaway on The Bookworm’s FB page🍁 Happy Reading!

 

10/31/19

REVIEW – Puddin’ by Julie Murphy  indexindexindexindex111

Very cute and sweet follow-up to Dumplin’

 

10/30/19

REVIEW – Follow Me to Ground by Sue Rainsford   indexindexindexindexindex

Follow Me to Ground has to be one of the strangest books I have ever read… but I loved it. The author’s writing was beautiful, and the story was so different. Once I started it, I read it every second I had a chance until it was done.

I would have liked more explanation about everything (literally everything) but I think that is part of the magic and the draw of this book.

And that cover!

 

10/30/19

74163076_3370328722985136_7774265782174744576_n

Thank you to Scribner Books and Simon & Schuster for sending me an advance copy of Follow Me To Ground by Sue Rainsford! One last creepy read before Halloween ☠️

 

10/29/19

REVIEW – Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo   indexindexindexindex111

4.5 stars

I had a really hard time with this book at the beginning… I felt like I had gotten dropped into the middle of a story. Even after reading the first 20 pages twice, I still had no idea what was going on.

Then things started to make sense, and then I couldn’t put it down. I ended up really loving this book and the characters. Can’t wait for the sequel!!

 

10/29/19

76176838_3367365996614742_4829726295271145472_n

Definitely in need of something light after finishing Ninth House, so I’m finally grabbing Puddin’ by Julie Murphy off my TBR pile ♥️♥️♥️

 

10/27/19

74905533_3360949627256379_5563354074327285760_o

About to have my first foray into Leigh Bardugo’s world… Starting Ninth House! 🐍☠️🖤☠️🖤☠️🐍

 

10/25/19

REVIEW – My (not so) Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella   indexindexindex111111

I have read and loved Sophie Kinsella’s stand alone books for years. This wasn’t my favorite, but still a cute and light read.

 

10/25/19

74617619_3354910674526941_3289332048312926208_n

I’ve always loved Sophie Kinsella’s stand alone books, but haven’t read one for years. So I grabbed My (not so) Perfect Life when it came in as a trade. Happy Reading!

 

10/23/19

REVIEW – Believe Me by JP Delaney   indexindexindexindex111

It was a slow day at the bookstore, so I crushed this book today. It was really quick read, and I loved it… until the end. The end was bad, bad, bad.

Still a strong 4 star rating, and I will totally read anything else by this author.

 

10/23/19

73010204_3350227098328632_818760911400468480_o

I was a big fan of JP Delaney’s book The Girl Before, so I’m excited to get into the follow-up, Believe Me.

 

10/23/19

REVIEW – Saint X by Alexis Schaitken   indexindexindex111111

Saint X was a good story… but I could tell with the first page the author’s writing style was just not for me. This book was not the suspense/mystery I was expecting, and it was longer than it needed to be. I did enjoy the brief pages from the perspective of the other characters. Gave a little more insight. I would have loved more about the folklore of the goat woman on Faraway Cay.

 

10/22/19

73158199_3345533152131360_4245834832933814272_n

Thanks to Celadon Books for sending me an advance copy of Saint X!! This book has been on my radar for months. I mixed myself a little rum punch (in Eli’s Ron Swanson glass) and started it last night. Happy Reading!

 

10/21/19

72750052_3342407819110560_6402772438391717888_o

Finished Good Me Bad Me over the weekend /5 stars. Millie turns her mother in for murdering 9 children… Does this make her a good person? Or is she as bad as her mom?

 

10/21/19

REVIEW – Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keane   indexindexindexindexindex

This was a really, really good book. It all just felt so genuine and real to me. Every one of the characters were flawed, but you couldn’t help rooting for them. Great story!

 

10/20/19

REVIEW – Jane Anonymous by Laurie Faria Stolarz   indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 stars rounded up to 5 because I devoured this book in one day. Once I picked it up, I didn’t put it back down until I finished it.

Great book!!

 

10/20/19

72944274_3339509752733700_2343648909080920064_n

So excited to receive an advance copy of Laurie Faria Stolarz’s upcoming release, Jane Anonymous, from @wednesdaybooks and @stmartinspress! I’ll be diving into this today 💜

 

10/19/19

REVIEW – The Bone Houses by Emily Lloyd-Jones   indexindexindexindex111

I got The Bone Houses through Owlcrate, and I was not disappointed! I liked the story, the folklore, and the characters.

 

10/19/19

73037206_3336222329729109_7617199996391129088_n

Fall has finally arrived in Myrtle Beach – I’ve got my electric blanket on! I’m starting Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keane. I’ve heard such wonderful things about this book!

 

10/18/19

REVIEW – Park Avenue Summer by Renee Rosen   indexindexindexindex111

Park Avenue Summer has been on my radar for months… So glad I finally had the chance to read it. I really liked it! I loved the actual events and people mixed with the fictional. It was an easy and enjoyable read.

 

10/18/19

72482295_3333457693338906_6084094274574483456_o

Hey bookworms – it’s Eli here at the store today. I’m starting New York Dead by Stuart Woods… the first book in the Stone Barrington series.

 

10/17/19

72776350_3329971027020906_2247236492537626624_n

I have been wanting to read Park Avenue Summer by Renee Rosen for months… so excited it came into The Bookworm as a trade! Stop by today from 10-7 and I’ll help you find a book you’ve been dying to read too.

 

10/16/19

REVIEW – The Chain by Adrian McGinty   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars

The first half of the book was a 3, the second half was a 4.

Very cool and different idea for a suspense novel. I think I just didn’t really connect or like any of the characters. Still a good book and worth the read!

 

10/16/19

73399847_3326892340662108_6208383442640437248_n

💀Zombies, magic, a longstanding curse, and a family of gravediggers… Sounds like just the 👻 spooky book 👻 to get me in the Halloween spirit! 🎃 Starting The Bone Houses by Emily Lloyd-Jones, this months Owlcrate book 💀

 

10/14/19

REVIEW – My Dark Vanessa by Kate Elizabeth Russell   indexindexindexindexindex

There were times I tossed this book away from me in disgust, so angry, but I kept picking it back up again and again.

Kate Elizabeth Russell is an outstanding writer, who so perfectly nailed what really happens in these type of situations.

It was haunting and heartbreaking, and one of the best books I read all year.

 

10/11/19

72889218_3314487261902616_7000099945705373696_n

“All he did was fall in love with me and the world turned him into a monster.”

A huge THANK YOU to @williammorrowbooks for sending me an advance copy of My Dark Vanessa by Kate Elizabeth Russell. This has been at the top of my must read list for 2020. I started it last night, and it’s fantastic!

 

10/10/19

71814414_3308359745848701_1406191680192774144_n

 

10/9/19

REVIEW – Big Lies in a Small Town by Diane Chamberlain   indexindexindexindexindex

Big Lies in a Small Town was excellent!

Diane Chamberlain did a great job with the alternating timelines. The story, the characters, everything about it was just fantastic. Loved it

 

10/9/19

72087133_3305655572785785_3074949640496349184_o

Eli here. As much as I enjoy my days at The Bookworm, I really love my full time job working with craft beer. Barrel-Aged Stout and Selling Out by Josh Noel takes a look at how Anheuser-Busch is working to gain a foothold in a craft beer world. Starting it today!

 

10/8/19

REVIEW – Been There, Marrie That by Gigi Levangie   indexindex111111111

Oooof, this was a rough one. The writing was all over the place. I love a good quip/snarky comment/joke, but it was so constant I got confused about what was actually going on in the scene.

The star of the book was Fin, the MC’s sister.

1.5 stars rounded up because I didn’t hate it, it was just bad (like, really bad).

If you want to read a great book by her, check out Rescue Me or The Starter Wife, don’t bother with this one.

 

10/6/19

72146415_3297598643591478_1049526746845544448_n

Even vampires love a good book! Thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending me an advance copy of Gigi Levangie’s upcoming book, Been There, Married That!

 

10/6/19

REVIEW – Wild Blue Wonder by Carrie Sorosiak   indexindexindexindexindex

This book is exactly why I love YA so much… 5 stars!

 

10/5/19

71717732_3293856557299020_2617611773242507264_n

Looks like it’s going to be a gray and rainy weekend in Myrtle Beach… oh well, more time for reading, right?! I’m starting Wild Blue Wonder by Carlie Sorosiak 💙

 

10/4/19

72717707_3290834877601188_3673617426714460160_n

 

A big thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending me an advance copy of Diane Chamberlain’s newest book, Big Lies in a Small Town! I started it last night, and it’s fantastic

 

10/2/19

71583384_3285336288151047_612063488566624256_o

Eli here – thanks for all your help picking the next book off my TBR pile. One for the Money was the clear winner!

 

10/2/19

REVIEW – The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater   indexindexindexindexindex

Loved this book! It’s been sitting on my TBR pile for ages, so glad I finally picked it up

 

10/1/19

71814589_3281859098498766_1172311495241891840_n

Confession Time: For as popular and loved as Dorothea Benton Frank’s books are in SC, I’ve never actually read one… So, I’m going to make her last one my first one 💙

 

9/30/19

71784482_3280124892005520_8228255786845863936_n

Everyone said to read The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater, so next up! Happy Reading!

 

9/29/19

REVIEW – The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton   indexindexindex111111

2.5 stars rounded up

This book was just really dry to me. Juliette/Elizabeth/Lily just wasn’t believable as a crazy to me? I don’t know if it was the writing (if I had a dollar for every “whilst”) or that she was so unemotional while being ridiculously delusional, but I just did not connect with this book or the MC (and I love a crazy, vengeful girl).

The flashbacks were confusing, and just thrown in. It helped explain her, but they just didn’t flow with the rest of the book.

Given that this was a debut, and I did love the idea behind the story, I will definitely give another of her books a try.

 

9/29/19

REVIEW – Two Dark Reigns by Kendare Blake   indexindexindexindex111

I really enjoyed this one! I was annoyed with the last one, but the ending sucked me in, so I’ve had Two Dark Reigns on my TBR pile forever, but I think this was my favorite one! I felt like it was easier to read and keep track of everyone? Anyway, excited to real the final book!

 

9/26/19

70770800_3267321356619207_3710138010373718016_n

I’ve been reading a lot of YA fantasy lately, so I want to switch it up with a little suspense… The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton is exactly what I’m looking for. A crazy ex-gf who will do ANYTHING to get him back? Yes please!

 

9/25/19

REVIEW – Finale by Stephanie Garber   indexindexindexindexindex

I absolutely adored this trilogy, and this last book was perfect.

 

9/24/19

70650016_3261501340534542_1025009140784693248_o

Good morning bookworms! I’m starting the 3rd book in the Three Dark Crowns series by Kendare Blake, Two Dark Reigns. Stop by and see me at The Bookworm today from 10-7. Happy Reading!

 

9/23/19

REVIEW – The Au Pair by Emma Rous   indexindexindex111111

I was really excited to read this book since it came out, but it was just OK for me. By page 200 I still felt like nothing had happened. It was kind of a snooze for me. The last 100 pages were decidedly better, but not enough to raise my rating. 3 stars

 

9/22/19

70896936_3255815501103126_8234517544220753920_o

I’ve been holding off picking up the last book in the Caraval series because I didn’t want it to end… I can’t wait anymore!! Starting Finale by Stephanie Garber 🎪

 

9/21/19

REVIEW – The Siren by Keira Cass   indexindexindex111111

The Siren was just OK for me. It was pretty juvenile (I say this knowing full well it’s YA). Definitely not nearly as good as The Selection series, but still cute.

 

9/20/19

71019491_3249822548369088_1925326602053353472_n

Excited to start The Au Pair by Emma Rous! I’ve been waiting for this book since it was released… Happy Friday bookworms!

 

9/19/19

70297394_3247916855226324_2033662470580600832_n

I just finished The Testaments by Margaret Atwood and it was fantastic! Luckily, I work in a bookstore and have a few choices on what to read next 🤗 I’m going with The Siren by Kiera Cass, one of Myrtle Beach’s own authors! I loved her Selection series, so I’m excited to read this one! PS – this adorable tote is available at The Bookworm and in our Etsy shop at www.etsy.com/shop/thebookwormMB

 

9/19/19

REVIEW – The Testaments by Margaret Atwood   indexindexindexindexindex

What a fantastic book!! I was cautiously hopeful about this sequel, and Margaret Atwood blew me away… I should have never doubted it!

I do wish I had reread The Handmaid’s Tale before I started The Testaments… I was unsure if what I was remembering was from the book or the TV show. Regardless, The Testaments was done amazingly well.

 

9/17/19

REVIEW – White Girl Problems by Babe Walker   indexindexindexindex111

Funny and ridiculous. The first 100 pages had me laughing out loud in public, but then it started to go downhill for me… Definitely still recommend and I will read the next one, for sure.

 

9/16/19

70788705_3238475429503800_8839212797347758080_n

Celebrated Eli’s birthday poolside yesterday with peach sangria and White Girl Problems by Babe Walker. It is super funny! I needed a break from my usual type of books, and this was perfect.

 

9/14/19

70271673_3232780633406613_1033272859725660160_n.jpg

I’ve been anxiously waiting for the sequel to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, The Testaments, since they first announced it last year. So excited to start it!

 

9/14/19

REVIEW – House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig   indexindexindexindexindex

Rating: All the stars

I loved, loved, loved this book! Definitely one of my favorites of the year.

 

9/13/19

REVIEW – The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda    indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down because I liked it more than I loved it

Good story, quick read. This was my favorite books of hers.

 

9/13/19

69958429_3230471010304242_1537964145872207872_o

It’s Eli at The Bookworm today… My last book was about a fictional chef, now I reading about an actual chef. Ferran Adriá runs what has been voted the world’s best restaurant, El Bulli. Stop by The Bookworm today and check out all the other great Biographies and Memoirs we have!

 

9/12/19

70830483_3228636873820989_8713428409432145920_o

I started House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig earlier this week and I looovvveee it! Looking forward to my day off tomorrow so I can finish it.

 

9/11/19

70753205_3224389960912347_7518623225568296960_n.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Good Morning! I’m starting Megan Miranda’s latest book, The Last House Guest. Happy Reading!

 

9/10/19

REVIEW – Vox by Christina Dalcher   indexindexindexindex111

I really liked this book! I was afraid it was going to be too close to The Handmaid’s Tale, but it really wasn’t. I wasn’t expecting the science/medical side of the story, but I ended up really enjoying it. I really, REALLY, wanted to know more about what happened at the end at the White House, but overall I thought it was a great book.

 

9/9/19

70721970_3218878984796778_7138235641657032704_n

Vox by Christina Dalcher is about the government deciding women should only be allowed to speak 100 words per day… Since I’ve been fighting laryngitis for the past month, this seemed like the perfect book to read next!

 

9/8/19

REVIEW – The Night Sister by Jennifer McMahon   indexindex111111111

I read The Winter People a few months ago and loved it. Unfortunately, I feel the opposite about The Night Sister. It was very underwhelming… I kept waiting (and waiting) for something to happen. It didn’t. And the twist at the end was just blah. None of the characters were great, the switching between the 3 timelines wasn’t great, the whole story overall wasn’t great. Definitely disappointed.

I 100 percent think Jennifer McMahon is a great writer, I just hope the rest of her books are more Winter People and less Night Sister.

 

9/7/19

70431579_3213385812012762_6725596942161674240_n

Hey Bookworms, Eli here. Haven’t been able to sell much beer this week because of the weather, but I’ve gotten a lot of reading in! Started my first James Patterson book, The Chef 🔪

 

9/5/19

69458239_3207652322586111_3951329234684739584_o

The wind and the rain has really picked up, so we’ll be hiding out in the house all day today with our books and our dogs! I’m starting The Night Sister by Jennifer McMahon… Stay safe!

 

9/5/19

REVIEW – Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks   indexindex111111111

I guess I’m in the minority, but I am unimpressed with this book. Lackluster suspense with “twists” you could see coming a mile away. It dragged on and on when I just wanted it to be over.

 

9/4/19

69838691_3205685609449449_4100555425252900864_o

The Bookworm is now closed until after Dorian has passed (hopefully Friday!) Eli brought home The Bootlegger by Clive Cussler to read over the next few days. Stay safe everyone!

 

9/4/19

REVIEW – Anything by Ordinary by Lara Avery   indexindexindex111111

Definitely not the best written book I’ve ever read, but I enjoyed it. Contrary to a lot of the other opinions, I really liked the ending.

 

9/3/19

69340848_3201845949833415_7987991583981043712_n

Hey Myrtle Beach – The Bookworm is open regular business hours all week! I’ll be reading Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks today… Stop by from 10-7 and grab some great new-to-you books!

 

9/2/19

REVIEW – My Sister, The Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite   indexindexindexindex111

This was not the book I was expecting to read… it was more about the family dynamic, with the fact that her sister is a serial killer and she helps cover it up being more of a minor story line.

I still really enjoyed it! I wanted more though. More backstory, more details, I’m dying to know what happens next.

 

9/2/19

70259528_3199821836702493_8269559112941961216_n

I’ve been dying to get my hands on this book for months! Currently reading My Sister, The Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite

 

9/2/19

REVIEW – Roomies by Christina Lauren   indexindexindexindex111

Great characters in a very cute (albeit predictable) and funny story! This is my 3rd book by Christina Lauren, and I’ve really enjoyed them all.

 

9/1/19

69481945_3197686710249339_3064219502225915904_n

 

Spent some time at the beach today with Anything but Ordinary by Lara Avery.
REVIEW – Lock Every Door by Riley Sager   indexindexindexindexindex
I loved this book… Definitely my favorite by this author. I read it in 24 hours because I
just needed to know the secrets behind The Bartholomew. It was a well-written suspense
that kept you guessing til the end. 5 stars!

9/1/19

70207257_3196073917077285_8800376685150076928_n

It’s finally September and clearly time to get out the Halloween decorations, right?! I just finished Lock Every Door by Riley Sager and it was fantastic! I read it in 24 hours because I was dying to know what really happened inside The Bartholomew.

 

8/30/19

REVIEW – The Darkest Corner by Kara Thomas   indexindexindexindex111

This was my 3rd book by Kara Thomas, and it did not disappoint! I thought it was really great. Good story, good characters, good mystery. Looking forward to reading what she writes next!

 

8/29/19

69538869_3188313637853313_4280258832602497024_n

I started The Darkest Corner by Kara Thomas this morning… I really enjoyed Little Monsters and The Cheerleaders by her as well, and this one is great so far too!

 

8/28/19

REVIEW – The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia    indexindexindexindexindex

I adored this book! I loved the characters, the story, the Romeo and Juliet of it all. So, so good.

I’m a big fan of Beautiful Creatures series (not the spin-off though) so it’s great to see Kami Garcia go in a different direction and still totally nail it.

 

8/28/19

69505149_3184633444887999_3345822468961992704_n

Good Morning! I’m starting my 3rd book by Christina Lauren (loved them!) called Roomies. Have a great day and Happy Reading!

 

8/28/19

REVIEW – The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton   indexindexindex111111

I loved the premise of this book. So cool and different… but it just didn’t deliver. It was so confusing. I had a hard time keeping track of who was who and what character Aiden was on each chapter. Maybe if I had been able to read this all in one sitting, it would have been easier, but who really has that opportunity?

The last 150 pages were pretty good, but that was only enough to bring my rating up to 3 stars.

 

 

8/27/19

69227963_3182916318393045_6563586270335860736_n

Hey Bookworms, Eli here. Just started reading The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler. Anyone else a fan of the Philip Marlowe books?

 

8/25/19

69634087_3176279149056762_4152869269379481600_n

It’s a nice cool morning in Myrtle Beach, so I am reading with the windows open… Starting The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia. I am such a fan of her Beautiful Creature series, so I’m excited to read something a little different from her!

 

8/24/19

69752115_3173146139370063_2305252786217943040_n

Excited to finally read The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton! Happy Reading! ☠️🖤☠️

 

8/24/19

REVIEW – Stay Sweet by Siobhan Vivian   indexindexindex111111

Cute, easy, YA fluff. Maybe it’s just been too long since I’ve been in high school, but Amelia was weirdly obsessed with her best friend Cate, right? Now I want to go make my own ice cream…

 

8/24/19

REVIEW – Rich People Problems by Kevin Kwan   indexindexindexindexindex

Wonderful ending to a great series! I loved getting to know all these characters over the 3 books. Definitely a lot less annotations in this one, which I whole-hardheartedly appreciated. I’m really sad it’s over.

 

8/22/19

REVIEW – The Babysitter’s Coven by Kate Williams    indexindexindexindex111

The Babysitters Coven was cute, funny, and snarky. I loved the first half (5 stars) and liked the second half (3 stars). I feel like The Sitters and how they came to be, all their history, how each was chosen, etc. wasn’t explained well enough. I want to know more!

I will happily average both together and give it 4 stars. Can’t wait to read the next installment!

 

8/22/19

68781724_3167375633280447_5846734904120836096_n

What’s your favorite ice cream topping? Mine is Nerds… weird, I know, but I 💜 it! I got this cup of delicious from Flavors Ice Cream and Gelato (located just a few doors down from The Bookworm) and started Stay Sweet by Siobhan Vivian yesterday afternoon. Stop by St. James Plaza today and beat the heat with a good book and a frozen treat. 📕🍦📕

 

8/20/19

69406170_3161617990522878_6594056872867659776_n.

Good morning bookworms! I’m starting the final book in the Crazy Rich Asian trilogy by Kevin Kwan, Rich People Problems. Have a great day and Happy Reading!

 

8/19/19

68428370_3158911977460146_1366129943242604544_n

And so starts another week… Good luck to everyone starting school and congrats to all the parents for making it through the summer! I’m starting The Babysitters Coven by Kate Williams ☠️🖤🔮 A big thank you to Random House for sending me an advance copy! ☠️🖤🔮

 

8/19/19

REVIEW – The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager   indexindexindexindex111

Great book! Quick read that I had a hard time putting down. And that ending!

 

8/18/19

68270480_3155956821088995_8421049709052821504_n

Next up! The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager. Happy Reading!

 

8/18/19

REVIEW – Legendary by Stephanie Garber   indexindexindexindex111

Really great second installment of the Caraval trilogy! While I didn’t love it as much as I loved the first one, it was still a great book. I definitely wanted more Scarlett though! Can’t wait to read Finale!

 

8/17/19

REVIEW – Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov   indexindex111111111

How do you review a book like this?

Was it well-written, thoughtful, and even amusing at times? Yes. Was it awful, horrifying, and disgusting? Also yes.

I read Rust and Stardust by T. Greenwood last year, and it was so fantastic that I wanted to read the actual Lolita. The story doesn’t surprise any of us, but it was still hard to read, and at the end of the day, I just didn’t enjoy it. 2 stars for me

 

8/16/19

67933064_3150126111672066_4266807510427500544_n

It’s Eli here at The Bookworm today. I’m starting A World of Thieves by James Carlos Blake, a story about a Louisiana teenager who wants to follow his uncle’s criminal path in the 1920’s. Have a great weekend 🥃🔪💰

 

8/13/19

68250819_3141874439163900_8869613945963413504_n

I keep saying I need to read more Classics, but I am easily distracted by the new and shiny books. Going to give Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov a read.

 

8/12/19

68933505_3139243166093694_1046393027037233152_o

Caraval was fantastic! I can’t believe I waited this long to read it! Starting the sequel, Legendary 🎪💃🏻🎪

 

8/12/19

REVIEW – 29 Seconds by T.M. Logan   indexindexindexindex111

Great book! I read it in 24 hours because I couldn’t wait to see how the story played out.

I really liked Lies, and 29 seconds was an awesome follow up. Can’t wait to see what else this author does!

 

8/11/19

68449482_3137032379648106_4049816850576441344_o

“Give me one name. One person. And I will make them disappear.”

A huge thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending me (and Penelope) an advance copy of 29 Seconds by T.M. Logan!! I read his book Lies last year and loved it… Can’t wait to get into this one!

 

8/11/19

REVIEW – Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes   indexindexindexindexindex

What an adorable book. Great characters, cute story, and the scandal about the racing cereal boxes had me laughing out loud.

Fantastic book for a debut author!

 

8/11/19

REVIEW – Caraval by Stephanie Garber   indexindexindexindexindex

I absolutely loved this book! I’m mad at myself for waiting so long to read it.

I loved the world of Caraval, the characters, everything. And the way that Stephanie Garber writes is just so magical.

I’m super excited that I have the sequel already so I can start it immediately.

 

8/10/19

68412281_3133458470005497_5247969450346414080_n

🌻Good Morning🌻 I’m starting Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes… Someone called The Bookworm last week looking for this book and we didn’t have it yet. If it was you, let me know and I’ll save it for ya!🌻

 

8/9/19

REVIEW – Then She Was Gone – Lisa Jewell   indexindexindexindex111

I really enjoy the way Lisa Jewell writes. Then She Was Gone was a dark and twisted story. No real surprises, you could tell where the story was going, but I flew through it in a day because I just wanted to know all the details. Looking forward to reading more of her books!

 

8/9/19

68393608_3130839303600747_5061546566662225920_o

Happy National Book Lover’s Day!! 💜 I’ll be celebrating by starting Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell. What are you reading today?

 

8/7/19

REVIEW – Lethal White by Robert Galbraith   indexindexindexindex111

Great 4th book of the Cormoran Strike series!

I started reading this series when it first debuted, and have eagerly awaited each new installment.

There was A LOT of side stories going on… it was hard to see how they all connected. And there were some aspects of the story that dragged (does anyone really care if someone is pronouncing it Chizzle or Chiswell?) but overall, well worth the almost 800 page read.

Fantastic characters in another great mystery. Can’t wait for the next one!

 

8/5/19

67932736_3119849231366421_2708162809262243840_n

Excited to start to this journey! 🎪Caraval by Stephanie Garber🎪

 

8/1/19

67893333_3109090759108935_7878026157617053696_o

I’ve been (im)patiently waiting for Lethal White for months! It’s the 4th installment of the Cormoran Strike series by JK Rowling under her pen name Robert Galbraith. Excited to finally get my hands on it!

 

8/1/19

REVIEW – My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing   indexindexindexindex111

I really enjoyed My Lovely Wife… It was a quick read about a really messed up couple. The ending wrapped up pretty quickly, I could definitely have used more of an explanation. I like to know characters background, their trauma, their meticulous planning, their motivations. It was all briefly explained, but I wanted more.

Great book for a debut author! Can’t wait to see what she writes next.

 

7/31/19

67674120_3106305716054106_7049020868747329536_n

We’ve had a lot of recently released books come into The Bookworm for trade over the past few days… and I definitely grabbed an armful to take home with me (no willpower!) 😳 Starting with My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing. Stop by today from 10-7 to check out the rest of our new stock!

 

7/30/19

REVIEW – Friend of the Family by Tasmina Perry  indexindexindex111111

About 2/3 of the way through the book Amy is insisting that Josie is “trying to steal her life” but there has been nothing to really indicate that. Did I miss something? It felt like a chunk of story was missing. I adore a good scheming woman story line, but this wasn’t it. I kept waiting for something to happen… and waiting, and waiting.

Something finally happened the last 100 pages or so, but it felt very forced and very rushed. At the end of the day, I really didn’t care what happened to these people or what their motivations were.

Still a decent read (and I do love that cover!) 3 stars

 

7/29/19

67799279_3101820676502610_1484262898460000256_n

Eli and I made it to the beach for the first time time all summer yesterday… Well, a restaurant on the beach that serves cocktails, at least 🍹 Starting Friend of the Family by Tasmina Perry!

 

7/29/19

REVIEW – Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich   indexindex111111111

I really wish I would have looked at the rating and reviews before I read this book. I could have saved myself a lot of annoyance and time.

The characters were all obnoxious, the dialogue was inane, and the book just wasn’t good.

2 stars instead of 1 because I didn’t hate it. The second half of the book was marginally better than the first, but I have no desire to continue with this series.

 

 

7/28/19

67337883_3098121246872553_2965938719074287616_n

I’m in the mood for some cute and easy fluff this morning, so I grabbed Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich off my TBR pile. Enjoy your Sunday and Happy Reading!

 

7/28/19

REVIEW – Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields   indexindexindexindex111

I really liked Poison’s Kiss! We went to India a few years ago, and I’ve been low-key obsessed with the culture since then. And the fact that this was based on Indian mythology made it right up my alley.

I liked the setting, the characters, their stories. Excited to read the sequel and to see what happens next with Malinda, Mani, and Devon.

 

7/27/19

67627031_3096580080360003_3047554749944561664_n

I’ve been having a string of really great books lately, so I’ve been flying through them! I started Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields last night, and it’s really good too!

 

7/26/19

REVIEW – Ripple By Heather Smith Meloche   indexindexindexindexindex

I’ve had Ripple sitting on my shelf for years… I cannot believe I waited so long to read. It was so good! I was off yesterday, so I literally spent my whole day reading it.

 

7/26/19

67522852_3092533174098027_3624635128589844480_n

Good morning! The last 2 books I read were 5 🌟 so let’s hope I keep that going! Starting Ripple by Heather Smith Meloche

 

7/25/19

REVIEW – The Hunger by Alma Katsu   indexindexindexindexindex

Oh my gosh, I LOVED this book! It was so well-written, it was creepy and haunting, and I loved the paranormal spin on a story we were taught in school. The characters, their feelings, the cold, the hunger, the landscape was all described so well… I cannot wait to read everything else Alma Katsu has written. 5 very big stars!

 

7/24/19

REVIEW – Killing November by Adriana Mather   indexindexindexindexindex

Loved this book! The characters were awesome, the setting was great, and the whole story line was just so cool. Cannot wait for the sequel!

 

7/23/19

67247035_3085203688164309_6682572824533532672_n

I started The Hunger last night by Alma Katsu and it is really great (and creepy) so far! I’m totally going to devour (haha) this book ☠️ ☠️☠️

 

7/22/19

67131819_3081313408553337_351503426334490624_o

We had a lovely lazy Sunday yesterday… Eli started Night Film by Marisha Pessl (one of my favorites!) and I started Killing November by Adriana Mather. Have a great week and Happy Reading!

 

7/21/19

REVIEW – Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart   indexindexindex111111

I’m not really sure how to review this book…

I liked it, but I feel like it wasn’t done very well. The timeline definitely muddied up the book, and I could have used at least another 50 pages describing everything and everyone better.

I can totally understand how this is not a book for everyone. I still think it’s a solid 3 stars.

 

7/21/19

67133550_3078871268797551_6003455623641956352_n

Good Morning! I’m starting Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart

 

7/20/19

REVIEW – Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down because I had a hard time getting through the book.

It was difficult and frustrating trying to keep track of which character’s POV it was… it alternated between Tatsumi and Yumeko, but no chapter had a heading to indicate which character it was, both were in first person, and I was trying to read this book while I was at the bookstore and having to keep picking it up and putting it down made for a difficult read. I can’t tell you how many times I had to backtrack to remind myself what was going on. That coupled with all the Japanese words/names made it hard to get through.

At the end of the day, I did like the book and the characters and really enjoyed the world that Julie Kagawa painted. I will (probably) read the rest of the trilogy.

 

7/19/19

REVIEW – The Whisper Man by Alex North   indexindexindexindex111

Great book, especially for a debut author!

I flew through this in a day because I just needed to know what happened. The coincidences were a little too much at times, but overall I thought it was really good!

Looking forward to seeing what else this author does in the future and FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT IS HOLY, LOCK YOUR DOORS PEOPLE!

 

7/18/19

66778279_3069996249685053_6741098153442803712_n

 

Thank you to Celadon Books for sending me (and my rude husband who took it out of the mail and started reading it before I got home from work) an advance copy of The Whisper Man by Alex North. Now that he finished it, I can finally start!

 

7/17/19

REVIEW – The Girl on Legare Street by Karen White   indexindexindexindex111

I’m really enjoying this series! Looking forward to the next one

 

7/15/19

66729615_3061862217165123_3944162523405615104_n

🌞Good Morning🌞 I enjoyed the last Karen White book so much, I had to grab the 2nd in the series off the shelf before it sold 🤗 Stop by The Bookworm all week from 10-7 (11-6 on Sunday) to get some great new-to-you books!!

 

7/15/19

REVIEW – Before We Were Strangers by Brenda Novak   indexindexindex111111

This was my first Brenda Novak book, and probably my last.

The story was good, the writing not so much. I lost track of how many times I rolled my eyes… I actually put it down about 30 pages in because I thought the writing was going to annoy me too much.

I ended up picking it back up and read it in a day. Quick, easy read, good story, but pretty bad writing.

 

7/14/19

66482144_3059264367424908_3917793996893585408_n

 

7/13/19

REVIEW – Wilder Girls by Rory Power   indexindexindexindexindex

Wilder Girls was super weird, kind of gross, and I totally loved it. Great story, great characters, and really great writing. And that cover! 😍😍😍

Can we pretty please have a sequel?

 

7/12/19

66486083_3053822474635764_947821779542343680_n

 

7/10/19

REVIEW – Luck, Love, and Lemon Pie by Amy Reichert   indexindexindex111111

 

7/9/19

REVIEW – In Her Skin by Kim Savage   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down to 3 because I think the book had so much unused potential.

I think the story idea was great, the characters were great, but the book as a whole was just OK for me.

 

7/9/19

66647098_3045706488780696_7403268405521809408_n

Which book has been on your TBR pile the longest? I’ve had Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa sitting there since October… Finally starting it now!