Now Reading, Reviews, and Recommendations

i3/21/21

163244449_5494869700531017_1356668881906019149_n

So excited to dive into The Plot by Jean Hanff Korelitz today! Thanks to Celadon Books for sending me an advance copy! Enjoy the rest of your weekend bookworms, and happy reading ūüďö‚ėēūüćį

3/16/21

159479127_5471822102835777_6215491279339660710_n

Thank you to Wednesday Books for sending me an advance copy of Dahlia Adler’s upcoming release, Cool for the Summer!

3/13/21

159441905_5459541460730508_7715893905833273070_o

Hello bookworms! I am about to start The Poison Tree by Erin Kelly. Enjoy your weekend and happy reading!

REVEIW РThe Poison Tree by Erin Kelly  indexindex111111111

2.5 rounded down

This was a slow burn, with a very big emphasis on sloooowww. The author kept alluding to what happened that day, but it didn’t really raise my curiosity, it just kind of bugged me and made the story drag on more.

I did enjoy the ending, but still going to be a 2.5 rounded down for me.

3/11/21

159579959_5450531731631481_2101559825449888950_o

Good morning! I’m currently reading Valentine by Elizabeth Wetmore. We’ve gotten a lot of great books on the shelf this week, so stop by The Bookworm M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7 to grab some for yourself ūüďöūüíõūüďö Happy Reading!

REVIEW РValentine by Elizabeth Wetmore  indexindex111111111

What am I missing? I don’t understand all the hype over this book… There were entirely too many unnecessary POV’s, when ultimately the only ones that I cared about were Mary Rose and Glory and Karla at the end.

I do think she’s a talented writer, but I don’t know if I would try another book by her. This one was just not for me.

3/5/21

158108946_5424961170855204_7898092970600609717_o

Hellooooo Friday!! A giant thank you to @stmartinspress for sending me an early copy of Sally Hepworth’s upcoming release, The Good Sister. I read and loved The Mother-in-Law a few months ago, so I cannot wait to get into this one. Happy Reading!

REVIEW РThe Good Sister by Sally Hepworth  indexindexindexindex111

This is my second book by Sally Hepworth and I really enjoyed it!

Definitely read more like a family drama than a thriller. While Fern made me snort laugh a few times, she is not going to be everyone’s cup of tea, but it was nice to have something/someone different for a change.

4/5 stars!

3/3/21

156465255_5415867395097915_7934092156011182404_o

Thanks to @customhousebooks for sending me an advance copy of Mary Jane by Jessica Anya Blau!! I’ll be reading this at The Bookworm today. Stop by and see us M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading!

REVIEW РMary Jane by Jessica Anya Blau  indexindex111111111

The marketing department was wildly generous by saying this book was Almost Famous meets Daisy Jones and the Six.

This book was a snooze… Nothing happened! And Mary Jane was supposed to be 14 years old, but her sheltered naivete read more like a 10-11 year old.

I just didn’t connect with the characters, the story, or the writing.

2/27/21

154614964_5398735326811122_3812660913554327954_o

It’s @libraryofdallas here at The Bookworm today and I am officially obsessed with the cover of Pretty Things by Janelle Brown. I will be 100% honest that I judged a book by it’s cover and bought it. Thankfully, I’m here to report that the inside of the book is just as great! Stop by The Bookworm today from 10-7 to find some new to you books and maybe I can help you judge a book by it’s pretty cover? ūüėÖūüėÖūüėÖ

2/23/21

153803051_5365101760174479_6879833110833156037_o

A big thank you to @_mira_books_ for sending me an advance copy of J.T. Ellison’s @thrillerchick upcoming release, Her Dark Lies! I started it yesterday and I am loving it so far ‚ė†ÔłŹūüíí‚ė†ÔłŹ Her Dark Lies comes out March 9, so add it to your virtual TBR piles now!

REVIEW РHer Dark Lies by J.T. Ellison  indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 stars rounded up

I really enjoyed this book! Very atmospheric… a bit implausible at times (but isn’t that why we read sometimes, to escape?)

I thought it had great characters and a good story. There was a lot of different POV’s which I usually don’t mind, but instead of titled chapters, it would have been helpful to have which character’s POV it was instead. I had to be sure to finish a chapter before putting the book down or else I had to flip back to figure out who was talking.

Looking forward to reading more of her books in the future!

2/18/21

151884574_5344468558904466_5991131106903095428_o

Eli here today, just started the third book in the Thrawn trilogy, Thrawn Treason. Thrawn is probably the only character from the Empire that I actually root for.

2/16/21

151009859_5337559412928714_8917206147078909208_o

Excited to start the sequel to One of Us is Lying, One of Us is Next. Karen McManus never disappoints!!

REVIEW РOne of Us is Next by Karen M McManus  indexindexindex111111

I just didn’t love this one as much as the first. Maybe I needed to reread One of Us is Lying before starting this one?

2/15/21

150784888_5331832836834705_6944366032413089392_o

So very excited to receive an advance copy of Katherine St.John’s new book, The Siren!! The Lion’s Den was in my top 10 reads of 2020, so I cannot wait to start this one. I’ll be reading The Siren at The Bookworm all week… stop by and we’ll help you find a book you’ve been dying to read too!

REVIEW РThe Siren by Katherine St. John  indexindexindexindex111

While I didn’t love The Siren as much as The Lion’s Den, there is no doubt that Katherine St. John knows how to write a juicy summer read!

I loved Felicity’s POV, and Stella’s too, but I could have done without Taylor and her case of instalove… I just never connected with her. It was hard to keep everyone straight (especially when you throw their character names in too) but I really enjoyed escaping to the Caribbean with The Siren! I am already clamoring for Katherine St. John’s next book.

2/13/21

149855098_5323638634320792_2195528480009275195_o

It’s a rainy day in Myrtle Beach, so that’s the perfect excuse to stay in bed a little late and read! It’s Eli here, reading Animal Farm and 1984 by George Orwell.

2/10/21

149306477_5309981592353163_9026147414727609646_o

It’s Eli and Oliver, reading the next book in Clive Cussler’s Oregon Files series, Piranha. Stop by The Bookworm this week and find the next book in your favorite series.

2/8/21

147671410_5301352339882755_5949455416248922470_o

Good Morning! Currently reading (and loving!) The Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica. Stop by The Bookworm and see me this week… We’re open Mon-Wed from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading!

REVIEW РThe Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica  indexindexindexindex111

Definitely my favorite Mary Kubica so far! I figured out some twists, and some twists completely took me by surprise.

I do think it needed to be edited some… it got a little repetitive at times and there was a lot of nonsense page filler that was wholly unnecessary to the story. I also felt like there was a lot of loose ends that didn’t receive a good explanation, but overall, I really enjoyed this book!

2/5/21

146616042_5288579147826741_740809194180961146_o

Hello Friday!! I’m still working on the bottom of my TBR pile, so I grabbed Anna Kendrick’s memoir, Scrappy Little Nobody. A Simple Favor and Pitch Perfect are in my movie queue at all times, and she’s always so funny, so I’m excited to get into it! Happy Reading bookworms!

REVIEW РScrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick   indexindexindex111111

I really like Anna Kendrick, and she always makes me laugh in interviews and on social media, but this book was just OK for me. Girl, talk about Pitch Perfect instead of your imaginary holiday celebtrations! I did enjoy the little Twilight chapter though.

Nothing earth shattering or surprising. Easy read.

2/2/21

146037937_5276032652414724_3251322251834458833_o

Eli here, reading The Ghosts of Eden Park by Karen Abbott. It’s about George Remus, the Bootleg King, during the roaring 20’s.

1/30/21

144546214_5263648503653139_14186074421547850_o

Next up! The 2nd book in the Deanna Madden trilogy by A.R. Torre, Do Not Disturb. Have a great weekend!

REVIEW РDo Not Disturb by A.R. Torre   indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 rounded up

This series is really twisted, but I enjoy it!! I really love Deanna, and I liked the alternating POV’s.

1/29/21

143879628_5259068454111144_5573769813311756162_o

Happy Friday!! I’m currently reading the final book in Elin Hilderbrand’s Paradise trilogy, Troubles in Paradise

REVIEW РTroubles in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand   indexindexindex111111

This trilogy started off so strong… I absolutely loved the first one. The second one was good, not great, and this one was just OK. I felt bored throughout.

1/24/21

142355561_5235852786432711_5729664486590734442_o

Currently reading Indecent by Corinne Sullivan. Enjoy your Sunday, bookworms!

REVIEW РIndecent by Corinne Sullivan   indexindexindex111111

Despite the less than stellar overall rating, I still wanted to read this book. It was mediocre… Just like the rating led me to believe ūüėÜ

1/22/21

141472129_5226576610693662_3717317129543466152_o

The Bookworm is OPEN and back to regular business hours! Dallas is manning the store, healthy and happy to help. Stop by and see him today and tomorrow from 10-7

I’m working on the bottom of my TBR pile… Currently reading Defy Me by Tahereh Mafi, the 5th book in the Shatter Me series.

Thanks for your patience this week while we had to close The Bookworm. I’ll see you all late next week when my quarantine is up. Stay healthy and happy reading!

REVIEW  РDefy Me by Tahereh Mafi  indexindexindex111111

I don’t know if I’m just over these books, or the second trilogy just isn’t as good as the original, but eh.

1/21/21

141474026_5221736541177669_545427911062372174_o

Quarantine: Day 5
We’ve exhausted our nurses
I’m starting Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson¬†and Eli is reading his go-to, Clive Cussler’s Mirage

Don’t forget that Dallas will be reopening The Bookworm tomorrow! Stay healthy, bookies!

1/20/21

140615327_5217993928218597_6800239773392676232_o

The Bookworm is currently closed. We will reopen on Friday.

For my next selection of quarantine reads, The Date by Louise Jensen

REVIEW РThe Date by Louise Jensen  indexindexindexindex111

This was my first book by Louise Jensen, and it won’t be my last!

Fast-paced, interesting, good characters. The twists were easy to figure out, but I still really enjoyed it!

Looking forward to reading more by her.

1/19/21

140238454_5212380285446628_3427106092203239513_o

Thanks to everyone for their thoughts and well wishes… Eli and I are thankfully just experiencing mild symptoms. We are spending a lot of time with our books at least! I’m currently reading People Like Her by Ellery Lloyd.

Dallas will reopen The Bookworm to regular business hours beginning on Friday! Stay healthy and happy reading!

REVIEW РPeople Like Her by Ellery Lloyd   indexindexindexindex111

I really enjoyed this book! Was Emmy awful? Absolutely. But as someone who pre-takes pictures and plans posts for social media at least a week in advance (check out my bookstore @thebookworm.mb!) there was a lot of truth to the story as well.

Social media is great and awful at the same time, and this book did such a good job of showing both side of it.

1/17/21

140374011_5204602152891108_7783542996360147388_o

Spent a little time on St. John yesterday with the 2nd book in Elin Hilderbrand’s Paradise series, What Happens in Paradise. Enjoy your day bookies and stop by and see us at The Bookworm next week!

REVIEW РWhat Happens in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand  indexindexindexindex111

While I didn’t love this one quite as much as the first one, it was enjoyable. I liked being able to read a little from Rosie’s perspective. Looking forward to the last book!

1/16/21

139683366_5198859113465412_7246775469856575796_o

Started reading Tales from the Hinterland by Melissa Albert yesterday, and it.is.perfect. If you loved The Hazel Wood as much as I did, you absolutely have to pick up this companion of dark fairy tales… Not only are the stories amazing, but the art and the illustrations inside the book by Jim Tierney are stunning!

REVIEW РTales of the Hinterland by Melissa Albert  indexindexindexindexindex

Absolutely perfect! The stories were great and the art and illustrations were stunning. Great companion novel to The Hazel Wood.

1/15/21

139572779_5194375533913770_8257350217866199771_n

Bookstores, Myrtle Beach, and murder… what’s not to love?! It’s Eli all day at The Bookworm, excited to start the newest book from one of Myrtle Beach’s local authors! Currently reading Death on the Boardwalk by Caleb Wygal. His book comes out February 2nd, so be sure to be on the lookout

1/12/21

139054151_5181836121834378_975937548640419236_o

I absolutely loved Hester Fox’s first novel, The Witch of Willow Hall, so I’m hoping I enjoy her follow up, The Widow of Pale Harbor, just as much!

REVIEW – The Widow of Pale Harbor indexindex111111111

For how much I loved The Witch of Willow Hall, this was a pretty bland and disappointing follow-up. It was sooooo repetitive. Yes, we know Gabriel misses Anna, yes, he didn’t think of the consequences of taking this job, yes he is here for his penance. Enough already.

This book was basically a bad case of insta-love with a little mystery and some Edgar Allan Poe references thrown in. Definitely not the 5 star read this author’s first book was.

I skimmed a lot towards the end because I just wanted it to be over. 2 very bored and unenthusiastic stars

1/11/21

137596303_5175814765769847_2802253632253958872_n

Happy Monday! Stop by The Bookworm this week to check out all the new stock we’ve gotten on the shelf! We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. I’m currently reading The Girls by Emma Cline, a fictional account of the Manson cult. Have a great week and stay safe!

REVIEW РThe Girls by Emma Cline   indexindexindexindexindex

Really great book! The writing reminded me of Julie Buntin and Chelsea Bieker (both of whom I love).

This book had been on my radar for awhile, but when I saw the rating I contemplated not picking it up. I’m so glad I did. You could feel the despair and loneliness of Evie, and see how easy it is for someone to get caught up in something so vile and bizarre like the group from the ranch.

I also liked how she slowly told you what happened the night of the murder and just left little sprinkles of details throughout the book… even the little snippets of what Evie’s life is currently were done really well.

Overall, great read. 5 stars!

1/9/21

137504074_5168175723200418_8830191218673079504_o

It’s Eli here today, I just started The Innocent by David Baldacci and I am loving it! I can’t wait to read the rest of Will Robie series.

1/8/21

137078419_5162423687108955_1129733501457695874_o

Wanted to start the year off with the book that has been on my TBR pile the longest! Currently reading Children of Virtue and Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi. Stop by The Bookworm today to grab some great new-to-you books! I’ll be there 10-7

REVIEW РChildren of Virtue and Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi   indexindexindexindex111

I was in a vicious cycle of putting off this book because I was afraid I had forgotten too much since the first one… which just led to letting more time pass and then forgetting more. This went on for over a year.

I should not have waited! While I may have enjoyed it more if I had read it closer to the first one, I still didn’t really feel like I forgot anything. She was able to pull me right back in the story, and it didn’t feel like I had read 200+ books inbetween.

That ending though!! When is the next one coming? It’s not soon enough!

1/6/21

136199924_5154953507855973_3190269332958483812_o

To anyone who drove past The Bookworm today and saw me in the middle of the parking lot taking pictures, it was for a good cause! Currently reading If He Had Been With Me by Laura Nowlin. Be safe with your bookstagram, friends

REVIEW РIf He Had Been With Me by Laura Nowlin   indexindex111111111

I’m really confused as to how this book has such a high rating. It was mundane and repetitious, the main character was annoying, and the writing wasn’t very good.

And I swear, if I knew she called him “Finny” I never would have picked up this book.

2 very bored and unethusiastic stars

1/5/21

136327711_5149049581779699_6761836328963909287_o

Good Morning! Currently reading Guilty by Laura Elliot 

REVIEW РGuilty by Laura Elliot   indexindexindexindex111

3.75 rounded up

I really liked this book until the stuff with the Plinks came in to the story… just all of a sudden the book went really left with hardly any explanation. I felt like I was missing a chunk of the story.

All around, an enjoyable book. And honestly, can you blame him?

1/3/21

135516499_5141512969200027_2006912069695884511_o

It’s Eli here, I thought I would try something different than Clive Cussler for a change, haha. Reading The North Water by Ian McGuire. It’s about a turn of the century whaling expedition that goes awry.

1/2/21

135472256_5137317219619602_7848163396831584030_o

The Bookworm is back to our regular business hours! Stop by and see Dallas today from 10-7. I’m spending my morning with White Ivy by Susie Yang and snuggling inside my new reading sweatshirt (my arms get cold!) Enjoy your day bookies, and push that diet until Monday

REVIEW РWhite Ivy by Susie Yang   indexindexindex111111

I was so excited for this book, but it was a snooooooze. The blurb made it seem suspenseful, but that was not the case.

1/1/21

135022029_5134879919863332_1198444476526302321_n

What a fantastic book to start my year off with! A giant thank you to Scholastic for sending me an advance copy of Muted by Tami Charles. Mark your calendars for February 2 and pick.up.this.book. 5 huge stars!  indexindexindexindexindex

12/30/20

134203453_5124311564253501_6416308743164648798_o

One last book for the year… Reading the upcoming release from Casey McQuiston, One Last Stop (thanks Heather!) The Bookworm will be open today and tomorrow from 10-5, closed on Friday, and then back to normal hours as of Saturday. Have a great day and stay safe out there!!

REVIEW РOne Last Stop by Casey McQuiston   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

This was a cute and unique story… I was really excited to read it after how much hype her first book got, but I honestly didn’t love it. I just never really connected with Jane and August.

What I liked:
All the side characters were amazing (the best part of the book, in my opinion) and how different and inclusive the cast was. This is not your typical rom-com book, which I loved.

What I didn’t like:
It was too long and it dragged at points. It took me way longer to read this book than it normally would… it also felt a little preachy at times.

Overall, I enjoyed it and will definitely read Red, White, and Royal Blue soon!

12/28/20

133709434_5116700061681318_5230967785077893314_o

The Bookworm will be open today-Thursday from 10-5! I’m enjoying some of my presents from under the tree… The Chicken Sisters by KJ Dell’Antonio, the always amazing Britney Spears, and an entire bag filled with nothing but the marshmallows from Lucky Charms. This is 40, I guess?! ūüėÜ Have a great day bookworms!

REVIEW – The Chicken Sisters by KJ Dell’Antonia¬†¬† indexindexindexindex111

What an adorable book to end my reading year on!

I really enjoyed it! Sometimes I was Team Amanda, sometimes I was Team Mae (and I was always team Andy.)

The end of the story dragged a little, but it ended just the way it should have.

12/26/20

133595915_5109023912448933_4859436421864771028_o

Good morning!! What books were under your tree yesterday? I got The Chicken Sisters by @kjda and White Ivy by @susieyyang. Currently finishing up the newest book from Karen McManus, The Cousins. Don’t forget that The Bookworm is closed until Monday… Happy Reading!

REVIEW РThe Cousins by Karen M McManus   indexindexindexindex111

Definitely not the suspense/mystery I have come to expect from this author, but I still enjoyed it!

12/23/20

132585569_5096436257041032_2408478085746276258_n

Today is the last day to stop by The Bookworm before Christmas! We will be closing at 5 and not opening again until Monday. This is Eli, finishing out my reading year with the last book in the Dexter series by Jeff Lindsay, Dexter is Dead. Happy Christmas Eve Eve!

12/22/20

132533700_5092383857446272_3934336718580270745_o

A super big thank you to William Morrow for sending me an advance copy of Joshilyn Jackson’s upcoming thriller, Mother May I! I absolutely loved her last book, Never Have I Ever, so I’m really excited to get into this one. Happy Reading bookworms!

REVIEW РMother May I by Joshilyn Jackson    indexindexindexindex111

I read this book in a little over a day because I couldn’t wait to see what happened next.

It did feel a little repetitive at times, but I enjoyed it! Not quite as much as her thriller from last year, Never Have I Ever, but there is no doubt that Joshilyn Jackson is talented and switched over from her original genre of books really well.

Can’t wait to see what she comes up with next!

12/20/20

132045314_5084284491589542_8475858275926725078_o

It’s cold, wet, and dreary in Myrtle Beach, so I’m going to spend the morning in bed with Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick. Enjoy your Sunday bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW РDangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick   indexindexindex111111

Let me preface this by saying that I’m 40 and I still read YA, so I’ll probably be harsher than most of the other reviews…

This book was just OK for me. The story with the Witness Protection was totally implausible, the instalove was eye-roll worthy, and her reasoning for everything at the end just annoyed me. That being said, it was still an easy read with a decent story. And I did love Chet.

3 stars

12/19/20

132001712_5079614005389924_945092996862712942_n

I have always been fascinated by the Wild West, so I was happy to have Wild Bill by Tom Clavin come through the door. I wish I would have read it before Cortney and I went to Deadwood a few years ago (which you should definitely check out if you’re ever in South Dakota). Here’s a few pictures I took while we were there

12/17/20

131930370_5072826962735295_8219919725456641136_o

Such a big fan of Shari Lapena… excited to start An Unwanted Guest! Happy Reading bookworms!

REVIEW РAn Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena   indexindexindexindex111

First half of the book was decent, but once I hit that middle point I could not put it down!! Shari Lapena never disappoints

12/16/20

131923715_5066856459999012_6002210897565589895_o

What did you all think of The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes?! I’m excited to be starting it!

REVIEW РThe Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins  indexindexindexindexindex

I was hesitant to read this because I was afraid I would be disappointed. But I was not! Her writing is still great, and I think she did such a wonderful job bringing us all back to Panem.

There were parts of the story that dragged, but overall, I though it was great.

Snow lands on top!

12/14/20

131290392_5058757487475576_4890961221088629706_o

Mixing it up a little and reading a travelogue… Lost on Planet China by J. Maarten Troost

REVIEW РLost on Planet China by J. Maarten Troost  indexindexindex111111

I loved Sex Lives of Cannibals… this one was just OK. I enjoyed the stories, but it felt like practically the same in every town or city he visited, and the history parts were hard to slog through.

12/13/20

131435935_5052775671407091_2886110313539622964_o

Tucking into a nice cuppa and Paula Daly’s Clear My Name. Enjoy your Sunday, we’ll see you next week! Stop by to grab some great new-to-you books, the perfect holiday gift for the bookworm on your list, or a gift certificate. The Bookworm is open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading!

REVIEW РClear My Name by Paula Daly   indexindexindex111111

12/12/20

131213112_5048184288532896_2567371097440336309_o

Joining the rest of my book friends and reading In a Holidaze by Christina Lauren. Happy Holidays bookworms!

REVIEW РIn a Holidaze by Christina Lauren   indexindexindex111111

Definitely my least favorite books of theirs…

I feel like there was a lot of loose ends. What about Theo? They alluded to some feeling on his part, but just never addressed it. What about the time loop? That just kind of went away. All the side characters were hard to keep track of, there was just so many. Why was there an Elise and a Lisa? I’m already confused enough because there are like 12 characters to keep track of.

Great idea, mediocre execution.

12/11/20

131437514_5043855805632411_4507214972303259663_n

Hey, it’s Eli. Still reading and loving Clive Cussler… on to The Silent Sea. Don’t forget that The Bookworm offers gift certificates and a ton of bookish gifts. Stop by and see us M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading!

12/9/20

131067939_5036918309659494_8004919484541644861_o

Penelope helped pick my next read!

REVIEW РThe Arrangement by Robyn Harding   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

I enjoyed it! Robyn Harding always comes up with these cool stories. It was a quick read, but definitely repetitive at times. Looking forward to picking up the next one

12/9/20

130698882_5033122040039121_400326545088490421_o

It’s been a quiet (and cold!) few days, so I’ve gotten to catch up on some reading… Excited to start the 27th installment in the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich, Fortune and Glory (Tantalizing Twenty-Seven)

REVIEW РFortune and Glory by Janet Evanovich    indexindexindexindex111

I need to start off by saying I am super annoyed that they changed the title format… there is absolutely no reason this book should be called Fortune and Glory. It is the 27th book in the Stephanie Plum series, period. “Don’t stray from the formula!”

Aside from the above, I really enjoyed this book. Laughed out loud a lot, enjoyed Potts as a new character. I continue to be Team Ranger.

“Here it is. You think you know someone and then next thing they tell you is that they want a Chihuahua named Chardonnay.”

Looking forward to the next one!

12/8/20

130904201_5031158546902137_1339846128349143091_o

Reading Heart Bones by Colleen Hoover today… Have a great day bookworms!

REVIEW РHeart Bones by Colleen Hoover   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

Decent story. I just was never really invested in the characters or their future. I feel like this book could have been written by any author… it was missing the Colleen Hoover sparkle I have come to love until the last 30 pages. Then it shined.

12/6/20

130279303_5023973450953980_3397407481499639257_n

Eli here… A friend suggested I read A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby, and so far I am not disappointed. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday bookworms

12/5/20

129642832_5019304508087541_8498565489463764228_o

I am a sucker for a great book cover, and this one may be my favorite yet! Currently reading Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

REVIEW РFuriously Happy by Jenny Lawson   indexindexindexindexindex

Absolutely adored this book. It was hard to read at times and it felt so familiar at times too. It also brought an understanding to mental illness that I didn’t have before, and most importantly, it made me laugh. I can’t wait to read her other books… and adopt her “furiously happy” stance.

12/4/20

129843129_5014370158580976_1950281333122065074_o

It’s Eli, your official bookworm for the day. Reading up on the history of craft beer in America with The Audacity of Hops by Tom Acitelli. Stop by The Bookworm to talk about books or beer with me today from 10-7

12/3/20

129522514_5009217269096265_1038403911688122298_o

Can you believe it’s December 3rd already?! Excited to start The Ravens by Danielle Paige and Kass Morgan today… I’ll be at The Bookworm from 10-7, so stop by to grab some great books, get recommendations, or find the perfect gift for the bookworm in your life!

REVIEW РThe Ravens by Kass Morgan and Danielle Paige   indexindexindexindex111

Enjoyable YA story. Liked all the characters. Wish we had gotten more into the history of the Ravens. Looking forward to the next one!

12/2/20

129601941_5004699396214719_8070754462299340808_o

Good morning bookies! I’m reading Circe by Madeline Miller today. Stay tuned this afternoon to see all the winners from our Small Business Saturday giveaways!

REVIEW РCirce by Madeline Miller   indexindexindexindexindex

Absolutely outstanding

Totally worthy of all the hype… if this book interests you, pick it up now. You will not regret it!

12/1/20

128994016_5000104446674214_2922844480049011400_o

I’ve been reading the first book in Elin Hilderbrand’s Paradise series, Winter in Paradise, and I love it!! Special thanks to Tracie at Mimi and Cici for this adorable Christmas at the Beach sign. Did you know we sell her designs at The Bookworm? They’re the perfect holiday gift for the bookworm in your life! Check out her Etsy shop, Mimi and Cici, for all the cute things she has available!

REVIEW РWinter in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand   indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 rounded up!

I loved Elin’s Winter Street series, and the Paradise series did not disappoint! I purposely waited until the final book came out to grab the first one, and now I can’t wait to start the second. Really enjoyed this one

11/30/20

128843232_4995017747182884_4820099208540407826_o

Grand Strand Humane Society is in desperate need of towels, sheets, and blankets. Please take a minute to go through closets and donate! If you bring your donations to The Bookworm this week (Nov 30-Dec 5) you can have a free mystery book on us!

I’m starting Pupcakes (can we talk about this cover?!) by Annie England Noblin today. Please think about all the unwanted pets out there and adopt don’t shop!

REVIEW РPupcakes by Annie England Noblin   indexindexindex111111

Really cute story, but I just didn’t like the MC. Loved all the other characters (especially Teddy!), but Brydie really got on my nerves. I am also obsessed with this cover.

Solid 3 stars

11/29/20

128662949_4991144337570225_5037464679524774452_o

Thanks to everyone who stopped by The Bookworm yesterday to celebrate Small Business Saturday! Eli here, on to the third book in the original Thrawn Trilogy. Still loving this story as much now as I did 25 years ago.

11/27/20

128217284_4977173842300608_6280271366074293893_o

I got a belly full of turkey and mashed potatoes, so that means it’s officially Christmas Season! Spending my evening with John Grisham’s Skipping Christmas. Don’t forget to stop by The Bookworm on Small Business Saturday for great deals, freebies, and tons of giveaways!

REVIEW – Skipping Christmas by John Grisham indexindexindex111111

One of the few instances where the movie is better than the book… the book was missing the humor I had come to love.

11/25/20

127517813_4969585546392771_7766729223653048114_o

Happy Thanksgiving Eve! The Bookworm will be open from 10-5 today, so stop by and grab some great books to read over the holiday! I’ll be starting Little Cruelties by Liz Nugent.

REVIEW РLittle Cruelties by Liz Nugent  indexindex111111111

This was a rough read for me. It was a story of a dysfunctional family, not the suspenseful thriller I was expecting.

It was split up in 3 parts, each one was one of the brothers POV. But every other chapter or so it jumped forward or backwards a number of years. This was wholly unnecessary and confusing. Plus, I hated everyone except for Luke, who just made me sad.

Honestly, I was glad when it was over.

11/22/20

126430040_4965065143511478_695492315511808187_n

I have recently started a love affair with Noble Cider (it’s magic!) If you see it at the store or a restaurant, absolutely give it a try. Currently reading The Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert (but not drinking cider out of my Pivot glass because it’s 7 am on a Tuesday) Have a great day bookworms and happy reading!

11/21/20

126837614_4951758108175515_3611441352291500501_o

Finally got my hot little hands on Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia. Have a great weekend bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW РMexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down

Cool story, was a little hard to get into at the beginning. I loved it from about page 50 until the secret was revealed, and then it went downhill for me. I also wasn’t really a big fan of her writing style, which is why I rounded down instead of up.

I still enjoyed the uniqueness of the story and that cover is absolutely stunning!

11/18/20

126286340_4938198859531440_7229538335662253245_n

Our latest covid binge show is One Tree Hill, so it felt like the perfect time to pick up Hilarie Burton’s memoir, The Rural Diaries. Next to the book is my latest Furrybones (Eli gets me one every year for Halloween)

REVIEW РThe Rural Diaries by Hilarie Burton Morgan   indexindexindexindex111

Our latest covid binge has been One Tree Hill, so it felt like the perfect time to pick up this book.

I did feel like there was some filler to hit the page limit, and at times it felt like she was a little sanctimonious about allllll she does (yes, we all realize you are the farm version of Wonder Woman) but I do feel like she was really honest and genuine about the things she talked about.

Personally, I wished there was more about her earlier life and acting, but I know that wasn’t what this book was going to be about.

Overall, I enjoyed this book, and I like her even more after reading it.

11/20/20

126522242_4947010328650293_259636003943341545_o

Hellooo Friday! I’m (finally) reading (and loving) Darling Rose Gold by Stephanie Wrobel which has been on my radar forever. Stop by The Bookworm today and tomorrow from 10-7 and grab some amazing books you’ve been dying to read!

REVIEW РDarling Rose Gold by Stephanie Wrobel   indexindexindexindexindex

I have a weird fascination with this kind of story, and I was glued to the news story about Gypsy Rose, so this book was totally up my alley! I loved the two different POV’s… Really, really enjoyed this book!

11/16/20

125815677_4928884490462877_5090247413176074679_o

Good morning! I started You Were There Too by Colleen Oakley yesterday, and I am loving it so far! Stop by The Bookworm this week and let us help you find your next favorite read. We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. See you soon and happy reading!

REVIEW РYou Were There Too by Colleen Oakley  indexindexindexindexindex

I loved this book! I’m mad at myself for letting it languish in my TBR pile for so long.

Good writing, great story, wonderful characters. I laughed a little, I cried a little, and I changed my mind a lot about who she belonged with.

Absolutely recommend!

11/14/20

125394785_4919685431382783_285703101866430788_n

It’s an Eli post – decided to branch out from my usual type of book and start the Arc of a Scythe trilogy by Neal Shusterman

11/12/20

124623133_4912117288806264_4600626379507888620_o

We couldn’t pick, so you get a double dose of doggie cuteness! Currently reading the 3rd book in the Bromance Book Club series by Lyssa Kay Adams, Crazy Stupid Bromance. Stay dry Myrtle Beach!

REVIEW – Crazy Stupid Bromance by Lyssa Kay Adamsindexindexindexindexindex

Absolutely adorable. Loved it and can’t wait for the next installment!

11/10/20

124918657_4901748843176442_2139690354016603057_o

“The worms crawl in, the worms crawl out…”
My brother and I were obsessed with these stories when we were younger! Going to trip down memory lane this afternoon and reread all The Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark by Alvin Schwartz. Don’t forget that we sell some amazing candles from
Novelly Yours at The Bookworm!

11/9/20

124581428_4895873873763939_2149263657097896166_o

And so begins a new week! I’ll be reading the latest book in the Will Trent series by Karin Slaughter, The Silent Wife, all day at The Bookworm. Stop by from 10-5 and check out all the new books we got on the shelf!

REVIEW РThe Silent Wife by Karin Slaughter  indexindexindexindexindex

4.5 stars rounded up

Great story with characters that I have come to love over the past 19 years. Can’t wait to see what comes next for Will and Sara!

11/8/20

124379755_4891954804155846_6387050909721193091_o

“That’s why her hair is so big, it’s full of secrets.”¬†Reading Bunny by Mona Awad and enjoying one of Gretchen Wieners toaster strudels. What a way to start the day!

REVIEW РBunny by Mona Awad   indexindexindex111111

Let me start off by saying I dig weird… and I knew before I picked up this book that was what I was going to get. I’m just not sure if it was an enjoyable weird.

There were times I couldn’t wait to see what happened next, and times when I was counting down the pages I had left.

I finished it hours ago and I’m still not wholly sure how I feel about it. Definitely glad I read it, but it’s not one I will pick up again. I’m just going to go with it was good, and middle of the road it with 3 stars.

11/6/20

124043134_4881577301860263_3584064830361859928_o

Happy Friday bookworms! I am currently reading The Lucky Ones by Tiffany Reisz

REVIEW РThe Lucky Ones by Tiffany Reisz  indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

This book was pretty good! The mystery aspect was more of a B storyline compared to Allison and her life. I wish it had been the other way around, I really wanted more mystery and intrigue.

Still a quick and enjoyable read.

11/5/20

123764515_4877104378974222_3826596844467839697_n

It’s your favorite back-up bookworm, Eli, reading the next book in Clive Cussler’s Oregon Files series, Corsair. The Bookworm will be open 10-7 the rest of the week, so stop by and stock up!

11/3/20

123741457_4868257573192236_2966174393910050625_o

Jumping back into J.R. Ward’s world of the Black Dagger Brotherhood and reading the 14th book in the series, The Beast

REVIEW РThe Beast by J.R. Ward   indexindexindex111111

I’ve been reading this series since my 20s, though much less often in the past few years (I think I’m 5 books behind). Honestly, I’m not sure if I’ve just outgrown the series or the books aren’t as good as they used to be.

I can definitively say that The Beast was too long… way too long. The last 200 pages were pretty good, but the first 300 should have been condensed.

I’m just going to go middle of the road and rate it 3 stars

11/1/20

123448508_4859133194104674_2906692583365974380_o

Hello November!
Using the extra hour this morning (I woke up soooo early!) to stay in bed with Mine by Courtney Cole. Enjoy your day bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW РMine by Courtney Cole   indexindexindexindex111

Quick, easy, and enjoyable! A little farfetched at times, but I still really liked it.

10/31/20

123435227_4855428264475167_4011672855060051679_o

I ended up picking Horrid by Katrina Leno as my next read and I lovvvveedd it! Perfect book for Halloween

REVIEW РHorrid by Katrina Leno   indexindexindexindexindex

LOVED this book! It was creepy, it was weird, and that ending ūüė≥ūüė≥ūüė≥

Cannot wait to see what this author writes next!

10/29/20

123146209_4845074622177198_8730792578414183978_o

Thanks to Riveted By Simon Teenfor sending me an advance copy of Jenna Evans Welch’s upcoming release, Love & Olives! I’ve been reading a lot of dark and heavy books lately, so this is exactly what I’m in the mood for. I’ll be reading this all day at The Bookworm, stop by from 10-7 to find your next favorite book (or to pick up one of these adorable pins)

10/27//20

122988819_4835518066466187_533579657901472445_o

I read The Roanoke Girls last year, and even though it was one of the most disturbing books I’ve read, I still really enjoyed it!! About to start Amy Engel’s latest book, The Familiar Dark. Have a great day bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW РThe Familiar Dark by Amy Engel  indexindexindex111111

This book isn’t what I thought it was going to be… It’s packaged as a mystery/thriller, but it’s more about a dysfunctional family in a poor town. The death of the two girls is definitely the B (if not C) story line.

It was good, but it wasn’t what I was looking for. Definitely check out The Roanoke Girls by this author.

10/26/20

123013845_4830901660261161_2176719139239656065_o

Just a few announcements – The Bookworm will be open 10-5 on Saturday (Halloween) and will continue to require masks inside the store for the foreseeable future.

I am starting Tell Me Lies by Carola Lovering today. Stop by The Bookworm this week and grab some great new-to-you reads!

REVIEW РTell me Lies by Carola Lovering  indexindex111111111

Do not be fooled by this gorgeous cover. This book was rough.

I started off decently interested in these characters, I mean, who hasn’t wasted their time on an awful relationship with a person that doesn’t deserve you? But by page 200, I literally hated everyone.

The incident between Lucy and her mom would be upsetting to anyone, but Lucy took it to such an extreme that you didn’t even feel any sympathy for her. And I love a good villain, but Stephen was such a piece of shit, I wanted him to get hit by a cab or fall on the subway track.

Ugh, really wish I hadn’t wasted my time with this book. 1.5 rounded up (I guess)

10/24/20

122789025_4821875147830479_5098765496494324397_o

Drac and I spent some time reading The Suspect on the porch yesterday afternoon (in the shade, of course). It’s the latest book in Fiona Barton’s series about reporter Kate Waters. Enjoy your weekend bookies and happy reading!

REVIEW РThe Suspect by Fiona Barton   indexindexindex111111

This series is hit or miss for me… The Widow was only 2 stars, but The Child was 4. The Suspect landed in the middle. It was a 3.25 overall (a little better than a 3, but not worthy of rounding up to 4)

I don’t know if it was the location, the characters, or the mystery, but it all was just kind of fell flat for me. Still held my interest and I finished it in a few days. Will definitely still read the next one in the series.

10/22/20

122456521_4812500352101292_382168710079947157_n

Eli posting today. I’m reading the second installment of Timothy Zahn’s original Thrawn trilogy. Who else has a well worn book that you can not seem to part with or replace?

10/20/20

122320054_4803489786335682_8954876784355327418_o

Happy Pub Day to Jennifer Donnelly and her newest book, Poisoned! It’s a Snow White retelling that I can’t wait to read. Special thanks to Scholastic for sending me a copy! I absolutely loved her book Stepsister, so I’ll be reading this allllll day at The Bookworm. Stop by from 10-5 and find a book you’ve been dying to read too.

REVIEW РPoisoned by Jennifer Donnelly   indexindexindex111111

I wanted to love Poisoned as much as I loved Stepsister… Unfortunately it was a mediocre follow-up.

I just couldn’t connect with the story or the characters. There were definitely some shining moments, and Jennifer Donnelly just has this incredible ability to craft sentences that bring tears to my eyes, but this Snow White retelling with just not for me.

11/19/20

122145491_4799218533429474_7323650627387008767_o

It’s a beautiful Fall morning in Myrtle Beach, so I’m enjoying a little tea and my book on the porch before my day starts. Currently reading Fallout, the 3rd book in the Crank series by Ellen Hopkins.

REVIEW РFall Out by Ellen Hopkins  indexindexindex111111

Good ending to a sad trilogy. The prose writing style is not for me, but I read the first two in the series, and really wanted to see how everything ended. I got a little confused between Summer and Autumn, but I really enjoyed the 3 different POV’s. Definitely my favorite book of the series.

11/18/20

122010132_4794901663861161_1314122891616734934_o

Joining the rest of book community and reading The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab. Enjoy your Sunday bookworms!

REVIEW РThe Invisible Life of Addie Larue by V.E. Schwab   indexindexindexindexindex

Honestly, V.E. Schwab can do no wrong in my life. She even made me love her Shades of Magic series which is totally not my type of book.

This book was no different. I loved it. Loved the characters, the different timelines, the story, the setting, all of it.

10/14/20

121567565_4777198612298133_6462716142735259553_o

Eli post. The bookworm life is just my back up profession, my full-time job is selling beer for a bunch of craft breweries that I represent. Currently reading Business for Punks by James Watt, the owner of Brewdog.

10/13/20

121535765_4772197919464869_7482630003143078064_o

Can we just talk a minute about how stunning this cover is?! Finally picking up Fable by Adrienne Young. Special thanks to Wednesday Books for choosing me as one of the winners of the preorder incentive! Love my tote and the candle is delicious 

REVIEW РFable by Adrienne Young   indexindexindexindexindex

Absolutely loved this book and the characters! I had only finished the first 2 chapters when I preordered the sequel. Definitely pick up this book, you’ll be happy you did!

10/12/20

121334381_4766906783327316_1028691473901918375_o

Beyond excited that I received an advance copy of Kristin Hannah‘s new book, The Four Winds!! A huge thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending it my way! Mark your calendars now, The Four Winds comes out February 9th. Have a great week bookworms, and happy reading!

REVIEW РThe Four Winds by Kristin Hannah   indexindexindex111111

This was one long, bleak, depressing book.

The Four Winds is my 3rd book by Kristin Hannah, and my least favorite… by a lot. The Nightingale and The Great Alone were not about happy subjects, but there was an amazing story and wonderful characters in them. Both things that I think The Four Winds is lacking.

The book started to pick up around page 300, and the magical writing I have come to expect from Kristin Hannah appeared in the last 30 pages, but it wasn’t enough to change my overall rating.
3 unenthusiastic stars.

10/11/20

121339824_4762363877114940_970102887744632779_n

Thanks to everyone who came out for The Bookworm’s sidewalk sale yesterday!! Today, I’m trying my first audio book, and listening to Mindy Kaling’s new collection of essays, Nothing Like I Imagined. Happy Reading!

10/9/20

121093922_4751589864859008_2076967375654324794_o

A new season of Schitt’s Creek and a book I’ve been dying to read? Sounds like I’ll be splitting my time between the Rosebud Motel and the Sun Down Motel this weekend!

REVIEW РThe Sun Down Motel by Simone St. James   indexindexindexindex111

Great book! I loved the spooky/ghost aspects of it, but I wanted more explanation/wrap-up at the end with the with ghosts. I feel like it needed more closure.

10/8/20

121108632_4746558105362184_4318927211537840739_o

Started The Mother-in-Law by Sally Hepworth last night, and I am loving it! Have a great day bookworms, and don’t forget about our $5 bag of books sidewalk sale coming up THIS SATURDAY

REVIEW РThe Mother-in-Law by Sally Hepworth   indexindexindexindex111

The Mother-in-Law has been on my radar for months, so glad I finally picked it up! It was my first Sally Hepworth, and it definitely won’t be my last

10/6/20

121017458_4734849203199741_858969279331859227_o

I’m currently reading Heart of Stone, the final book in Kelly Keaton’s Gods and Monsters series. Don’t forget our $5 bag of books sidewalk sale coming up on Saturday from 9-1!

REVIEW РHeart of Stone by Kelly Keaton   indexindexindexindex111

While I enjoyed having another book in this series, I don’t feel like a whole lot happened to further the story? And it ended on another cliffhanger, but there isn’t another book coming…

Still liked it, love the characters and the world of New 2. Crossing my fingers we get another book in the series!

10/5/20

120946703_4731900466827948_6437931131315027518_o

Eli post – Cortney said I can’t add Gordon Ramsay’s Great Escape to my Goodreads unless I cook my way through it, so here’s the first 3 recipes. Happy eating!¬†

10/3/20

120727816_4718001084884553_4306695108030017210_o

I’m so excited that I finally got my hot little hands on a copy of The Last Widow by Karin Slaughter. I’ll be spending my day devouring this!

REVIEW РThe Last Widow by Karin Slaughter   indexindexindexindexindex

Fantastic book! Just further evidence on why Karin Slaughter is one of my favorite authors.

10/1/20

120558960_4707429622608366_9147835301085418716_o

Hello October!
I’m starting Heather Gudenkauf’s newest book, This is How I Lied. Have a great day and happy reading!

REVIEW РThis is How I Lied by Heather Gudenkauf   indexindexindexindex111

Really good book! Took a little bit to get into, and it was repetitive at times, but I really enjoyed it! I thought everyone was guilty at one point, which is definitely a sign of a good story, especially for someone like me who reads so many suspense novels. I also read The Weight of Silence by this author and enjoyed that one too.

9/29/20

120348892_4696576937026968_807100653855339938_o

Hello Tuesday! I’m currently reading A Danger to Herself and Others by Alyssa Sheinmel

REVIEW РA Danger to Herself and Others by Alyssa Sheinmel   indexindexindexindex111

I love a story with an unreliable narrator, and A Danger to Herself and Others was no exception! Right at the beginning, Hannah tells you that she is lying about something inconsequential, so I spent the rest of the book questioning everything she stated as fact… which I’m sure was the author intended. Really good story and writing!

9/27/20

120260475_4686564248028237_1808680207226124406_o

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett was one of my favorite books as a child, so I’m revisiting Misselthwaite Manor with Mary today. indexindexindexindexindex

9/26/20

120199066_4680834871934508_7576213667764033496_o

Currently reading Two Truths and a Lie by Meg Mitchell Moore. Stop by The Bookworm today from 10-7 to grab some great books to read over the weekend!

REVIEW РTwo Truths and a Lie by Meg Mitchell Moore   indexindex111111111

Honestly? I think this book was a mess… waaaayyy too many characters to keep track of, the entire format was confusing, and I wasn’t thrilled nor surprised about anything that happened. Don’t be fooled by this gorgeous cover, it was mediocre at best.

10/25/20

120155096_4676421135709215_1033683137666114347_o

First time getting my hair done in months and I could not feel safer! If you’re looking for a new salon, check out @lauraandcosalon. Well-deserved winner of Best of the Grand Strand (again!) Currently reading Bitter End by Jennifer Brown.

REVIEW РBitter End by Jennifer Brown   indexindex111111111

Serious subject, but bad writing and terrible characters.

9/24/20

120130874_4669708706380458_8700952088549847257_o

Hey all you cool cats and kittens, Eli here. Taking over today and rereading Timothy Zahn’s original Star Wars Thrawn trilogy. It’s been 25 years since the first time I read this series. How often do you reread your favorite books?

9/23/20

120089690_4664144653603530_3377307703913126335_n

Good morning bookies! I am reading Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin… I have loved the other books I’ve read by her (Teenage Amnesiac, Young Jane Young, and especially the Birthright trilogy) so I’m looking forward to diving into this one. Have a great day!

REVIEW РElsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin   indexindex111111111

Eh, this was just OK for me. I’ve read 5 other books of hers that I really loved, but this one was unremarkable. 2 stars

9/21/20

120048463_4653205468030782_4477470794683553044_o

How quickly Monday rolls around again… Hope everyone enjoyed their weekend! I’m reading the final book in the Heirs of Watson Island Trilogy by Martina Boone, Illusion. Happy Reading!

REVIEW РIllusion by Martina Boone  indexindexindex111111

Eh, this was OK. Honestly after how much I loved the first one, both #2 and #3 in this trilogy were lackluster, disappointing, and boring.

9/20/20

119961976_4648873121797350_9037890503295248942_o

A big thank you to @harperperennial for sending me an advance copy of Santa Monica by Cassidy Lucas!!

9/19/20

119783416_4642872905730705_2757958062374164027_o

The Halloween decorations are down from the attic, so now I need a good book to get me in the spirit! Currently reading My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix

REVIEW – My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix¬†¬† indexindexindexindex111

This book had a 5 star rating until the murder of the dog. That’s too much for me.

I also wish we had more of an idea why and how this all happened. Personally, I need a good explanation. The vague reasoning was really unsatisfying.

Still a really great book that kept me on the edge until the end.

9/18/20

119706947_4637705282914134_5836312355045823421_n

It’s your favorite backup bookworm Eli, reading the next book in Clive Cussler’s Oregon Files, Plague Ship.

9/16/20

119488797_4627146273970035_3722325177958255493_o

Good morning bookworms! I am reading the latest book in the Tradd Street series by Karen White, The Christmas Spirits on Tradd Street ūüéĄūüéĄūüéĄ Have a great day and Happy Reading!

REVIEW РThe Christmas Spirits on Tradd Street by Karen White   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down

I’ve really enjoyed this series, but I feel like it’s the same thing over and over and over again… Everyone keeps sweets away from Melanie. Melanie and Sophie just make fun of each other’s clothes. Melanie and Jack continue to lie and keep things from each other. Melanie is in a snit over something. It’s gotten old. If there wasn’t just 1 book left in the series, I honestly don’t know if I’d continue with it…

9/13/20

119457354_4613262605358402_7876938555513262915_o

Hope everyone has enjoyed their weekend! I’m spending the afternoon with Shari Lapena’s Someone We Know. She never disappoints! ‚ė†ÔłŹūüĒ®‚ė†ÔłŹ

REVIEW РSomeone We Know by Shari Lapena   indexindexindexindex111

Shari Lapena never disappoints! I love her writing style and the character building she does. Even though I figured out the circumstances and who killed Amanda pretty early on, I still really enjoyed this book. I started it on a Sunday morning and read it until I was finished. Can’t wait to read her new one!

9/11/20

119165735_4601025333248796_2962156668003724904_n

Happy Friday! I’m reading Shamed by Linda Castillo, the newest book in the Kate Burkholder series, and enjoying one of the new Novelly Yours candles we are adding to The Bookworm! Is there anything better than a good book and a yummy candle?!

REVIEW РShamed by Linda Castillo   indexindexindex111111

I’ve dipped into this series a few times, and always really, really enjoyed them. So when the newest book came into the store, I knew I wanted to read it before it made it’s way on the shelf.

Unfortunately, it was disappointing. I knew exactly what the circumstances were and who did the kidnapping right from the beginning. Kate knew it too, but it was always just a little out of reach for her to verbalize it. She also just kept letting witnesses clam up, even though a little girl had been kidnapped. It was frustrating. But without her letting them off the hook repeatedly, we wouldn’t have had an extra 4 murders, and therefore wouldn’t have had the book.

Definitely a stretch that this is how a seasoned Chief of Police would actually act in this situation

9/9/20

119069935_4591423867542276_5288057717194333136_o

Excited to be starting The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna by Juliet Grames. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this book!
REVIEW РThe Seven or Eight Deaths of Stell Fortuna by Juliet Grames   indexindexindexindex111

I really, really enjoyed this book! It definitely wasn’t the type of book you can fly through in a day, but it was a great story spanning the entire life of Stella Fortuna.

I also enjoyed the format the author used, telling the story from her granddaughter’s perspective.

Great book!

9/8/20

119020014_4584951388189524_2066554045926753919_o

Good morning bookworms! I’m currently reading Broken Beautiful Hearts by Kami Garcia ūüíó

REVIEW РBroken Beautiful Hearts by Kami Garcia    indexindexindexindex111

Kami Garcia never disappoints…

While I didn’t love Broken Beautiful Hearts quite as much as The Lovely Reckless, it was still great! Peyton got on my nerves (which is probably why this is a 4 and not a 5 star review), but the rest of the characters were all perfection. Especially Owen and the twins. Can the twins get a spin-off please?

Really enjoyed this book!

9/7/20

118928605_4579849715366358_905569971233567851_n

**The Bookworm is OPEN from 10-5** Happy Labor Day! Eli here – reading the book one of my favorite movies is based on, The Princess Bride by William Goldman. Did you like the book or the movie better?

9/6/20

118963336_4576385315712798_8797770819073285404_o

I’ve been making my way through all of Colleen Hoover’s books… So far, it’s a tie between November 9 and Confess as my favorite ūüíó Currently reading It Ends With Us. Which one did you love best?

REVIEW РIt Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover   indexindexindexindexindex

Oh my heart!

I’ve been making my way through all of Colleen Hoover’s books… this might just be my new favorite.

Amazing writing, as always. Absolutely loved the characters and both story lines.

Excuse me while I go redo my eye makeup

9/5/20

118845031_4569616839722979_3084805375432579130_o

Hope you all have a fun and safe holiday weekend! I’ll be reading The Guest List by Lucy Foley. The Bookworm will be open regular business hours today and Monday… Stop by and see us!

REVIEW РThe Guest List by Lucy Foley    indexindexindex111