Now Reading, Reviews, and Recommendations

7/15/19

66729615_3061862217165123_3944162523405615104_n

🌞Good Morning🌞 I enjoyed the last Karen White book so much, I had to grab the 2nd in the series off the shelf before it sold 🤗 Stop by The Bookworm all week from 10-7 (11-6 on Sunday) to get some great new-to-you books!!

 

7/15/19

REVIEW – Before We Were Strangers by Brenda Novak   indexindexindex111111

This was my first Brenda Novak book, and probably my last.

The story was good, the writing not so much. I lost track of how many times I rolled my eyes… I actually put it down about 30 pages in because I thought the writing was going to annoy me too much.

I ended up picking it back up and read it in a day. Quick, easy read, good story, but pretty bad writing.

 

7/14/19

66482144_3059264367424908_3917793996893585408_n

 

7/13/19

REVIEW – Wilder Girls by Rory Power   indexindexindexindexindex

Wilder Girls was super weird, kind of gross, and I totally loved it. Great story, great characters, and really great writing. And that cover! 😍😍😍

Can we pretty please have a sequel?

 

7/12/19

66486083_3053822474635764_947821779542343680_n

 

7/10/19

REVIEW – Luck, Love, and Lemon Pie by Amy Reichert   indexindexindex111111

 

7/9/19

REVIEW – In Her Skin by Kim Savage   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down to 3 because I think the book had so much unused potential.

I think the story idea was great, the characters were great, but the book as a whole was just OK for me.

 

7/9/19

66647098_3045706488780696_7403268405521809408_n

Which book has been on your TBR pile the longest? I’ve had Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa sitting there since October… Finally starting it now!

 

7/7/19

66406276_3040409889310356_2877214590343577600_n

Starting In Her Skin by Kim Savage, my 2nd book by her (I loved After the Woods). Have a great day bookworms!

 

7/6/19

REVIEW – Becoming by Michelle Obama   indexindexindexindex111

I liked Michelle Obama before I read this, and I still like her after I’m done.

I think it’s really well-written and very genuine. It took me awhile to get through, it’s not a book I could have flown through in a day or two, but I really enjoyed it.

 

7/5/19

66251896_3035265386491473_8437311902639456256_n

I hope everyone had a great 4th of July!! I’m starting Luck, Love, & Lemon Pie by Amy E. Reichert 🍋🍋🍋

 

7/4/19

REVIEW – The House on Tradd Street by Karen White   indexindexindexindex111

Great book with great characters… looking forward to reading the rest of the series!

 

 

7/1/19

66009988_3024603090891036_8882640092145909760_o

Thanks to everyone who came out to The Bookworm to help us celebrate our 1 Year Anniversary!! We still don’t have a winner for our Instagram contest, so make sure you give it a guess! 💜

I’m finally starting my first Karen White book, The House on Tradd Street. Happy Reading!

 

7/1/19

REVIEW – The Spite Game by Anna Snoekstra   indexindex111111111

Yeah, this book was not great.

The blurb sounded fantastic, and I decided to read it despite it’s OK rating. I shouldn’t have.

The constantly changing timelines were super confusing. If you’re going to jump back and forth and forward and back again, you need to at least give the reader SOME idea of what year you’re in. It was so disjointed and confusing. That on top of a very lackluster revenge scheme made me wish I hadn’t bothered with it.

 

6/30/19

65856905_3022678094416869_4829166884370776064_o

Hey bookworms, it’s Eli. I’m reading book 6 in the Dan Shambles, Zombie P.I. series, Tastes Like Chicken 🐔🐔🐔

 

6/28/19

65759117_3016910231660322_8045731122853707776_o

Michelle O is lovely, but I need a little something else to read today… I’ll take a serving of revenge with The Spite Game by Anna Snoekstra 🖤 “Everyone does bad things when no one is watching.

 

6/26/19

65219926_3011650662186279_5382530127190032384_n

Finally!!! So excited to start Becoming by Michelle Obama.

 

6/25/19

REVIEW – Someone Knows by Lisa Scottoline   indexindexindex111111

Someone Knows was good, but not great.

There was a lot of unnecessary words and descriptions in the book… it probably would have been a good 50 pages shorter if the editor had cut all the needless babble out.

I did have a hard time keeping track of who the parents were… I had to give myself a little cheat sheet to keep them all straight.

At the heart of it, it was a good story. Solid 3 stars

 

6/24/19

65319542_3006300806054598_8168640786078892032_o

Hey bookworms, Eli here. I’m a huge fan of the show Psych, so when I saw this book, I couldn’t resist spending some time with Shawn and Gus.

 

6/23/19

65307841_3004021562949189_7142496090300874752_n

A banana daiquiri and Lisa Scottoline’s newest book… Sounds like a good Sunday to me! Happy Reading!

 

6/23/19

REVIEW – Wicked Saints by Emily Duncan   indexindex111111111

Ooof, this was a rough one. I was so excited to read this book, but I am really disappointed.

My biggest issue was the ridiculous made up names. I couldn’t pronounce them, I couldn’t keep anyone straight, and there were entirely too many z’s thrown about. That coupled with the made up territories and the made up language added up to a completely confusing and an almost totally unenjoyable book. The fact that there was a reference guide created to go along with a YOUNG ADULT book to help readers keep everyone and everything straight says it all.

I do think there was a good story in there, and I really did love Serafin, but I will definitely not be continuing with the series 😢

 

6/21/19

64804662_2997484243602921_8638507347813072896_n

Yea! I have been dying to read Wicked Saints by Emily Duncan… starting it now! 🖤🗡️🖤

 

6/21/19

REVIEW – Gimme Some Sugar by Molly Harper   indexindexindexindex111

Super cute and funny… absolutely love all these characters!

 

6/20/19

64826621_2994748913876454_464312576314966016_n

I started Gimme Some Sugar by Molly Harper yesterday (the 3rd book in The Southern Eclectic Series) and it has me dreaming about sweet treats… Thankfully the new ice cream shop, Flavors, just opened up a few doors down from The Bookworm! Stop by from 10-7 to beat the heat with some awesome books and then some delicious ice cream 🍦 📖🍦

 

6/19/19

REVIEW – Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent   indexindexindexindex111

Very dark and twisty

Liz Nugent has a way of writing these demented characters, and Lydia takes the cake (man, she is terrible). I really liked the 3 different POV’s and that ending!

 

6/18/19

REVIEW – Ghosted by Rosie Walsh   indexindexindexindexindex

I read this book in a day… I just had to know what happened with Eddie!

I got to say, I was with Sarah for the first half of the book. We’ve all been there, right? But then she lost me. Continuing to message him and then to show up at the soccer game was just too much. A grown-ass woman should not behave that way. That’s when I started to get annoyed with her. And to be so obsessed that she lets everything else in her life get messed. That’s the behavior of a 16 year girl with her first love… not an adult.

BUT my annoyance was short-lived because the story took a turn I was not expecting! Great twist, great ending. I felt all different kinds of ways reading this book. I did wish there was more of a wrap-up at the end though.

4.5 stars rounded up! Great read!

 

6/18/19

64672591_2989263107758368_4987115290228686848_o

I’m starting Ghosted this morning by Rosie Walsh… Have a great day and Happy Reading!

 

6/17/19

REVIEW – Once and For All by Sarah Dessen   indexindexindexindexindex

This was my first Sarah Dessen book and I loved it!!

The characters were great, the backstory was well-told and heartbreaking, and I adored the idea of a jaded wedding planner and the wedding drama.

Can’t wait to read more of her books!

 

6/16/19

64312651_2984173134934032_1186325088765476864_n.jpg

Happy Father’s Day!! Eli and I are relaxing by the pool this morning with Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent and The Spy by Clive Cussler 🌞🌞🌞

 

6/16/19

REVIEW – The Woman in the Lake by Nicola Cornick  indexindexindex111111

This book was just OK for me… I liked the idea of a dress affecting two women over 250 years, but the execution of it all was a little lacking. I really enjoyed the “past” half of the book, but the present day story was a little too far-fetched. I either needed more about Fen’s story and background, or it should have been a much smaller part in the book.

Still a good book, just go into it with medium expectations.

 

6/14/19

64383456_2978883665462979_3675103296420315136_n.jpg

Good morning bookworms! I’m starting Once and For All by Sarah Dessen. Have a great day and Happy Reading!

 

6/14/19

REVIEW – Home for Erring and Outcast Girls by Julie Kibler   indexindexindex111111

I enjoyed this book… it definitely wasn’t one that I could fly through in a day. I read it off and on for about a week and a half.

It was probably about 100 pages longer than it needed to be, and it got confusing with all the different points of view and timelines. There was Mattie POV in 1904 and forward, and then Lizzie’s POV in 1904 and forward, then there was Cate as a teenager, and present day Cate and Laurel. It was just a lot.

I could have absolutely done without Cate’s entire story line. I feel like it made the book way longer than it needed to be and muddied up the story. I would have been a happy with just a book about the Berachah Home.

3.5 stars rounded down because I liked it more than I loved it.

 

6/11/19

62320637_2970252502992762_4765183021395476480_n

A beautiful gold gown that affects the lives of two shattered women 250 years apart? Sounds good to me! Starting The Woman in the Lake by Nicola Cornick

 

6/10/19

REVIEW – The Perfect Alibi by Phillip Margolin   indexindexindex111111

This was my first Phillip Margolin book, and I can’t say I was very impressed… It was just OK. For such an experienced and popular author the writing was very generic. I don’t know if this is typical of all his books, or he’s just at the point where his books sell, so he doesn’t put in much of an effort. I guess I was just expecting more.

Decent story though. 3 stars

 

6/9/19

62119048_2964835866867759_3888089543512948736_n

Even though my TBR pile is out of control, I keep grabbing books that come in for trade before I put them on the shelf. I have no willpower! Me and Penelope are starting The Perfect Alibi by Phillip Margolin. Happy Reading!

 

6/9/19

REVIEW – The Crowns of Croswald by D.E. Night   indexindexindexindex111

Very cute book! I loved the world of Croswald and Ivy. I wish I had more info about everything though. The school, the Selector, The Dark Queen, the magic… all of it. I like background and explanations!

Looking forward to reading the next one!

 

6/7/19

62144089_2959626750722004_7235671798015066112_n

Eli is here at the Bookworm today. Stop in 10-7 and find a great read like Michael Crichton’s The Great Train Robbery which I’m currently reading.

 

6/6/19

62200637_2956277014390311_6056560321571586048_n.jpg

Super excited to get the first two books in The Crowns of Croswald series by D.E. Night! Can’t wait to get lost in the magical world of Croswald with Ivy… Thank you @author.denight!

 

6/4/19

61638074_2951395608211785_9071932842912514048_n.jpg

A big thank you to Penguin Random House for sending me an advance copy of Home for Erring and Outcast Girls by Julie Kibler… I cannot wait to get into this book! I’m also super excited that The Bookworm will soon be carrying these amazing and delicious bookish candles from Novelly Yours 💜

 

6/4/19

REVIEW – Under My Skin by Lisa Unger   indexindexindex111111

I typically love Lisa Unger’s books, but this one was just OK for me. I just feel like it had so much wasted potential.

The premise of the story was great, but it just wasn’t executed very well. There was a lot of repetition, and I feel like things were thrown in there to make the reader second guess what was going on, but there was no follow up or reason for it. {See my Goodread’s review for spoilers!!}

I just wanted/expected more. Still a decent book though.

 

6/3/19

61737469_2948329628518383_5469818800541007872_n.jpg

After a vote on FB and Insta, I decided to go with Under My Skin by Lisa Unger… I’m a huge fan of her books, and this one is great so far! Have a good week!

 

6/2/19

REVIEW – No Exit by Taylor Adams   indexindexindexindexindex

Awesome book! I read it in less than a day… it was fast-paced, surprising, suspenseful. Great characters too.

 

6/1/19

61653056_2943766622308017_2598386705056661504_o

I’ve heard so many great things about No Exit by Taylor Adams, and a fast-paced, suspenseful thriller is exactly what I’m in the mood for… I’ll be spending the rest of my day with it (or at least until The Bookworm closes at 7 😎) Happy Reading!

 

6/1/19

REVIEW – My Year of Rest and Relaxation by Otessa Moshfegh   indexindexindexindexindex

I had read Eileen years ago and was not a fan, so I was hesitant to pick up My Year of Rest and Relaxation… I am so glad that I did.

It was weird, it was messed up, and the main character was not particularly likeable, but man, I loved this book.

 

5/31/19

61415241_2941333692551310_1366587971439951872_n.jpg

Starting My Year of Rest and Relaxation after my (kind of) day of rest and relaxation. Happy Friday bookworms!!

 

5/31/19

REVIEW – The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down because Lennie drove me crazy.

I think if I hadn’t first read I’ll Give You the Sun and fallen so completely in love with it, I might have liked The Sky is Everywhere better. I was expecting the same level of amazingness… Jandy Nelson’s writing came so far in between books, I wasn’t expecting quite the discrepancy.

Still a cute book!

 

5/30/19

61343130_2938240189527327_4290652215372152832_n.jpg

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson was my #1 favorite book from 2018, so I’m going to give one of her earlier books a read… Starting The Sky is Everywhere!

 

5/30/19

REVIEW – The Vanishing Season by Dot Hutchison  indexindexindex111111

I love this series. I devoured the first 3 books, but The Vanishing Season left a lot to be desired.

While I love the entire FBI team, the magnitude of the inane banter and chit chat was annoying. There was just so much. That’s not what I’m here for. I want more of the mystery/crime. I feel like this installment was missing the magic, the on the edge of my seat suspense that the other 3 books had. And all of a sudden, all the evidence was just there and it was solved… is it really that easy? Maybe stop with the unnecessary repetition of how they’re all “family” and actually delve a little more into the missing girls. And the fact that everyone made SUCH A BIG DEAL that Eliza has blonde hair and blue eyes like the missing girls was eye-roll worthy. Who cares? A ton of women are blonde with blue eyes.

Still a decent book… I’m sad that it’s the last one though. Not a great note to end on.

 

5/29/19

61489203_2935210909830255_1105646696500559872_n

I discovered The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison last year and had the next two books in The Collector series ordered before I even got halfway through. The 4th book, The Vanishing Season, finally came out last week… I started it yesterday and can’t put it down!

 

5/28/19

REVIEW – Pieces of Her by Karin Slaughter   indexindexindexindex111

Karin Slaughter has been one of my favorite authors for years… I really liked Pieces of Her, but it wasn’t my favorite of her books.

Andy got on my nerves from the start. She was not a likeable/sympathetic character. And I was so confused by the first “flashback” that I kept going back thinking I was missing something.

I’m looking forward to how this is going to go as a TV show.

 

5/28/19

REVIEW – The Trial of Lizzie Borden by Cara Robertson

Guys, I had to give up. It was just so dry and factual, that after page 93 I had to DNF it.

 

5/27/19

61192084_2930227603661919_3354071907136700416_n

🇺🇸Happy Memorial Day 🇺🇸
THE BOOKWORM IS OPEN

My clay recreations of our little bookworm mascot keeping breaking, so I am officially on Ophelia IV. I thought all her “pieces” would be perfect with Karin Slaughter’s newest book Pieces of Her. I started it yesterday, and it’s amazing, as always. Have a great day everyone and Happy Reading!

 

5/25/19

61395860_2925115317506481_5501082795201527808_o

“Lizzie Borden took an axe…”
I’ve always been fascinated by the story of Lizzie Borden, so I had to snag this book before it made it on the shelf (sorry Teresa!)

 

5/24/19

61044199_2923865940964752_7501789603762798592_o

I’ve been reading Give Me Your Hand off and on for the past week because I was having a hard time getting into it… but when I hit that halfway point 😳😳😳 I read the rest of the book this afternoon because it got so good! /5

 

5/24/19

REVIEW – Snow and Rose by Emily Winfield Martin  indexindexindexindex111

What a cute book! Snow White and Rose Red was my favorite fairy tale growing up, and I was so excited to have a longer version to read… Great illustrations too!

 

5/22/19

60743256_2918714644813215_6139968376006508544_n

Snow White and Rose Red was my favorite fairy tale when I was growing up, and after my last couple of books, I definitely need something a *little* lighter. Snow & Rose by Emily Winfield Martin was the perfect choice! 🌹🌹🌹

 

5/22/19

60965418_2917991734885506_6377826284789039104_n

Eli here today, thought this book sounded interesting when it came in. Virginia becomes the first state to hire professional jurors to keep corruption out of the justice system… but will it work?

 

5/22/19

REVIEW – The Sinner by Petra Hammesfahr   indexindex111111111

This is one of the very few instances where I think the TV version was way better than the book.

I’m not sure if it’s because I DID know the story going in, or the fact that it was translated, or at the end of the day, the book just wasn’t that great.

 

5/20/19

60542559_2912648328753180_9153415124206223360_n.jpg

I started The Sinner last night… I actually watched the show a few years ago and loved it, so we’ll see how close they got! Happy Reading!

 

5/19/19

REVIEW – The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up because I loved the food aspect!

Cute, albeit predictable, story with great characters. Definitely a love letter to Milwaukee… Would definitely read other books by this author in the future.

 

5/19/19

60471244_2910800492271297_8792658452825505792_n.jpg

 

Eli here… I’m reading the 4th book in the Dirk Pitt series by Clive Cussler. Fun fact: this book and the following film led to the actual search for the Titanic. Have a great Sunday!

5/17/19

REVIEW – Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams   indexindex111111111

Eh.

 

5/17/19

60617539_2905510466133633_7416520643077734400_n.jpg

Pool day!! Starting Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams 🌞🌞🌞

 

5/17/19

REVIEW – The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald   indexindexindexindexindex

Fantastic book! Kept me guessing until the end… I thought everyone was guilty at one point or another. Definitely recommend!

 

5/16/19

60575637_2902848523066494_5171180352831488000_n.jpg

Sometimes you can just tell a book is going to be great after reading the first page… I started The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald this morning and I’m already totally hooked! Have a great day bookworms! ☠️🖤☠️

 

5/15/19

60322031_2900227346661945_2288667581025878016_n.jpg

It’s not often I can get Oliver to pose in a picture, but when I do, he’s a total star 🌟 Starting The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert!

 

5/15/19

REVIEW – The Winters by Lisa Gabriele  indexindexindex111111

I have been looking forward to reading The Winters for months… Unfortunately, it was just OK for me. There was nothing really outstanding about it. It was good, I just felt like it could have been great. Easy and quick read with a decent story and semi-annoying characters.

 

5/14/19

REVIEW – An American Marriage by Tayari Jones  indexindexindexindex111

What a great book… it’s so easy for a couple to vow “til death do us part”, but when they’re faced with real difficulties, it all falls away so quickly.

This book was perfect example of that. If Roy had never gone away, they probably would have lived the rest of their lives together. I really enjoyed the 3 different points of view, and the story as a whole. Tayari Jones is such a talented writer. She has a way of making you really understand what’s going on and how the characters are feeling.

 

5/13/19

60345902_2895927933758553_5853279403487789056_n

Starting The Winters by Lisa Gabriele!

 

5/13/19

REVIEW – Little Darlings by Melanie Golding   indexindexindex111111

Little Darlings was one my my most anticipated reads for 2019… but I gotta say, I was disappointed (to put it in perspective, I own a used bookstore with 25,000+ books, and I still pre-ordered this book and paid almost full retail for it). The book was good, but I was hoping for so much more. I love a fairy tale retelling, and The Changeling has always held a certain fascination for me, but Little Darlings was just OK for me. The story took awhile to get going, and I just feel like it was missing something… I wanted more folklore, more magic, more creepiness, more character backstory and development. I just wanted MORE of everything.

 

5/12/19

60333768_2893678270650186_3553371472141484032_n.jpg

My mom is in Pittsburgh with her grandbaby, so no mom time for me today! I’ll be spending the afternoon with An American Marriage by Tayari Jones…

 

5/9/19

59794492_2885293901488623_7313141059435888640_n

I’ve been dying to get my hands on Little Darlings by Melanie Golding for months… I’ll finally be starting it today! Stop by The Bookworm from 10-7 to find a book you’ve been dying to read too ☠️🖤

 

5/9/19

REVIEW – A Nearly Normal Family my M.t. Evardsson   indexindexindexindex111

The author did a great job of telling the same story, but from 3 very different point of views… where whoever the narrator was, they didn’t consider themselves the problem but blamed the other two in the family.

I’m guessing it’s because this book was translated, but the writing/story just didn’t flow easily. It was still a good book with a good story that definitely kept me interested, it just felt a little “choppy.” And while none of the characters were particularly likeable, I really enjoyed the family dynamic and their circle of blame. Great ending too!

 

5/9/19

REVIEW – This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

What a wonderful and heartbreaking book… It is such a horrible shame that we live in a country (not world, country) where school shootings are a reoccurring tragedy. I think the author did an amazing job of telling this story and painting the characters along with their reactions. I loved the 4 different points of views. It was fantastically done. I wasn’t happy with how it turned out, but that’s the point, isn’t it?

 

5/8/19

60216217_2882996731718340_4489268687303344128_o

Good morning my fellow bookworms! I’m about to start This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp… Hope you’re all reading something great!

 

5/7/19

59918154_2880463155305031_8241021172678918144_o

A big thank you to Celadon Books for sending me an advance copy of A Nearly Normal Family! A teenager accused of murdering a shady businessman almost twice her age? Yes please!

 

5/7/19

REVIEW – The Everlasting Rose by Dhonielle Clayton   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up to 4 because I love the world of Orleans and The Belles.

The Everlasting Rose was a bit disappointing as a follow up to The Belles, which I loved. I can’t quite pinpoint it, but it was missing some of the magic of the first book. Still enjoyed it, and I will definitely continue reading the series (if there are more).

 

5/6/19

REVIEW – Sweetbitter by Stephanie Danler   indexindexindex111111

As someone who has worked in restaurants off and on since I was 15, this story really took me back… and most definitely did NOT make me miss the restaurant industry.

Honestly, none of the characters were particularly likeable, yet I wanted to find out what happened to them. This is one of the few instances where I think the show is going to be better than the book (don’t kill me).

Unless you’ve worked in a restaurant before, I don’t think this is the book for you.

 

5/5/19

59640107_2876057132412300_7175503377827102720_o.jpg

As someone who has worked in restaurants off and on since I was 15 (oh, the stories I could tell you), Sweetbitter has been on my want to read list for years… Finally starting it!

 

5/4/19

REVIEW – The Whisper Network by Chandler Baker   indexindexindexindex111

I love reading books about women banding together and looking out for one another… whether men want to believe it or not, the way we are treated, expected to act and look, the struggles we go through in life and in our careers because of our gender color every aspect of our lives. It isn’t about “innocent until proven guilty” it’s about believing women. This novel is so timely and relevant and TRUE.

Climbing off my soapbox now, I want to say I really enjoyed this book! I loved the characters while appropriately hating the characters I was supposed to hate. When I first read the blurb, it reminded me of a current day 9-5 (which I adore). It was, just a lot darker (and a dead body thrown in the mix).

I did feel like the author alluded to a lot of “secrets” throughout the book that weren’t explained until the end. There was just so many, I had a hard time keeping track of who was keeping whatever I didn’t know from who else. It definitely got confusing, and I didn’t really feel that “aha!” moment when the secrets were revealed because I couldn’t keep track of them all.

Anyway, great book, great writing, definitely recommend!

 

5/2/19

58883071_2869561433061870_3497094403992846336_n

Yard work: check
Errands: check
Haircut: check
Relaxing by the pool with a good book: you better believe that’s a check

 

5/2/19

IMG_20190502_120806_908

Whisper Network topped my must read list for 2019… I’m so excited I got an advance copy!! Best part, I got one for you too! While I dig in, check out our giveaway on The Bookworm’s Facebook page for details http://www.facebook.com/thebookworm.mb

 

5/2/19

REVIEW – The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel   indexindexindexindex111

What a totally messed up, yet fantastic, book. The author did such a great job painting all the characters, the story, everything. I loved the chapters from each of the “Roanoke Girls”. It gave such a great insight into the whole dysfunctional and sick family. It was all just done so well… Great read!

 

4/30/19

58809836_2864676763550337_2340577358924218368_n.jpg

All my errands and chores are done, so I can officially start enjoying my day off! I’ll be spending it on my new comfy swing with The Roanoke Girls ☠️ Happy Reading!

 

4/30/19

REVIEW – Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens   indexindexindexindex111

Where the Crawdads Sing was very good, and Delia Owens writes beautifully, but I just don’t think this book quite lived up to it’s hype. 4.5 stars rounded down to 4.

 

4/28/19

58679335_2859402377411109_4400580387189817344_n

A huge thank you to everyone that came to The Bookworm yesterday and made our 1st Independent Bookstore Day so fantastic!! Eli and I are planning on relaxing the day away at the pool with our books… I’ll be starting Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens (finally!) Have a wonderful day and Happy Reading!

 

4/26/19

58612991_2855301991154481_7785515873480998912_n.jpg

I absolutely loved The Belles when I read it last year, so I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the sequel The Everlasting Rose. Off to get lost in the beautiful world of Orléans with Camille and the other Belles 🌸

 

4/26/19

REVIEW – The Book in Room 316 by ReShonda Tate Billingley  indexindexindexindex111

This was not the book I was expecting to read… I didn’t realize Reshonda Billingsley wrote Christian books when I picked it up. While it’s not my normal type of book, I still enjoyed it. I liked how each of the 4 main characters had their own part… I just wish we had more of a wrap-up at the end. I’m involved with their stories now, I want to know how they all turn out!

 

4/25/19

57870568_2852142908137056_211932575650807808_o.jpg

Good morning my fellow bookworms! Me and my reading buddies are starting The Book in Room 316 by ReShonda Tate Billingsley 📖

 

4/24/19

REVIEW – Stepsister by Jennifer Donnelly  indexindexindexindexindex

It took me a little while to get into it, but I LOVED THIS BOOK. The message is so important, so relevant, and it had me in tears more than once. The author did such a wonderful job making the point that not every girl is the same, and we shouldn’t all JUST want to be liked and pretty… we’re so much more than that. This sentiment is beaten into our heads from the day we can understand, and it shouldn’t be that way. Not anymore.

Not only is it a beloved story we all grew up knowing, it shows a different side from the “ugly” stepsisters and what happened after Cinderella rode off into the sunset with Prince Charming. I’m a huge fan of fairy tale retellings, and this one was awesome.

Read this book. If you have a daughter, or granddaughter, have them read it too. You won’t be disappointed.

Girl power!

 

4/23/19

58441286_2847462048605142_5059505379159834624_o

Super excited to read Sandie Jones new book! 🌹 I loved The Other Woman, so I can’t wait to get into The First Mistake. Thanks to Minotaur Books for sending me an advance copy! 🌹

 

4/22/19

REVIEW – The Dreamers by Karen Thompson Walkeindexindexindexindex111

I’ve been dying to get my hands on The Dreamers for months. What a cool and different premise for a book. I really liked it! Sometimes in novels with a lot of different points of view, it can get a little difficult to keep them all straight, but I had no problems with that. I started it yesterday and had a hard time putting it down.

I really wish <spoiler> we had at least SOME answers about this virus, and that was annoying. Give me something! I really need at least some kind of a wrap-up. </spoiler>

Overall, great book!

 

4/22/19

58372675_2845592165458797_8591514993936039936_n.jpg

“Beauty isn’t always pretty…”
A Cinderella retelling from the perspective of one of the ugly stepsisters? Yes please! Thank you to Scholastic for sending me an advance copy of Stepsister by Jennifer Donnelly. Excited to start it!

 

4/21/19

57602685_2843699655648048_4666533532481355776_n.jpg

I started The Dreamers this morning and I’m having a hard time putting it down! Don’t you just love when that happens??

 

4/20/19

REVIEW – All  Your Perfects by Colleen Hoover     indexindexindex111111

This was my 4th and least favorite book by Colleen Hoover.

She has this magical way of writing the guys in her book so that we all want to love and save them, and Graham was no exception.

But I gotta say, Quinn REALLY annoyed me. I don’t know if it’s just because I can’t relate to her desperate need to have children (so desperate that is basically ruined every aspect of her life), or she really is just is as annoying as I think she is, but it made me not enjoy this book nearly as much as the others I have read.

If the majority of the book was “then” I would have been thrilled… but half was “now” and that half (Quinn) bugged the crap out of me.

I will 100% devour every book she writes, but this one was not for me.

 

4/20/19

REVIEW – The End of Loneliness by Benedict  Wells   indexindexindex111111

This book was just OK for me… granted, it’s not my typical type of book, but a good story with good characters is still a good story with good characters, regardless of your preferences. I don’t feel like this book really had either.

It was fine, just not great. I didn’t really like or care about Jules. Even his love story with Alva just OK.

 

4/18/19

57232300_2835241443160536_8134577434814054400_n

Starting my next Colleen Hoover book… If you haven’t read any of hers yet, absolutely do it 💖 You won’t be disappointed.

 

4/18/19

REVIEW – The Girl who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherine Valente   indexindexindexindex111

I’m trying to read some books for younger readers so I have recommendations when they (or their parents) ask when they come into the store.

This definitely fit the bill… it was adorable and whimsical and the author painted a perfect fairyland.

Very cute! Loved the illustrations too!

 

4/16/19

57070934_2830771236940890_1610117831213449216_n.jpg

A big thank you to Penguin Random House for sending copies of The End of Loneliness by Benedict Wells to me and my reading buddy @libraryofdallas! Excited to start it!

 

 

4/15/19

REVIEW – The Perfect Girl by Gilly Macmillan   indexindexindexindex111

This was my first book by Gilly Macmillan and I was not disappointed! The alternating POV was done really well and the book kept me on the hook all day. When I had a chance, I was reading. I finished this 400 + page book in a day.

I will definitely be reading more of her books in the future

 

4/15/19

57083502_2828453553839325_3907543335887175680_n.jpg

Who doesn’t like to start their week off with a murder mystery?! Starting The Perfect Girl by Gilly Macmillan ☠️☠️☠️

 

4/14/19

REVIEW – Life Will Be the Death of Me by Chelsea Handler  indexindexindex111111

This was a very big departure from the type of books Chelsea normally writes. It still had flashes of her humor (which I love), but it was pretty serious. It was mostly about her dealing with the death of her brother and mom, and then realizing her shortcomings and wanting to be a better person.

It was good, and I will always be a huge fan of hers, but if you’re looking to laugh, this is not the book.

 

4/13/19

REVIEW – Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty   indexindex111111111

Liane Moriarty’s books are so hit or miss for me… sometimes I love them, sometimes I am super disappointed. Nine Perfect Strangers was definitely the latter.

She used 200+ pages building up to SOMETHING, and that something was stupid. So stupid! That’s the best word I can think of to describe it.

1.5 stars rounded up to 2 because I didn’t hate it. If you want to read one of her books, do Big Little Lies or The Last Anniversary. This one is a dud.

 

4/12/19

56922906_2822372827780731_7014206937587777536_n

I just had to grab it and read it before it made it’s way to the shelf 💜

 

4/12/19

REVIEW – Jar of Hearts by Jennifer Hillier   indexindexindexindex111

I’m a big fan of Jennifer Hillier… Creep is one of my favorite thrillers. Jar of Hearts did not disappoint! I read it in a 24 hour period because it was that good. I figured out where the story was going, but it was great nonetheless. The characters were well-written, the timeline of the alternating stories was great, even the relationship between 16 year old Geo and 21 year old Calvin was spot-on.

Whether this is your first book of hers or your 5th, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it as much as I did!

 

4/12/19

57034740_2821534111197936_5647573954890563584_n.jpg

I’m a big fan of Jennifer Hillier’s books (Creep is one of my all-time favorites!) so I’ve been dying to read her latest, Jar of Hearts. I started it yesterday and I can hardly put it down!

 

4/10/19

57216663_2818244971526850_9069652172328665088_n.jpg

We’ve been doing this our entire relationship… a new Chelsea Handler book for me while Eli watches the Pittsburgh Penguins in the play-offs. Let’s Go Pens!

 

4/10/19

REVIEW – Love, Loss, and What We Ate by Padma Lakshmi indexindexindex111111

I really liked Padma from my years of watching Top Chef, so when I saw that she wrote a memoir, I totally wanted to read it.

I learned a lot of stuff about her I didn’t know, and she spilled enough tea to keep my inner-gossip hound happy. I really enjoyed her little tidbits about India and her Indian culture, but her “my life is so hard” shtick definitely got old.

 

4/8/19

56255350_2812599625424718_5827503874520383488_n.jpg

I started Padma Lakshmi’s memoir Love, Loss, and What We Ate AND made linguini with clam sauce for dinner last night… Think I’m ready for Top Chef?! Have a great week everyone!

 

4/7/19

REVIEW – The Favorite Sister by Jessica Knoll   indexindexindex111111

I’m struggling with reviewing this book… it was good, I definitely wanted to keep reading it, but I’m not sure how much I actually enjoyed it. I had a really hard time at the beginning keeping all the characters straight (I actually had the synopsis pulled up and I had to keep checking who was who).

The characters were all awful, obnoxious frauds, but that was the whole point of the book. I love trashy reality shows, so this book is definitely up my alley, but I feel like it wasn’t done as well as it could have been.

If the book sounds good to you, read it. If you’re not sure, I wouldn’t pick it up. This book is definitely deserving of the 3 star rating it has on Goodreads.

 

4/4/19

56214404_2804088089609205_4197292953640632320_n.jpg

It’s my brother’s birthday today, so this seemed like a fitting book to read for the occasion. Happy Birthday Justin!

 

4/7/19

REVIEW – All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven   indexindexindexindexindex

This book emotionally wrecked my night.

I started it over a week ago and I just wasn’t in the mood for it. I’d read it a little each morning and then set it down. Yesterday I decided to give it the attention it deserved. I sat on the couch at page 78 and didn’t move again until I finished it.

What an amazingly wonderful and devastatingly heartbreaking story. I don’t have any other words that will do it justice. The characters, their backstory, their emotions, everything was brilliant.

Read this book.

 

4/7/19

REVIEW – The Favorite Sister by Jessica Knoll   indexindexindex111111

I’m struggling with reviewing this book… it was good, I definitely wanted to keep reading it, but I’m not sure how much I actually enjoyed it. I had a really hard time at the beginning keeping all the characters straight (I actually had the synopsis pulled up and I had to keep checking who was who).

The characters were all awful, obnoxious frauds, but that was the whole point of the book. I love trashy reality shows, so this book is definitely up my alley, but I feel like it wasn’t done as well as it could have been.

If the book sounds good to you, read it. If you’re not sure, I wouldn’t pick it up. This book is definitely deserving of the 3 star rating it has on Goodreads.

 

4/3/19

REVIEW – Cold Day in the Sun by Sara Biren   indexindexindexindex111

Adorable (albeit predictable) story about a girl on an all-boys hockey team who falls for one of her teammates. Loved the girl power vibe of the whole story, really enjoyed all the characters, and even the hockey aspect too. Very cute and easy read.

 

4/2/19

55927977_2799285910089423_7791112499335528448_n.jpg

 

4/1/19

REVIEW – Between by Jessica Warman   indexindexindexindex111

Great book! I spent a good part of my day immersed in this story. It reminded me of Remember Me by Christopher Pike, which was my favorite when I was a tween. I figured out the “mysteries” pretty early on, but that didn’t take away from my enjoyment of the book. It’s fairly long (450 pages) but a quick read. Definitely worth picking up!

 

4/1/19

55882374_2797329576951723_6825898700699598848_n.jpg

Between by Jessica Warman has been sitting on my TBR pile forever… I need to start working my way through the books I have at home instead of getting distracted by the ones that come in the store! Starting it now…

 

3/31/19

REVIEW – Sister by Rosamund Lupton   indexindexindexindex111

I thought Sister was really good… especially for a debut novel. It was a little dry in places, and the timeline was a little confusing at the beginning, but I really was kept guessing up until the end. Beatrice wasn’t the most likeable or sympathetic character, but I think that was on purpose. She wasn’t trying to be likeable, she would just do anything to find out what happened to her sister.

 

3/30/19

56208338_2792335300784484_7395163450046939136_n.jpg

I was up early this morning, so I started Sister by Rosamund Lupton. Have a great weekend everyone!

 

3/29/19

REVIEW – Sawkill Girls by Clare Legrand   indexindexindexindexindex

What a freaking fantastic book! It was dark, it was weird, it was creepy, but I loved every part of it (even the dedication). The characters were all amazing, the story was unique, and the ending was perfect. 5 very enthusiastic stars!

 

3/28/19

55666842_2788260977858583_5668373863029800960_n.jpg

Excited to start All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven… I’ve heard nothing but fantastic things about this book! Porkchester pigurines included for a little eye candy 💗🐷💗

 

3/27/19

REVIEW – Busted by Gina Ciocca   indexindexindexindexindex

I really loved this book! I wasn’t sure how it was going to go the first 50 pages, but it just kept getting better and better the further into it I got. An adorable YA novel with likeable characters, surprises, and of course a happy ending 🙂

 

3/26/19

54730939_2783049241713090_5623922575013838848_n.jpg

My current read is pretty dark, but I need something a little lighter this morning! Starting Busted by Gina Ciocca

 

3/25/19

REVIEW – Amy Chelsea Stacie Dee by Mary G. Thompson   indexindexindexindex111

Great book!! It was a quick, enjoyable read.

 

3/24/19

55534090_2778806385470709_5124895706485620736_n

Hope you’re enjoying your weekend and have found some time to snuggle in with your latest book! I’m starting Amy Chelsea Stacie Dee by Mary G. Thompson

 

3/23/19

54518888_2776557372362277_7403072082566709248_o.jpg

Happy Saturday (and National Puppy Day)!! Ollie and I are getting in some reading before I head to The Bookworm for the day. I just started Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand… It’s definitely a little weird, but I’m digging it so far!

 

3/22/19

REVIEW – The Perfect Couple by Elin Hilderbrand   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down

This was my first Elin Hilderbrand… it was good, but I was not amazed. I don’t know if it’s because I usually read mystery/suspense books, and this was her first attempt at that type of book? It was a good story, but nothing but Merritt’s death was resolved in the end. What happened to all the characters? Basically everyone’s life was in shambles, and we have no answers or conclusions.

The author’s rambling on and on about this clothing designer, this antique, this fancy food in such detail got kind of annoying. They’re rich, we get it. Cutting out all that unnecessary stuff would have hacked a good chunk of pages out this almost 500 page book. Also, calling the one cop “The Greek” really rubbed me the wrong way. Like, what?? This is 2019, right?

I think I would have been better off starting with one of her usual beachy reads instead of The Perfect Couple. I’m sure I’ll pick another one of her books up in the future, but I don’t feel a burning need to do it right away.

 

3/21/19

54396438_2772817386069609_2660684363871551488_n.jpg

Eli here – I really want to watch the movie, but I figured I should read the book first so I can say “that’s not how it was in the book” like Cortney always does.

 

3/20/19

54728891_2770896932928321_808438348346556416_n

Thanks for all your votes! I decided to go with The Perfect Couple… Really excited to start it (and get some beach weather!) Happy Reading!!

 

3/20/19

REVIEW – The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock  indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down to 3 because I liked it more than I loved it

The Smell of Other People’s Houses has been on my “want to read” list since I first read the description 2 years ago.

I absolutely love how all the characters’ stories intersected, but overall it was just pretty good, not great for me. I definitely could have used more background, more descriptions, more everything about each one of the story lines… what happened to Ruth’s boyfriend? Why did the boys runaway? What caused the big scene with Dora’s dad? Gimme the skinny on all of it. It was a fairly short book (227 pages) so it all could have been flushed out more.

 

3/20/19

REVIEW – Flawless by Tilly Bagshawe   indexindexindex111111

I’m a sucker for trashy British chick lit, so when Flawless came into the bookstore, I immediately set it aside for myself and started it that night.

But, I was little disappointed… it was just OK. The book was at least 100 pages longer than it needed to be, and Scarlett (the main character) was annoying and sanctimonious. Actually, at the end of the day, all the characters were pretty awful in their way (except maybe Nancy, the sassy best friend).

I still finished it and enjoyed it somewhat.

 

3/18/19

54430268_2765912656760082_5453107623958151168_n

And it’s Monday again… I’m starting The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock. Have a great week everyone and Happy Reading!

 

3/16/19

REVIEW: Real Vampires: When Glory Met Jerry  indexindexindex111111

While I enjoyed reading about how Glory and Jeremiah came to be, this book was pretty repetitive. Unfortunately, when you get this far into a series it often feels like it’s slipping. When Glory Met Jerry is definitely better than the previous book (Real Vampires and the Viking) but maybe it’s time to stop because they just don’t compare to the beginning of the series.

 

3/15/19

53712808_2760150377336310_5791947506724110336_n

I have a weakness for trashy British chick lit, so when Flawless came in The Bookworm, I had to grab it and read immediately 💎💎💎

 

3/14/19

REVIEW – Our Kind of Cruelty by Araminta Hall  indexindexindexindex111

The first third of the book was just “eh”, the second third of the book started to get really good, and I couldn’t put it down the last third.

I’m still not sure what the postcard meant at the end. I wish we had a more definitive idea of what Verity actually thought during all of this. That should have been the final chapter! Inside her brain instead of Mike’s.

All in all, really good book, you just gotta power through the beginning. It’s well worth it.

 

3/14/19

 

It was Eli’s day at The Bookworm, so after I was done with my to-do list, I spent the day outside with the pups reading Our Kind of Cruelty by Araminta Hall 🖤

 

3/14/19

54419127_2757748030909878_1716889279377965056_n

 

Hey Bookworms, it’s Eli and I’m working my way through the Dirk Pitt series by Clive Cussler. This is book 3 of 1,000 (just kidding it’s actually 25). One day I’ll make it through them all!

 

3/13/19

REVIEW – Stiff by Mary Roach   indexindexindexindex111

I’m not sure how to rate this book…

Personally, I really struggled with it. It took me a long to finish it. Stiff is just not my normal type of book, and while I was interested in the subject matter (and pretty un-squeamish) the science of it all had me struggling to get through it.

That being said, Mary Roach is so witty and funny, she took something dry and pretty gross and made a great book out of it. Not at any point did I want to quit reading this book… I just had to make my peace with the fact that I was going to have to read it a little bit at a time.

And while Stiff is not something I’d ever read again, I think she did a really great job with it. I have no doubt that people with Science brains will LOVE this book.

So, I settled on a 3.5 star rating rounded up to 4

**P.S. – For the record, I do NOT want my body donated to science

 

53600249_2754019597949388_3013772706152710144_o

I’ve been reading the “Real Vampires” series by Gerry Bartlett for YEARS… I’m about to start the prequel and find out about how it all started with Glory and Jerry. I really need a new vamp series to sink my teeth into 😉

 

3/12/19

REVIEW – Never Have I Ever by Joshilyn Jackson   indexindexindexindexindex

This book got better and better the further into it I got… I had a hard time putting it down the last 100 pages (much to the detriment of my work at the bookstore).

I know this book was a departure from the type of books Joshilyn Jackson typically writes, but she nailed it. I was not expecting (or ready) for some of the dark twists this book took me down.

Fantastic book!

 

3/11/19

53685673_2751794788171869_4502789832761671680_o

I was super excited to find Never Have I Ever in my mailbox this weekend! It jumped to the top of my TBR pile and I started it yesterday… It’s really good so far! A big thanks to the publishers for sending it my way!

 

3/10/19

REVIEW – Necessary People by Anna Pitoniak   indexindexindexindex111

I thought Necessary People was great. I spent the whole book rooting for Violet and kind of hating Stella, which I think was the point. The author did a great job of showing how “necessary” they each were to each other and why their toxic friendship continued for so many years.

**Check out my Goodreads review to see spoilers! https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/6320671-cortney-lascola—the-bookworm-myrtle-beach

I think the book was about 50 pages too long, but overall, pretty darn good.

 

3/9/19

REVIEW – The Secret of Ella and Micha by Jessica Sorenson  indexindex111111111

I am baffled at how this book got such a high rating.

The writing was mediocre, at best… and, I’m sorry, but every time Micha “sucked on his lip ring” I got grossed out, which completely defeats the purpose of this book. The characters have no substance or personality, and every time Micha calls Ella “pretty girl” I just picture an obnoxious parrot screaming “Pretty girl, pretty girl.”

It was a super quick and easy read, but I obviously won’t be continuing with this series.

 

3/8/19

53323503_2746119165406098_7880303821723795456_n.jpg

Happy Friday bookworms! I’m a sucker for a gorgeous cover, so when these books came in as a trade yesterday, I scooped them up for myself instead of putting them on the shelf! I’ll be starting The Secret of Ella and Micha momentarily…

 

3/7/19

53921468_2741915865826428_5482787041974419456_n

Enjoyed some peeps, a cocktail, and an advance copy of Necessary People by Anna Pitoniak last night… Thank you Little, Brown and Company for sending this my way!

 

3/6/19

REVIEW – Beautiful Bad by Annie Ward   indexindexindexindex111

I was in a little bit of a reading slump when I picked up this book, but Beautiful Bad got me right out of it. I really enjoyed it! The big “twist” wasn’t earth shattering… I kind of saw it coming. I would have liked more depth to the relationships between Maddie and Ian and Maddie and Jo, but it was a good story and an easy read.

 

3/4/19

53439591_2737753802909301_3583237815724408832_n.jpg

A big thank you to Park Row Books and Harper Collins for sending me an advance copy of Beautiful Bad by Annie Ward!! I’ve been in a little bit of a reading slump, and this is exactly the type of psychological thriller that I need to get me out!

 

3/4/19

REVIEW – China Rich Girlfriend by Kevin Kwan   indexindexindexindex111

In comparison to Crazy Rich Asians, China Rich Girlfriend had a lot more fashion/name dropping. While I enjoyed that part of the story, that’s not what I’m here for. I want the drama and the characters!

 

3/1/19

53208743_2730910403593641_8067732170136879104_o

Happy National Reading Month!! It’s your favorite back-up bookworm, Eli. I’m reading “How to Survive a Garden Gnome Attack” but I might already be too late… Wish me luck!

 

2/26/19

53426635_2725116330839715_3636042256785342464_n.jpg

I needed something a *little* lighter to read along side Stiff by Mary Roach, so I started the 2nd book in the Crazy Rich Asians trilogy 💍👓📿💰♥️

 

2/25/19

52762397_2722300317787983_2950967794520293376_n.jpg

I’m going to delve into the science of cadavers and go with Stiff by Mary Roach 🤓

 

2/25/19

REVIEW – Save the Date by Morgan Matson   indexindexindex111111

I had such high hopes for Save the Date… the cover is adorable, the synopsis sounded really good, but the book was just OK for me. I feel like it had such potential, but it just fell a little flat.

I still thought it was cute, though. 3 stars

 

2/24/19

REVIEW – Cape May by Chip Creek   indexindexindexindex111

I thought this was great book for a debut author! The writing and the characters were very well done.

Being 2019, you forget how young and naive couples used to be when they got married in the 1950s (Henry was 20 and Effie was 18). I SO appreciated that we got a glimpse of the rest of Henry and Effie’s life at the end of the book… only wish we knew how Clara, Max, and Alma’s lives went as well. I love a good wrap-up!

While Cape May isn’t my normal type of book, I really ended up enjoying it.

 

2/22/19

52437007_2715153578502657_2523170501874941952_n

Yesterday was my day off from The Bookworm, so I enjoyed the 70 degree weather on my front porch with Cape May (and a glass of wine!) A huge thank you to Celadon Books for sending me an advance copy!
2/21/19
53034438_2713459155338766_1634264609797963776_n.jpg
Eli here, I’m getting started on The Wrecker by Clive Cussler. This is the second in the Issac Bell series and it’s just as good and fast-paced as the first book.
2/20/19
REVIEW – The Chemist by Stephenie Meyer   indexindex111111111

I’m a huge fan of Twilight (and I’m not even sorry for it) and I really liked The Host, so when The Chemist came into the store as a trade, it was a no-brainer to grab it and read it before I put it on the shelf.

At 60 pages, I was definitely doubting my decision. Maybe a spy novel just isn’t her wheelhouse? The story was SOOOOOO repetitive, and the Juliana kept switching identities, but Meyer used each new name to tell that part of the story. So first she was Chris, then Casey, then we find out her real name is Juliana, then she was Alex (“Alex then got up from the table”). That made it unnecessarily confusing. I get that she switched her identity, but she’s still Juliana, right? At this point, I wasn’t sure if I can do another 450 pages of this nonsense.

But, I stuck with it. At about the halfway point (page 260… yes, that was halfway) it took a turn and got better. I went through last half of the book fairly quickly, which was marginally more enjoyable than the first half.

Still, I kind of wish I hadn’t bothered with it. I should have stuck to my usual formula of dropping a book by page 50 if I’m not feeling it. The good thing is that it was a quick read. At the end of the day, the characters I cared most about were the dogs.

2 unenthusiastic stars

 

 

2/20/19

51648834_2711689182182430_4538510251128782848_n

Excited to start reading Save the Date! I’ve been dying to read this since I saw the adorable cover last year… Starting it now!

 

2/19/18

52605644_2708311475853534_3968838042529038336_n.jpg

I’m not going to lie, I still love Twilight and reread the series every few years (Team Edward!). Going to give Stephenie Meyer’s adult spy novel a read… Starting The Chemist!

 

2/18/19

REVIEW – The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary   indexindexindexindexindex

I just adored this book. Cute and fluffy love story about two amazing characters with their collection of equally amazing friends and family.

Fantastic book, especially for a debut author! Cannot wait to see what else she writes.

 

2/18/19

REVIEW – The Girl in 6E by A.R. Torre  indexindexindexindex111

I wasn’t sure about this book when I first started it (hello explicit!) but I really ended up enjoying the book. I think I just wasn’t expecting the erotica aspect of it, so it took me by surprise… Once I readjusted my expectations, I really got into the story. I liked the characters, the plot, and mostly Deanna along with her backstory and daily struggle.

The first half of the book was a little on the repetitive side, but the second half more than made up for it. Looking forward to reading the next one!

 

2/17/19

52087551_2704000482951300_7106650181579309056_n

“I’m… Ron Burgundy?”

Nah, it’s actually Eli and I’m starting my second book of the year, Let Me Off at the Top by everyone’s favorite fictional anchorman. Happy Reading book people!

 

2/16/19

52432248_2701484059869609_9013569984026116096_n.jpg

It’s gray and rainy in Myrtle Beach today… Make a quick trip to The Bookworm to grab a good book to curl up with. I’ll be starting The Girl in 6E. Happy Reading!

 

2/14/19

REVIEW – The President is Missing by James Patterson and Bill Clinton    indexindexindexindexindex

Terrorist plots, bio-warfare, and cyber attacks… definitely not my normal type of book, but I loved it.

The book was fast-paced, the story was really good, and I liked all the characters. Some of the technical explanations got a little dense and hard to get through, but it was just a really well done and well thought out book.

 

2/12/19

51751441_2692165407468141_2488686437088624640_n.jpg

Super excited that The President is Missing came in today as a trade! I’m going to read it really quick before it goes on the shelf 🤗

 

2/12/19

51964382_2691121294239219_1556243427899736064_n

Thank you to Flatiron Books for sending me an advance copy of The Flatshare! Sounds like the cute kind of love story I’m in the mood for 💜 I’ll be reading this today at The Bookworm!

 

2/12/19

REVIEW – I See You by Clare Mackintosh   indexindexindex111111

I See You was OK… I feel like the idea and the potential was there, but it just didn’t deliver.

The ending was as farfetched as it was surprising. But again, the delivery of it was mediocre.

I did like the investigative team and enjoyed Kelly’s side story, but I wasn’t really crazy about the other characters.

Like I said, it was OK.

 

2/11/19

REVIEW – From Twinkle, With Love by Sandhya Menon  indexindexindexindex111

Cute and sweet story!

I like Sandhya Menon’s writing, her characters, I love hearing about Indian culture and customs, and I especially love the covers!

The first half of the book was a little slow for me, but I loved the second half. 3.5 stars rounded up to 4.

Looking forward to the next one!

 

2/8/19

51450646_2679805375370811_6950862724091871232_o

Good morning bookworms! I’ve had I See You on my TBR pile for months. Finally starting it today!

 

2/6/19

51615215_2677532718931410_4169528687311454208_n

Excited to read Sandhya Menon’s follow up to When Dimple Met Rishi (so cute!) Starting From Twinkle, with Love today! ❤️

 

2/6/19

REVIEW – Bethlehem by Karen Kelly   indexindex111111111

I had high hopes for this book, but I just didn’t love it… I didn’t even particularly like it. It was just so predictable. The writing was decent, but I feel like she tossed in big, typically unused words just because she could.

All the characters were thrown at you at the beginning… and not only do some of the characters share the same name, they ALL have nicknames. So the dialogue uses their nicknames and the author uses their given name. It was WAY more confusing than it needed to be. Given the fact that the story bounced back and forth from the 1920s to the 1960s I honestly had a hard time keeping all the characters straight.

I pretty much figured out where Joann’s story was going to lead and the secret that Susannah had been hiding within the first 25 pages of the book.

At the end of the day, I was just bored. I forced myself to sit and read this while at the bookstore today… I was afraid if I put it down, I wouldn’t pick it back up again.

 

2/5/19

REVIEW – I Know My Name by C.J. Cooke   indexindexindexindex111

I had added I Know My Name to my virtual TBR shelf on Goodreads a few months ago without realizing I actually had it in the store. After a string of non-suspense books, it was exactly what I was in the mood for.

I really enjoyed it! I liked the alternating chapters between Lochlan (the husband) and Eloise (the wife). I figured out the “twist” kind of early on, still a good read though!

 

2/3/19

51457122_2671420482875967_5823580421895487488_o

I’ve been in the mood for a good suspense book… Starting I Know My Name (and enjoying a glass of wine!) on this cloudy Superbowl Sunday. Happy Reading!

 

1/31/19

50998046_2664658520218830_8147439551900549120_n.jpg

A big thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending me an advance copy of Bethlehem! I’ve been trying to win this on Goodreads for months! It’s jumping to the top of my TBR pile.

 

1/31/19

REVIEW – And We Stay by Jenny Hubbard   indexindex111111111

Quick, easy read…

But at the end of the day, I am just not a fan of poetry, and this book really centered around that. Emily Dickinson’s poetry, Emily the main character’s poetry, there were even a lot of Emily’s actual poems in the book. It was just not for me.

Other than the poetry aspect, I liked the story of her background with Paul, but that was such a small part of the book. I had to give it 2 stars.

 

1/31/19

50792656_2663895990295083_7522575613387866112_n.jpg

Next up!!

 

1/30/19

REVIEW – All the Beautiful Lies by Peter Swanson  indexindexindex111111

All the Beautiful Lies was a decent book… the blurb on the back sounded better than the actual book ended up being. The characters were kind of one-dimensional. I just feel like this book could have been a lot more than it was. Great idea, mediocre execution.

 

1/29/19

50989335_2657615860923096_1586101005454409728_n

Who needs a new favorite book to curl up with? Stop by The Bookworm Monday-Saturday from 10-7 and I’ll help you find it! In the meantime, I’ll be reading All the Beautiful Lies… See ya soon!

 

1/29/19

REVIEW – The Last Black Unicorn by Tiffany Haddish  indexindexindexindex111

 

1/28/19

50891678_2655175171167165_1080358581896740864_n

I was super excited when this book came in as a trade this week! I’ll be spending my Sunday with the hilarious and magical Tiffany Haddish 🦄

 

 

1/27/19

REVIEW – The House on Sunset Lake by Tasmina Perry   indexindex111111111

I just kept waiting for something to happen… by page 240 I realized nothing was going to.

I’m confused about what this book was supposed to be? “Seductive, mysterious, perfect…” is what is says on the cover. I’m gonna tell you, it wasn’t any of these things.

I’ve read almost all of Tasmina Perry’s books, and this was the most disappointing one, by far.

 

1/27/19

50976902_2652869678064381_8918866345991340032_n.jpg

I stumbled upon a Tasmina Perry book in a used bookstore about 5 or 6 years ago, and I think I’ve read just about everything she has written at this point! Just starting The House on Sunset Lake. Happy Reading!

 

1/26/19

REVIEW – A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell   indexindexindexindex111

I was a little nervous heading into this book because it had gotten such mixed reviews, but I really liked it! Part 1 (Stephanie) was kind of annoying, because she’s kind of annoying (ugh, ‘hi moms!’), but I thought the story was really great… twisted and definitely messed up with horribly flawed characters that I loved anyway. I had first heard about this book because of the movie (Anna Kendrick and Blake Lively are both amazing) so I had them in mind when I read it.

Yesterday was my day off from the bookstore, so after I finished the book, I immediately rented the movie, which I loved! The ending was different, but I thought that it was awesome. This is one of the VERY few cases where I liked the movie better than the book *oooh, a pig just flew past the window*

Whether you decide to do the book, the movie, or both, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

 

1/24/19

50104965_2648355881849094_4057834626805137408_n.jpg

One of my customers brought this is a few weeks ago and I slyly added it to my TBR pile instead of putting it in the bookstore 🍸🍸🍸 Excited to start it today!

 

1/24/19

REVIEW – The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon   indexindexindexindexindex

Wow – what an awesome book! How have I never read any of Jennifer McMahon’s stuff before?

The Winter People had a little bit of everything… murder, mystery, magic, and love. The alternating timelines were done so well… I loved the diary/book entries against Alice currently missing.

Off to look the shelves for more of her books 🙂

 

1/22/19

REVIEW – In Bloom by CJ Skuse   indexindexindex111111

For as much as I loved Sweetpea, the sequel In Bloom just fell kind of flat for me. I just kept WAITING for something to happen. By page 200, still nothing… But the last 100 pages were good enough for me to hope for another sequel.

Obviously Rhiannon has no moral compass, but it bugged me how she kept taking advantage of Elaine and Jim. Who cares about the murder spree? I’m worried about their feelings! lol

Keeping my fingers crossed for another one.

 

1/21/19

50508801_2641607522523930_7082992805928239104_n.jpg

❄️It is colllddd in Myrtle Beach today! ❄️ I’ll be starting The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon. Stop by The Bookworm from 10-7 to grab some cozy reads for yourself!

 

1/20/19

REVIEW – Bad Girls with Perfect Faces by Lynn Weingarten  indexindexindex111111

I am an adult who likes to read YA, so I don’t expect to be intellectually stimulated all the time when I read this genre, but this one was just OK for me. I cannot imagine there is any adult out there that loved this book. It was predictably dramatic and angsty, and the twist was pretty obvious. Love the cover and title though!

 

1/19/19

50269961_2637218032962879_4201888787690684416_o.jpg

Next up! Happy Reading!

 

1/17/19

REVIEW – The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid   indexindexindexindexindex

I’m not crying, you’re crying.

I just freaking loved this book. I loved the way it was written, I loved the story within the story, I loved the characters, the setting, the glamour… I especially loved Evelyn Hugo.

I recently read Daisy Jones and The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid, and it was just as fantastic. TJR has me as a fan for life. I will read anything she ever writes.

I would be ecstatic if someone made this into a movie or show, but honestly, I can’t think of an actress that’s good enough to portray Evelyn Hugo with the amazingness that TJR has.

I cannot recommend this book enough!

 

1/17/19

50714509_2633050913379591_6650438055318519808_n.jpg

Excited to see what my favorite female serial killer gets into in the sequel to Sweetpea… Starting In Bloom!

 

1/15/19

REVIEW – Save Me From Dangerous Men by S.A. Lelchuk  indexindexindex111111

I was so set to love Nikki and her double life… bookseller by day, badass PI and righter of wrong by night, but this book was just OK for me. Sometimes it’s so obvious (and not in a good way) when a male author tries to write a female character… this was definitely one of those times. All the characters needed flushed out more. I love Ethan, give me more of him. Nikki has potential, so does Jess. I just need more. I want more about their backstory, and what makes them tick.

The mystery was good… I saw the “twists” coming a mile away. And everything just fit a little too easily for me to really enjoy this book. I definitely have some complaints… <<check out my Goodreads for a full review including spoilers!>>

I still think it was a decent book, especially for a debut author. Not sure if I would continue with the series, but I think I’d give Nikki one more chance.

 

1/14/19

49937692_2626936277324388_427951310172585984_n

Super excited to start The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo! I recently read Daisy Jones and The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid and it was fantastic!!

 

1/13/19

49947668_2624495377568478_6184578092481118208_n

Bookseller by day and badass PI and righter of wrongs by night? How could I not be excited for Save Me From Dangerous Men? A big thank you to Flatiron Books for sending me an advance copy! I’ll be spending my Sunday with Nikki Griffin…

 

1/12/19

REVIEW – Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover    indexindexindexindex111

Woooeee – this one was steamy! I read it at the bookstore, and I was practically fanning myself at the desk. Great book with wonderful characters.

I am slowly joining the hordes of people who think Colleen Hoover can do no wrong.

 

1/12/19

50018992_2622354217782594_3576370399241306112_n

You all did not steer me wrong with Sometimes I Lie (🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟) so I’m about to start the next book everyone recommended!

 

1/11/19

REVIEW – Roses be Leila Meacham   indexindexindexindex111

Let me start off by saying I love Gone With the Wind. It’s my favorite book, I’ve read it countless times, and it was the book that really ignited my love of reading. That being said, I was pretty hesitant to read a book that was being hailed as the “new Gone With the Wind.” I put it out there to my fellow bookworms and everyone said it was great, so I decided to give it a shot… and that cover, gorgeous right??

I actually really ended up liking the book. It started to drag a little towards the end, but I’m really glad I gave it a chance. I liked how the story spanned over different generations, I liked the characters, overall I really enjoyed the book.

Here’s my complaint though… it shouldn’t have tried to mirror GWTW so much! The main character is a strong woman with black hair, green eyes, a dimple, who is obsessed with her family land (that grows cotton!) over everything else. SOUND FAMILIAR?! Man alive, couldn’t she have at least looked different than Scarlett??

Still a solid 4 stars, but c’mon

 

1/11/19

REVIEW – Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney  indexindexindexindexindex

“Little girls are different from little boys: they’re made of sugar and spice and scar for life.”

Wow, wow, woooowww, what a fantastic book! I feel like I kept getting whiplash from the twists and turns I didn’t see coming. Great writing, great story… Amber and Claire and their dysfunctional love/hate/obsession are going to stick with me for awhile.

I can’t recommend this book enough! Great way to start off my 2019

 

1/9/18

49397662_2618232404861442_9140029442016411648_n

 

1/7/19

49725058_2606343242717025_1345604943075082240_n

Everyone said that Roses was definitely worth the read, so I started it this morning! 🌹

49538239_2612083595476323_2664013393022681088_n

1/6/19

REVIEW – Look Alive Twenty-Five by Janet Evanovich  indexindexindex111111

I absolutely love Stephanie, her love triangle with Morelli and Ranger (I’m totally Team Ranger) and the entire cast of characters, especially Lula and Grandma Mazur.

I feel like #25 was missing some of the best parts of the series… Grandma Mazur was practically nonexistent, Stephanie spent almost no time at her parents house, she didn’t even ruin a car. There wasn’t even really any ridiculous situations that ended in disaster except for one. That’s what makes this series so magical! I did laugh out loud a few times, Lula was amazing as always, but it just felt a little bland in comparison.

 

1/5/19

49619796_2607526462598703_4721164129212039168_o

Look Alive Twenty-Five!! I cannot wait to join Stephanie and Lula in their latest bounty hunting disaster/adventure in Trenton, NJ. We have *almost* the entire series at The Bookworm! Stop by today from 10-7 to get caught up… or better yet, START the Stephanie Plum series if you haven’t already. Happy Reading!

 

1/5/19

REVIEW – When Life Gives You Lululemons by Lauren Weisberger        indexindexindex111111

Solid 3 stars

It’s been a long time since I read The Devil Wears Prada, and I don’t even remember the story of Revenge Wears Prada, but I liked having Emily and Miranda back. I also really liked Miriam and Lina. The story was pretty predictable, but enjoyable… At least until the last 50 pages… (check out my full review with the spoilers on Goodreads!)

 

1/4/19

REVIEW – The Night Before by Wendy Walker   indexindex111111111

I really wanted to like this book… I’m a big fan of Wendy Walker (All is Not Forgotten is great, and Emma in the Night was one of my favorite reads from last year) but The Night Before just didn’t do it for me. It was hard enough keeping track of the story and the chapters with the different perspectives (Rosie, Laura, and then Laura’s sessions with the therapist) but then the sessions were all over the place time wise. It made it unnecessarily confusing.

Laura’s inner monologue that kept telling her “this isn’t right” but she still stayed in the situation/with the conversation/continuing with her actions was annoying. At the end of the day, I didn’t particularly like her or feel any kind of sympathy for her.

The twist was good, unexpected. But I don’t think it was enough to save the book. 2.5 stars rounded down to 2 because I just kept saying “I’m ready to be done with this book.”

 

12/31/18

49199522_2596344767050206_2138769829371314176_n

The Bookworm is open today from 10-7! I’ll be reading the next book in the Devil Wears Prada series. Stop in and grab some new-to-you books! Happy New Year’s Eve my fellow bookworms!!

 

12/30/18

REVIEW – This Will Only Hurt a Little – Busy Phillips indexindexindexindex111

I’m really glad I picked up this book! Busy Phillips seemed very real and honest. But, every time I read a celebrity’s memoir, I love the first half and get bored with the second half…this book was no different.

That being said, I really did enjoy this book. I’ve already added half of the stuff she’s acted in to my TV queue 🙂

 

12/29/18

49465017_2591927500825266_4195792579830218752_n

Going to finish out 2018 with Busy Phillips’ memoir 💗 Happy Reading!

 

12/27/18

REVIEW – I’m Watching You by Teresa Driscoll   indexindexindex111111

Each chapter was from the perspective of one of the main characters, which I really enjoyed (the witness, the sister, the watcher, etc.) They all had their parts to the story of Anna missing. “The Watcher” chapters were confusing though. I’ve read a lot of books where the bad guy had their own little parts, which always has added to the book… until this one. I don’t feel like it added anything to the story but confusion.

Ella got a pretty raw deal in this book. It wasn’t her responsibility to stop these girls or look up their parents phone numbers and tattle. I’ve been a 16 year old girl, no stranger is going to tell me what to do. It’s way more their parents fault for letting them go to London on their own.

I feel like the author really stretched some parts to make her story work, like really stretched them. The ending was a good twist, though not explained enough for my taste.

Overall, it was a decent book. Solid 3 stars

 

12/26/18

49048657_2585754991442517_4807632060082552832_n

OK, back to normal life… Now reading!

 

12/23/18

48384128_2577471252270891_5433726128768417792_n

Me and Harry Plopper were so excited to get an advance copy of Wendy Walker’s latest book The Night Before… ! I’ve read All is Not Forgotten and Emma in the Night and I’m such a fan of her work. Starting it now!

 

12/20/18

REVIEW – The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo   indexindexindex111111

The book was good… didn’t love it though. I was so curious about how the book ended, I kept going until I finished it. The little cliffhangers at the end of each chapter REALLY kept my interest.

At the end of the day, Lucy and Gabe just seemed young and infatuated with each other… not some tragic, once in a lifetime kind of love. They were young and a little obsessed with each other, I really think that was it. I think Lucy was pretty unfair to Darren… no one is perfect, but he seemed pretty close to it and she just felt like she was settling. That kind of bugged me… I don’t think I realized how much until I started to write out this review – haha. Of course he had his bad points, but not nearly enough to keep her secretly pining for someone else for 10+ years.

I wish we would have had a little more wrap-up at the end, but that’s my preference. I don’t like leaving things unsettled!

Overall, definitely not one of my favorite of Reese’s Book Club picks, but a good, easy read.

 

12/20/18

REVIEW – The Summer Children by Dot Hutchison   indexindexindexindexindex

The Summer Children was fantastic… I spent my only day away from the bookstore reading it at home on the couch. Dot Hutchison definitely recaptured the magic of The Butterfly Garden that was missing in The Roses of May.

I loved that this book was centered around Mercedes and we went through her struggles and demons while she was trying to find the “angel”. Great book! I am so pumped that there is another coming out in 2019.

 

12/19/18

48393863_2571847009499982_5490351265361690624_n.jpg

I’m a sucker for Reese Witherspoon’s book picks! Starting this now…

 

12/19/18

REVIEW – The Wicked Within by Kelly Keaton   indexindexindexindex111

I was happy to get sucked back into the world of New 2 with Ari, Sebastian, and most importantly Violet and Pascal… I loved that Violet played a bigger role in this book.

I really enjoy this series, the setting, and the characters. The end wrapped up a little too prettily for my taste, but that’s really the only negative thing. Looking forward to reading the next installment!

 

12/18/18

48374071_2569141116437238_8409338067676037120_n

Gorgons, vampires, and shape-shifters going to war with Athena and set in New Orleans… Perfect book to get me in the Christmas spirit 🤣 About to start the 3rd book in the Gods and Monsters series!

 

12/17/18

REVIEW – Sweetpea by C.J. Skuse   indexindexindexindex111

Rhiannon is obviously a monster… but a monster who loves her dog and Gordon Ramsay and you can’t help rooting for. She made me laugh and cringe at the same time. Reminded me of Joe from the book You by Caroline Kepnes… another likeable psychopath. Her “kill lists” at the beginning of the chapter were disturbingly familiar to my own annoyances… right down to the adult women who wear pigtails 🙂

A lot of characters are thrown at you at the beginning… I had to go back through and re-check names/relationships a few times. I also spent the first 80 pages wondering who the hell Julia was. The explanation finally came at page 77. That was a little annoying. Also, the tagline was “The last person who called me Sweetpea ended up dead.” The only person who called her that was her boss, and she was still alive at the end of the book. Did I miss something??

Anyways, loved it, loved her, can’t wait to read the sequel.

 

12/16/18

1217180959a.jpg

My 200th book of the year!!

 

12/16/18

REVIEW – The Roses of May by Dot Hutchison  indexindexindexindex