Now Reading, Reviews, and Recommendations

9/27/22

A lot goes into taking book pics… Swipe to see behind the scenes 😅📚 📸
Eli is currently reading (and loving!) The Case of the Murderous Dr. Cream by Dean Jobb. It’s about the hunt for a Victorian serial killer.
 
9/26/22
 
308952731_8371426262875332_2674289308679617796_n
 
And so begins another week… Currently reading Magpie by Elizabeth Day. Stop by and see us at The Bookworm this week! We’re open M-Th from 10-5 and Fri-Sat from 10-7. Have a good week and happy reading!
 
REVIEW – Magpie by Elizabeth Day  indexindexindex111111
 
Eh
 
 
9/24/22
 
308715361_8364336520250973_1287889699138201624_n
 
Don’t you just love it when you discover a new author and they have a ton of books?! Continuing my journey through all of the Freida McFadden books with The Inmate. Stay spooky, bookworms!
 
REVIEW – The Inmate by Freida McFadden   indexindexindexindex111
 
While I didn’t love this one quite as much as The Locked Door, it was still a quick and entertaining thriller. Felt repetitive at times, but definitely kept me guessing until the end. Looking forward to reading more of her books!
 
 
9/23/22
 

It’s Eli, slinging burgers, I mean books, all day at The Bookworm. Just finished Monster Burger, the 2nd book in the 24/7 Demon Mart series by D.M. Guay. Loving this series. Thanks to Inlet Provision Company for helping with the pictures!

 

9/21/22

307585376_8349252408426051_4412048705973120638_n

Joining the rest of the world and reading Jennette McCurdy’s bestselling memoir, I’m Glad My Mom Died.

REVIEW – I’m Glad My Mom Died by Jennette McCurdy   indexindexindexindex111

Child stars get dealt a really bad hand… this book was just another example of that. I think maybe because I didn’t have any real recognition of her, and I didn’t grow up watching her, that it was missing that extra “OMG” that everyone seems to feel about this book, but I don’t really get all the fanfare.

I commend her for being honest, and realizing how traumatic and toxic her life was, but I feel like it was all pretty much surface stuff… she didn’t really delve into anything, including the realization that she was actually glad her mom died (though to be honest, she is better off)

Still glad I read it. 4 stars.

 
 
9/20/22
 
Can you tell the difference in their personalities?! 😁 I needed something cute and easy after all the heavy books I’ve been reading lately, so I grabbed Dear Sweet Pea by Julie Murphy.
🪅🪅 Please join me in congratulating Michelle Holbert for winning our latest giveaway! Michelle – I’ll send you a message shortly 🪅🪅
 
REVIEW – Dear Sweet Pea by Julie Murphy  indexindexindex111111
 
I have been reading a lot of heavy stuff lately, so I just needed a cute and easy palate cleanser. I typically love Julie Murphy’s books, but this one fell a little short for me. I say this knowing full well that I am in my 40s reading a book for Middle Graders… but, a good book is still a good book. I think she tried too hard to teach lessons to the readers. Could have been super cute, but it ended up just being OK for me.
 
 
9/18/22
 
307915888_8334226729928619_2978735385793359856_n
 
Lots of stuff to do today, but I think I’ll be staying in bed with Anatomy: A Love Story by Dana Schwartz instead. Enjoy your day bookies, and we’ll see you at The Bookworm next week!
 
REVIEW – Anatomy: A Love Story by Dana Schwartz   indexindexindex111111

I’ve had this book sitting on my TBR since it’s release… I think I kept skipping over it because I was afraid it was going to be boring. I was right.

Love the idea behind the story, unfortunately it was slow and uninteresting. The ending picked up, but that only earned it another 1/4 of a star. I don’t think I’ll be reading the sequel.

3.25 stars

 

 
9/17/22
 
307309179_8329506807067278_8317862759966641679_n
 
Rosie has been on vacation in the Outer Banks this week just flying through books! See any favorites? Congrats to Caleb Wygal for the release of his 3rd Myrtle Beach Mystery!
 
 
9/16/22
 
307177126_8324829484201677_8849084900476414280_n
 
Eli posting today – thank you for all the birthday wishes yesterday! I’m currently reading Blood Brothers: The Story of Sitting Bull and Wild Bill by Deanne Stillman. Don’t forget to enter our latest giveaway… Details are on The Bookworm’s Facebook page 🐮
 
 
9/14/22
 
306922712_8315014211849871_7163097849726165708_n
 
Good morning bookies! Currently reading When We Were Bright and Beautiful by Jillian Medoff. Stop by and see us at The Bookworm this week! Our hours are M-Th from 10-5 and Fri-Sat from 10-7. See you soon and happy reading!
 
REVIEW – When We Were Bright and Beautiful by Jillian Medoff  indexindexindexindex111
 

A very well-written book about some tough and horrifying events.

I don’t think this book deserves it’s low rating… I really think it is worth the read as long as you can handle the subject matter.

4 stars

 
 
9/10/22
 
306275757_8297335520284407_7242703868796735275_n
 
A giant thank you to Celadon Books for making me one of their early reviewers! I’m so excited to receive an advance copy of Locust Lane by Stephen Amidon. I’ll be spending my weekend trying to figure out what happened Eden Perry… Mark your calendars – Locust Lane drops January 17
 
REVIEW – Locust Lane by Stephen Amidon   indexindexindex111111

This book was an unthrilling thriller.

I was really excited to receive this as an ARC, but unfortunately, it left me feeling letdown.

There were too many characters and POVs… I had a hard time remembering who was who and it took about 150 pages for the story to pick up.

Among the many different POVs, the author would build up a big event, but then switch to a different character who addressed it in the aftermath. This just felt like an odd choice to me which also added to what already felt like a too slow pace.

3.25 stars

 
 
9/9/22
 
306284172_8293673517317274_6858910539849304703_n
 
After reading Matthew McConaughey’s Greenlights, it only made sense to slide right into Sahara by Clive Cussler since McConaughey played Dirk Pitt in the movie. Enjoying my #manfluff by the pool today.
 
 
9/8/22
 
305965877_8288844947800131_1925809836000943852_n
 
💀🐾🦞 It’s beginning to look a lot like Halloween in The Bookworm household! Our little lobster helped pick my next read… Currently reading The Locked Door by Freida McFadden 🦞🐾💀

💀🐾🦞 Don’t forget we have changed our Thursday hours to 10-5. Happy Reading! 🦞🐾💀
 
REVIEW – The Locked Door by Freida McFadden   indexindexindexindexindex
 
Loved this!! Read it in a day… Kept me guessing until the end, and the answers surprised me! Excuse me while I go buy everything Freida McFadden has written
 
 
9/7/22
 
305449168_8283102075041085_4809732428680773745_n
 
Eli post – Cortney read Matthew McConaughey’s memoir, Greenlights, a few months ago and loved it, so I had to give it a read too. Sending it back into The Bookworm today, so stop by to grab our last copy and check out the rest of our Biographies and Memoir section!
 
 
9/5/22
 
🔮Happy Labor Day! The Bookworm is OPEN regular hours today🔮
 
🧙🏻‍♀️Someone is excited for Spooky Season! 🐈‍⬛ Our favorite little bookworms were down for a visit last week, and Charlee helped with some of her Aunt Coco’s book pictures 🐈‍⬛ Currently reading The Love of My Life by Rosie Walsh 🧙🏻‍♀️
 
REVIEW – The Love of My Life by Rosie Walsh   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down

I don’t know… this book just didn’t work for me. It all felt a little odd. I loved Ghosted, so I have been dying to read The Love of My Life, but overall, it was just OK.

I never really felt connected to any of the characters, and the author tried so hard to build the mystery aspect that instead of being intrigued, I was just annoyed.

The second half was definitely better than the first, but I’m left feeling slightly disappointed and unsatisfied.

 
 
9/2/22
 
302444924_8260300387321254_6683120126690919921_n
 
I didn’t even need to do an elaborate set up for this book picture because the cover is STUNNING! Currently reading (and loving) the newest book from Goldy Moldavsky, Lord of the Fly Fest. Stop by and see Tracie and Rosie at The Bookworm this weekend! They’ll be there 10-7 Friday and Saturday 🌺🌺🌺
 
REVIEW – Lord of the Fly Fest by Goldy Moldavsky   indexindexindexindex111
 

For anyone who is thinking about reading this book, know that it is a satire about how ridiculous our obsession is with social media and influencers.

That being said, I personally loved it. A combination of the disaster of Fyre Festival and Lord of the Flies, yes please!

I read this book in a day and enjoyed every minute of it. This isn’t going to be a book for everyone, but those who can appreciate it for what it is will love it.

And can we take a second of silence for that stunning cover 🤩🤩🤩

4.25 stars

 
 

8/31/22

304857126_8251930698158223_2638322704813288265_n

How do I not grab this for myself before putting it on the shelf?! Currently reading She Came to Slay: The Life and Times of Harriet Tubman by Erica Armstrong Dunbar. Stop by The Bookworm to check out our non-fiction section! indexindexindexindex111

 

8/28/22

302243558_8236748699676423_4525930875067279213_n

Eli and I are doing our own version of a “buddy read” and switching this book back and forth because we were both dying to read it 😅😅😅💀 Call it a book timeshare maybe? Currently reading Hidden Pictures by Jason Rekulak

REVIEW – Hidden Pictures by Jason Rekulak   indexindexindexindexindex

I really loved this book… I devoured it in less than 2 days. Both my husband and I wanted to read it, so we just kept swapping it back and forth.

It went left towards the end, so I wasn’t super in love with the ending, but that didn’t change my 5 star rating.

Very creepy and cool

 

8/26/22

301409874_8226811874003439_7404992634508108829_n

📚 Happy Friday, bookies!! I just picked up For Your Own Good by Samantha Downing. Stop by and see us at The Bookworm Friday and Saturday from 10-7! 📚

REVIEW – For Your Own Good by Samantha Downing  indexindexindexindexindex

I devoured this book in two days… I really enjoyed it! There were a lot of different POVs, which helped advance the story, but I had to make sure I finished a section/chapter because it switched around a lot with no notice. It started to drag just a little after the first half, but picked up again. It was twisted and interesting and just what I was in the mood for.

4.5 stars rounded up!

 

8/24/22

301516290_8217321164952510_2533047573179951508_n

💛🌺💛 A giant thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending me an early copy of The Matchmaker’s Gift and @lloigman for such a sweet note! I loved The Wartime Sisters, so I’m super excited for the new one 💛🌺💛 The Matchmaker’s Gift by Lynda Cohen Loigman hits bookshelves September 20 💛🌺💛

REVIEW – The Matchmaker’s Gift by Lynda Cohen Loigman  indexindexindexindex111

What a sweet story! I loved all the characters in this book and enjoyed the dual timelines. Felt a little slow at times, but overall, I really liked it.

 

8/22/22

300646920_8207890632562230_3847581364733539867_n

🌺📚🌺 Impluse grab off the shelf at The Bookworm! Currently reading What Happened That Night by Sandra Block. Stop by and see us this week… The Bookworm is open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Happy reading! 🌺📚🌺

REVIEW – What Happened That Night by Sandra Block  indexindexindexindex111

Enjoyed this story! Who doesn’t love a tale of righteous revenge? The writing was kind of mediocre, and I could have done without James, but I still liked it.

3.5 stars rounded up

 

8/21/22

300422009_8203413529676607_8149138674700178984_n

It’s Eli this morning, reading Secret Identity by Alex Segura. Enjoy your Sunday, and we’ll see you at The Bookworm next week! 🦹🏼‍♂️🦸🏼‍♀️🦹🏼🦸🏻🦹🏻‍♀️

 

8/18/22

300115193_8188602237824403_4342931460794742261_n

Good morning, bookworms! My next read is The Book of Essie by Meghan MacLean Weir.

REVIEW – The Book of Essie by Megan MacLean Weir  indexindexindexindex111

There is just something so infuriating about these “good” Christian pastors that preach nothing but hate while taking all their parishioners money and living the high life thinking they’re above the law and never face any consequences.

The Book of Essie tells a story from the point of view of one of their daughters, the boy she’s about to marry, and the reporter telling her story.

Honestly, I could have done without Liberty’s storyline (the reporter), especially all her background. I don’t feel like it added to the story. I would have loved more about and from Essie.

The ending felt rushed too… I wish we had more of a wrap up.

I really enjoyed this book and I’m glad picked it up.

 

8/17/22

299953021_8184286068256020_7415949641327005858_n

Local author and retired attorney David Flowers just dropped his book, Taming the Lions Tamers, at The Bookworm! He talks about being part of the legal team that took on a private school in Charleston who allowed a serial pedophile to continue teaching and abusing students. Stop by to check it and the rest of our True Crime section out. I’ll be here ’til 5!

 

8/15/22

299510282_8173859752631985_3287346132084670449_n

🌻 Welcome to a new week! Picking up the latest from one of my favorites and reading Gallant by V.E. Schwab 🌻

📚 Stop by The Bookworm this week and check out all the new books we got on the shelf 🌻 The Bookworm is open Monday-Wednesday from 10-5 and Thursday-Saturday from 10-7 🌻

📚 See you soon and happy reading! 📚

REVIEW – Gallant by VE Schwab   indexindexindexindex111

VE Schwab is one of my favorite authors, but there was just nothing special about this book. I feel like I’ve read some version of this story more than once.

I’ll still preorder whatever she writes, but this one isn’t a keeper for me.

3.5 stars rounded up

 

8/13/22

299167407_8163951723622788_8507257250520904469_n

Don’t you hate it when you wake up crazy early on your day off?! Guess I’ll be spending the morning with Pretty Things by Janelle Brown. Have a wonderful weekend bookworms and Happy Reading

REVIEW – Pretty Things by Janelle Brown   indexindexindex111111

Geez, this was a slog to get through.

This almost 500 page book could have been cut by at least 150 pages and it would have done nothing but improve the story.

It did pick up after the first 250 pages, but that should never be the case with what is considered a thriller.

3.25 stars

 

8/10/22

298590980_8150153615002599_3103331368811952445_n

I recently finished How to Make Friends with the Dark by Kathleen Glasgow… I’m clearly outside the age of “Young Adult” but I still love to read it. Our YA section at The Bookworm is full of great reads for your teens (or those who haven’t been a teenager in 20 years 😉) Stop by and see us this week!

REVIEW – How to Make Friends in the Dark by Kathleen Glasgow indexindexindex111111

I’m in the minority, but I didn’t love this. It was slow-paced, 100 pages too long, and I feel like there was a lot of wasted potential. The author touched on the surface of so much, but never really delved into the other characters or their stories.

 

8/9/22

298526785_8145449938806300_2113648657468614601_n

Happy National Book Lovers Day! Eli here, reading the first book in the Thrawn Ascendency series by Timothy Zahn, Chaos Rising. It was over 25 years ago that I read his first series of Thrawn books, and I’m excited to get another trilogy of one of my favorite Star Wars characters.

 

8/8/22

298319866_8137290249622269_2347581849201140615_n

Taking a little break from the neverending weekend to do list and picking up Hook, Line, and Sinker by Tessa Bailey. I loved the first book in this series so much, I had to slide right into the sequel. Hope you all made time to read this weekend! We’ll see you at The Bookworm next week!

REVIEW – Hook, Line, and Sinker by Tessa Bailey   indexindexindexindexindex

While I didn’t *quite* love this one as much as It Happened One Summer, it was an adorably wonderful follow up!

 

8/6/22

297958753_8132078446810116_2513073256507986646_n

☠️🔪☠️ Hey bookies! ☠️🔪☠️
Currently reading The Final Girl Support Group by Grady Hendrix ☠️🔪☠️ Stop by The Bookworm today from 10-7 to find that book you’ve been dying to reading ☠️🔪☠️

REVIEW – The Final Girl Support Group by Grady Hendrix   indexindexindexindex111

I just really like Grady Hendrix. This one wasn’t my favorite, but I’m still glad I picked it up.

The story of each “Final Girl” was peppered throughout the story, so I had a hard time keeping everyone straight, caring about them, etc. I wish we had gotten everyone’s rundown at the beginning.

The ending also felt a little rushed.

3.75 stars rounded up

 

8/4/22

297590468_8123138504370777_9069231882578756251_n

Eli posting today – with this unending heat, I wanted to read something that put my head somewhere cooler. Madhouse at the End of the Earth by Julian Sancton is about the first expedition to explore Antarctica and find the South Pole 🥶

 

8/3/22

297371479_8117711394913488_335845359023580083_n

Good morning! I’m currently reading Imperfect Women by Araminta Hall. Stop by and see us at The Bookworm this week!

REVIEW – Imperfect Women by Araminta Hall   indexindexindex111111

Imperfect Women was more of a character study than a thriller. Nancy’s death, and what actually happened that night, felt very secondary. I saw the two “twists” coming a mile away. If you want to try one of this authors’ books, I’d suggest Our Kind of Cruelty over this one.

 

7/31/22

296960624_8103713246313303_2996927787968946159_n

It’s Eli, starting another David Baldacci series. Currently reading One Good Deed. Enjoy your Sunday and be sure to stop by The Bookworm next week!

 

7/30/22

296783585_8099513836733244_4242652005165724377_n

Starting off the weekend at the pool with It Happened One Summer by Tessa Bailey. Stay cool, bookworms!

REVIEW – It Happened One Summer by Tessa Bailey   indexindexindexindexindex

I absolutely ADORED this book!! I don’t typically gravitate to cutesy RomComs, but the allure of a character based on Alexis Rose was enough for me to grab this. I am so glad I did! Definitely in my top reads of the year. I will be rolling right into the sequel (which I bought when I was only 20 pages into this one). Loved it!

 

7/29/22

296641641_8094600333891261_2633460215838150188_n

I read Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent years ago and loved it… I haven’t liked her next 3, and Skin Deep was my least favorite of them all. I think it’s time to give up with this author! index/5

 

7/27/22

296172595_8085457488138879_5210944310654481215_n

It’s Eli, reading The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt before watching the movie. Do you always read the book before watching the adaptation?

 

7/25/22

295879850_8078169255534369_4887519815420043218_n

🏖️ It’s going to be another 🔥hot🔥 week in Myrtle Beach! Do you have enough beach reading? 🏖️ Stop by The Bookworm from 10-5 Monday-Wednesday and 10-7 Thursday-Saturday to stock up! 📚😎📚 I’m currently reading Grave Reservations by Cherie Priest. Stay cool, bookies! 📚😎📚

REVIEW – Grave Reservations by Cherie Priest   indexindexindex111111

Quick read… I liked the idea behind this more than the actual writing and story. Great cover though.

 

7/22/22

295303869_8064085046942790_5018356731514291778_n

Happy Friday! Currently reading a #reesesbookclub pick, Seven Days in June by Tia Williams. Stop by The Bookworm today and tomorrow from 10-7 to check out all the new books we got on the shelves this week. Have a great day and happy reading!

REVIEW – Seven Days in June by Tia Williams   indexindexindexindex111

3.75 rounded up

Seven Days in June is not the type of book I tend to gravitate towards, but it’s been on my radar since Reese picked it for her book club.

I liked it… it was a good story with complicated characters that you just wanted the best for.

Glad I picked it up!

 

7/21/22

295086409_8059594774058484_8183463392308612153_n

Just finished another AR Torre book, and she never disappoints! Every Last Secret was a fast-paced thriller with bad characters you couldn’t help but like. Can’t wait for her next one!

REVIEW – Every Last Secret by AR Torre   indexindexindexindexindex

Another great book by this author… She never disappoints!

4.5 stars rounded up

 

7/19/22

294589824_8050277198323575_3751405418755996251_n

Eli here, currently reading The Vapors by David Hill. This a story about the little known mafia controlled town of Hot Springs, Arkansas and the author’s connection to that town and this story. Stop by The Bookworm this week and check out our non-fiction section. We have Biographies/Memoirs, History, Self Help, Religious/Spiritual, True Crime, Current Events, and more.

 

7/18/22

294470736_8045285425489419_1698718320529679958_n

Digging out the bottom of my TBR pile and finally reading Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson. Stop by The Bookworm this week and grab some great beach reads! We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7.

REVIEW – Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson   111111111111111

This was the second time I tried reading this book, chalking the first fail to being sick, but I had to DNF around 100 pages. The characters, the writing, none of it grabbed me or made me want to continue a 4 book series.

 

7/15/22

293050308_8029505877067374_1314357041960539303_n

I love dystopian books where women rise up to fight the patriarchy, and Christina Dalcher nails it every time. I just finished Femlandia and it was fantastic! We have that, Vox, and Master Class all on the shelf at The Bookworm. Stop by and try one!

REVIEW – Femlandia by Christina Dalcher   indexindexindexindexindex

This was a great book! I’ve read all her stuff, and this one is my favorite.

Her books are not going to be for everyone, but they’re definitely for me. Can’t wait for the next one!

 

7/13/22

293463392_8018618621489433_144913484661471569_n

Hey book nerds, Eli posting today. I’m reading Dune Messiah, the 2nd book in the series by Frank Herbert. Stop by The Bookworm to see Cortney today, she’ll be there from 10-5. Happy Reading!

 

7/10/22

293224655_8004034649614497_8084196017358219194_n

🥀 A big thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending me an early copy of Hester by Laurie Lico Albanese 🥀 This retelling of The Scarlett Letter is at the top of most anticipated reads of 2022 🥀 Hope all my fellow bookworms are enjoying their Sunday! 🥀

REVIEW – Hester by Laurie Lico Albanese   indexindexindexindex111

3.75 rounded up

I love reading retellings, so a new spin on The Scarlet Letter sounded amazing.

The authors writing was beautiful. But, the story started to drag in the middle and never really picked up for me.

Still enjoyed and I’m glad I picked it up.

 

7/9/22

291833994_7999362010081761_8799953673873448359_n

I couldn’t resist grabbing Julie Clark’s new book, The Lies I Tell, when it came through the store last week! Did you know we get new releases all the time at The Bookworm? Stop by and check out all the great books we have on our shelves. The Bookworm is open Monday-Wednesday from 10-5 and Thursday-Saturday from 10-7. See y’all soon and happy reading!!

REVIEW – The Lies I Tell by Julie Clark   indexindexindexindexindex

What a book! Definitely the best thriller I’ve read all year, and Meg is quite possibly one of my favorite characters ever.

I loved the two different POVs, the fast-paced story, everything! I read this book in less than 36 hours because I could not wait to see what happened next.

5 giant stars 🤩🤩🤩🤩🤩

 

7/7/22

292680115_7990693487615280_7901830692295362612_n

Eli here, reading the first book in the 24/7 Demon Mart series, The Graveyard Shift from @d.m.guay. This is what you get when an out of shape loser, a badass goth chick, and a metal head cockroach are the protectors of the gate to hell. Oh and that gate, it’s in the beer cave of a mini mart in Columbus, Ohio.

 

7/4/22

292051777_7977216565629639_1171181599021264375_n

It’s Eli, today seems like a good day start a book about America. Well, a book about American cider at least. So be sure to raise a glass of this historic beverage (preferably a Noble Cider, as it’s the best) while you read and celebrate the birth of our nation.

 

7/2/22

291567774_7968247013193261_6934589290658401488_n

It’s is a rainy 4th of July weekend in Myrtle Beach! Currently curled up my favorite reading buddies and They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman. Stop by and see Meg at The Bookworm today from 10-7. Don’t forget, we’ll be closed on Monday!

REVIEW – They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman  indexindex111111111

This wasn’t great… The story, the characters, the mystery, the writing were all eh.

 

7/1/22

291222329_7963407463677216_8437022225512451990_n

🏖️📚🌞 Stop by The Bookworm today and tomorrow to grab some beach reading for 4th of July weekend! We’ll be here from 10-7🏖️📚🌞 I’m currently reading Last Summer at the Golden Hotel by Elyssa Friedland 🏖️📚🌞

REVIEW – Last Summer at the Golden Hotel   indexindexindex111111

I liked the idea behind this story, and the writing was decent, but there were WAY too many characters and POVs. I had to write out a little post-it to keep everyone straight. It would have been better to just focus on 2, or even 3 of the characters. Everything just got really muddled.

 

6/29/22

290908237_7954394681245161_8355971592990816589_n

Eli here, getting started on Live Wire, book 10 of Harlan Coben’s Myron Bolitar series. There is only one more book left after this, not sure if I’m ready for it to be over.

 

6/26/22

290528171_7940769355941027_2851311162537578213_n

A giant thank you to Black Stone Publishing for sending me an early copy of Catherine Ryan Howard’s upcoming thriller, Run Time. I devoured 56 Days, so I’m super excited to dive into this one!

REVIEW – Run Time by Catherine Ryan Howard   indexindexindexindex111

I liked it! Despite it’s size, it was a quick read that kept my attention.

The movie script within the book and the novel that was in the movie script was a little too much to muddle through at times, especially when the same thing was happening in each, but I still enjoyed this book.

 

6/25/22

290403310_7935180316499931_592145945651495506_n

Just finished watching my latest binge of Buffy, so it felt like the perfect time to light my Sunnydale Library candle and pick up Evan Ross Katz’s book, Into Every Generation a Slayer is Born; How Buffy Staked Our Hearts 🧛🖤📚

We got a ton of new books on the shelves this week, so stop by The Bookworm from 10-7 to grab some great poolside reading!

REVIEW – Into Every Generation by Evan Ross Katz   indexindexindexindex111

Buffy is one of my all time favorite shows, I’ve watched it too many times to count. Which is why I had to have this book.

The first half was a stunning 5 stars. Loved, loved, loved. The second half was a 3, at best, and felt unnecessary.

I know some of the people he was supposed to interview dropped out (Willow, most notably), but the queen of all things, Sarah Michelle Gellar, actually did do one. I struggle to understand why there was so many more quotes and tidbits from his interviews with Glory and Tara as opposed to BUFFY. A lot from some of the writers, which only about half was relevant/interesting, and a ton from podcasters and bloggers, which was annoying.

There is no doubt he did his research and spent the time writing this book that it deserved. If you love the show, read this. If you’re just curious about it, you should probably skip it… at least until after you watch the show and adore it like the rest of us.

 

6/22/22

290016708_7920523227965640_6453994606722162631_n

Eli posting today and currently reading the 10th Dirk Pitt book by Clive Cussler, Dragon. Stop by The Bookworm today from 10-5 to grab the next book in the series you’re reading too.

 

6/19/22

289341711_7906190822732214_1692435409686322770_n

Happy Father’s Day!! Currently reading The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker. Make sure you keep an eye on The Bookworm’s socials… Our biggest giveaway of the year starts tomorrow!

REVIEW – The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker   indexindexindexindex111

I liked this story and I really like KA Tucker’s writing, but honestly, Calla got on my nerves. She was shallow, bratty, and unappreciative. But, I feel like she grew over the book, so I still want to continue with the series.

 

6/18/22

289190421_7901114979906465_8536839447466222234_n

Hello Saturday! Currently reading Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill. Stop by The Bookworm today from 10-7 to check out all the new books we got on the shelves this week!

REVIEW – Heartshaped Box by Joe Hill   indexindexindexindex111

This was my first book by Joe Hill and I really liked it! Good story, good writing… wonder where he gets it from?!

 

6/16/22

288863283_7892185800799383_976402647184878973_n

Good morning bookies! I am finally picking up Matthew McConaughey’s memoir, Greenlights. Stop by and see me at The Bookworm today!

REVIEW – Greenlights by Matthew McConaughey  indexindexindexindexindex

I really enjoyed this book!

It was part memoir, part observation, part advice… and all really well done. It felt very genuine and you could hear his voice in the words.

I am sure that listening to the audio version of this book is even better!

 

6/14/22

288349555_7881840355167261_964649119695572787_n

Hey bookworms! One of my favorite customers said What Lies Between Us by John Marrs is her favorite thriller… How was I supposed to resist that kind of recommendation? Currently reading!

REVIEW – What Lies Between Us by John Marrs   indexindexindexindexindex

Loved this! I was riveted the entire story. Whoever’s POV I was reading, I was on their side… until it switched to the other one, and then I was on their team.

I’ve read a few books by this author and have loved all of them. Looking forward to reading more!

 

6/11/22

287552354_7868417693176194_7027578199414020003_n

🏖️🌞🩴Hello bookworms! Currently reading Vacationland by Meg Mitchell Moore 🌞 A big thanks to William Morrow Books for sending me an early copy! 🌞 Stop by The Bookworm today from 10-7 to grab some #beachreads for yourself! 🏖️🌞🩴

REVIEW – Vacationland by Meg Mitchell Moore – DNF  111111111111111

Unfortunately, this was another DNF for me. I don’t like her writing (oh the number of exclamation points!!!!) and I gave up after 50 pages. Stunning cover though.

 

6/10/22

287319478_7863730226978274_7441641118599635816_n

Eli post – reading yet another book about the Wild West with A Terrible Glory by James Donovan

 

6/8/22

287165866_7853691191315511_5044796634642843648_n

Thanks to Minotaur Books for sending me and Penelope (she insisted on wearing her Amish kapp for the picture) a copy of the upcoming Kate Burkholder mystery by Linda Castillo, The Hidden One! I’ve been reading this series, which is based around an ex-Amish police chief in Ohio, for years. If you haven’t tried one of her books, be sure to add it to your list!

REVIEW – The Hidden One by Linda Castillo   indexindexindexindex111

Good story! Still enjoying this series and the characters

 

6/5/22

286390929_7840257882658842_1661591422822295105_n

Eli posting today, finishing up Swimming to Catalina by Stuart Woods. Enjoy your Sunday and stop by The Bookworm next week! We are open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading

 

6/3/22

285928562_7829470727070891_5581420855195761816_n

🪅💛🪅 Hello Friday!! I picked up The Guncle by Steven Rowley yesterday and it is absolutely delightful 🪅💛🪅 Stop by The Bookworm today and Saturday from 10-7 to find yourself a book to love too! 🪅💛🪅

REVIEW – The Guncle by Steven Rowley  indexindexindexindexindex

What an absolute delight! I didn’t want the book to end.

 

6/1/22

285593269_7819939178024046_7958565560901290673_n

REVIEW – Our Crooked Hearts by Melissa Albert   indexindexindexindexindex

I loved this book! I was already a huge fan of Melissa Albert, but at this point, I think I would read her grocery list. She just has this fantastic way of weaving a story that sucks you in so completely.

I loved the characters and the different timelines, and I’ll tell you, I haven’t loved a book in weeks… whether I was picking the wrong thing or in some kind of slump, I don’t know, but this book brought me out of it.

 

5/26/22

284382710_7789009187783712_9177277436316476219_n

🍺 Eli posting today, doing some on the job research 🍺 You might not know, but I’m just Cortney’s back up bookworm 📚 I actually work full-time selling craft beer around Myrtle Beach 🍺 Currently reading Great Beers of Belgium by Michael Jackson 🍺

 

5/24/22

283933698_7779589235392374_4007340045547155475_n

Good morning, bookworms!! I am reading the 7th and final book in Karen White’s Tradd Street series, The Attic on Queen Street. Have a great day and happy reading!

REVIEW – The Attic on Queen Street by Karen White   indexindexindexindex111

Good wrap up to the series… definitely enjoyed it more than the past few books. Looking forward to the spin-off with Nola and Beau!

 

5/22/22

283649044_7770424502975514_7615601679829176737_n

📚📚 It’s a lazy Sunday at home with nothing to do but read! I fell in love with Georgia Clark’s storytelling a few months ago with It Had To Be You, so I picked up her first book, The Regulars 💋💋💋 Come see us at The Bookworm next week! We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7 📚📚

REVIEW – The Regulars by Georgia Clark   indexindexindex111111

I read Georgia Clark’s It Had to Be You a few months ago and loved it so much… so despite the less than stellar rating, I wanted to pick up The Regulars.

It was OK, but well-deserving of it’s current rating. Where is the explanation about Pretty? She touched on it briefly with the girl that gave it to Krista, but we were just left hanging and it was never revisited again.

 

5/20/22

283219544_7758618227489475_5842741058357445184_n

It’s Eli posting today, falling prey to #bookstagram and all the postings and rave reviews of The Cartographers by Peng Shepherd.

 

5/17/22

281955599_7742892555728709_6803605551488747150_n

Good morning! Tackling my TBR and grabbing one of the books that I’ve had the longest… Currently reading The Deep by Alma Katsu. Stop by and see us at The Bookworm this week!

REVIEW – The Deep by Alma Katsu   indexindexindex111111

It took me about 150 pages to get into this book, but overall, I liked it.

There were a lot of characters and POVs, to the point that I had to write them all out on a post-it and and leave it with the book so I could keep everyone straight.

If you’re looking to try one of her books, I’d suggest The Hunger over The Deep…

 

5/14/22

281241887_7728842843800347_3791689654548014745_n

🌸🌸 Happy Saturday!! 🌸🌸
I finally finished slogging my way through Song of Achilles (don’t throw a spear at me, but I don’t get the fanfare), so I needed a fun YA book 🌸 Currently reading I Kissed Shara Wheeler by Casey McQuiston 🌸 Stop by and see Rosie at The Bookworm today! She’ll be there from 10-7 🌸 Have a great weekend and happy reading! 🌸🌸

REVIEW – I Kissed Shara Wheeler by Casey McQuiston   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

I thought I was in a reading slump, but I think maybe it was just the last couple of books I read… this one included. I wanted to love it, I really did, but, I don’t know, I just didn’t (very succinct, right?)

I still liked it well enough, but I am just not as blown away by Casey McQuiston as the rest of the world, I guess. This is my second book of hers, and probably my last.

I am rounding up because I think it’s important, especially for young readers, to have characters like this to relate to.

 

5/11/22

279908393_7715241801827118_1682863270369994865_n

📚🌞📚 Hey bookies! Did you know we carry Novelly Yours Candles at The Bookworm? These soy candles are all book themed and smell delicious!🕯️📚🕯️
📚🌞📚 Currently reading Fault Lines by Emily Itami. Stop by this week to check out all the new books we’ve shelved and to give the candles a sniff 🐽📚 🐽

REVIEW – Fault Lines by Emily Itami   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up for the writing

This book was more of an ongoing inner monologue of an unhappy housewife than an actual story.

Quick and smart, I absolutely loved the authors writing. I really would have liked more of a story, but glad I picked it up, nonetheless.

 

5/9/22

280503867_7704061796278452_6063305331001726968_n

Eli posting today. Jack DuBrul is one of Clive Cussler’s writers, so I wanted to try one of his (own) books. Starting at the beginning of the Philip Mercer series with Vulcan’s Forge. The Bookworm will be open all week! Stop by M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7

 

5/5/22

280133832_7685171264834172_4559500744369291794_n

🖤📚🖤 Minotaur Books had me doing the book mail happy dance last week with an early copy of Things We Do in the Dark by Jennifer Hillier. I have been reading her since her first book a decade ago, and continue to love every one! Mark your calendar for the release of Things We Do in the Dark on July 19, and do yourself a favor and pick up her first book, Creep. 🖤📚🖤

🖤📚🖤 Stop by The Bookworm to replenish your TBR piles! We’re open the rest of the week from 10-7. Happy Reading! 🖤📚🖤

REVIEW – Things We Do in the Dark by Jennifer Hillier   indexindexindex111111

This isn’t the Jennifer Hillier I’ve been reading and loving for years…

Things We Do in the Dark started off decent enough, but I figured out the twist early, the middle dragged, and the ending was eh.

 

5/3/22

279939993_7676392515712047_4815019859911571428_n

I couldn’t resist this book when it came in to the store! Currently reading a #readwithjenna pick, Nothing to See Here by Kevin Wilson. Stop by and see us at The Bookworm this week!

REVIEW – Nothing to See Here by Kevin Wilson   indexindexindexindex111

Fun and quick read. Love that cover!

 

5/2/22

279838292_7671018386249460_1592017269088256317_n

📚🌼📚 The Bookworm will be open all week! Stop by Monday-Wednesday from 10-5 and Thursday-Saturday from 10-7 📚🌼📚

I fell in love with Madeline Miller’s writing and storytelling during Circe, so I couldn’t resist The Song of Achilles. Currently reading…

REVIEW – The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller   indexindexindex111111

3.5 stars rounded down because 1) I felt like I would never finish it 2) I couldn’t keep any of the secondary characters straight 3) It definitely didn’t live up to the hype

This book took me what felt like months to read… I just don’t really understand the fanfare over it. I read Circe a few years ago and thought it was absolutely amazing. This one wasn’t really worth the weeks I had to devote to it.

Clearly, I am in the minority here… thousands upon thousands of people disagree with me. Just know that not everyone thinks this book is the most amazing ever written.

 

4/29/22

279574611_7657569964260969_1287652500871415848_n

Hello Friday! Currently reading Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy. Stop by The Bookworm today and tomorrow from 10-7 to grab some weekend reading!

REVIEW – Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy   indexindexindex111111

I loved the idea behind this book more than the actual book.

The multiple POV’s and multiple timelines took away from the story. If it all would have been in order, I think the book would have flowed much better.

I still think Julie Murphy is amazing, but you can tell this was her first book.

 

4/28/22

279497551_7653065531378079_6564985005761439557_n

Eli here, just starting the final book in David Baldacci’s Will Robie series, End Game. I’m sad to have a series end, but excited to start another one. What are some book series that you didn’t want to end?

 

4/27/22

279441870_7648420725175893_6765490229936871344_n

Good Morning! I’m just about to start Mother Knows Best by Kira Peikoff. Stop by The Bookworm to check out all the great reads we put on the shelf this week. I’ll be there from 10-5! 📚🔥📚

REVIEW – Mother Knows Best by Kira Peikoff   indexindexindex111111

 

4/24/22

279255770_7634901483194484_7007411990976564748_n

Eli here, going above and beyond to entertain all the friends of The Bookworm. Hit a local hotel yesterday and went to 4 different floors looking for the best cleaning cart to get the perfect bookstagram picture for The Maid by Nita Prose. I’ll be reading this today… And not wandering aimlessly around any more Myrtle Beach hotels. We’ll see you next week at The Bookworm!

 

4/23/22

279147096_7630168657001100_2174680830962500113_n

Hello Saturday! Currently reading All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood. Stop by and see us at The Bookworm today. We added a ton of new books to the shelf this week. We’ll be there from 10-7!

REVIEW – All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood   indexindexindexindexindex

If you’re looking for a book to emotionally wreck you and make you question your own judgement, this, THIS, is the one.

I loved it, and I hate myself for loving it. Such a well-written story with characters that make you feel everything. Definitely read the authors notes in the back.

5 very big stars

 

4/22/22

279113951_7625765710774728_3735148880360142003_n

Thank you to @valentine_pr_ for sending me an early copy of the 1st book in the Mia Murphy Mystery series by Stephanie Rowe, Double Twist! I’ll be reading this today at The Bookworm. Stop by from 10-7 and add Double Twist to your list, it comes out May 3 🌼🌼🌼

REVIEW – Double Twist by Stephanie Rowe   indexindexindexindex111

Cute book with fun characters… could have used some editing, but overall, I liked it!

3.5 stars rounded up

 

4/21/22

278544373_7621345074550125_8790514227583633514_n

Eli here today, reading book one of the Pentecost and Parker series by Stephen Spotswood, Fortune Favours the Dead. So far, it sounds to me that the fortuneteller did it!

 

4/18/22

278895465_7609111835773449_3455004124747263160_n

It is a rainy day in Myrtle Beach, so that calls for a book all about summer! Currently reading Summer Darlings by Brooke Lea Foster. Stop by grab some great beach reads for yourself this week! We are open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7 📚🌞🍩📚

REVIEW – Summer Darlings by Brooke Lea Foster   indexindexindex111111

Well deserving of it’s 3.4 rating

I still wanted to read this book, despite it’s less than stellar rating, but eh, I should have listened to the collective! There were a lot of little things with this book that just left me feeling overall dissatisfied.

I don’t know how to put this in words, but it just didn’t read like like historical fiction or that it was taking place in the 1960s. Sure, the cars were right, but there was something about it that just didn’t feel legitimate. The characters were all blah and the author threw so many people and story lines at you, but never gave you their full story. Plus, Heddy was a terrible babysitter!

The writing was mediocre and it just didn’t flow well. Reading that blurb got me really excited for this book, but unfortunately, it just didn’t deliver.

 

4/17/22

278712312_7603819162969383_7304900638252707212_n

🐰🐰 Happy Easter 🐰🐰
I’m currently reading The Overnight Guest by Heather Gudenkauf. Enjoy your day (and your candy) and be sure to stop by The Bookworm next week! 🐰📚🐰
 
REVIEW – The Overnight Guest by Heather Gudenkauf  indexindexindexindexindex

I have been reading Heather Gudenkauf for years, and I am so glad she is getting more recognition!

Great book… I liked the different POV’s and tried valiantly to figure out who was who and still got surprised. Her books just keep getting better.

4.5 rounded up!

4/15/22

278660497_7595489530469013_967397675922974440_n

Hey book nerds, it’s Eli posting today. Finishing up my latest Harlan Coben with Long Lost, the 9th book in the Myron Bolitar series. Stop by The Bookworm today and tomorrow from 10-7 to grab some weekend reading

 

4/13/22

278190499_7585972211420745_8460686647326532469_n

30 Rock is one of my all-time favorite television shows (only following The Golden Girls and Buffy) so how could I not grab this? Currently reading The 30 Rock Book – Inside the Iconic Show, from Blerg to EGOT by Mike Roe. Have a great day, bookworms!

REVIEW – The 30 Rock Book by Mike Roe index111111111111

How could someone take something that is as amazing as 30 Rock and write such a TERRIBLE book about it?

I was about 50 pages in, wondering if I was alone in this when I looked up the rating and reviews. Apparently, the author just took interviews off the DVD commentaries and used that? WHAT? How does that even equal a published book? There weren’t any legitimate interviews for this book by any of the main characters. And the author went on ad nauseam about how problematic and racist the show could be.

I literally don’t have the words… I take that back, the words I have are “don’t bother”

 

4/10/22

278182426_7573131086038191_4891992972478989636_n

I’m in a bit of a reading slump… After a few long and exhausting books that felt like work to read and 2 DNF’s this month, I just needed something cute and easy! I started reading The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place to see if they would be good for my niece and nephew, and I ended up falling in love with them! Currently reading the 3rd book in the series, The Unseen Guest.

REVIEW – The Unseen Guest by Maryrose Wood indexindexindexindexindex

Adorable, as always. Lumawoo!

 

4/6/22

278062653_7555340477817252_5953412490944467345_n

Eli here, currently reading Bullet Train by Kotaro Isaka. When I heard about this book centered around five assassins on a train from Tokyo to Morioka, I had to read it. When I found out it was being turned into a movie, I really had to read it.

 

4/5/22

277749187_7551868428164457_7667344360228329085_n

A big thank you to Celadon Books for sending me an early copy of Jean Hanff Korelitz’s upcoming release, The Latecomer! Her last book, The Plot, was fantastic, so I’m excited to get into this one 🌸🌹🌸🌸

REVIEW – The Latecomer by Jean Hanff Korelitz   111111111111111

Sadly, I had to DNF this one. I made it 150 pages, and could NOT deal with these characters for another 350, so I dropped it.

 

4/2/22

277791889_7537512032933430_8615754077436306585_n

Hello Saturday! V.E. Schwab is one of my favorite writers, so I’m going back to her very first novel, The Near Witch. Stop by and see us at The Bookworm today from 10-7!

REVIEW – The Near Witch by V.E. Schwab   indexindexindex111111

I love VE Schwab, and I think she is magic. I only started reading her the past 5 years, so I wanted to go back to beginning and read her first book.

Unfortunately, this book was just OK. Knowing what amazingness she is capable of, it was hard not to compare this book to her more recent work. I never felt invested in the story or the characters. It reminded me of Small Favors that I read last year (and enjoyed a lot more).

Just because this one isn’t my favorite doesn’t mean I don’t still love her and want to read everything she ever writes.

 

4/1/22

277744012_7534424603242173_7994705054858276965_n

It’s Eli, tagging in at The Bookworm. I’ll be reading All Systems Red, the 1st book in The Murderbot Diaries by Martha Wells, at the book desk until 7!

 

3/31/22

277789198_7530246350326665_364437201905737926_n

Currently reading Monday’s Not Coming by Tiffany D. Jackson. Stop by and see us at The Bookworm Friday and Saturday from 10-7!

REVIEW – Monday’s Not Coming by Tiffany D Jackson  indexindexindexindexindex

There’s no doubt Tiffany Jackson can write a powerful and devastating story. I loved Allegedly, and absolutely loved this one too.

My only complaint is the timeline/chapter headings were confusing… there was Before, One Year Before the Before, Two Years Before the Before, After, November, December, January, etc. I never was fully sure where I was time-wise in the book, which was a little frustrating. While it did get explained at the end, the confusion of it all felt unnecessary.

Otherwise, a fantastic book!

 

3/30/22

277705656_7523865480964752_2701387512980392182_n

8.5 more years and Cortney will let me get a metal detector so I can find my own pirate treasure. (I have to wait until I’m 50.) Until then, I will just have to read about others adventures in treasure hunting. Robert Kurson takes on the search for the Golden Fleece that disappeared during the Golden Age of piracy in Pirate Hunters

 

3/29/22

277662227_7519295451421755_5756203241047098765_n

After having this book on my “want to read” list for years, I finally have a copy in my hot little hands! I’ll be reading the first book of the Seven Sisters series by Lucinda Riley at The Bookworm today from 10-5. Stop by and we’ll find you a book you’ve been waiting years for too.

REVIEW – The Seven Sisters by Lucinda Riley   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

This was a long, sometimes boring, but overall enjoyable read. I liked it enough to continue the series some day, but I’m not clamoring for the sequel.

The story was mostly about Maia’s ancestors, and through the 480 page book, it really dragged at points, and then the ending came at you fast and then it was just over. It felt really rushed.

 

3/27/22

277532528_7510879368930030_5674986340496811004_n

Good morning, bookies! I am currently reading the 2nd book in the Heirs of Chicagoland series by Chloe Neill, Wicked Hour. Enjoy the rest of your weekend and I’ll see you at The Bookworm next week!

REVIEW – Wicked Hour by Chloe Neill   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

The Chicagoland Vampire series is still one of my favorites, and this is an enjoyable spin-off. While I don’t love it as much, I’m still glad to have it and look forward to the next one!

 

3/24/22

🌸🌸 Thank you to Abrams Books for sending me an early copy of Sajni Patel’s upcoming YA book, My Sister’s Big Fat Indian Wedding 🌸🌸 Eli and I actually attended a wedding in India a few years ago… check out our wedding finery 🌸🌸

REVIEW – My Sister’s Big Fat Indian Wedding by Sajni Patel  indexindexindex111111

I feel like the author tried too hard to sound like a teenager and it came off feeling forced, which made the book and the story not flow right.

I attended a wedding in India a few years ago, so I thankfully had some background, but if I hadn’t already been familiar with some of it, a lot of the Indian references would have gone over my head.

Still a cute story, but I was hoping for a lot more.

 

3/23/22

277220632_7492913577393276_6849928483262914078_n

Hey book nerds, it’s Eli. At Cortney’s suggestion (insistence) I am currently reading her favorite book from last year, Notes on an Execution by Danya Kukafka. Stop by and see us at The Bookworm this week!

 

3/21/22

277078826_7484435898241044_6633993661854552277_n

🌻📚🌻 Happy Monday, bookies! Currently reading The Good Lie by A.R. Torre. Her book, The Ghost Writer was one of my favorites in 2021. Stop by and see us at The Bookworm this week! We’re open Monday-Wednesday from 10-5 and Thursday-Saturday from 10-7. Have a great week and happy reading! 🌻📚🌻

REVIEW – The Good Lie by A.R. Torre   indexindexindexindexindex

I really, really like her books! This was my 5th one and I’ve loved them all.

Great story with a good twist. I would have HAPPILY taken another 100 pages because this was fairly short, but I enjoyed every page of it.

 

3/19/22

277094423_7476670639017570_1212165399416108106_n

Eli here, it’s been a while since I picked up a Clive Cussler book, but I was in the mood for a little man-fluff. Dirk Pitt searches for the lost treasure of the Library of Alexandria in the ninth book in this series.

 

3/18/22

276220142_7471424532875514_7979284907058973989_n

Did you know we sell more than just books at The Bookworm? We have book lamps, totes, candles, shirts, pins, bookmarks, and more! Stop by today and tomorrow from 10-7 to treat yourself or your favorite bookworm to some great reads and bookish goodies 📚🌞📚

REVIEW – Glitter Every Day by Andy Cohen   indexindexindex111111

I thought this would be a cute, easy ready with fun little stories about the women mentioned… it was just OK. A lot of the same women were repeated throughout. I did enjoy some of them, but this could had the potential to be so cool, and it really just felt like something that was pumped out to make a quick buck.

 

3/16/22

275991949_7462111363806831_1440822375974632155_n

Unfortunately, I had to DNF my last book (don’t you hate when that happens?!), so I needed something I knew would be good! Currently reading After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid. Stop by The Bookworm from 10-5 today! 🌸📚🌸

REVIEW – After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid    indexindexindexindex111

 

3/15/22

275934537_7458561870828447_6028573058799719818_n

It’s never too early for Easter candy! 🐰🐣🐰🐣🐰 A big thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending me an early copy of Therese Ann Fowler’s upcoming novel, It All Comes Down to This. I’ll be at The Bookworm today until 5!

REVIEW – It All Comes Down to This by Therese Anne Fowler   111111111111111

Unfortunately, I had to DNF this book after 50 pages. It was not good. I struggle to see how the same person who wrote A Good Neighborhood wrote this too.

 

3/13/22

275560084_7448841138467187_4585987243953005999_n

Good morning bookworms! So excited to receive an early copy of The Bone Orchard by Sara A. Mueller from Tor Books. This book is one of my most anticipated reads of 2022, so I can’t wait to get into it! 🌸☠️🌸

REVIEW – The Bone Orchard by Sara A. Mueller   indexindexindexindex111

I spent this entire book mildly to extremely confused. That’s the thing with high fantasy and made-up worlds, it’s up to the author to spell it all out for us. As a reader, I’m ready to believe whatever world you spin, but you have to explain it to me first.

That being said, even with my confusion, I still liked this book. The characters and the story were great. I just wish I understood more. I even contemplated dropping it a few times within the first 100 pages. I’m glad I stuck with it, but this book was WORK.

3.75 stars rounded up, if for no other reason than that stunning cover.

 

3/11/22

Happy Friday!! I’m hanging out with Stephen King today and rereading Carrie. Check out our new Pennywise bookmark! We have it, along your other favorite characters, for sale at The Bookworm. Stop by today and tomorrow from 10-7 📚🎈📚

REVIEW – Carrie by Stephen King   indexindexindexindexindex

 

3/9/22

275428391_7430272990324002_361791963788510956_n

I’ve been resisting this book for a year, but then always felt devastated when someone else bought it from the store. I didn’t want to chance it this time! Wish me luck while I move outside my usual kind of book and dive into this non-fiction story about The Galvin family and the science behind schizophrenia. I’ll be reading this at The Bookworm today from 10-5 📚☔📚

REVIEW – Hidden Valley Road by Robert Kolker   indexindexindexindexindex

What a tough read… You couldn’t help but feel compassion and rage for and towards this family.

There was a lot of technical stuff, which was informative and told a necessary part of the story, but I got a little bogged down with it.

Really glad I picked this book up. It is going to be a hot minute before I delve back into a non-fiction book though.

4.25 stars rounded up

 

3/6/22

275380373_7417167608301207_5781024256015448711_n

Starting off this gorgeous day with a cup of coffee and Colleen Hoover’s latest, Reminders of Him. Enjoy your Sunday bookies, and I’ll see you at The Bookworm next week!

REVIEW – Reminders of Him by Colleen Hoover   indexindexindexindexindex

Classic CoHo… I got mad, I got depressed, I cried, and I loved every minute of it.

 

3/4/22

275264818_7407343405950294_2142548127886232204_n

Eli here, reading Herbert Asbury’s book, The Barbary Coast. It’s about the underworld of post Civil War San Francisco. Stop by The Bookworm today and tomorrow from 10-7 to get some weekend reading!

 

3/1/22

Hello Tuesday! I’m such a fan of Jenny Lawson, excited to start to her latest book, Broken (in the best possible way). Stop by and see me at The Bookworm today from 10-5!

REVIEW – Broken (in the best possible way) by Jenny Lawson   indexindexindex111111

I read Furiously Happy last year and absolutely loved it… this one was just OK. It’s her 4th book, so how much do you still have to talk about? It felt like A LOT of filler.

 

2/26/22

274784510_7379393092078659_2408322653148881622_n

A big thanks to William Morrow for sending me an advance copy of Sarah Pinborough’s upcoming release, Insomnia!

REVIEW – Insomnia by Sarah Pinborough   indexindexindex111111

I just don’t think Sarah Pinborough’s books are for me.

I read Behind Her Eyes years ago, and liked it up until the end. Insomnia I was on the fence with, and then totally hated the ending. She just throws these weird, unbelievable things at the end of her books that make no sense. Some people are going to love this book, like they did her others, but I think this is my last book of hers.

 

2/24/22

274699932_7369460456405256_910612010835217702_n

Good Morning! I’m currently reading The Mad Women’s Ball by Victoria Mas. I’ll be at The Bookworm from 10-7 today, stop by and grab some weekend reading!

REVIEW – The Mad Women’s Ball by Victoria Mas   indexindex111111111

So much wasted potential!

It’s a fairly short book (200 pages) so I would have expected it to be packed with interesting details and a really good story, sadly I got neither.

I always shave a little off my expectations when a book is translated into English from another language, but at the end of the day, this was just boring.

2 unenthusiastic stars

 

2/23/22

274696076_7364201536931148_7963593038178319405_n

Eli here today, starting Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz. I had this recommended by both my brother and my dad, so I definitely had to give it a try.

 

2/22/22

274663260_7359647450719890_3872799030322788517_n

I started It Had to Be You by Georgia Clark yesterday, and it is absolutely delightful! I’ll be enjoying this at The Bookworm today ’til 5 🌸🌸🌸

REVIEW – It Had To Be You by Georgia Clark   indexindexindexindexindex

What a delightful and adorable book!! I loved all the different stories and all the characters (except for Layla). This will definitely not be my only Georgia Clark book.

Loved, loved, loved!

 

2/21/22

274473544_7353305944687374_7991694421236020135_n

Thank you to everyone for participating in our 5000 follower giveaway! We had such a big turn out, we decided to pick 2… Please join me and congratulating Karen and Michele for winning. I’ll send you a message shortly.

I loved Danya Kukafka’s latest novel, Notes on an Execution, so I had to go back to the beginning and pick up her debut. Currently reading Girl in Snow. Stop by The Bookworm this week! We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7.

REVIEW – Girl in Snow by Danya Kukafka   indexindexindex111111

I absolutely loved Danya Kukafka’s latest release, Notes on an Execution, so I wanted to go back to her debut… It’s amazing how far her storytelling skills have come.

This book was decent, but it got bogged down with the boring stuff. I figured out the who and the why of Lucinda’s murder pretty early on, but I definitely could have used more mystery/suspense in the story instead of the mundane details.

 

2/20/22

274378332_7348265215191447_2671159839611069892_n

Hey bookworms, it’s Eli, diving back into non-fiction with Blood and Treasure by Bob Drury and Tom Clavin, a book about Daniel Boone and the American Frontier. Enjoy your Sunday, and we’ll see you at The Bookworm next week!

 

2/19/22

274297449_7342577969093505_5756405987990125310_n

A few of our customers have recently read this and mentioned how cute it was, so I’m going to branch out from my normal type of book and give it a try (plus, I couldn’t resist that adorable cover) Stop by The Bookworm today from 10-7 if you want to try something new too 📚📚📚

REVIEW – Meet Me on Love Lane by Nina Bocci    indexindex111111111

2.5 stars rounded down

I just didn’t enjoy this book. The MC Charlotte was annoying and the other characters all felt over the top (except for Henry… Henry I loved).

I just wanted a cute and fluffy romance, but what I got was a book I couldn’t wait to be done with.

 

2/17/22

274087644_7332190776798891_4441970093975788725_n

Crossing one thing off my reading “to do” list for the year and picking up a Classic… I’ve been totally hooked on the new show Yellowjackets, so Lord of the Flies by William Golding was an easy pick! Have a great day and happy reading.

REVIEW – Lord of the Flies by William Golding   indexindexindexindex111

I’ve been watching Yellowjackets, so picking Lord of the Flies as my yearly Classic was an easy choice!

While the writing style isn’t quite my taste, it was also written over 60 years ago… fantastic story though!

 

2/16/22

274040954_7325444440806858_5437240078105228597_n

It’s your favorite back-up bookworm, Eli, trying something a little different. Currently reading Breathers: A Zombie’s Lament by S.G. Browne. Stop by The Bookworm today from 10-5 and try something new-to-you from our Customer and Staff Recommendation shelf!

 

2/14/22

273994065_7316880764996559_1496062967460079100_n

💗💗 A giant heart-filled thank you to St. Martin’s Press for sending me an early copy of Sally Hepworth’s upcoming novel, The Younger Wife! 💗💗

🌞🌞 Exciting news for my Myrtle Beach friends – Sally is coming to town for a Moveable Feast this April! If you love her as much as I do, be sure to sign up for tickets 🌞🌞

REVIEW – The Younger Wife by Sally Hepworth   indexindexindexindex111

I really enjoy Sally Hepworth’s books!! This is my 3rd one, and I’m already excited for her next.

She always has different and unique characters, which is really refreshing, especially considering how many mystery/thrillers I read.

I loved Heather and Rachel’s POV, but I could have done without Tully. I wish the other two had just been flushed out more. There also wasn’t a clear answer at the end, so it’s up to the reader to make their assumptions about what really happened. Personally, I want everything spelled out for me, but the open-ended way the story finished will keep me thinking about it for days… I guess that’s probably the point!

If you haven’t tried one of Sally’s books yet, don’t waste any more time. Pick her up, you won’t be disappointed!

 

2/13/22

273837332_7309944355690200_1802358691671413501_n

I don’t know about you, but this is just my type of Superbowl Sunday! Sweet treats from Rosie at Have Your Cake Desserts and playing with books while listening to my “College Jamz” playlist in anticipation of tonight’s halftime show. This is my current TBR pile… See any favorites?

 

2/12/22

273716835_7305110942840208_3738187745090119362_n

Wild, wonderful, and blue are the perfect adjectives to sum up Carlie Sorosiak’s novel, Wild Blue Wonder! 

Is Wessie real?! It’s Alissa posting today, and I can’t wait to find out while I wrap up this captivating tale about Quinn Sawyer, her family, friends, as they navigate the difficulties that surround love and loss. I will be at The Bookworm today from 10-7, ready to help you pick out your next read!

 

2/11/22

273814098_7298744560143513_5750160646099362850_n

In pursuit of the perfect bookstagram picture, I requested Pho from the chef in residence (Eli). I typically eat like an 8 year old, but I ended up loving it! Currently reading A Pho Love Story by Loan Le

REVIEW – A Pho Love Story by Loan Le   111111111111111

Unfortunately, I had to DNF this book after 40 pages. There was way too much Vietnamese in it, and you just had to infer what was being said by the English response. I felt myself not wanting to read anything because I just wasn’t feeling this book. There’s way too many books out there to waste your time on something you’re not enjoying!

 

2/8/22

273432598_7282317451786224_5458456761358327574_n

Who doesn’t love a little horror with their Valentine’s Day?! 💀💔💀 A huge thank you to Nightfire for sending me an advance copy of Anne Heltzel’s debut, Just Like Mother 💀💔💀 I’m too excited for it to let it languish on my TBR pile, so it’s jumping the line… I’ll be reading this at The Bookworm today from 10-5 💀💔💀

REVIEW – Just Like Mother by Anne Heltzel   indexindexindexindex111

Great story idea! It was refreshing to read something different and unique.

I definitely wouldn’t categorize this as “horror” though. And I really wish we had gotten into Maeve’s childhood and the Mother Collective more.

Overall, enjoyable and quick read. Can’t wait to see what Anne Heltzel comes up with next!

 

2/7/22

273434459_7277408888943747_6196122564952928371_n

And so starts another week… Stop by The Bookworm Monday-Wednesday from 10-5 and Thursday-Saturday from 10-7 to check out all the new books we’ve put on the shelf! I am currently reading The Farm by Joanne Ramos. Happy Reading!

REVIEW – The Farm by Joanne Ramos  indexindexindexindex111

3.75 stars

Based on the rating, I wasn’t expecting to be wowed by this book, but I still wanted to read it. I thought it was good! It started to get suspenseful the last 100 pages, but then it just kind of puttered out. Still glad I picked it up!

 

2/6/22

273407701_7272964919388144_3762973037164295659_n

Buffy the Vampire Slayer is one of my absolute favorite shows, so I couldn’t resist this adorable book when I came across it! Currently rewatching the show for the 27th time and enjoying my Sunnydale Library candle from @bubbleandgeek 📚🧛‍♂️❤️📚 Enjoy your Sunday and I’ll see you all at The Bookworm next week!

 

2/5/22

273299535_7266605463357423_3727731957154123604_n

I started The Comeback by Ella Berman a few days ago, and it’s so good!! Too good to take with me to The Bookworm because I knew I wouldn’t get any work done. Needless to say, I’ll be reading this all weekend…what are your reading plans?

REVIEW – The Comeback by Ella Berman   indexindexindexindexindex

What a great book… so far, my favorite of the year.

The writing was fantastic. I can’t believe this was a debut novel.

Loved it!

 

2/2/22

272955371_7243246869026616_5917154778683034315_n

I loved Goldy Moldavsky’s book Kill the Boy Band, so I’m super excited to start her newest book, The Mary Shelley Club 💀📚💀 Stop by The Bookworm from 10-5 today to find a book you’ve been dying to read too! 💀📚💀

REVIEW – The Mary Shelley Club by Goldy Moldavsky   indexindexindex111111

I really loved Kill the Boy Band, and this book sounded so good, but it was just OK. It dragged on for entirely too long (it was 470 pages) and at the end of the day, I just wanted MORE. I didn’t really care about or particularly like any of the characters and the mystery was just boring and predictable.

 

1/31/22

272961789_7237692682915368_6947592726730272905_n

Happy Monday! I just started When You Get the Chance by Emma Lord and it’s adorable! Stop by and see us at The Bookworm this week. We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7 💟💗

REVIEW – When You Get the Chance by Emma Lord  indexindexindexindexindex

What an absolutely adorable and lovable book!! The Mamma Mia story line was super cute, and I laughed out loud throughout.

 

1/30/22

272795273_7227362117281758_545787052775743980_n

It’s snowing in Myrtle Beach!!
Eli here, reading the next book in David Baldacci’s Will Robie series, The Guilty. Stop by and see Alissa at The Bookworm today from 10-7 to find the perfect book to curl up with this weekend. Enjoy the snow bookies, it’s going back up to the 60s next week.

 

1/28/22

272736560_7211538082197495_6986489355965204994_n

Eli posting today. Growing up in the 90’s, I was a punk rock fan listening to Nirvana, so I had to pick up a copy of Dave Grohl’s memoir, The Storyteller.

 

1/26/22

272714233_7202780813073222_217999803545274070_n

A big thank you to Catapult or the advance copy of Chelsea Bieker’s upcoming collection of short stories, Heartbroke. I fell in love with her writing during Godshot, so I can’t wait to get into this one. I’ll be at The Bookworm today from 10-5, stop by to find your next favorite read! 📚📚📚

REVIEW – Heartbroke by Chelsea Bieker  indexindexindexindex111

Personally, I just don’t like short stories. You get this tiny glimpse into a characters life and it’s over just as you’re getting invested. But I absolutely fell in love with Chelsea Bieker’s writing when I read Godshot, so I still wanted to read Heartbroke.

Her writing shined throughout, and as the title implies, it was heartbreaking. But, at the end of the day, I still just don’t like short stories. Here’s to hoping her next book is a full novel. ⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

1/24/22

272401617_7185760828108554_1750333472355546122_n

I couldn’t resist taking a picture with the aftereffects of Myrtle Beach’s big ice storm ❄️❄️❄️ A huge thank you to William Morrow for sending me an advance copy of Lucy Foley’s upcoming release, The Paris Apartment. I’ll be reading this all day at The Bookworm, stop by from 10-5!

REVIEW – The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley  indexindexindexindexindex

I really loved this book!

Honestly, I was not impressed with The Guest List when I read it last year, so I wasn’t sure what to expect from The Paris Apartment, but it kept me riveted the whole time. None of the characters were particularly likeable, but that just made it that much more intriguing.

Great, fast-paced story!

 

1/22/22

272326707_7169493823068588_984415232806135646_n

❄️❄️ Due to weather and road conditions, The Bookworm will open at NOON today ❄️❄️

Myrtle Beach got hit with freezing temperatures and sleet last night, so we’re all under 3 blankets this morning! 🥶🥶🥶

💦 One of my favorite crime series is the Fredrika Backman and Alex Recht books by Kristina Ohlsson. Currently reading the final one, The Flood 💦

❄️❄️ Stay warm and happy reading! ❄️❄️

REVIEW – The Flood by Kristina Ohlsson  indexindexindex111111

I had a really tough time getting into this story. There was entirely too many story lines with named and unnamed characters and it got really confusing. It wasn’t until I was 100 pages in that I even started to enjoy it and understand what was going on. Honestly, if it wasn’t the last book in the series, I would have given up.

But, I stuck with it. Eh, it was OK. Not nearly as good as the books in the series.

 

1/19/22

272193768_7144861128865191_5348342113323960113_n

I am starting The Monarchs today, the sequel to The Ravens by Danielle Paige and Kass Morgan. It’s been awhile (and a lot of books) since I read the first one, so wish me luck… When will I learn to just wait until a series is complete before starting?? Have a great day and happy reading!

REVIEW – The Monarchs by Kass Morgan and Danielle Paige  indexindexindex111111

I struggled to try and remember The Ravens, chalking it up to too many books since then, but really, it just wasn’t memorable. And even though it sort of came back to me while I was reading The Monarchs, at the end of the day, I just really didn’t care about the story or the characters.

 

1/18/22

272018957_7138877319463572_5581082921018376795_n

Hello bookies! Did you know that we sell Novelly Yours Candles at The Bookworm? Stop by this week to give all these delicious scents a sniff. Currently reading No Bad Deed by Heather Chavez

REVIEW – No Bad Deed by Heather Chavez  indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars

This was a fast-paced book that definitely kept my interest, but you could totally tell it was a debut novel.

There was A LOT going on… too many characters and plot lines (a good bit which was implausible), and a lot that I feel wasn’t wrapped up sufficiently.

At the end of the day, I still enjoyed it, but I’m only rounding up to 4 because Goodreads is making me.

 

1/16/22

271903459_7120373737980597_6398918889411335922_n

🌸🌸 Happy Sunday 🌸🌸 Currently reading Watch Over Me by Nina LaCour 🌸🌸

REVIEW – Watch Over Me by Nina LaCour  indexindexindexindexindex

 

1/15/22

271849208_7112437208774250_8444025576238801601_n

Joining the rest of bookstagram and reading A Flicker in the Dark by Stacy Willingham. Stop by and see Alissa at The Bookworm today! She’ll be there 10-7 📚📚📚 Happy Reading!

REVIEW – A Flicker in the Dark by Stacy Willingham  indexindexindexindex111

An enjoyable, quick read.

I literally knew how the story was going to end within the first 10 pages, and it was clear that this was a debut novel, but I’m still glad I picked it up. I really liked her writing style. I think it’ll make a good adaptation (and who doesn’t love Emma Stone?)

3.75 stars rounded up

 

1/14/22

271862907_7104085862942718_8004461821675827955_n

Eli here – if you know me, you know I love three things; beer, books, food, and not knowing how to count. I’m currently reading The Big Oyster by Mark Kurlansky, which is about the history of the oyster 🦪 Happy eating (and reading, and drinking, and counting)

 

1/12/22

271668937_7090919577592680_7228891346241371228_n

A bored, stay at home mom that thinks she is turning into a dog? Sign me up! Not only just this check the weird and unique box that I love so much, but it’s also gotten a ton of great buzz since it’s release this summer. Currently reading!

REVIEW – Nightbitch by Rachel Yoder  indexindexindexindex111

I’m honestly not sure how to rate this book….

I love weird stuff, so a bored, stay at home that thinks she is turning into a dog is soooo up my alley. But I think because of the fact that I’m not a mom, this book just didn’t resonate with me. And honestly, it was so focused on the annoying and mundane aspects of being a mother, that it just constantly confirmed my decision that having kids was absolutely not for me.

Was it interesting, and unique, and cool? Yes. But did I actually like it? I don’t know.

3.5 stars rounded up because I liked her writing and it was really nice to read something so different.

 

1/11/22

271608049_7084677268216911_3494246497213095169_n

Despite my massive amount of unread books at home, I couldn’t resist grabbing Local Woman Missing by Mary Kubica when it came in the store. Have a great day bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW – Local Woman Missing by Mary Kubica  indexindexindexindexindex

I’m such a big fan of Mary Kubica and her books just keep getting better and better. I couldn’t put this one down!

4.5 stars rounded up

 

1/9/22

271487073_7074680935883211_1541127479236783170_n

Eli here, reading book 2 of the Myrtle Beach Mystery series from Caleb Wygal, Death Washes Ashore. If you enjoyed Death on the Boardwalk, I would definitely suggest picking up a copy today!

 

1/8/22

271271817_7069937103024261_6517088817832329555_n

Happy Saturday! I’m currently reading A History of Wild Places by Shea Ernshaw

REVIEW – A History of Wild Places by Shea Ernshaw  indexindex111111111

It started out so strong, but once we switched over to Theo, Calla, and Bea’s POV, it became a total snooze, and then the ending felt kind of ridiculous.

I really loved The Wicked Deep, but Winterwood was a total disappointment… and unfortunately, so is The History of Wild Places

2 disappointed stars

 

1/5/22

271441245_7056547564363215_4568823154397193235_n

Hi, I’m Cortney and I’m a medically diagnosed cheese addict… well, not really, but if that was an actual thing, I’m sure I’d be it. Currently reading Cheese, Sex, Death: A Bible for the Cheese Obsessed by Erika Kubick. Happy Snacking!

REVIEW – Cheese Sex Death by Erika Kubick  indexindexindexindexindex

Definitely a bible for the cheese obsessed!

I loved the history, the descriptions, and especially the absolutely stunning pictures. I really enjoyed Erika Kubick’s style of writing, I chuckled throughout the entire book. I could have done without the cheese as a female diety angle, but overall, a great and informative book.

Excuse me while I make my way through the entire cheese drawer in the fridge.

 

1/4/22

271038512_7048802278471077_3765926023673309214_n

It’s Eli, just finished my first book of the year, Billy the Kid: The Endless Ride by Michael Walls. It was well-researched, however, less than a quarter of the book was actually about Billy the Kid. There was a lot of information about the people that were tangentially connected to him. Even some biographical info on people that may have been near the Kid. The last couple chapters were the best. I don’t think I need to read any more books on this subject.  3 stars indexindexindex

 

1/3/21

Starting off the year with a book I’ve been absolutely dying to read… Yours Cruelly, Elvira by Cassandra Peterson. Eli even got me a Living Dead Elvira Doll to go with it! 💀🖤💀

The Bookworm is OPEN and back to regular business hours of M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Stop by and see us this week!

REVIEW – Yours Cruelly, Elvira by Cassandra Peterson  indexindexindexindex111

I hate (hate!) to say this, but this book was kind of a snooze. We didn’t even get into Elvira until the last 100 pages… A lot of (practically irrelevant) name dropping, plus I’m kind of perplexed/horrified that she would put a picture of her with a man that sexually assaulted her in the book? Why? Just to prove you knew him?

Still a decent read, I just wanted so much more. 3.5 stars rounded up because I still love her.

 

12/30/21

Ending the year with the book that’s been on my TBR pile since the beginning of the year. Currently reading Whisper Hollow by Chris Cander 🌿

The Bookworm is open today from 10-7 and then just 10-4 tomorrow before closing until Monday. Stop by and stock up so you can start 2022 off right… with a good book in your hands 📚🤍📚

Keep your eye on The Bookworm’s social media and invite friends to follow! Our first giveaway of 2022 is coming up! 🥳📚🥳

REVIEW – Whisper Hollow by Chris Cander   indexindexindexindexindex

I let Whisper Hollow languish on my TBR pile for far too long.

Great and interesting story… very different from the books I normally pick up, but I’m so glad I did.

I really enjoyed the writing, the characters, all of it. Good way to start off the year!

 

12/29/21

If you’re looking for a book about a drug fueled musician destroying hotel rooms and sleeping with groupies, then this isn’t a book for you. @alfredyankovic or Weird Al as his friends call him, has been making music, movies, and tv shows for over 40 years with no sign of stopping. He is the definition of an icon… If you couldn’t guess, this is an Eli post.

 

12/28/21

❄️🐺❄️ Trying something new today! Sci-fi books are not something I tend to read, but Meg Long’s debut novel, Cold the Night, Fast the Wolves, sounds super cool and already has a ton of great buzz (plus you all know I am a sucker for a pretty cover) ❄️🐺❄️ Thank you to Wednesday Books for sending me an early review copy!!

❄️🐺❄️ Me and my little wolf, Ollie, are snuggled up in bed reading it this morning. Cold the Night, Fast the Wolves will be released on January 11th, so mark your calendars ❄️🐺❄️ Happy Reading bookworms!

REVIEW – Cold the Night, Fast the Wolves by Meg Long  indexindexindexindexindex

Fantastic debut!

I loved the story, the setting, and especially the characters.

4.5 stars rounded up

 

12/27/21

📚 The Bookworm will be open regular hours today through Thursday, 10-4 on Friday, and then closed Saturday this week 📚

I’m currently reading Horrorstör by Grady Hendrix ☠️⚰️☠️ Special thanks to @thebookables for the amazing bookmark… Buffy is my all-time favorite supernatural superhero ❤️🧛🗡️❤️

REVIEW – Horrorstor by Grady Hendrix   indexindexindexindex111

3.5 stars rounded up

Such a cool concept, it just didn’t really pick up until the last 100 pages. Still liked it though…
Honestly, I’ll read anything Grady Hendrix writes. I love the way his twisted mind works

 

12/23/21

❤️❤️❤️ In honor of our smart, funny, talented, brave, and beautiful niece Amelia’s (who got into her top 3 colleges) 18th birthday, I’m picking up Amelia Unabridged by Ashley Schumacher to read today. Happy Birthday Mimi!! ❤️❤️❤️

🤶🎄🎅 Don’t forget that we’ll be closing at 7 today and not reopening until Monday, so be sure to stop by The Bookworm to grab a gift certificate or a last minute gift for the bookworm on your list! 🎅🎄🤶

REVIEW – Amelia Unabridged by Ashley Schumacher   indexindexindexindexindex

I adored this book. Really great writing, sweet story, likeable characters.

 

12/22/21

Absolutely beyond excited to receive an advance copy of Rebecca Serle’s upcoming novel, One Italian Summer! Her last book, In Five Years, is one of my all-time favorites, so I CANNOT wait to get into this one. Thank you Atria Books! 

Special shout out to Susan at New Leaf Candle Co. for making these adorable book-shaped soaps. I love them! Check out her page and Etsy shop.

Don’t forget that The Bookworm will be closing Thursday at 7 and not reopening until Monday. Be sure to stop by today or tomorrow to grab those last minute gifts for the bookworm on your list!

REVIEW – One Italian Summer by Rebecca Serle   indexindexindexindexindex

I became a life-long fan of Rebecca Serle during In Five Years, and One Italian Summer just cemented it.

She has this beautiful, magical way of writing that makes the impossible seem so possible.

I felt everything right alongside Katy… The loss, the grief, the joy of seeing her mother again, her need to find herself.

Excuse me while I look at flights to Italy and go hug my mom.

 

12/22/21

“The only good bug is a dead bug.”

Hey book nerds, it’s Eli posting this morning, and admittedly saying that sometimes the movie is better than the book. I picked up Starship Troopers by Robert A. Heinlein the other day, and honestly, it was just OK. I’ll stick with the movie for this one.

There’s still some shopping days left at The Bookworm! We’ll be open today from 10-5 and tomorrow from 10-7. Stop by to grab a gift certificate, bookish gift, or enough books to get you through the family visits 🎄🎅🎄🤶🎄

 

12/21/21

Thanks to Minotaur Books for sending me an advance copy of Anna Downes upcoming release, The Shadow House. I really enjoyed her debut novel, The Safe Place, so I’m excited to read this one!

REVIEW – The Shadow House by Anna Downes   indexindexindexindex111

I’m impressed with this book… not only was it a second novel after a great debut (usually the kiss of death), but it was also written during Covid (where most books have been leaving me dissatisfied)

Good story, interesting setting, and I always like a dual timeline. There were a few times at the beginning where I felt lost and the story seemed disjointed, but the writing smoothed out and I ended up getting really into the mystery of the witch in the woods. Also a bad case of insta-love, but thankfully wasn’t a major plot line.

Looking forward to reading what Anna Downes writes next!

 

12/19/21

Penelope took her modeling gig for Sad Janet very seriously 🤣🐾🐾🤣 Currently reading Lucie Britsch’s first novel.

REVIEW – Sad Janet by Lucie Britsch   indexindex111111111

I should have paid attention to the ratings and reviews instead of falling for an amazing cover.

It wasn’t that I didn’t laugh, or even enjoy the book at times, but it was the longest 270 page book I have ever read. There was so much unnecessary repetition, that it could have been cut in half and it only would have made the book better.

2 unenthusiastic stars

 

12/18/21

Eli posting today – I thought picking the 3rd Stone Barrington book, which takes place in the Caribbean, would help keep me warm during the cold month of December, but who needs help when it’s already 70 degrees in Myrtle Beach?! Stop by The Bookworm today to find your next great series. Cortney will be there from 10-7!

 

12/16/21

Starting the last book on the final series I need to wrap up before the end of the year… Isn’t it Bromantic by Lyssa Kay Adams, part of The Bromance Book Club series. How is everyone doing on their Goodreads goals?

REVIEW – Isn’t It Bromantic by Lyssa Kay Adams   indexindexindex111111

I don’t know if I just wasn’t in the mood for this book, or it wasn’t as good as the others in the series, but it’s a 3 star for me.

We were definitely missing some of the guys and their fun scenes together, so I’m sure that added to my overall “eh” feeling.

 

12/15/21

Still working on wrapping up series before the end of the year… Next up, the final book in The Good Girl’s Guide to Murder trilogy by Holly Jackson, As Good As Dead. I’ll be reading this at The Bookworm today from 10-5, so stop by to treat yo’ shelf or the book lover in your life!

REVIEW – As Good As Dead by Holly Jackson   indexindexindexindexindex

The final book took A TURN about halfway through, and I was enraptured. Reading this was all I did until the last page.

Fantastic series with one hell of an ending!

 

12/14/21

Good morning bookies! I am currently reading Taylor Jenkins Reid’s first novel, Forever, Interrupted. Did you know that we sell bookish candles from the amazing Novelly Yours Candles? Stop by The Bookworm this week to give all these delicious candles a sniff. We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7

REVIEW – Forever, Interruped by Taylor Jenkins Reid   indexindexindexindex111

It’s amazing how far TJR’s writing has come since her first novel!

Sweet yet sad story that pulled at all the emotions.

3.75 stars

 

12/13/21

Spent my weekend with the latest of Stephanie Plum’s exploits in Game On (Tempting 28) by Janet Evanovich. Stop by The Bookworm this week to restock your bookshelves or find the perfect gift for the book lover in your life! We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7

REVIEW – Game On by Janet Evanovich   indexindexindexindex111

Fun and easy read, per the usual.

Lula is a gem, made me laugh out loud throughout the book. I’m not the biggest fan of Diesel, but I know our two boys will be back front and center on the next one.

3.5 stars rounded up

 

12/12/21

Eli, Oliver, and Penelope here, reading another book from the Myron Bolitar series by Harlan Coben. When I started this series back in May I didn’t think I would be on the 7th book by now, but I’m enjoying them so much, I keep picking up the next one

 

12/9/21

Happy SATC Day! Is anyone else excited (and cautiously optimistic) about the revival? And I Just Like That premieres today, and I am ready for it! In honor of my second favorite group of ladies (coming in only after The Golden Girls), I am rereading Sex and the City Kiss and Tell 👠🍸💄🛍️ The Bookworm will be open 10-7 today, stop by to treat yo’ shelf or someone on your Christmas list!

REVIEW – Sex and the City: Kiss and Tell by Amy Sohn   indexindexindexindexindex

I binged the show (again) before the revival, and this book was the perfect companion to reread afterwards!

 

12/8/21

It is a cold and rainy day in Myrtle Beach, so I think I’ll be spending my day with Beverly Leslie, I mean Leslie Jordan, and his new book, How Y’all Doing? If you want to brave the weather, I’ll be at The Bookworm until 5!

REVIEW – How Y’all Doing? by Leslie Jordan   indexindexindexindex111

Quick and fun read! You could just hear him coming off the pages… definitely made me laugh out loud more than once

I wish there had been so much more about his career instead of the going on about growing up, his horse obsession, etc, but I’m still glad I read it.

3.5 stars rounded up

 

12/7/21

It’s always a good day when I have a new Karin Slaughter book in my hand! Currently reading False Witness 📚🎄📚Stop by and see me at The Bookworm today from 10-5! We have the perfect holiday gifts for any book lover and a ton of new books on the shelf 📚🎄📚

REVIEW – False Witness by Karin Slaughter   indexindexindexindexindex

I feel like the majority of the books written over the past year and a half tend to leave me feeling disappointed… but I’ll tell you, Karin Slaughter nailed this one. It was so gritty, and real, and fantastic. I loved it, like I always do with her books (except for Cop Town… I did not care for Cop Town)

She touched on Covid, and how our world has changed, but it wasn’t distracting or annoying in the book. Desperate characters in a great story that kept me on my toes for all 440 pages.

5 shining stars

 

12/4/21

 

Look at these two Christmas angels! 🎄🐾😇🐾🎄 Currently reading The Invited by Jennifer McMahon

REVIEW – The Invited by Jennifer McMahon  indexindex111111111

Well, Jennifer McMahon is 1/3 with me. I absolutely loved The Winter People… the Night Sister not so much, and unfortunately The Invited is the same. I really wanted to DNF, but I stuck with it. I really shouldn’t have bothered. I felt nothing for any of the characters, didn’t particularly care what happened to anyone, and was bored for the majority of the book. Eh.

 

12/1/21

263078539_6823967570954550_5700429132348864431_n

A fairytale retelling of Rumplestiltskin? Yes please! Starting Gilded by Marissa Meyer. Stop by The Bookworm this week to find a book you’ve been dying to read too! We’re open M-W from 10-5 and Th-Sat from 10-7. Happy Reading!

REVIEW – Gilded by Marissa Meyer   indexindexindexindex111

There is no doubt that Marissa Meyer can write a fantastic story

Gilded was good, but way too long. The beginning was great, the middle was long and boring, and the ending was great.

Looking forward to the next one! I just hope it’s edited down a bit more.

 

11/30/21

261178805_6817521988265775_6116010016737357292_n

🍎 Happy last day of November! 🍏 Currently reading All the Bad Apples by Moira Fowley-Doyle 🍎 I absolutely loved The Accident Season, so I’m really excited to get into this one 🍏 Have a great day bookworms and happy reading! 🍎

REVIEW – All the Bad Apples by Moira Fowley-Doyle  indexindexindex111111

Quick read that I started and finished on a slow Tuesday at the bookstore. At this point, I’ve read all of this author’s books, but her two subsequent books didn’t touch how great her first one was.

On the fence about whether I’ll continue to read her or not. Just wasn’t super impressed.

 

11/28/21

261666705_6806356362715671_5536045216963340886_n

Thanks to everyone who came out to The Bookworm yesterday to celebrate Small Business Saturday! It was a great start to the holiday shopping season. I’ll be relaxing my day away with The Alibi Girl by CJ Skuse. Happy Reading!

REVIEW – The Alibi Girl by CJ SKuse  indexindexindexindex111

I had a hard time getting in to this book at the beginning… I was just so confused about what was going on. But, BUT, I am so glad I stuck with it. What a good, heartbreaking, interesting story. I loved this author already because of the Sweetpea series, and this book only cemented it a little bit more.

 

11/24/21

260730884_6783588641659110_9128193344019757043_n

The Bookworm will be closed tomorrow for Thanksgiving, but then back to regular hours on Friday. Be sure to come in on Saturday for Small Business Saturday! There will be giveaways, free books, and in-store deals.

Just picked up Do Not Disturb by Claire Douglas. Have a great day bookworms and happy reading!

REVIEW – Do Not Disturb by Claire Douglas   indexindexindexindex111

Every chance I had over the past few days, I picked up this book. It was a fun ride and I couldn’t wait to see what happened next.

It was a bit repetitive, which made it drag a little, and I figured out a few of the big twists early on, but I still really enjoyed it!

 

11/23/21

259428961_6778560098828631_6046038654978355866_n

Eli here. I’ve had Dune on my TBR pile for a while in hopes to read it before the movie came out… so much for that. I’m pretty sure the movie will be off of HBO before I get this epic tome finished, but I’m enjoying it so far!

 

11/21/21

259047052_6767617723256202_1441004196716780737_n

I realized a few weeks ago that I was on the last book of 4 different series, so I’m trying to get them all wrapped up before the end of the year. Starting If You Dare by A.R. Torre, the final book in the Deanna Madden series. Enjoy your Sunday bookworms!

REVIEW – If You Dare by AR Torre  indexindexindexindex111

3.5 rounded up because I like the series

Still great writing and an awesome MC, but I just didn’t love it as much as the others.

Really hope we get more Deanna stories!

 

11/19/21

257784208_6756369171047724_6370067451797142692_n

Happy Fri-yay! I was in the mood for a fluffy YA romance, so I picked up You’d be Mine by Erin Hahn. It’s just as adorable as I hoped! Stop by The Bookworm today and tomorrow from 10-7 to check out all the new books we got on the shelf this week. Happy Reading!

REVIEW – You’d Be Mine by Erin Hahn  indexindexindexindex111

Really good story that had more substance to it than I was expecting. I thought I was picking up a fluffy YA book, but there was a lot more to it. Great story with great characters you couldn’t help but root for.

 

11/16/21

257148298_6739094399441868_4323076340918914552_n

St. Martin’s Press